Print

Gifts of the Holy Child Jesus

 

Gifts given to you by the Holy Child


These gifts were without doubt used on Christmas day
Tours: Impr. Mame, s.d.


First Gift
The eternal Father in giving to you the newborn Jesus gives to you all the treasures and riches of His divinity. He asks that you make in your soul a place emptied of all created things, so that your soul will be filled with Him alone. Happy void! That merits to be filled by God and all his eternal riches.

Second Gift
The eternal Father gives to you His only Son as a gift. He allowed Him to die for your love. He asks you to sacrifice your self-love, the cruel enemy that wishes you to satisfy yourself for self alone. For that, you should become His only, and like the Holy Spouse, you will say joyfully: “My well Beloved is all for me and I all for him. One for one! One united.”

Third Gift
The eternal Father gives to you His much beloved Son as a gift, in whom He delights. He asks that you will be the joy of his divine heart, and wishes to find His delight in you as well as in His well Beloved Son there to find only a most pure love. To love God, to be loved by God and nothing more.

Fourth Gift
The eternal Father gives to you the Angel of good counsel as a gift. It is His only Son, the eternal wisdom that sends him to disperse the fog and the errors of man. He wishes to clarify your spirit, disperse the fog and the errors of your senses and of your prideful reason. Submit then your understanding to the beautiful light of pure faith and to the cloud where it presents itself at birth. To seek to be wise without that light is to be insane.

Fifth Gift
The Holy child Jesus gives Himself to you as a gift. As the Word of God, He wishes to be your life, your thought, and your light. He will fill your soul with divine illustrations, if you will only give Him access and free entry, but most particularly to the intimacy of your soul where he will set up His throne and eternal home.

Sixth Gift
The Holy Child gives to you His spirit and holy manifestations, He wishes to unite with your soul in a most intimate union, the most simple and most strong that you have ever felt, but He wishes that you will give Him a spirit purified from the operation of the senses and disengaged from those small
attachments that you know and that impede the pure and holy spirit from operating its grandeurs and wonders in you.

7th Gift
The Holy Child Jesus gives to you the great abasement for which He came to you as a gift. He asks of you a soul and a spirit totally emptied of the world through a humble, poor and hidden life, so that you will render continuous homage to His hidden and annihilated life. For that, die to nature and all that is human and repeat often with St. Bernard: “The more you are diminished for my sake, the dearer you are to me, Oh God of love!”

8th Gift
The Holy Child Jesus gives to you the Most Holy Virgin, His Mother, as a gift, so that she will be your mother, your patroness and your advocate, and also as a complete and accomplished model of a holy life. Be faithful in constantly following her example of her saintly virtues, particularly imitate her purity and her humility that rendered her worthy of being the mother of God. If you accomplish like her the will of the celestial Father, the Holy Child Jesus promises you that you yourself will be and his sister and his mother.

9th Gift
The Holy Child Jesus gives to you his divinity hidden under the veils of childhood as a gift, so that you will adore in spirit and in truth. Among the Gentiles, many centuries before His birth, some erected an altar to the unknown God; you, most fortunate, know Him, if you hide in the God hidden in you. Decorate an altar inside your heart, and die to all so as to live in Him.

10th Gift
He who IS gives Himself to you as a gift. “I am who am”, said God to Moses from the burning bush. To possess Him, do away with the false self that subsists only in the error of your judgment, and empty your heart of love for perishable things. Then, the God that Scripture calls a consuming fire will destroy in you even the smallest natural impediments. He will elevate you above the senses and reason through the practice of faith alone and of pure love, and you will pass into a perfect union with Him.

11th Gift
The Holy Child Jesus will give you His loving look as a gift, to wound and inflame your heart, Oh! how sweet it is to be seen by and to look upon Jesus! To make of Him your only object of love! And to love and adore Him continuously! He asks that of us, and if you do so, He will address to you these words from the Canticles: You have wounded my heart, my sister, my spouse; you have wounded my heart with a glance from your eyes.” (Cant. 4: 9)

12th Gift
God gives Himself to you under the beautiful title of Emmanuel, that is to say that God wants to be with you. The Prophet Isaiah tells us that He will eat butter and honey. You will give Him that butter to eat if you will give Him your deeds fully and perfectly, and honey if you have about you a great gentleness and much patience to support your neighbor. It is up to you to teach those duties that He wishes to see in you.

13th Gift
The Holy Child Jesus is the great King, strong and admirable, as such does the Prophet Isaiah call Him. He comes to you to communicate his divine strength, so as to aid you to vanquish and surmount your enemies. He wishes you to imitate the woman spoken of in Scripture who crushes the head of the serpent. Have confidence in that strength of Jesus and abandon yourself to this divine Child. Throw yourself upon Him, says St. Augustine and you will be left without fear, he will not withdraw and allow you to fall.

14th Gift
The Holy Child Jesus gives Himself to you as a gift, as a gentle prince of peace. That is what the prophet called Him. He carries His scepter on His shoulder. It is the Holy Cross. Through suffering, and the kindness with which He supports our miseries and faults, he asks that you suffer patiently the afflictions of body and soul that Providence allows, and that you be indulgent towards the faults and the trespasses of your neighbor.

15th Gift
The Holy Child Jesus gives Himself to you as a spotless lamb. By this symbol, that expresses the simplicity of his childhood, He asks that you give Him your soul and innocence, without disguise or the finesse of self-esteem, so that you will be worthy to continually enjoy the sweet presence of this loving Child who hides among the lilies of pure and innocent souls.

16th Gift
The Holy Child gives Himself to you as a brother and as a spouse. He wishes to give you this mark of tenderness and love so desired by the holy Spouse in the Canticles. Look for Him as a brother in solitude; you will find Him as a spouse within the total separation from creatures, and it is only then that you will receive from Him the chaste and divine kiss that will fill the soul with ineffable delights.

17th Gift
The Holy Child Jesus will give to you as a gift his divine and loving heart, filled with kindness for your eternal soul. He asks you for a heart filled with a sensitive love, all spiritual and eternal. He wishes that your heart will be, like the small bed of the Spouse in the Canticles, filled with the delightful perfumes of a pure love.

18th Gift
The Holy Child Jesus will give to you as a gift this mark of tenderness so desired by the Spouse of the Canticles, who said, all in a state of rapture, “That He may kiss my lips.” Oh, sweet kiss, that expresses the intimate union of soul with God! You will urgently feel this joy if you faithfully carry out your duties with zeal and accomplish perfectly the precept of love of God and neighbor,

19th Gift
The Holy Child Jesus will give to you as a gift St. Joseph, as father, guardian and director for your soul, and also as the accomplished model of a saintly and perfect life. He wants you to imitate him particularly in two specific virtues: fidelity and prayer, so that you will become a daughter of prayer and of silence, all absorbed and subsumed in the mystery of the nativity.

20th Gift
The Holy Child Jesus gives to you as a gift His swaddling clothes and bandages. He asks from you the practices of purity, humility and charity that are not just routine; a motherly heart for all your sisters, gentle in withstanding sorrows and filled with kindness in putting up with others’ faults.

21st Gift
The Holy Child Jesus gives to you as a gift the angels as models of perfect praise that He received from the blessed spirits at the hour of his nativity. He desires that you should be an angel of purity and love, to receive continual praise of your strength reunited at the summit of your spirit where God resides and takes sovereign pleasure to hear the concerts of a soul all delighted in Him, as the angels are in heaven.

22nd Gift
The Holy Child Jesus gives to you as a gift his star, that is to say a pure and simple faith that will lead you straight to God, if you will truly search for it in the intimacy of your soul. Because those who search for it through pure and stark faith will surely find it. Think of this well.

23rd Gift
The Holy Child Jesus gives to you as a gift the milk of His divine consolations, and He will well fill your soul if you are faithful in emptying the illicit pleasures of the senses and of nature. God cannot be appreciated and understood except by a soul that has lost the taste of things of the earth and who has developed a taste for the bitter.

24th Gift
The Holy Child Jesus gives to you as a gift His scepter and His crown. He wishes that you will became a great queen, but he asks that you overthrow your senses and your passions and particularly your heart where he wishes to reign absolutely. It is for that that he came, to be the king of hearts. Have a simple
and docile heart for such a gentle one. He is filled with kindness and love for his subjects, but particularly for a faithful spouse.

25th Gift
The Holy Child Jesus gives to you as a gift the three kings, so that they will guide you along the way of perfection like the masters experienced. Having found Jesus in the crèche, they will teach you how to go to God through the active life, that is of mortification, through the illuminated life, that is the consummation of charity, through which one adores God in spirit and in truth.

26th
The Holy Child Jesus gives to you as a gift the stable that served him as a palace. He asks for your soul, entirely and without reservation; He will refill it with just Himself, and wishes to make it his own palace and perpetual residence; to celebrate there their divine weddings, there to hold a solemn banquet where you will be filled with his divine Spirit and gifts as proper for a faithful spouse.

27th
The Holy Child Jesus gives to you as a gift the hay upon which He rests in the crèche, and through this present He wishes to instruct you. I hear a voice that says: “Proclaim—What do I proclaim?” asks the Prophet Isaiah. Proclaim: All flesh is but hay, and all His glory is like the flowers of the field.” Despise your flesh, mortify it, that it becomes like withered grass, and Jesus will rest in you; He has not wanted to repose among the flowers but amidst the hay.

28th Gift
The Holy Child Jesus gives to you as a gift the straw that has served him as support and ornamentation in the crèche: it is the symbol of a suffering soul, broken by the scourge and the burden of bodily and spiritual mortifications. Such a soul carries Jesus poor and humble, suffering and broken in this life; but one day she will carry Him rich and glorified, happy and triumphant in heaven, where humiliation will be exalted.

29th Gift
The Holy Child Jesus gives to you as a gift the ox and donkey that served and knew Him in the crèche. Scripture says that the ox and donkey recognized their Lord. Jesus also wants you to recognize Him as your Lord; that you will render Him simple and gentle obedience, with a totally submissive spirit in His presence, as a child attending the will of his father, and who will comply without rejoinder.

30th Gift
The Holy Child Jesus gives to you as a gift the donkey that kept Him warm in the crèche with its breath, and that stayed so close to Him. With the smallest and most abject services, one can enjoy the presence of Jesus, to be very close to Him. The Prophet David told God: “I have been in front of you like a beast
of burden, and therefore I have stayed always with you.” Embrace with joy base and painful duties , and you will warm Jesus in the crèche of your heart, you will always be with Him.

31st Gift
The Holy Child Jesus gives to you as a gift His crèche. It is small and humble, having nothing to please the senses; it is nevertheless there that Jesus rests to show you that the Spirit of God is pleased with a humble heart purified of all sensual affections. It is also in such a heart that Jesus takes finds delights and where takes place his strengthening sleep and of the sacred repose of the Spouse who says, “I sleep, but my heart holds a vigil.” Oh, blessed are those souls that God so favors! To rejoice of such happiness, to be able to say with St, Francis of Assisi: “My God and my all!”

32nd Gift
The Holy Child Jesus gives to you as a gift His small cries and His tears. The prophet Isaiah said: “I will listen to what the Lord says within me.” Listen to the cries and tears of Jesus, listen to them, the cries and tears of Jesus inside yourself after Holy Communion: He asks for your anguish, your cries and your tears on behalf of so many sinners, cry along with Jesus; mix your tears with His, and you will obtain the graces of conversion. Tears, says St. Augustine, are the blood of a wounded heart, may this blood run with that of Jesus for the well-being of sinners.

33rd Gift
The Holy Child Jesus
The Holy Child Jesus gives to you as a gift the shepherds as models of perfect praise and of exact vigilance. Be assiduously attentive to your interior life in order to correspond to the inspirations that angels send you to search continuously for Jesus. He gives Himself over to be found by simple and innocent souls, as were the holy shepherds. Seek Jesus and His presence everywhere.

34th Gift
The Holy Child Jesus gives to you as a gift His humility that made Him descend upon earth to unite Himself with the humiliations and lowness of our nature. It was the sentiment of all the Fathers that it was the great humility of the Holy Virgin that was able to draw the Word in herself. Be so humble yourself, and Jesus will come to you. Oh! that You will be raised, my God, says St. Augustine, and therefore it is in the humble of heart that You dwell.

35th Gift
The Holy Child Jesus gives to you as gift his Cross. It is the greatest gift of His love, because it is the measure of His mercy. He come to the world for the Cross, and from when He was born, He made with it the greatest alliance that ever existed. That is why, if you wish to find Jesus, look for the Cross. It is inseparable from him. Give to Him a heart and crucified love.

36th Gift
The Holy Child Jesus gives to you as a gift His great obedience that He rendered to His eternal Father through His Incarnation. He humbled Himself to make Himself obedient even unto death on the Cross. Render Him simple and punctual obedience through the persons of your superiors. Always submissive to the orders of His Father, Jesus has accomplished perfectly even the smallest points that the prophets made about Him. That is why He said at the time of His death the words: “All is finished.” This is how you should accomplish the will of God.

37th Gift
The Holy Child Jesus gives to you as a gift the marble stone so mysterious, upon which He appeared before the eyes of the Holy Virgin at the moment of His birth. While His small body suffered the hardness and cold of this marble, His divine heart felt even more the hardness of unrepentant sinners. He asks for a tender conscience and a gentle heart filed with compassion for the sins of your neighbor.

38th Gift
The Holy Child Jesus gives to you as a gift the dolorous sword that pierced His Holy Mother forty days after His birth. He asks that you bear like Mary those sufferings inscribed within your heart and that you render perpetual homage to the heart of this mother of sorrows that was pierced by this sword, that is the spirit of your holy vocation.

39th Gift
The Holy Child Jesus gives to you as a gift the little drop of blood that he bled during His circumcision, as a symbol of the great effusion of blood that He would make from the Cross for the sake of your love. He asks that you render homage and special adoration to the precious blood that resides in the Holy Sacrament of the altar, and that you think often with the Apostle: “You have been purchased for a great price; glorify God and carry Him within you.”

40th Gift
The Holy Child Jesus gives to you as a gift the donkey that carried Him to Egypt and that distanced Him from Herod’s furor. Jesus is again exposed to perish for the good of hearts. Herod pursues Him still. He begs you to shield Him from His furor, and to give counsel to exposed soul and who are in danger of losing grace. In acting like this you will serve the Son and bring joy to the heart of the Mother.

Imprimer

Étrennes du saint enfant Jésus

 

Ces étrennes étaient sans doute utilisées le jour de Noël.
Tours : Impr. Mame, s.d.


PREMIÈRE ÉTRENNE.
Le Père éternel, en vous donnant Jésus naissant, vous donne tous ses trésors et les richesses de sa divinité. Il demande que vous fassiez dans votre âme un vide de toutes les choses créées, afin qu'elle soit remplie de lui seul. Heureux vide ! qui mérite d'être rempli de Dieu, et de ses richesses éternelles.
2e ÉTRENNE.
Le Père éternel vous donne son Fils unique pour étrenne. Il le fera mourir pour votre amour. Il vous demande aussi le sacrifice de celui dont vous faites votre unique : l'amour-propre, cruel ennemi qu'il veut que vous égorgiez pour son amour. Par là, vous deviendrez son unique, et, comme la sainte Épouse, vous direz avec transport : « Mon bien-aimé est tout à moi et je suis toute à lui. Une à un ! Una uni. »
3e ÉTRENNE.
Le Père éternel vous donne pour étrenne son bien-aimé Fils, dans lequel il prend son bon plaisir. Il demande que vous soyez les délices de son cœur divin, et veut prendre son plaisir en vous comme en sa bien-aimée fille mais il faut avoir un pur amour. Aimer Dieu, être aimée de Dieu et rien davantage.
4e ÉTRENNE.
Le Père éternel vous donne pour étrenne l'Ange du grand conseil : c'est son Fils unique, la sagesse éternelle, qu'il envoie pour dissiper les ténèbres et les erreurs des hommes. 11 veut, éclairer votre esprit, dissiper les ténèbres et les erreurs de vos sens et do votre orgueilleuse raison. Soumettez donc votre entendement à la belle lumière de la foi pure, simple et nue dont il vous fait présent à sa naissance. Être sage sans cette lumière, c'est être insensée.
5e ÉTRENNE.
Le saint enfant Jésus se donne à vous pour étrenne. Comme Verbe du Père, il veut être votre vie, votre pensée et votre lumière. Il remplira votre âme d'illustrations divines, si vous lui donnez accès et entrée libre dans vos puissances ; mais plus particulièrement dans l'intime de votre à me, dont il veut faire son trône et sa demeure éternelle.
6e ÉTRENNE.
Le saint enfant Jésus vous donne pour étrenne son esprit et ses saintes opérations. Il veut s'unir à votre âme de l'union la plus intime, la plus simple et la plus forte que vous ayez jamais ressentie, mais il veut que vous lui donniez un esprit épuré de l'opération des sens et dégagé de ces petits attaches que vous connaissez et qui empêchent cet esprit pur et saint d'opérer en vous ses grandeurs et ses merveilles.
7e ÉTRENNE.
Le saint enfant Jésus vous donne pour étrenne le grand anéantissement par lequel il vient à vous. Il demande de vous une Ame et un esprit tout anéantis au monde dans une vie humble, pauvre et cachée, afin que vous rendiez des hommages continuels à sa vie cachée et anéantie. Pour cela, mourez à la nature et à tout ce qui est humain, et répétez souvent avec S. Bernard : « Plus vous vous êtes abaissé pour moi, plus vous m'êtes cher, ô Dieu d'amour ! »
8e ÉTRENNE.
Le saint enfant Jésus vous donne en étrenne la très sainte Vierge sa mère, pour qu'elle soit votre mère, votre patronne et votre avocate; et aussi comme un modèle très accompli d'une parfaite et sainte vie. Soyez fidèle à suivre constamment l'exemple de ses saintes vertus; imitez particulièrement sa pureté et son humilité qui l'ont rendue digne d'être la mère de Dieu. Si vous accomplissez comme elle la volonté de son Père céleste, le saint enfant Jésus vous promet que vous serez vous-même et sa sœur et sa mère. (Matt XII, 50.)
9e ÉTRENNE
Le saint enfant Jésus vous donne pour étrenne sa divinité cachée sous les voiles de l'enfance, afin que vous l'adoriez en esprit et en vérité. Parmi les Gentils, plusieurs siècles avant sa naissance, on avait érigé un autel à ce Dieu inconnu ; vous, plus heureuse, vous le connaîtrez, si vous vous cachez en Dieu avec lui. Dressez-lui donc un autel dans votre cœur, et mourez à tout pour ne plus vivre que pour lui.
10e ÉTRENNE.
Celui qui Est se donne à vous pour étrenne. « Je suis celui qui est, » dit Dieu à Moïse du milieu du buisson ardent. Pour le posséder, anéantissez ce faux être qui ne subsiste que dans l'erreur de votre jugement, et videz votre cœur de tout amour des êtres périssables. Alors, ce Dieu que l'Écriture appelle un feu consumant, détruira en vous jusqu'aux moindres empêchements naturels ; il vous élèvera au-dessus des sens et de la raison par la pratique de la foi nue et du pur amour, et vous fera passer dans l'union parfaite avec lui.
11e ÉTRENNE.
Le saint enfant Jésus vous donne en étrenne ses regards amoureux, pour blesser et enflammer votre cœur. Oh ! qu'il est doux d'être regardé de Jésus et de regarder Jésus ! de faire de lui son unique objet ! de l'aimer et de l'adorer continuellement ! Il demande cela de vous, et, si vous le faites, il vous adresse ces paroles des Cantiques : « Vous avez blessé mon cœur, ma sœur, mon épouse ; vous avez blessé mon cœur par un regard de vos yeux.» (Cant. 4, 9.)
12e ÉTRENNE.
Dieu se donne à vous pour étrenne sous le beau titre d'Emmanuel, c'est-à-dire que Dieu veut être avec vous. Le prophète Isaïe nous dit qu'il mangera du beurre et du miel. Vous lui donnerez donc du beurre si vous lui donnez des œuvres pleines et parfaites, et du miel si vous avez une grande douceur et beaucoup de patience pour supporter votre prochain. C'est pour vous enseigner ces devoirs qu'il veut être avec vous !
13e ÉTRENNE.
Le saint enfant Jésus est le grand Roi, fort et admirable, ainsi que l'appelle le prophète Isaïe. Il vient vous communiquer sa force divine, pour vous aider à vaincre et à surmonter vos ennemis. Il veut que vous imitiez cette femme dont parle l'Écriture, qui doit écraser la tête du serpent. Confiez-vous donc en la force de Jésus, et abandonnez-vous à ce divin enfant. Jetez-vous en lui, dit S. Augustin, et soyez sans crainte, il ne se retirera pas pour vous laisser tomber.
14e ÉTRENNE.
Le saint enfant Jésus se donne à vous pour étrenne, comme un doux prince de paix. C'est ainsi que l'appelle son prophète. Il porte son sceptre sur son épaule. C'est sa sainte Croix. Par ses souffrances, et par la bonté avec laquelle il a supporté nos misères et nos défauts, il demande que vous souffriez patiemment les afflictions de corps et d'esprit que sa Providence permet, et que vous soyez indulgente pour les défauts et les travers de votre prochain.
15e ÉTRENNE.
Le saint enfant Jésus se donne à vous comme un petit agneau sans tache. Sous ce symbole, qui exprime la simplicité de son enfance, il demande que vous lui donniez votre âme pure et innocente, sans déguisement ni finesse d'amour-propre, afin que vous soyez digne de jouir continuellement de la douce présence de cet aimable enfant, qui se repaît parmi les lis des âmes pures et innocentes.
16e ÉTRENNE.
Le saint enfant Jésus se donne a vous comme frère et comme époux. Il veut vous donner cette marque de tendresse et d'amour si désirée de la sainte Épouse des Cantiques. Cherchez-le comme un frère dans la solitude ; vous le trouverez comme un époux dans la séparation totale des créatures, et c'est alors seulement que vous recevrez de sa bouche ce baiser chaste et divin qui remplit l'âme d'ineffables délices.
17e ÉTRENNE.
Le saint enfant Jésus vous donne pour étrenne son cœur divin et amoureux, tout plein de tendresse pour votre salut éternel. Il vous demande un cœur rempli d'amour non sensible, mais tout spirituel et éternel. Il veut que votre cœur soit, comme le petit lit de l'Épouse des Cantiques, tout plein des parfums odoriférants de ce pur amour.
18e ÉTRENNE.
Le saint enfant Jésus vous donne pour étrenne celte marque de tendresse si désirée de l'Épouse des Cantiques, lorsqu'elle dit, toute ravie : « Qu'il me donne un baiser de sa bouche. » O heureux baiser, qui exprime l'intime union de l'âme avec son Dieu ! Vous en ressentirez la joie si vous êtes fidèle à faire des œuvres de zèle et à accomplir parfaitement le précepte de l'amour de Dieu et du prochain.
19e ÉTRENNE.
Le saint enfant Jésus vous donne en étrenne saint Joseph pour père, pour gardien et pour directeur de votre âme ; et aussi pour modèle accompli d'une vie sainte et parfaite. Il veut que vous l'imitiez particulièrement en deux vertus : la fidélité et l'oraison, afin que vous deveniez vous-même une fille d'oraison et de silence, tout absorbée et anéantie dans le mystère de la crèche.
20e ÉTRENNE.
Le saint enfant Jésus vous donne pour étrenne ses petits langes et ses bandelettes. Il demande de vous des pratiques de pureté, d'humilité et de charité qui ne soient pas communes; un cœur de mère pour toutes vos sœurs, tendre à ressentir leurs peines, et plein de bonté pour supporter leurs défauts.
21e ÉTRENNE.
Le saint enfant Jésus vous donne pour étrenne les anges comme modèles de la parfaite louange qu'il a reçue de ces bienheureux esprits à l'heure de sa nativité. Il veut que vous soyez un ange en pureté et en amour, et recevoir une louange continuelle de vos puissances réunies au sommet de votre esprit, où Dieu habite et prend un souverain plaisir à entendre les concerts d'une âme toute ravie en lui, comme les anges le sont dans le ciel.
22e ÉTRENNE.
Le saint enfant Jésus vous donne pour étrenne son étoile, c'est-à-dire une foi pure et simple qui vous conduira droit h Dieu, si vous le cherchez véritablement au plus intime de votre âme. Car ceux qui le cherchent par la foi pure et nue le trouvent sûrement. Pensez-y bien.
23e ÉTRENNE.
Le saint enfant Jésus vous donne pour étrenne le lait de ses divines consolations, dont il veut bien remplir votre âme si vous êtes fidèle à la vider des plaisirs criminels des sens et de la nature. Dieu ne peut être goûté et savouré que d'un esprit qui a perdu le goût des choses de la terre, ou qui se plaît à en goûter les amertumes.
24e ÉTRENNE.
Le saint enfant Jésus vous donne pour étrenne son sceptre et sa couronne. Il veut que vous soyez une grande reine ; mais il vous demande l'assujettissement de vos sens et de vos passions, et particulièrement votre cœur, dans lequel il veut régner absolument. C'est pour cela qu'il vient, pour être le roi des cœurs. Ayez un cœur simple et docile à une si douce domination. Il est plein de bonté et d'amour pour ses sujets, mais particulièrement pour une épouse fidèle.
25e ÉTRENNE.
Le saint enfant Jésus vous donne pour étrenne les trois rois, afin qu'ils vous guident dans la voie de la perfection comme des maîtres expérimentés. Ayant si bien trouvé Jésus dans la crèche, ils vous enseigneront comment il faut aller à Dieu par la vie active, qui est la mortification; par la vie illuminative. qui est la charité consommée, par laquelle on adore Dieu en esprit et en vérité.
26e ÉTRENNE.
Le saint enfant Jésus vous donne pour étrenne l'étable qui lui a servi de palais. Il demande votre âme tout entière et sans réserve ; il la veut remplir de lui seul, et veut en faire son palais et sa demeure perpétuelle, pour y célébrer ses divines noces, et y faire un banquet solennel oit vous serez remplie de son divin Esprit et de ses dons, comme une épouse fidèle.
27e ÉTRENNE.
Le saint enfant Jésus vous donne en étrenne le foin sur lequel il reposa dans sa crèche, et par ce présent il veut vous instruire. J'entends une voix qui dit : «Criez. —Que crierai-je ? dit le prophète Isaïe. — Criez : toute chair n'est que du foin, et toute sa gloire est comme la fleur des champs.» Méprisez votre chair, mortifiez-la, qu'elle devienne connue une herbe fanée, et Jésus se reposera en vous ; il n'a pas voulu être couché sur des fleurs, mais sur du foin.
28e ÉTRENNE.
Le saint enfant Jésus vous donne pour étrenne la paille qui lui a servi de soutien et d'ornement dans sa crèche : elle est le symbole d'une âme souffrante, brisée par le fléau, et rompue par le fardeau des mortifications du corps et de l'esprit. Une telle âme porte Jésus pauvre et humilié, souffrant et brisé en cette vie; mais elle le portera un jour riche et glorifié, heureux et triomphant dans le ciel, où l'humiliation sera exaltée.
29e ÉTRENNE.
Le saint enfant Jésus vous donne pour étrenne le bœuf qui l'a servi et reconnu en sa crèche. L'Écriture dit que le bœuf et l'âne ont reconnu leur Seigneur. Jésus veut aussi que vous le reconnaissiez pour votre Seigneur ; que vous lui rendiez une obéissance simple et docile, avec un esprit tout anéanti en sa présence, comme un enfant attentif aux volontés de son père, et qui les accomplit sans réplique.
30e ÉTRENNE.
Le saint enfant Jésus vous donne pour étrenne l'âne qui l'a réchauffé de son haleine dans la crèche, et qui était tout proche de lui. Dans les offices les plus bas et les plus abjects, on peut jouir de la présence de Jésus, être tout auprès de lui. Le prophète David disait à Dieu : « J'ai été devant vous connue une bête de charge, et cependant j'étais toujours avec vous. » Embrassez avec joie les actions basses et pénibles, et vous réchaufferez Jésus dans la crèche de votre cœur, vous serez toujours avec lui.
31e ÉTRENNE.
Le saint enfant Jésus vous donne pour étrenne sa crèche. Elle est petite et humble : on n'y voit rien qui flatte les sens; c'est là néanmoins que Jésus repose pour vous montrer que l'esprit de Dieu se plaît dans un cœur humble et purifié de toutes les affections sensibles. C'est aussi dans un tel cœur que Jésus prend ses délices et qu'il opère ce vrai sommeil des puissances et ce sacré repos de l'Épouse qui dit : « Je dors, mais mon cœur veille. » O heureuses les âmes que Dieu favorise ainsi ! Mais pour jouir de ce bonheur, il faut pouvoir dire avec saint François d'Assise : "Mon Dieu et mon tout !"
32e ÉTRENNE.
Le saint enfant Jésus vous donne pour étrenne ses petits cris et ses larmes. Le prophète disait : « J'écouterai ce que le Seigneur dira au dedans de moi. » Écoutez, vous, les cris et les larmes de Jésus; écoutez-les, ces cris et ces larmes de Jésus au dedans de vous-même après la sainte communion : il demande vos gémissements, vos cris et vos larmes pour tant de pécheurs ; criez alors avec Jésus, mêlez vos larmes aux siennes, et vous leur obtiendrez des grâces de conversion. Les larmes, dit S. Augustin, sont le sang d'un cœur blessé ; que ce sang coule avec celui de Jésus pour le salut des pécheurs.
33e ÉTRENNE.
Le saint enfant Jésus vous donne on étrenne les pasteurs pour modèles d'une parfaite louange et d'une exacte vigilance. Soyez assidûment attentive à votre intérieur, afin de correspondre aux inspirations que les anges vous donnent' continuellement de chercher Jésus. Il se laisse trouver par les âmes simples et innocentes, comme étaient les saints pasteurs. Cherchez donc Jésus et sa présence en tous lieux.
34e ÉTRENNE.
Le saint enfant Jésus vous donne pour étrenne son humilité qui l'a fait descendre sur la terre pour s'unir aux humiliations et aux bassesses de notre nature. C'est le sentiment de tous les Pères que la grande humilité de la sainte Vierge fut capable d'attirer le Verbe dans son sein. Soyez humble aussi vous-même, et Jésus viendra on vous. Oh ! que vous êtes élevé, mon Dieu, disait saint Augustin, et cependant c'est dans les humbles de cœur que vous habitez !
35e ÉTRENNE.
Le saint enfant Jésus vous dorme pour étrenne sa Croix. C'est le plus précieux don de son amour, puisque c'est le gage de ses miséricordes. 11 vient au monde pour la Croix, et dès qu'il est né, il fait avec elle la plus forte alliance qui ait jamais existé. C'est pourquoi, si vous voulez trouver Jésus, cherchez sa Croix ; il en est inséparable. Donnez-lui donc un cœur et un amour crucifié.
36e ÉTRENNE.
Le saint enfant Jésus vous donne pour étrenne la grande obéissance qu'il a rendue à son Père éternel, dans son Incarnation. Il s'est humilié lui-même pour se faire obéissant jusqu'à la mort delà croix. Rendez-lui Une obéissance simple et ponctuelle en la personne de vos supérieurs. Toujours soumis aux ordres de son Père, Jésus a accompli parfaitement jusqu'aux moindres points de ce que les prophètes ont dit de lui. C'est pourquoi il dit à sa mort ces paroles : Tout est consommé. C'est ainsi que vous devez accomplir les volontés de Dieu.
37e ÉTRENNE.
Le saint enfant Jésus vous donne pour étrenne la pierre de marbre toute mystérieuse sur laquelle il parut aux yeux do la sainte Vierge, au moment de sa naissance. Pendant que son petit corps souffrait de la dureté et de la froideur de ce marbre, son cœur divin ressentait bien davantage la dureté des pécheurs endurcis. Il vous demande une conscience timorée et un cœur tendre et plein de compassion pour les péchés de votre prochain.
38e ÉTRENNE.
Le saint enfant Jésus vous donne pour étrenne le glaive de la douleur dont il lit part à sa sainte mère, quarante j ours après sa naissance. Il demande que vous portiez comme Marie ses souffrances imprimées dans votre âme. et que vous rendiez des hommages perpétuels au cœur de cette mère de douleur, qui fut transpercé de ce glaive ; c'est l'esprit de votre sainte vocation.
39e ÉTRENNE.
Le saint enfant Jésus vous donne pour étrenne la petite goutte de sang qu'il répandit à sa circoncision, comme un gage de la grande effusion qu'il doit en faire sur la croix pour votre amour. Il demande que vous rendiez des hommages et des adorations particulières à ce précieux sang qui réside au S.-Sacrement de l'autel, et que vous pensiez souvent à ce que dit l'Apôtre : « Vous êtes rachetés d'un grand prix; glorifiez Dieu et le portez dans vos corps. »
40e ÉTRENNE.
Le saint enfant Jésus vous donne pour étrenne l'âne qui le transporta en Egypte et qui l'éloigna de la fureur d'Hérode. Jésus est encore exposé à périr dans bien des cœurs; Hérode le poursuit toujours. Il vous prie de le soustraire à sa fureur, en donnant des conseils aux âmes exposées et en les éloignant des dangers de perdre la grâce. En agissant ainsi vous servirez le Fils et vous réjouirez le cœur de la Mère.