Print

Witness 10 - Almire Pichon, S. J.


The tenth witness in the Ordinary Trial is Fr. Pichon, of the Company of Jesus.

Born in Carrouges (Orne) on 3rd February 1843, Almire-Théophile-Augustin Pichon entered the Company on 30th October 1863 and was ordained a priest on 8th September 1873. A Doctor of Theology, he taught philosophy for many years then progressively devoted himself to the ministry, notably preaching at retreats.  

He was in Lisieux on 17th April 1882 for a retreat at the Lambert factory. Marie Martin wanted to meet him. He thereafter became her spiritual director and, according to Mr. Martin, of the whole family as well. It was, if truth be told, Marie and Céline who benefitted from his direction the most. (Fr. Pichon even thought of asking Céline to found an Institute he was planning to set up in Canada).

It was in Alençon in 1883 that Thérèse met him for the first time. She wrote to him the following year for her first Communion and his reply was a source of joy for her - MSA, p. 34v - . He left for Canada in 1885 and stayed there until 1886. Thérèse saw him again at the Carmel convent on 18th May 1887 when Sister Marie of the Sacred Heart took the Habit, and, in all likelihood, on the following 15th October, on the feast day of Saint Teresa of Avila. He pronounced the speech when Sister Marie of the Sacred Heart took the Veil on 23rd May 1888 and also gave a community retreat to mark the fiftieth anniversary of the founding of the monastery. It was on 28th May, the last day of the retreat, that Thérèse had the opportunity to open up to him in the confessional and the priest said to the young postulant: “In the presence of God, the Blessed Virgin and all the Saints, I declare that you have never committed a single mortal sin.” (MSA, p. 70r). This solemn affirmation was a great consolation to the Saint as she then explained before adding: “The good priest also spoke these words which are engraved in my heart: ‘My child, may Our Lord always be your Superior and Novice Master’. He was this in fact and he was also ‘my Director’…” explained Thérèse who later added: “I have said that Jesus was ‘my Director’. Upon entering Carmel, I met one who was to serve me in that capacity, but hardly had I been numbered among his children when he went into exile. Thus I came to know him only to be deprived of him. Reduced to receiving one letter a year from him to my twelve, my heart quickly turned to the Director of directors, and it was he who taught me that science hidden from the wise and prudent and revealed to little ones.” - MSA 71, 1 - .

Fr. Pichon left once more for Canada on 3rd November 1888 and did not return to France until 1907. Exercising an extremely active apostolate (during the course of his life he gave talks at no less than 1015 retreats) and, moreover, suffering from poor eyesight, he wrote increasingly fewer letters. The priest wrote to Sister Thérèse a little over once a year: she received sixteen letters between 1888 and 1897. There were also two others: one destined for the four Martin sisters and the other addressed to Thérèse personally, but written a few days after her death, of which the priest was not yet aware.      

How many letters did Sister Thérèse write to Fr. Pichon? Monsignor Combes states that at the rate of twelve per year there was in fact a total of one hundred and eleven or one hundred and twelve (A. PICHON, Retreat, Rome, 1967, p.12.) But the Carmel of Lisieux sees things differently: “In total, there are a minimum of 48 letters, allowing for an additional margin, but which is too hypothetical for a precise figure to be determined. It is certain that the Jesuit’s eye complaint prompted the charitable Thérèse into writing fewer letters.” (Vie thérésienne, 1968, p.137).

It is extremely unfortunate that none of the Saint’s letters to Father Pichon were kept. Take, for example, the personal comment Thérèse makes on a letter she sent him in July or August 1897: “My whole Soul was there.” The letter was a commentary on psalm 22 “The Lord is my Shepherd” (cf. Letters, p. 434). -  Let us quote the following words pronounced by the Saint on 4th July 1897: “I am very grateful to Fr. Alexis; he did me much good. Fr. Pichon treated me too much like a child; however he did me much good also by telling me I’d not committed a mortal sin” - LC 4-7-1897 - .

Fr. Pichon was in increasing contact with the Carmel of Lisieux before he died in Paris on 15th November 1919 *(VT 1967et 1968). He testified on 25th and 26th January 1911, in sessions 51-52, pp. 543v-553r of our Public Copy.

 

[Session 51: - 25th January 1911, at 2pm]

[543v] [The witness answers the first question correctly].

[Answer to the second question]:

My name is Almire-Théophile-Augustin Pichon, born in Carrouges, in the diocese of Séez, on 3rd February 1843, of the legitimate marriage between Jean-Baptiste Pichon and Augustine Anger. I am a professed priest in the Company of Jesus. I taught philosophy in our secondary establishments in France and in our school in Laval. I was then a missionary for 21 years in Canada.

[544r] [Do you have a diploma in the sacred sciences?]:

I have a Doctorate of Theology.

[Answer to the third question]:

I don’t believe I am prompted to testify by any human consideration. I loved this child a great deal, and recognized that she was a very privileged soul before God; but I can confirm that this feeling will in no way invalidate my judgment of her.

[Answer to the eighth question]:

In about 1880 or 1881 I came to Lisieux to preach at a retreat at the Lambert factory. Miss Marie Martin, the Servant of God’s elder sister, came to speak to me about matters of conscience, and it was then that I established relations with the whole family that have since never ceased. I corresponded frequently with all the children; I was invited to the Buissonnets several times (Mr. Martin’s house) and [544v] I was also visited by various members of the family in Paris and elsewhere. I was the Servant of God’s confessor and councilor on many occasions. I haven’t used the book “Story of a Soul” for my deposition; I have only drawn on my personal memories.

[Answer to the ninth question]:

I pray God with all my heart that this Cause will be successful, because I believe it to be in the interest of his glory.

[In answer to the tenth question he says he knows nothing more than what is reported in the Servant of God’s Story].

[Answer to the eleventh question]:

I didn’t know the Servant of God’s mother; they said in her family she was a saint. As for Mr. Martin, he appeared to me as a very fervent and very unworldly Christian. He saw everything from the point of view of God; one would have said he was a stray friar lost in the world. The family environment in which the Servant of God grew up was wholly imbued with faith and piety. [545r]

[Answers to the twelfth and thirteenth questions]:

I don’t know anything particular on these points.

[Answer to the fourteenth question]:

It is to my knowledge that the Servant of God was raised in her family without any worldly contact. Her sisters, who were mothers to her, brought her up very carefully and delicately; she thereby received a most Christian education.

[Answer to the fifteenth question]:

What struck me about this child was her simplicity, ingenuity and innocence. She was very much loved by her father and sisters, though I didn’t notice any weakness on their part. But what is particularly remarkable for a child of her age, is that she didn’t rely on herself for anything at all, was entirely self-forgetful and didn’t boast about any of her qualities. She was shy and reserved; she never pushed herself to the fore.

[545v] [Answer to the sixteenth question]:

I’ve heard it said that she had thought about religious life very early on. Moreover, you only had to observe her a little to see that this young girl was evidently not made for the world, but that God had put his seal on her. Even in contact with what is most alluring in the world, never did she feel attracted by the delights of fortune or rank. I know all this through the letters she wrote me and also through the conversations I had with her, in the two years preceding her entrance into the Carmelite convent. She consulted me about her vocation and I, in all conscience, supported her endeavours to enter as early as fifteen years of age.

[Answer to the seventeenth question]:

At the beginning of her novitiate, I preached a retreat at the Carmel of Lisieux. In the conversations I had with her then as her director, I was particularly struck by the fact that, contrary to appearances, God didn’t lavish her with a sweet affectionate piety, but was training her to be soundly pious by leading her through periods of dryness, hardship, and inner turmoil. Never was her turmoil [546r] betrayed on the outside in worry or sadness, she bore it with unfailing serenity and even-temperedness.

[In answer to the eighteenth question he says he knows nothing more than what is reported in the book of her “Life”].

[Answer to the nineteenth question]:

I have read “Story of a Soul”, the biography she wrote. I can confirm that the story is the most naïve and most truthful expression of her moral physiognomy. In 1900 I met Father de Causans, the Superior of our house in Rouen, who is an excellent judge of spiritual things. He told me in his own words, on speaking about the book: “After the works of Saint Teresa and Saint John of the Cross, I don’t know of anything more beautiful.”

[Answer to the twentieth question]:

This child appeared to me as exceptionally virtuous, especially in terms of humility and self-forgetfulness, offering everything to God. Never was I able to ascertain the slightest weakness in her, the lea-[546v]st despondency, or even the slightest weakening of her willpower in her practice of perfection.

[Answer to the twenty-first question]:

Having been away from France since the end of 1888, I cannot provide any further details on her virtues other than what I mentioned in my preceding answers.

[In answer to the twenty-second question he says he doesn’t know anything].

[Answers to questions twenty-three to twenty-six].

I don’t know anything in particular.

[Answer to the twenty-seventh question]:

I can provide a specific testimony on this point: 1st with regards to Canada where I lived for 21 years. – 2nd with regards to Austria, Bohemia, Hungry and Italy to where I have recently travelled preaching retreats.  

1st Concerning Canada, I can confirm that Sister Thérèse’s Life Story is better known and better appreciated there than it is in France; not only all the religious communities, but also all educated [547r] pious people and the clergy, read and reread the book. This biography is special in that it can be read five, six, or seven times, and each time teach you something new; what makes reading this book so delightful is the perfume of virtue that emanates from her life and the influence she has over your soul, encouraging you to move forward on the road to perfection through practicing her “little way of surrender” that is so accessible to anyone with goodwill. Another significant fact is that a very great number of religious vocations have been born through the study of her life story: so many young nuns have said to me: “it was Sister Thérèse who drew me to the cloister!”  

2nd In Austria and the above mentioned European countries, I have observed the marvelous impact this little soul has had. Her reputation for holiness is in everyone’s hearts, even amongst those living in the world. In relation to what lies behind the absolutely extraordinary way in which the Servant of God’s reputation for holiness and spiritual influence has spread, I would say that it seems inexplicable to me without the exceptional intervention of God. Bookshops have undoubtedly worked at selling the book, but it is more likely that they have simply been satisfying public demand; no publicity can account for souls’ attraction to this biography.

[Session 52: - 26th January 1911, at 8:30am]

[551r] [Answer to the twenty-eighth question]:

I have only ever heard, amid scores of praise, one dissonant voice. A Sister, who is dead today, esteemed that Sister Thérèse’s piety was childish and wholly superficial. But I would say that this testimony actually honours Sister Thérèse, because the Sister, whom I knew well, was completely puffed up with rationalism and human understanding; she was well-known in the community for being devoid of spiritual intelligence. This Sister belonged to the so-called [551v] “Jesus Mary” community in Fall-River (U.S.A, Mass.).

[Answer to the twenty-ninth question]:

I read the account published by the Carmel of Lisieux entitled “Shower of Roses”, which contains numerous letters relating the extraordinary favours attributed to the Servant of God’s intercession. I can personally vouch for three points: 1st in Canada and in Europe I knew a number of religious and lay people who believed they owed favours they had received to the Servant of God, including temporal but above all spiritual graces. 2nd in different communities in France and America I know a fair number of young nuns (at least twenty) who attribute the grace of their vocation to her; some of them even told me, that in their case, the grace of their vocation was preceded by a true conversion after years of going astray in the world, and that this change was solely due to their reading Sister Thérèse’s Life Story. 3rd I am deeply convinced that I owe to the Servant of God a double healing that the doctors said was inexplicable: 1st following a leg fracture, a permanent state of congestion developed, which lasted for about three years. The doctors had told me that any wound to this leg would be very serious and would never heal. Now, I had an accident in 1908; a state of very copious suppuration did indeed develop, and for seven weeks several doctors tried in vain to stop the spread of this ulcer that had become several centimetres deep. On 2nd January 1909, the doctor forced me to take to my bed without leaving me any hope of recovery. So I recommended myself to Sister Thérèse’s prayers, and on the fifth day the wound had completely healed, with no trace of any discharge, and from then on I was able to celebrate holy mass again, to the astonishment of the doctor who had prescribed me no other treatment than bed-rest. 2nd On 2nd August 1909, I was struck down, in the middle of a retreat I was preaching to the Augustine nuns, in rue de la Santé in Paris, by an infectious bronchopneumonia that resulted from an engorgement of the intestines; and the attack was so violent that three doctors said I would die within a few hours, and it was advised that I receive Extreme Unction, which I did. I called on Sister Thérèse and the nuns who were nursing me joined my prayers. I naively said to her to be obedient in heaven like she was on earth. I also asked her whether she would grant me a simple and quick recovery for God’s glory, but without a miracle that was too striking, since it is a difficult burden to bear. Now on the sixth or seventh day I was celebrating mass. As early as the second day the doctor said to me: “I don’t understand at all, you’ve got a saint hiding under there.” “Actually” I replied, “I do.” When I was recovered, and thanking the doctor for having saved my life, he answered: “I am totally innocent, you’ve thrown all our pathological notions; medically, as far as we were concerned you were dead.”

[Answer to the thirtieth question]:

I would like to add two details relating to her life as a young girl: 1st I was struck by her obedience that was always simple, serene and without argument. I never saw her object, argue or simply hesitate before an order, a piece of advice, or even one of her father or sisters’ wishes; I’ve always admired the ease, the charming grace with which she denied herself in order to submit to everything and everyone in her family life.

2nd Concerning the expression that has become famous “I want to spend my heaven doing good on earth”, I remember her addressing it to me, in writing, on several occasions, even though she was still in the world. Her emphasis struck and intrigued me. More than once was I on the verge of asking her what she meant by this; unfortunately excessive discretion held me back.      

Concerning her “spiritual way or direction” (Question 21, de prudentia), three points struck me as salient: 1st Her spirit of faith: even as a child she was used to seeing God in everything, to recognizing his action and permission in the tiniest of things. 2nd Her spirit of trust and love: in the most painful hardships all she saw was the proof of God’s love. Her heart was always willing to bless God for everything. Far from ignoring God’s gifts to her through grim humility, her heart’s inclination led her to acknowledge them in order to thank God for them. 3rd Her cult for suffering and the cross consisted of esteem and love, which was very advanced for her age.

[553v] [Concerning the Articles, the witness says he knows nothing more than what he has already deposed in answer to the preceding questions. – Here ends the interrogation of this witness. The Acts are read out. The witness makes no modification to them and signs as follows]:

Ita pro veritate deposui, ratum habeo et confirme.

Signatum: A. PICHON, S. J.

Imprimer

Témoin 10 - Almire Pichon, S. J.

Le dixième témoin du Procès ordinaire est le P. Pichon, de la Compagnie de Jésus.

Né à Carrouges (Orne) le 3 février 1843, Almire-Théophile-Augustin Pichon entra dans la Compagnie le 30 octobre 1863 et fut ordonné prêtre le 8 septembre 1873. Docteur en théologie, il enseigna la philosophie durant bien des années puis s'adonna progressivement au ministère, à celui notamment de la prédication de retraites.

Il était à Lisieux le 17 avril 1882 pour une retraite à l'usine Lambert. Marie Martin voulut le rencontrer. Il en fut dans la suite le directeur spirituel et, selon l'expression de monsieur Martin, il devint aussi celui de toute la famille. Ce furent, à vrai dire, Marie et Céline qui en profitèrent le plus. (Le P. Pichon pensa même à celle-ci pour la fondation d'un Institut qu'il projetait au Canada).

C'est à Alençon que Thérèse le rencontra pour la première fois en 1883. Elle lui écrivit l'année suivante à l'occasion de sa première communion et en reçut une réponse qui lui fut source de joie - MSA>, f. 34v - . Le père partit pour le Canada en 1885 et y resta jusqu'en 1886. Thérèse le revit au Carmel le 18 mars 1887 à l'occasion de la prise d'habit de soeur Marie du Sacré-Coeur, et, selon toute probabilité, le 15 octobre suivant, en la fête de sainte Thérèse d'Avila. Le père prononça le discours de prise de voile de soeur Marie du Sacré-Coeur le 23 mai 1888 et donna aussi alors une retraite de communauté à l'occasion du cinquantenaire de la fondation du monastère. Ce fut le 28 mai, au dernier jour de cette retraite, que Thérèse eut l'occasion de s'ouvrir à lui au confessionnal et le père dit à la jeune postulante, au terme de sa confession générale: « En présence du bon Dieu, de la Sainte Vierge et de tous les Saints, je déclare que vous n'avez jamais commis un seul péché mortel » (MA «A», f. 70r). Cette affirmation solennelle fut d'une grande consolation pour la sainte comme elle l'explique là avant d'ajouter: « Le bon père me dit encore ces paroles qui se sont doucement gravées en mon coeur: 'Mon enfant, que Notre-Seigneur soit toujours votre Supérieur et votre Maître des novices'. Il le fut en effet et aussi 'mon Directeur'... », précise Thérèse qui ajoute un peu plus loin: «J'ai dit que Jésus avait été 'mon Directeur'. En entrant au Carmel je fis connaissance avec celui qui devait m'en servir, mais à peine m'avait-il admise au

 

TÉMOIN 10: Almire PICHON S.J.

 

nombre de ses enfants qu'il partit pour l'exil... Ainsi je ne l'avais connu que pour en être aussitôt privée... Réduite à recevoir de lui une lettre par an, sur 12 que je lui écrivais, mon coeur se tourna bien vite vers le Directeur des directeurs et ce fut lui qui m'instruisit de cette science cachée aux savants et aux sages qu'il daigne révéler aux plus petits... » - MSA 71,1 - ..

Le P. Pichon repartit pour le Canada le 3 novembre 1888 pour ne revenir en France qu'en 1907. Exerçant un apostolat des plus actifs (au cours de sa vie il donna bien 1015 retraites) et, de surcroît, souffrant des yeux, il réduisit toujours davantage sa correspondance. Le père écrivit à soeur Thérèse un peu plus d'une fois l'an: elle en reçut, en effet, seize lettres échelonnées de 1888 à 1897. Il faut aussi en compter deux autres: l'une destinée aux quatre soeurs Martin et l'autre adressée à soeur Thérèse personnellement, mais rédigée quelques jours après sa mort, encore ignorée du père.

Combien de lettres soeur Thérèse écrivit-elle au P. Pichon? Monseigneur Combes affirme qu'au rythme de douze par an il y en eut bien un total de cent onze à cent douze (A. PICHON, Retraite, Rome, 1967, p. 12). Mais le Carmel de Lisieux voit les choses différemment:

«Au total, minimum de 48 lettres, avec une marge supplémentaire dont l'évaluation est trop 'hypothétique pour qu'on avance un chiffre quelconque. On peut tenir pour certain que les maux d'yeux du jésuite incitèrent la charitable Thérèse à réduire sa correspondance » (Vie thérésienne, 1968, p. 137).

Il est infiniment regrettable qu'aucune des lettres de la sainte au père Pichon n'ait été conservée. Que l'on pense, par exemple à cette confidence de Thérèse au sujet de celle qu'elle lui envoya en juillet ou en août 1897: « Toute mon âme était là.» Cette lettre était un commentaire du psaume 22, «Le Seigneur est mon Pasteur » (cf. Lettres, p. 434). -  ?

Citons ces paroles prononcées par la Sainte le 4 juillet 1897: « J'ai une grande reconnaissance envers le P. Alexis, il m'a fait beaucoup de bien. Le P. Pichon me traitait trop comme une enfant; cependant il m'a fait du bien aussi en me disant que je n’ai pas commis de péché mortel» - DEA 4-7-1897 - .

Le P. Pichon qui demeura toujours plus en contact avec le Carmel de Lisieux mourut à Paris le 15 novembre 1919 *(VT 1967et 1968). Il donna son témoignage le 25 et 26 janvier 1911, au cours des sessions 51-52, f. 543v-553r de notre Copie publique.

[Session 51: - 25 janvier 1911, à 2h. de l'après-midi]

 

[543v][Le témoin répond correctement à la première demande].

[Réponse à la seconde demande]:

Je me nomme Almire-Théophile-Augustin Pichon, né à Carrouges, diocèse de Séez, le 3 février 1843, du légitime mariage de Jean-Baptiste Pichon et d'Augustine Anger. Je suis prêtre, profès de la Compagnie de Jésus. J'ai enseigné dans nos établissements secondaires en France et à notre scolasticat de Laval la philosophie. J'ai été ensuite missionnaire pendant 21 ans au Canada.

 

[544r] [Avez-vous quelque grade en sciences sacrées?]:

Je suis docteur en théologie.

 

[Réponse à la troisième demande]:

Je ne crois pas être mû dans ma déposition par aucune considération humaine. J'aimais beaucoup cette enfant, en qui je reconnaissais une âme très privilégiée devant Dieu; mais je puis affirmer que ce sentiment ne saurait en aucune manière vicier mon jugement à son égard.

 

[Réponse à la huitième demande]:

Vers 1880 ou 1881 je vins à Lisieux prêcher une retraite à l'usine Lambert. Mademoiselle Marie Martin, soeur aînée de la Servante de Dieu, vint me parler des affaires de sa conscience, et à cette occasion je nouai avec toute cette famille des relations qui n'ont plus jamais cessé. J'étais en correspondances fréquentes avec tous les enfants; plusieurs fois j'ai été reçu aux Buissonnets (résidence de monsieur Martin) et [544v] j'ai aussi reçu à Paris et ailleurs plusieurs visites des uns et des autres. J'ai été à diverses reprises confesseur et conseiller de la Servante de Dieu. Je n'ai pas utilisé pour ma déposition le livre de l'« Histoire d'une âme »; j'ai seulement fait appel à mes souvenirs personnels.

 

[Réponse à la neuvième demande]:

Je prie le bon Dieu de tout mon coeur pour le succès de cette Cause, parce que je crois que sa gloire y est intéressée.

 

[A la dixième demande, il répond ne rien savoir si ce n'est ce qui est rapporté dans l'Histoire de la Servante de Dieu].

 

[Réponse à la onzième demande]:

Je n'ai pas connu la mère de la Servante de Dieu; on disait dans la famille que c'était une sainte. Quant à monsieur Martin, il m'a paru être un chrétien très fervent et très surnaturel. Il voyait tout au point de vue du bon Dieu; on eût dit un religieux égaré dans le monde. Le milieu familial où a grandi la Servante de Dieu, était tout imprégné de foi et de piété. [545r]

 

TÉMOIN 10: Almire PICHON S.J.

 

[Réponse aux douzième et treizième demandes]:

Je ne sais rien de spécial sur ces points.

 

[Réponse à la quatorzième demande]:

Il est à ma connaissance que la Servante de Dieu fut élevée dans sa famille sans aucune fréquentation mondaine. Ses soeurs, qui lui servaient de mère, l'élevaient avec beaucoup de soin et de délicatesse; elle reçut donc une éducation des plus chrétiennes.

 

[Réponse à la quinzième demande]:

Ce qui m'a beaucoup frappé dans cette enfant, ce fut sa simplicité, son ingénuité et son innocence. Elle était très aimée de son père et de ses soeurs, sans que j'aie vu aucune faiblesse de leur part. Mais ce qui est particulièrement remarquable dans une enfant de cet âge, c’est qu'elle ne rapportait absolument rien à elle-même et s'oubliait entièrement, ne se prévalant d'aucun de ses avantages. Elle était timide et réservée; ne se mettait jamais en avant.

 

[545v] [Réponse à la seizième demande]:

J'ai entendu dire qu'elle avait pensé de très bonne heure à la vie religieuse. D'ailleurs, il suffisait de l'observer un peu pour juger avec évidence que cette jeune fille n'était pas faite pour le monde, mais que Dieu avait marqué son cachet sur elle. Mise en contact avec ce que le monde a de plus séduisant, jamais elle ne s'est sentie attirée par ces jouissances de la fortune ou du rang. Je sais tout cela par les lettres qu'elle m'écrivait et aussi par des conversations que j'ai eues avec elle, précisément dans les deux années qui précédèrent son entrée au Carmel. Elle me consulta sur l'affaire de sa vocation et j'ai appuyé en toute conscience ses démarches pour entrer dès 15 ans.

 

[Réponse à la dix-septième demande]:

Au début de son noviciat, je donnai une retraite au Carmel de Lisieux. Dans les relations de direction que j'eus alors avec elle, je fus particulièrement frappé de ce que, contrairement aux apparences, le bon Dieu ne lui prodiguait pas les douceurs d'une piété affective, mais l'exerçait à une vertu solide en la conduisant par la voie des sécheresses, des privations et des épreuves intérieures. Jamais ces épreuves ne se [546r] trahissaient par un extérieur triste et préoccupé, elle les supportait avec une sérénité et une égalité d'humeur inaltérables.

 

[ A la dix-huitième demande il répond ne rien savoir de plus que ce qui est rapporté dans le livre de sa « Vie»].

[Réponse à la dix-neuvième demande]:

J'ai lu l'« Histoire d'une âme » ou sa biographie écrite par elle-même. Je puis attester que ce récit est l'expression la plus naïve et la plus vraie de sa physionomie morale. En 1900 je rencontrai le père de Causans, supérieur de notre résidence de Rouen, excellent juge dans les choses spirituelles. Il me dit en propres termes, parlant de ce livre: « Après les oeuvres de sainte Thérèse et de saint Jean de la Croix, je ne connais rien de plus beau.»

 

[Réponse à la vingtième demande]:

Cette enfant m'a paru d'une vertu absolument exceptionnelle, surtout au point de vue de l'humilité et de l'oubli d'elle-même, rapportant tout à Dieu. Jamais je n'ai pu surprendre en elle la moindre défaillance, le moin-[546v]dre découragement, le plus léger fléchissement de la volonté dans la pratique de la perfection.

 

[Réponse à la vingt-et-unième demande]:

Ayant été absent de France depuis la fin de 1888, je ne pourrais donner sur le détail de ses vertus d'autre appréciation que celle mentionnée dans mes réponses précédentes,

 

[A la vingt-deuxième demande il répond ne rien savoir].

 

[Réponse de la vingt-troisième à la vingt-sixième demande].

Je ne sais rien de spécial.

 

[Réponse à la vingt-septième demande]:

Je puis sur ce point rendre un témoignage spécial: l° pour le Canada où j'ai séjourné 21 ans. - 2° pour l'Autriche, la Bohème, la Hongrie et l'Italie que je viens de parcourir en donnant des retraites.

l° Pour ce qui est du Canada, je puis attester que la Vie de soeur Thérèse y est plus connue et plus appréciée qu'en France; non seulement toutes les communautés religieuses, mais toutes les personnes [547r] pieuses instruites et le clergé, lisent et relisent ce livre. C'est un caractère spécial de cette biographie qu'elle se fait relire des cinq, six et sept fois, et toujours avec un nouveau profit; ce qui donne tant de charme à cette lecture, c'est le parfum de vertu qui émane de cette vie et l'influence qu'elle exerce sur l'âme pour l'encourager à s'avancer dans la perfection par cette « petite voie d'abandon » si accessible à toutes les bonnes volontés. Un autre fait significatif c'est le très grand nombre de vocations religieuses que l'étude de cette vie a fait éclore: que de jeunes religieuses m'ont dit: « C'est soeur Thérèse qui m'a attirée vers le cloître!.»

2° Pour l'Autriche et les autres pays d'Europe mentionnés ci-dessus, j'ai constaté le merveilleux rayonnement de cette petite âme, dont le renom de sainteté est dans tous les coeurs, même parmi les personnes du monde. Au sujet des causes de cette diffusion absolument extraordinaire du renom de sainteté et de l'influence surnaturelle de la Servante de Dieu, je dirai que cela me paraît inexplicable sans une intervention exceptionnelle du bon Dieu. Les libraires ont sans doute travaillé à répandre le livre, mais ils ont plutôt suivi que produit l'entraînement du public; aucune réclame ne peut expliquer l'attrait des âmes pour cette biographie.

 

TÉMOIN 10: Almire PICHON S.J.

[Session 52: - 26 janvier 1911, à 8h. 30]

 

[551r] [Réponse à la vingt-huitième demande]:

Je n'ai jamais entendu, au milieu de tant d'éloges, qu'une seule voix discordante. Une religieuse, qui aujourd'hui est morte, estimait que la piété de soeur Thérèse était enfantine et toute superficielle. Mais je dirai que ce témoignage est plutôt à l'honneur de soeur Thérèse, car cette religieuse que j'ai bien connue était toute pétrie de rationalisme et de sens humain; elle était bien connue dans sa communauté comme dépourvue de sens surnaturel. Cette religieuse appartenait à la communauté dite [551v] de « Jésus-Marie » à Fall-River (Etats-Unis, Mass.).

 

[Réponse à la vingt-neuvième demande]:

J'ai lu la relation publiée par le Carmel de Lisieux sous le titre de « Pluie de roses », où sont contenues de nombreuses lettres rapportant les faveurs extraordinaires attribuées à l'intercession de la Servante de Dieu. Ce que je puis attester personnellement, se rapporte à trois points: 1" J'ai connu au Canada et en Europe nombre de personnes religieuses et séculières croyant devoir à la Servante de Dieu des faveurs signalées, grâces temporelles, mais surtout spirituelles. 2° je connais, en différentes communautés de France et d'Amérique un bon nombre de jeunes religieuses (au moins une vingtaine) qui lui attribuent la grâce de leur vocation; quelques-unes même m'ont confié que cette grâce de vocation avait été précédée pour elles d'une vraie conversion, après des années d'égarement dans le monde, et que ce changement était uniquement dû à la lecture de la Vie de soeur Thérèse. 3° J'ai la conviction profonde que je dois à la Servante de Dieu une double guérison que les [552r] docteurs m'ont avoué être médicalement inexplicable: l° à la suite d'une fracture de la jambe, il s'était établi un état de congestion permanent, qui durait depuis près de trois ans. Les médecins m'avaient déclaré qu'une blessure survenant à cette jambe serait très grave et ne se cicatriserait plus. Or, cet accident m'arriva en 1908; une suppuration très abondante s'établit en effet, et durant sept semaines plusieurs médecins s'employèrent vainement à arrêter les progrès toujours croissants de cette ulcération devenue profonde de plusieurs centimètres. Le 2 janvier 1909, le docteur m'obligea à prendre le lit sans me laisser aucun espoir de guérison. Je me recommandai alors à soeur Thérèse, et le cinquième jour la plaie était totalement cicatrisée, sans trace de suppuration, et je pus dès lors recommencer à dire la sainte messe, au grand étonnement du docteur qui n'avait ordonné aucun remède que le lit. 2° Le 28 août 1909, je fus terrassé au milieu d'une retraite que je prêchais aux religieuses augustines, rue de la Santé, à Paris, par une broncho-pneumonie infectieuse consécutive à un engorgement des intestins; et la crise fut si violente que trois docteurs déclarèrent que la mort allait suivre en quelques heures, et conseillèrent de me donner l'Extrême-Onction, ce qui fut fait. J'eus recours à soeur Thérèse et les religieuses qui me soignaient s'unirent à moi. Je lui disais [552v] naïvement de se montrer obéissante au ciel comme elle l'était sur la terre. Je lui disais aussi que si c'était la gloire de Dieu, elle m'obtint une guérison simple et rapide, mais sans un miracle trop éclatant, ce qui est un fardeau difficile à porter. Or le sixième ou le septième jour je disais la messe. Dès le second jour le docteur me disait: «Je n'y comprends rien, il y a un saint caché là dessous.» « Non - lui répondis-je -, il y a une sainte.» A la fin de ma convalescence, comme je remerciais le médecin de m'avoir sauvé la vie, il me répondit: « J'en suis bien innocent, vous avez dérouté toutes nos notions pathologiques; médicalement, pour nous vous étiez mort.»

 

[Réponse à la trentième demande]:

Je voudrais ajouter deux détails qui se rapportent à sa vie de jeune fille dans le monde: l° J'ai été frappé de son obéissance toujours simple, sereine et sans réplique. Je ne l'ai jamais vue objecter, discuter ou simplement hésiter devant un ordre, un conseil, voire même un désir de son père ou de ses soeurs; j'ai toujours admiré l'aisance, la grâce charmante avec lesquelles elle se renonçait pour se plier à tout et à tous dans la vie de famille.

2° Cette phrase devenue célèbre «Je veux passer mon ciel à faire du bien sur la terre », je me [553r] rappelle qu'elle me l'a adressée à moi-même, textuellement, à plusieurs reprises, alors qu'elle était encore dans le monde -  ? ? ? - . Son accent me frappait et m'intriguait. Plus d'une fois je fus sur le point de lui demander le sens qu'elle attachait à cette parole; malheureusement je fus retenu par une discrétion exagérée.

Au sujet de sa « voie ou direction spirituelle » (Interrogatoire XXI, de prudentia), trois choses surtout m’ont paru saillantes: I° Son esprit de foi: dès son enfance elle était habituée à voir Dieu en tout, à reconnaître son action ou sa permission jusque dans les moindres choses. 2° Son esprit de confiance et d'amour: dans les épreuves les plus douloureuses elle ne voyait que des gages de l'amour de Dieu. Son coeur était toujours prêt à bénir Dieu de tout. Loin de méconnaître par une humilité chagrine les dons de Dieu en elle, la pente de son coeur la portait à les avouer pour en remercier Dieu. 3° Son culte pour la souffrance et la croix, culte composé d'estime et d'amour, qui étaient bien au-dessus de son âge.

 

TÉMOIN 10: Almire PICHON S.J.

 

[553v] [Au sujet des Articles, le témoin dit ne savoir que ce qu'il a déjà déposé en répondant aux demandes précédentes. - Est ainsi terminé l'interrogatoire de ce témoin. Lecture des Actes est donnée. Le témoin n'y apporte aucune modification et signe comme suit]:

Ita pro veritate deposui, ratum habeo et confirme.

Signatum: A. PICHON, S. J.