Print

Witness 12 - Jean-Jules Raoul Auriault, S.J.

 

Born in Brie (in the diocese of Poitiers) on 19th February 1855, Jean-Jules Raoul Auriault entered the Company of Jesus when he was still young. A Doctor of Theology and a Bachelor of Canon Law, he was a professor of theology at the Catholic University of Paris for over twenty years. At the same time he devoted himself to retreat ministry, which led him to the Carmel of Lisieux on many occasions. He did not know the Servant of God, but his testimony is based on the reports made by people who knew her, particularly the Carmelite nuns of Lisieux, and can be divided into three parts: 1. The character of Thérèse’s holiness, as it appears in her writing; 2. The Servant of God’s reputation for holiness and her truly universal and spiritual influence; 3. The remarkable way in which her influence corresponds with the needs of souls in our time.

It is in fact a study (p. 568r), and a very interesting one at that. It represents the first doctrinal synthesis of Thérèse’s message, clearly highlighting how directly it responds to the necessities of our time. The witness also talks about Thérèse’s reputation for holiness and cites Fr. Longhaye as being one figure who was particularly drawn to the young Carmelite’s character and writings.

Fr. Auriault testified on 7th February 1911, in the 54th session, pp. 566v-572v of our Public Copy.

[Session 54: - 7th February 1911 at 8:30am and at 2pm]

[566v] [The witness answers the first question correctly].

[Answer to the second question]:

My name is Jean-Jules-Raoul Auriault, I was born in Brie, in the diocese of Poitiers, on 19th February 1855, of the legitimate marriage between Jean Auriault and Madeleine Cador. I am a professed priest of the Society of Jesus, a Doctor of Theology and a Bachelor of Canon Law. I was a professor of dogmatic theology at the Catholic University of Paris from 1886 to 1905. Since then I have been an honorary professor and I devote my time [567r] to ministry work in Paris.

[The witness answers the third question correctly].

[Answer to the fourth question]:

I was summoned before the criminal preliminary judge four or five times, as a member of an unauthorized congregation; the cases were dismissed.  

[The witness answers the fifth and sixth questions correctly].

[Answer to the seventh question]:

I am giving this testimony for the glory of God and no human motive can influence my judgment in this case.

[Answer to the eighth question]:

I didn’t know the Servant of God personally, and I never had any direct relations with her. My testi-[567v] mony will be based on reports made by people who knew her, chiefly the Carmelite nuns of Lisieux. Furthermore, I have made a very attentive study of the “Story of her Life” which was written by herself.

[What do you think about the genre and the truth of this work?]:

I don’t doubt that the work expresses, in the most truthful way, the Servant of God’s life and inner dispositions. The evident simplicity and spontaneity with which it is in fact written is most remarkable.  

[Answer to the ninth question]:

I desire and hope that this Cause will be successful because I believe it is in the order of Providence, and that this beatification will have a very effectual influence on souls, encouraging them and guiding them to perfection.

[Answers to questions ten to nineteen]:

I don’t know anything particular about the events that marked the [568r] Servant of God’s life; my study and observations are about the character of her holiness as it appears in her writings.

[Answers to the twentieth and twenty-first questions]:

What determines the traits of Thérèse of the Child Jesus’ holiness, is the special “mission” she received to stir a movement of generous trust towards the merciful love of God, and to pave the way for simplicity and evangelical childhood. Hence natural and supernatural gifts combine in her, giving her divine transparency and rendering her capable of marvelously reflecting God’s beauty and kindness. This leads to the filial feeling that marks her relations with the heavenly Father, a feeling that continuously increases and blossoms: a) into a growing need as she gets older to become increasingly little and childlike in relation to God, which prompts her remarkable devotion for Mary and for the Child Jesus. b) This is the reason for her humility that is so true and so joyful; c) hence her trust, which develops [568v] with a rare intensity to the point of audacity; she certainly has that “faith that moves mountains” (1 Cr. 13:2); d) hence also her freedom, righteousness, and sincerity which give her a wholly beautiful physiognomy conferring her spiritual appeal; e) by means of this very special grace to which she corresponded perfectly, she comes to this excellent love, making her desire and seek suffering as her best treasure, and covet “martyrdom of heart and of body” - MSA 76,b - , as did Saint John of the Cross (“pati et contemni pro te”). This leads her to an habitual state of charity in which she burns as a true holocaust for souls, suffering its fire with the zeal that renders her comparable to Saint Francis Xavier and Saint Teresa. This is really the culmination of her grace that renders her apt for her mission; where, convinced more than ever of her littleness and nothingness, she allows herself to dwell “in the heart of her Mother Church and from there shine with love, through all its members for the entire world” - MSB 3,2 - .This is the reason why, through a trait that is hers alone, she emphasizes her vocation and confirms that her mission will above all begin when she dies, and that she “will spend her heaven doing good on earth” – L.C 17-7 - . The facts therefore confirm the prophecy, it turns out that God manifests himself prodigiously in this young virgin!

[Answers to questions twenty-two to twenty-four]:

I don’t know anything particular about these questions.

[Answers to the twenty-fifth and twenty-sixth questions]:

I have been five or six times to her tomb, in the cemetery of Lisieux. There I personally felt especially drawn to practice devotion to the Servant of God, and I received inner graces there that I certainly attribute to her intercession. I also noticed, particularly on my last visits, that group after group of pilgrims go there, and the month of November 1910 was no exception, despite very bad weather. The pilgrims’ attitude was reverential; it was clear that they had come to pray and not out of curiosity.    

[569v] [Answer to the twenty-seventh question]:

I have observed from my very numerous and very varied connections, either with people in the outside world, or with religious communities, that the Servant of God’s reputation for holiness and spiritual influence are really universal. Very educated and very serious people admire her heroic virtue and feel its effects. Her reputation for holiness is widespread among the priests in our Society. I know the most educated and experienced people who never tire of rereading and meditating Sister Thérèse’s life story; the Reverend Father Longhaye is an example, well-known by all for his science and levelheadedness. Our young priests are drawn in great numbers to her “way of surrender”.

[Doesn’t her “spiritual way” lead to quietism to a certain extent?]:

All danger of quietism is thoroughly warded off by generous love of humiliation and suffering, and also by very active zeal, which are essential parts of Sister Thérèse’s spirituality.

[570r] [Do you know the cause of her reputation for holiness? Didn’t a degree of industrious zeal contribute to its spread?]:

I think the incredible spread of Sister Thérèse’s reputation for holiness is the result of divine intervention which is fulfilling the Servant of God’s mission to stimulate souls to holiness. The propaganda aiming at spreading her writings and souvenirs seems to be the consequence rather than the cause of believers’ enthusiasm for the Servant of God.

[Answer to the twenty-eighth question]:

I haven’t heard anything of note said against her reputation for holiness.

[Answer to the twenty-ninth question]:

I know a very considerable number of people from all walks of life who unceasingly pray to the Servant of God and say endless novenas in her honour to obtain either temporal, but mostly spiritual, graces. It is worth noting that, according to some of their [570v] reports, Sister Thérèse of the Child Jesus works in a particular way on souls to make them better. She hardly grants any temporal graces without accompanying them by some sort of inner sanctification. When temporal graces are not granted, it is rare that spiritual graces do not compensate for this to a certain extent; and I’ve often noticed that in these cases the solicitor of the grace doesn’t complain at all. Here is a case in point: an elderly and profoundly Christian person asked, at the Servant of God’s grave, to be cured of her deafness. She wrote: “What have I drawn from this pilgrimage, Father? The profound impression that on the road to holiness we must suffer and suffer a lot, that the souls whom God calls to perfection are those who have been tried the most, and that suffering is even a sign of predestination. Reading Sister Thérèse’s life story, I had until that day only ever been struck by the simplicity of her life of love for God. But there, before her tomb, I suddenly felt that the only way she reached such a degree of love was by experiencing a lot of unheeded suffering. I felt as if I’d been illuminated with a new light that showed me a life of immolation, a life known to all the saints, and especially to Our Lord, [571r] I understood that I shouldn’t fear suffering, that it is striking proof of God’s love for us, and I felt a desire, no, more like a need, to embark on this path: these are the impressions with which I left Lisieux.”  

One of the priests in our residence, who is 74 years old, said to me: “I certainly owe Thérèse of the Child Jesus one grace in particular: I had no devotion to the Sacred Heart; I asked her for it and I obtained it immediately.” This monk is a good preacher and a man full of good sense. As I said, the facts stunningly confirm the prophecy she made when she promised to “spend her heaven doing good on earth”, and this young virgin makes her influence felt everywhere: 1st through her writings, 2nd through her numerous miracles and conversions, 3rd through effectually calling “little souls” to “the way of surrender and spiritual childhood.” Her influence seems to correspond remarkably with souls’ needs in our time.

If the result of the mission she received is a new type of Christian perfection, [571v] it reveals the extent to which her action must be effectual on today’s generations: a) in a heavily materialist society, she is an angelic being who opens heaven and raises hearts. Especially as through her holy death, she seems to have attained a miraculous existence in our midst, and a function as it were of a helpful sister for the “travelers” on this earth; b) against discouragement and temptations to despair which only too often invade souls who are plunged in an atmosphere of disbelief, she creates a reaction of trust through her filial little way of surrender to God our Father: “Imitatores Dei estote sicut filii charissimi” - *Eph. 5:1 -; c) through emphasizing the spirit of evangelical humility, she destroys the illusion of nature which is the basis of Americanism, a “system” that depreciates so-called passive virtues; d) on the whole, she overturns that pride based on self-reliance and failure to recognize the power of grace; e) she clears the atmosphere for souls, by reducing the method for reaching perfection to its basic principles, clearing the way of everything needlessly obstructing it and leading people both inside and outside the monastery to discover [572r] that the Lord’s yolk is easy and his burden light - *Mt. 11:30 -; f) through the dogmatic realism of her piety and her active relationship with God, Our Lord, the Blessed Virgin, Saint Joseph, the Saints, the Church, the Pope, the Bishop, and Souls, she confounds the nominalism of the modernist error and protects people from a misleading transformism that destroys the personality of God and the historically proven mysteries in which we believe.

[Continuation of the answer to the twenty-ninth question]:

g) She is in the right place here at the frontier between two epochs, sent by God [572v] to continue demonstrating the existence of the supernatural world, a demonstration that is progressively becoming established thanks to the Vatican, Lourdes, and Joan of Arc. She is also here to herald a new era in which, in order to fight the prodigious work of the devil, we will need prodigious signs of divine holiness. True to the law of Providence, in order to achieve such immense results, God chooses a fragile child, a simple virgin: “Infirma mundi elegit Deus, ut confundat fortia” - * 1 Co. 1:27 -; c) In addition, as a result of her earthly origin, of the family background in which she was born and grew up, Thérèse’s holiness honours the Christian family, showing it as ideally accomplished by Christianity and highlights the link that exists between Christian perfection and religious perfection. It removes the idea of separation; it establishes the idea of union between religious life and the family as restored by Jesus Christ.

[Continuation of the answer to the thirtieth question]:

I have said all that I know.

[573r] [Concerning the Articles, the witness says he knows nothing more than what he has already deposed in answer to the preceding questions. – Here ends the interrogation of this witness. The Acts are read out. The witness makes no modification to them and signs as follows]:

Ita pro veritate deposui, ratum habeo et confirmo.

Signatuni: J. AURIAULT, S. J.

Imprimer

Témoin 12 - Jean-Jules Raoul Auriault, S.J.

Né à Brie (diocèse de Poitiers) le 19 février 1855, Jean-Jules Raoul Auriault entra, jeune encore, dans la Compagnie de Jésus. Docteur en théologie et licencié en droit canonique, il fut professeur de théologie à l'Institut catholique de Paris pendant plus de vingt ans. Il s'adonnait en même temps au ministère des retraites, ce qui le conduisit à maintes reprises au Carmel de Lisieux. Il ne connut pas la Servante de Dieu, mais son témoignage est fondé sur les rapports faits par les personnes qui l'ont connue, les carmélites de Lisieux plus spécialement, et se divise en trois points: 1. Caractère de la sainteté de Thérèse, tel qu'il se révèle dans ses écrits; 2. Réputation de sainteté de la Servante de Dieu et son influence surnaturelle vraiment universelle, 3. Convenance remarquable de cette influence avec les besoins des âmes à notre époque.

Au fond, c'est une étude (f. 568r), et fort intéressante. Il s'agit d'une première synthèse doctrinale du message thérésien, qui met bien en lumière sa correspondance avec les nécessités de notre temps. Le témoin parle aussi de la renommée de sainteté de Thérèse et cite le P. Longhaye parmi les personnalités particulièrement attirées par la figure et les écrits de la jeune carmélite.

Le P. Auriault déposa le 7 février 1911, au cours de la 54ème session, f. 566v-572v de notre Copie publique.

[Session 54: - 7 février 1919 à 8h. 30 et à 2h. de l'après-midi]

[566v] [Le témoin répond correctement à la première demande].

[Réponse à la seconde demande]:

Je m'appelle Jean-Jules-Raoul Auriault, né à Bric, diocèse de Poitiers, le 19 février 1855, du légitime mariage de Jean Auriault et de Madeleine Cador. Je  suis prêtre profès de la Société de Jésus, docteur en théologie, licencié en droit canonique. J'ai été professeur de théologie dogmatique à l'Université Catholique de Paris de 1886 à 1905. Depuis, je suis professeur honoraire et me livre [567r] aux travaux du ministère à Paris.

[Le témoin répond correctement à la troisième demande).

[Réponse à la quatrième demande]:

J'ai été cité à quatre ou cinq reprises devant le juge d'instruction criminel, comme membre d'une Congrégation non autorisée; ces affaires se sont terminées par un non-lieu.

[Le témoin répond correctement aux demandes cinquième et sixième].

[Réponse à la septième demande]:

Je fais cette déposition en vue de la gloire de Dieu et je n’ai aucun motif humain qui puisse influencer mon jugement dans cette affaire.

 

[Réponse à la huitième demande]:

Je n'ai pas connu personnellement la Servante de Dieu, et je n'ai jamais eu de rapports directs avec elle. Mon témoi-[567v] gnage se fondera sur les rapports qui m'ont été faits par les personnes qui l'ont connue, surtout par les carmélites de Lisieux. D'autre part, j'ai fait une étude très attentive de l'« Histoire de sa vie» écrite par elle-même.

 

[Que pensez-vous du genre et de la vérité de cet écrit?]:

Je ne doute pas que cet écrit n'exprime, de la manière la plus vraie, la vie et les dispositions intimes de la Servante de Dieu. Il est en effet composé avec une simplicité et une spontanéité évidentes et très remarquables.

 

[Réponse à la neuvième demande]:

Je désire et j’espère le succès de cette Cause, parce que je crois qu'il est dans l'ordre de la Providence, et que cette béatification exercera sur les âmes une influence très efficace pour les encourager et les porter à la perfection.

 

[Réponse de la dixième à la dix-neuvième demande]:

Je ne sais rien de bien spécial sur les événements qui ont signalé la vie de [568r] la Servante de Dieu; mon étude et mes appréciations portent plutôt sur le caractère de sa sainteté tel qu'il se révèle dans ses écrits.

 

[Réponse à la vingtième et à la vingt-et-unième demande]:

Ce qui commande les traits de la sainteté de Thérèse de l’Enfant Jésus, c'est la « mission » spéciale qu'elle reçut de provoquer dans le monde des âmes un mouvement de confiance généreuse envers l'amour miséricordieux de Dieu, et de frayer la voie de simplicité et d'enfance évangéliques. De là vient qu'en elle les dons naturels et surnaturels s'harmonisent pour lui donner une transparence divine et la rendre capable de refléter merveilleusement la beauté et la bonté de Dieu. D'où le sentiment filial qui marque ses rapports avec le Père céleste, sentiment qui va toujours grandissant et s'épanouit: a) en un besoin croissant avec l'âge, de devenir toujours plus petite et plus enfant vis-à-vis de Dieu, ce qui la pousse avec une dévotion remarquable vers Marie et vers Jésus Enfant; b) là sera pour elle la raison de son humilité si vraie et si joyeuse; c) de là encore une confiance qui germe [568v] avec une intensité rare et va jusqu'à l'audace; elle a bien cette « foi qui transporte les montagnes » (1 Cr. 13, 2); d) de là encore une liberté, une droiture, une sincérité qui lui font une physionomie de toute beauté et lui constituent un attrait surhumain; e) par cette grâce très spéciale à laquelle elle correspondait parfaitement, elle arrive à cet amour excellent qui lui fait désirer, rechercher la souffrance comme son bien le meilleur, convoiter « le martyre du coeur et du corps » - MSA 76,bis - , autre Jean de la Croix (« pati et contemni pro te »), et la mène à cet état habituel de charité dans lequel elle brûle en véritable holocauste pour les âmes, et souffre cet incendie du zèle qui la rend comparable à un saint François-Xavier et à une sainte Thérèse. C'est là que vraiment elle atteint le point particulier de sa grâce, qui la rend apte à sa mission; où, convaincue plus que jamais de sa petitesse et de son néant, elle s'en autorise pour se loger « dans le coeur de sa Mère l'Eglise et rayonner de là par l'amour, à travers tous ses membres dans le monde entier » - MSB 3,2 - . C'est le motif pour lequel, par un trait qui lui est propre, elle accentue sa [569r] vocation et affirme que sa mission commencera surtout à sa mort, et qu'elle « passera son ciel à faire du bien sur la terre » - DEA 17-7 - . Comme donc les faits confirment la prophétie, il se trouve que Dieu paraît d'une façon prodigieuse en cette jeune vierge !

 

[Réponse de la vingt-deuxième à la vingt-quatrième demande] :

Je ne sais rien de particulier sur ces questions.

 

[Réponse à la vingt-cinquième et à la vingt-sixième demande]:

J'ai été cinq où (sic) six fois en pèlerinage à son tombeau, au cimetière de la ville de Lisieux. J'y ai éprouvé personnellement un attrait spécial de dévotion pour la Servante de Dieu et j'y ai reçu des grâces intérieures que j'attribue d'une manière certaine à son intercession. J'ai remarqué aussi, surtout dans mes dernières visites, que des groupes de pèlerins s'y succédaient, et cela, une fois entre autres au mois de novembre 1910, malgré un très mauvais temps. L'attitude de ces pèlerins était recueillie; on voyait manifestement qu'on venait là pour prier et non par curiosité.

 

[569v] [Réponse à la vingt-septième demande]:

Je constate par mes relations très nombreuses et très variées, soit avec des personnes du monde, soit avec des communautés religieuses, que la réputation de sainteté de la Servante de Dieu et son influence surnaturelle sont vraiment universelles. Des personnes très instruites et très graves admirent l'héroïcité de cette vertu et subissent l'influence de ses exemples. Parmi les pères de notre Société, cette renommée de sainteté est fort répandue. J'en connais des plus instruits et des plus expérimentés qui ne se lassent pas de relire et de méditer la vie de soeur Thérèse; ainsi en est-il du révérend père Longhaye, bien connu de tous pour sa science et sa pondération. Nos jeunes pères sont entraînés en grand nombre dans sa « voie d'abandon.»

 

[Cette « voie spirituelle» ne porte-t-elle pas un peu au quiétisme?]:

Tout péril de quiétisme est abondamment conjuré par l'amour généreux des humiliations et des souffrances, comme aussi par le zèle très actif qui font partie essentielle de la spiritualité de soeur Thérèse de l’Enfant Jésus.

 

[570r] [Connaissez-vous la cause de cette renommée de sainteté? quelque zèle industrieux n'a-t-il pas contribué à sa diffusion?]:

Je crois que cette grande diffusion de la renommée de sainteté de soeur Thérèse est l'effet d'une intervention divine qui réalise la mission donnée à la Servante de Dieu d'exciter les âmes à la sainteté. Les moyens de propagande visant la diffusion de ses écrits et de ses souvenirs me paraissent plutôt la conséquence que la cause de cet entraînement des fidèles vers la Servante de Dieu.

 

[Réponse à la vingt-huitième demande]:

Je n'ai rien entendu de sérieux qui fût contraire à cette renommée de sainteté.

 

[Réponse à la vingt-neuvième demande]:

Je connais un nombre très considérable de personnes de toutes conditions qui ne cessent d'invoquer la Servante de Dieu et multiplient les neuvaines en son honneur pour obtenir des grâces, soit temporelles, soit surtout spirituelles, Il est à noter, d'après les relations que m'en ont faites quelques-unes de ces [570v] personnes, que l'action de soeur Thérèse de l'Enfant Jésus s'exerce d'une manière particulière sur les âmes pour les rendre meilleures. Elle n'accorde guère de grâces temporelles qu'elle ne les accompagne d'une influence intérieure de sanctification. Lorsque les grâces temporelles sollicitées ne sont pas obtenues, il est rare que des grâces spirituelles ne fassent point compensation; et j'ai souvent remarqué que dans ce cas les solliciteurs ne se plaignent point. Voici un cas particulier: Une personne âgée et sérieusement chrétienne sollicitait, au tombeau de la Servante de Dieu, la guérison de sa surdité. Elle m'écrit: « Qu'ai-je rapporté de ce pèlerinage, mon père?... l'impression profonde que dans la voie de la sainteté il faut souffrir et beaucoup... que les âmes que Dieu appelle à la perfection sont les plus éprouvées... que la souffrance est même une marque de prédestination... En lisant la vie de soeur Thérèse, je n'avais jusqu'à ce jour été frappée que de la simplicité de sa vie d'amour de Dieu... Mais là, devant ce tombeau, j'ai senti tout à coup qu'elle n'était arrivée à ce degré d'amour que par beaucoup de souffrances ignorées... Je me suis sentie comme illuminée d'une lumière nouvelle, me montrant la vie d’immolation, celle de tous les saints, celle surtout de Notre Seigneur, [571r] j'ai compris qu'il ne fallait pas redouter la souffrance, qu'elle était une preuve frappante de l'amour de Dieu pour nous, et j'ai senti comme un désir, je dirai plus, un besoin de m'élancer dans ce chemin: voilà mes impressions de Lisieux.»

Un des pères de notre résidence, âgé de 74 ans, me disait: « Je dois certainement à soeur Thérèse de l’Enfant Jésus une grâce particulière: Je n'avais [pas] de dévotion au Sacré Coeur; je la lui ai demandée et je l'ai obtenue tout de suite.» Ce religieux est un bon prédicateur et un homme plein de sens. Comme je l'ai dit, les faits confirment d'une manière éclatante la prophétie par laquelle elle promettait de « passer son ciel à faire du bien sur la terre », et cette jeune vierge fait sentir partout son influence: 1° par ses écrits, 2° par des miracles et des conversions nombreuses, 3° par l'appel efficace des « petites âmes » à la « voie d'abandon et d'enfance spirituelle.» Cette influence me semble avoir des convenances remarquables avec les besoins des âmes à notre époque.

Si de la mission reçue résulte un type nouveau de perfection chrétienne, [571v] il apparaît combien son action doit être efficace sur nos générations actuelles: a) à une époque de lourd matérialisme, elle est un être angélique qui ouvre le ciel et fait monter les coeurs. D'autant que par sa sainte mort, elle semble avoir conquis une survivance miraculeuse au milieu de nous, et comme une fonction de soeur secourable vis-à-vis des « voyageurs » de cette terre; b) contre le découragement et les tentations de désespoir qui envahissent trop souvent les âmes plongées dans une atmosphère d'incrédulité, elle crée une réaction de confiance par sa voie d'abandon filial à Dieu notre Père: « Imitatores Dei estote sicut filii charissimi » - *Eph. 5, 1 - ; c) par la mise en relief de l'esprit d'humilité évangélique, elle détruit l'illusion de nature qui fait le fond de l'Américanisme, « système » dépréciateur des vertus dites passives; d) d'une façon générale, elle renverse l'orgueil qui compte sur soi et méconnaît la puissance de la grâce; e) elle clarifie l'atmosphère des âmes, en ramenant la méthode de perfection à ses principes essentiels, débarrasse la voie de tout ce qui l'encombre inutilement et amène les gens du cloître et du monde à trouver [572r] doux le joug du Seigneur et léger son fardeau - *Mt. 11, 30 - ; f) par le réalisme dogmatique de sa piété et ses rapports actifs avec Dieu, Notre Seigneur, la Sainte Vierge, Saint Joseph, les Saints, l'Eglise, le Pape, l'Évêque, le Prêtre, les Âmes, elle confond le nominalisme de l'erreur moderniste et garantit les esprits contre un transformisme menteur qui détruit la personnalité de Dieu et l'historicité des mystères que nous croyons.

 

[Suite de la réponse à la vingt-neuvième demande]:

g) Elle est bien à sa place à cette frontière de deux époques, envoyée par Dieu [572v] pour continuer la démonstration du surnaturel qui s'affirme par le Vatican, par Lourdes, par Jeanne d'Arc et ouvrir une ère nouvelle, sous laquelle, contre les prestigieuses opérations diaboliques, il faudra de prodigieuses manifestations de sainteté divine. Il est bien dans la loi de la Providence que pour de si grands effets soit choisie une faible enfant, une simple vierge: « Infirma mundi elegit Deus, ut confundat fortia » - * 1 Cr. 1, 27 - ;c)il faut ajouter que par son origine terrestre, le milieu de famille où elle est née et a grandi, la sainteté de Thérèse honore la famille chrétienne, en montre l'idéal réalisé par le christianisme et fait ressortir la liaison qu'il y a entre la perfection chrétienne et la perfection religieuse. Elle enlève l'idée de séparation; elle établit l'idée d'union entre le cloître et la famille restaurée par Jésus-Christ.

 

[Suite de la réponse à la trentième demande]:

J'ai dit tout ce que je savais.

 

[573r] [Au sujet des Articles, le témoin dit ne savoir que ce qu'il a déjà déposé en répondant aux demandes précédentes. - Est ainsi terminé l'interrogatoire de ce témoin. Lecture des Actes est donnée. Le témoin n'y apporte aucune modification et signe comme suit]:

Ita pro veritate deposui, ratum habeo et confirmo.

Signatuni: J. AURIAULT, S. J.