Print

Witness 13 - Sister Saint Francis de Sales O.S.B.

 

Sister Saint Francis de Sales testified in the first Process. Born in Lisieux on 15th March 1848, Marie-Joséphine-Amélie Pierre was professed on 17th May 1871 at the Benedictine Abbey of Lisieux, where she fell asleep in the Lord on 25th February 1933. Thérèse’s class mistress from 1881 to 1883 and her religious education teacher from 1883 to 1886, she was in a position to give us a precious testimony as to Thérèse’s studies.

Confirming what Mother Saint Andrew, the Abbey Prioress, had already stated, the witness said of Thérèse, “As far as intelligence is concerned, she was very gifted, although she had followers in her class who equalled her. She was even a little weak when it came to maths and spelling. Yet in all respects, she was very diligent: with regards to work she was a model pupil... In religious instruction, she was always top of the class. She had a very avid mind for learning all things relating to religion: she had a passion for this subject and asked questions constantly, proving her great desire to learn and demonstrating that matters of God already meant everything to her” (p. 974).

On the subject of Sister Thérèse’s reputation for holiness, the witness implicitly responded to a widely held view: “I believe that the spread of her reputation for holiness is first and foremost due to providential intervention, and that no human means can suffice to explain it” (p. 977).

The testimony was given on 16th September 1915, in the 49th sitting (pp. 971978 of the public transcription).

[Sitting 49: 16th September 1915, at 9 o’clock.]

 [971] [The witness answers the first question satisfactorily.]

[972] [Answer to the second question:]

My name is Aurélie Pierre, in religion Mother Saint Francis de Sales. I am a professed nun of the Order of Saint Benedict in the Abbey of Notre-Dame du Pré in Lisieux, where I was professed on 17th May 1871. I was born on 15th March 1848 in Lisieux, Parish of Saint-Désir, to Edouard Pierre, a salesman, and Alexandrine Etienne.

 [The witness answers questions three to five inclusively satisfactorily].

 [Answer to the sixth question:]

I believe I placed myself in the presence of God in order to prepare my testimony, and was moved by no sentiment other than a desire to obey and to tell the truth. I have spoken about my testimony to nobody and nobody has mentioned it to me.

 [Answer to the seventh question]:

When the Servant of God joined our school in October 1881, I was her class mistress for a little over two years. In 1883, the state of my health obliged me to stop teaching, but I was tasked with religious instruction, and I therefore continued to have young Thérèse Martin under my direction until she left the school in January 1886.

I knew her family well, too, since two of her elder sisters, Léonie and Céline, had attended our school. Moreover, I was tasked with [973] the day to day running of the abbey; Mr Martin assisted us in this respect and I was quite often in contact with him. When the Servant of God joined the Carmelite convent, I lost contact with the family.

 [Answer to the eighth question]:

Even from the time when the Servant of God was my pupil, I recognised in her an innocence and piety that inspired me with respect. Now I pray to her every day in faith, although perhaps with less enthusiasm than some others.

I sincerely hope that her Cause will be successful, because I believe she has been called to exert a very redeeming influence upon souls through her “way of simplicity and surrender”. This way powerfully draws souls to God.

 [Answer to the ninth question]:

I know of events relating to this question only by reading her biography.

 [Answer to the tenth question]:

I remember that the Servant of God joined our school at the age of 8 and a half. As far as intelligence is concerned, she was very gifted, although she had followers in her class who equalled her. She was even a little weak when it came to maths and spelling.

WITNESS 13: Sister Saint Francis de Sales O.S.B.

Yet in all respects, she was very diligent: with regards to work she was [974] a model pupil.

As far as docility and behaviour are concerned, she was perfect. I never saw her break the rule in any way.

She was always full of deference and docility towards her teachers. As for actual affection, she sought this first and foremost from her family.

An example of her virtue that I noticed at the time, and which greatly edified me, is that she would meet criticism with an amiable smile, even when harsh and even hurtful comments were made by one teacher regarding the education the Servant of God received at home.

In religious instruction, she was always top of the class. She had a very avid mind for learning all things relating to religion: she had a passion for this subject and asked questions constantly, proving her great desire to learn and demonstrating that matters of God already meant everything to her. When I read Story of a Soul, I discovered her attitude in the Carmel, and found that her early childhood dispositions had developed with remarkable uniformity.

Regarding her relationships with her schoolmates, she was always of good character, and never showed ill-will to anyone, not even to those who gave her reason to complain. She also [975] demonstrated a desire to help her companions, and proved particularly affectionate to a child who came from a particularly difficult family background. However, her influence for good was not in fact very strong because of her shyness and dislike of games. This prevented her from mixing with her schoolmates.

I have heard it said in some quarters that Thérèse suffered bullying from her schoolmates. In truth, one such schoolmate who was devoid of good judgement was sometimes hurtful to her, and at times her class followers grew jealous of her success, as frequently happens in schools... but that is all: it would be exaggerating to call this bullying.

Piety was as though innate in the child, and her every deed, even the most childish one, was imbued with the thought of God. Her characteristic feature was her customary desire to “bring pleasure to God,” and she did so with the simplicity of a child that dotes upon their father.

I always knew her as simple and humble and I consider this a true miracle considering all the attention, affection and admiration she received from her family.

To speak of her First Communion is, in a sense, to leave this earth. Her preparatory retreat was very fervent. On the actual day of her First Communion, she looked heavenly, truly [976] angelic, and this struck even those who did not know her. She wept after receiving Holy Communion and her tears stemmed from a deep inner happiness.

The description in her autobiography of her dispositions on the day she was confirmed is perfectly accurate. She prepared for her Confirmation more fervently than any other child I’ve seen. When the retreat was inadvertently prolonged for a day, we thought we ought to give the children some recreation, but Thérèse played little, preferring to continue her preparation. She was confirmed on 14th June 1884.

The Servant of God left the school in January 1886 because the state of her health did not allow her to attend classes regularly.

She would come back, however, once or twice a week for lessons in manual tasks. I noticed that when this lesson was over, she did not stay and talk to her companions or teachers. Very often she would go to the chapel rostrum and pray to God.

She was admitted into the association of the Children of Mary, and was the jewel in its crown.

 [Answer to questions eleven to fifty-six exclusively]:

I know nothing about any of this except for what is published in her biography or public knowledge: I have no personal or direct knowledge.

[977] [Answer to the fifty-seventh question]:

I do not know whether the Servant of God’s reputation for holiness developed during her lifetime.

Since her death, we have had several hundred people come here, to our hostel, every year for the sole purpose of demonstrating their devotion to Sister Thérèse of the Child Jesus, whom they regard as a saint. People constantly request to visit our chapel, where she took her First Communion, and the small chapel where she joined the Children of Mary, and also where we display all the keepsakes we have of her.

I believe that the spread of her reputation for holiness is first and foremost due to providential intervention, and that no amount of human means can suffice to explain it.

 [Answer to the fifty-eighth question]:

I have heard some people criticise the commotion being made over this Cause, but I have never heard anyone question the Servant of God’s holiness in any way whatsoever.

 [Answer to questions fifty-nine to sixty-five inclusively]:

In the community, there are very few nuns who have not received spiritual favours after praying to the Servant of God, especially blessings of personal progress, deliverance from inner troubles, and so on.

Pilgrims who stay with us and people [978] I meet in the visiting room have often told me about favours of a more temporal nature, such as healings, and heavenly protection in family matters. However I myself have not verified any of these miracles.

 [Answer to the sixty-sixth question]:

I believe I have said everything.

WITNESS 13: Sister Saint Francis de Sales O.S.B.

 [As regards the Articles, the witness claims to know nothing other than what they have already reported in response to the preceding questions. - Here ends the questioning of this witness. The Acts are read out. The witness makes no alteration to them and signs as follows]:

Signatum: SISTER SAINT FRANCIS DE SALES O.S.B.

Imprimer

Témoin 13 - Soeur Saint-François de Sales O.S.B.

TÉMOIN XIlI

SOEUR SAINT‑FRANÇOIS DE SALES, O. S. B.

Soeur Saint‑Francois de Sales a dépo­sé au premier Procès. Née à Lisieux le 15 mars 1848, Marie‑Joséphine‑Amélie Pierre fit profession le 17 mai 1871 chez les bénédictines de Lisieux, où elle s'en­dormit dans le Seigneur le 25 février 1933. Maîtresse de classe de Thérèse en 1881‑1883 et d'enseignement religieux en 1883‑1886, elle est à même de nous donner un précieux témoignage sur les études de Thérèse.

 

Confirmant ce qu'avait déjà déposé Mère Saint‑André, prieure de l'Abbaye, le témoin déclare notamment au sujet de Thérèse: « Au point de vue de l’intelligence, elle était vraiment bien douée, quoiqu'elle eût, dans sa classe, des ému­les qui l'égalaient. Elle était même un peu faible pour le calcul et l'orthographe. Mais sur tous les points, elle était d'une très grande application: c'était pour le travail une élève modèle... Comme élève de la classe d'instruction religieuse, elle se maintint toujours à la première place. Son esprit se montrait très avide de s'instruire sur tout ce qui touche à la religion: elle se passionnait pour cette étude et posait constamment des ques­tions qui témoignaient de ce grand désir de savoir et montraient déjà que les cho­ses de Dieu étaient tout pour elle » (p. 974).

 

Au sujet de la réputation de sainteté de soeur Thérèse, le témoin répond im­plicitement à une objection souvent ré­pétée: « Je crois que la diffusion de cette réputation de sainteté est surtout le ré­sultat d'une action providentielle, et que tous les moyens humains qu'on a pu prendre ne suffisent pas à l'expliquer» (P. 977).

La déposition a été faite le 16. sep­tembre 1915, au cours de la 49ème ses­sion(pp. 971‑978 de notre Copie publique).

 

[Session 49: ‑ 16 septembre 1915, à 9h.]

 [971] [Le témoin répond correctement à la première demande].

 

[972] [Réponse à la deu­xième demande]:

Je m'appelle Aurélie Pierre, en religion mère Saint‑François de Sales, religieuse professe de l'ordre de saint Benoît, à l'ab­baye de Notre‑Dame du Pré, de Lisieux, où j'ai fait profession le 17 mai 1871; je suis née le 15 mars 1848, à Lisieux, pa­roisse Saint‑Désir, de Edouard Pierre, em­ployé de commerce et de Alexandrine Etienne.

 

 [Le témoin répond correctement de la troisième à la cinquième demande inclusi­vement].

 

 [Réponse à la sixième demande]:

Je crois m'être mise en présence de Dieu pour faire ma déposition, et n'être mue par aucun autre sentiment que le désir d'obéir et de dire la vérité. Je n'ai parlé de ma déposition à personne et personne ne m'en a parlé.

 

 [Réponse à la septième demande]:

Lorsque la Servante de Dieu entra à notre pensionnat, en octobre 1881, je fus sa maîtresse de classe pendant un peu plus de deux ans. Au courant de l'année 1883, l’état de ma santé m'obligea d'inter­rompre l'enseignement, mais je fus char­gée de l'instruction religieuse, et je con­tinuai, à ce titre, d'avoir la jeune Thérèse Martin sous ma direction, jusqu'à sa sor­tie de la pension, en janvier 1886.

Je connaissais bien aussi sa famille, puisque deux de ses soeurs plus âgées, Léo­nie et Céline, avaient fait leur éducation chez nous. De plus, j'étais chargée [973] du temporel de la maison; monsieur Mar­tin nous rendait des services à ce point de vue et j'étais assez souvent en relations avec lui. Après l'entrée de la Servante de Dieu au Carmel, nos relations ont cessé.

 

 [Réponse à la hui­tième demande]:

Du temps même que la Servante de Dieu était mon élève, je reconnaissais en elle une innocence et une piété qui m'ins­piraient un sentiment de respect. Main­tenant, je l'invoque chaque jour avec con­fiance, quoique peut‑être avec moins d'en­thousiasme que d'autres.

Je désire sincèrement le succès de sa Cause, parce que je crois qu'elle est ap­pelée à exercer sur les âmes une influence très salutaire par cette « voie de simpli­cité et d'abandon» qui attire puissam­ment les âmes à Dieu.

 

 [Réponse à la neuvième demande]:

Je ne sais que par la lecture de sa vie ce qui se rapporte à cette question.

 

 [Réponse à la dixième demande]:

Je rappelle que la Servante de Dieu est entrée à notre pensionnat à l'âge de 8 ans et demi. Au point de vue de l'intelli­gence, elle était vraiment bien douée, quoiqu'elle eût, dans sa classe, des émules qui l'égalaient. Elle était même un peu faible pour le calcul et l'orthographe. Mais sur tous les points, elle était d'une très

 

TÉMOIN 13: Soeur Saint-François de Sales O.S.B.

 

grande application: c'était pour le travail [974] une élève modèle.

Au point de vue de la docilité et de la conduite, elle était parfaite, jamais je ne l'ai vue manquer au règlement en aucun point.

Elle se montra toujours, pour ses maî­tresses, pleine de déférence et de docili­té; pour ce qui est de l'affection propre­ment dite, elle la cherchait surtout dans sa famille.

Un trait de sa vertu que j'ai alors re­marqué et qui m'a grandement édifiée, c'est qu'elle ne répondait que par un sou­rire aimable aux critiques, certainement pénibles et même blessantes pour elle qu'une autre maîtresse faisait sur la direc­tion que la Servante de Dieu recevait dans sa famille.

Comme élève de la classe d'instruction religieuse, elle se maintint toujours à la première place. Son esprit se montrait très avide de s'instruire sur tout ce qui touche à la religion; elle se passionnait pour cette étude et posait constamment des questions qui témoignaient de ce grand désir de savoir et montraient déjà que les choses de Dieu étaient tout pour elle. En lisant 1'« Histoire d'une âme», qui m'a fait connaître ses dispo­sitions au Carmel, j'y ai trouvé le déve­loppement, dans une unité remarquable, de ces premières dispositions de son en­fance.

 

Dans ses relations avec ses jeunes com­pagnes, elle témoigna toujours d'un bon caractère, et ne montra jamais d'animo­sité même envers celles dont elle aurait pu se plaindre. Elle manifestait [975] aus­si le désir de leur faire du bien, et se montra pour cela particulièrement affec­tueuse envers une enfant dont la situation de famille était plutôt pénible. Cependant cette influence pour le bien ne fut pas en réalité très grande, à cause de sa timi­dité et de son peu d'amour pour le jeu qui l'empêchaient de se mêler à ses com­pagnes.

J'ai entendu émettre ici ou là cette as­sertion que Thérèse avait souffert au pen­sionnat des persécutions de la part de ses compagnes. A la vérité, l'une d'elles, dénuée de jugement, eut parfois à son égard des procédés blessants, quelques autres, ses émules en classe, purent se montrer jalouses de ses succès, comme il arrive couramment dans les écoles... et c'est tout: ce serait de l'exagération d'appeler cela une persécution.

 

La piété était comme innée dans cette enfant, et tous ses actes, même les plus puérils, étaient imprégnés de la pensée de Dieu. Sa note caractéristique, c'était le souci habituel de « faire plaisir au bon Dieu »; et elle le faisait avec la simpli­cité d'un enfant qui caresse son père.

Je l'ai toujours vue simple et humble et je regarde cela comme un vrai miracle, tant elle était entourée dans sa famille d'attentions, de tendresse et d'admiration.

Quand je veux parler de sa première communion, il me semble que je quitte la terre. Sa retraite préparatoire fut très fervente. Le jour même de sa première communion, elle avait un air céleste, vé­rita‑[976]blement angélique, dont furent frappés même ceux qui ne la connaissaient pas. Elle pleura beaucoup après avoir reçu la sainte communion et ces larmes provenaient d'un bonheur tout intime.

Ce qu'elle dit dans sa vie, de ses dispo­sitions le jour où elle reçut la confirma­tion, est parfaitement exact; elle s'y pré­para avec une ferveur que je n'ai jamais trouvée chez aucun autre enfant. La re­traite s'étant trouvée inopinément prolongée d'un jour, on crut devoir donner des récréations pour délasser les enfants, mais Thérèse prit peu part à ces délas­sements, préférant perfectionner cette pré­paration. Elle fut confirmée le 14 juin 1884.

La Servante de Dieu quitta le pension­nat au mois de janvier 1886, parce que l'état de sa santé ne lui permettait plus de suivre les classes régulièrement.

Elle revint cependant une ou deux fois la semaine pour les leçons de travail ma­nuel. J'ai remarqué que la leçon finie, elle ne liait pas conversation avec ses com­pagnes ou avec ses maîtresses; le plus souvent elle se rendait à la tribune de la chapelle où elle s'entretenait avec le bon Dieu.

Elle fut reçue à l'association des en­fants de Marie, dont elle est le plus bel ornement.

 

 [Réponse de la onzième à la cinquante-sixième demande inclusivement]:

Je ne sais sur tout cela que ce qui est imprimé dans sa vie ou ce que l'on dit dans le public: je n'en ai pas de con­naissance personnelle et directe.

 

[977] [Réponse à la cinquante‑septième demande]:

Il n'est pas à ma connaissance que la réputation de sainteté de la Servante de Dieu se soit répandue pendant sa vie.

Depuis sa mort, il vient ici, à notre hô­tellerie, plusieurs centaines de personnes, chaque année, dont le voyage est uni­quement motivé par leur dévotion à soeur Thérèse de l'Enfant‑Jésus, qu'elles regar­dent comme une sainte. On demande continuellement à visiter notre chapelle, où elle fit sa première communion, et la petite chapelle où elle fut reçue enfant de Marie, et où nous avons réuni les souvenirs que nous possédons d'elle.

Je crois que la diffusion de cette ré­putation de sainteté est surtout le résul­tat d'une action providentielle, et que tous les moyens humains qu'on a pu prendre ne suffisent pas à l'expliquer.

 

 [Réponse à la cinquante-huitième demande]:

J'ai entendu parfois critiquer le bruit qui se fait autour de cette Cause; mais je n'ai jamais entendu mettre en doute, si peu que ce soit, la sainteté de la Ser­vante de Dieu.

 

 [Ré­ponse de la cinquante‑neuvième à la soi­xante‑cinquième demande inclusivement]:

Dans la communauté, il n'est guère de religieuses qui n'ait reçu des faveurs spirituelles, après avoir invoqué la Ser­vante de Dieu, spécialement des grâces de progrès, la délivrance de peines intérieu­res, etc.

Les pèlerins de notre hôtellerie ou les personnes [978] que je vois au parloir, m'ont souvent fait part de faveurs plus extérieures, comme des guérisons, une pro­tection spéciale dans les affaires de famille; mais je n'ai pas vérifié par moi‑même au­cun de ces miracles.

 

 [Réponse à la soixante-sixième demande]:

Je crois avoir tout dit.

 

TÉMOIN 13: Soeur Saint-Francois de Sales O.S.B.

 

 [Au sujet des Articles, le témoin dit ne savoir que ce qu'il a déjà déposé en répondant aux demandes précédentes. ‑ Est ainsi terminé l'interroga­toire de ce témoin. Lecture des Actes est donnée. Le témoin n'y apporte aucune mo­dification et signe comme suit]:

 

Signatum: SOEUR SAINT-FRANÇOIS DE SALES