Print

Witness 21 - Étienne Frapereau

 

Etienne Frapereau was born in La Jumellière (Diocese of Angers) on 12th April 1831.

First a parish priest in Beaucouzé (1870-1876) and La Salle-de-Vihiers (1876-1908), he then retired to the priestly community of Saint-Martin in Beaupréau (Maine-et-Loire) where he died on 27th December 1913.  

Father Frapereau reports that a vision of Sister Thérèse of the Child Jesus was seen by an elderly priest, Fr. Roussignol, who was thereby freed from the anguish he felt at the prospect of God’s judgment.

The witness testified on 30th March 1911, in the 72nd session, pp. 1161v-1164r of our Public Copy.

[Session 72: - 30th March 1911 at 8:30am]

[1161v] [The witness answers the first question correctly].

[Answer to the second question]:

My name is Etienne Frapereau, born in La Jumellière, in the Diocese of Angers, on 12th April 1831, of the legitimate marriage between Charles Frapereau, a watchmaker, and Jacquine Colaisseau. I am a priest, and am now retired at the community of Saint-Martin in Beaupréau, in the Diocese of Angers. I spent my priesthood exercising parish ministry, and was successively curate in Beaucouzé (1870-1876) and La Salle de Vihiers, in the Diocese of Angers (1876-1908); I have been in Beaupréau since 1908.  

[The witness correctly answers questions three to seven].

[1162r] [Answer to the eighth question]:

My testimony pertains to one miraculous event that I heard about from the very person it happened to, as I will demonstrate when I recount the event.

[Answer to the ninth question]:

I cannot say that I have a particular devotion for the Servant of God. We have talked about her a great deal in the community where I live and I’ve read her Life Story which was greatly edifying.

[Questions ten to twenty-eight inclusive are omitted, because the Vice Postulator summoned the witness to confirm one fact alone, that is to say the vision of the Servant of God. We therefore immediately move on to the twenty-ninth question. The witness answers]:

The person who was accorded this vision is Father Rossignol, who is about 76 years old. He had been a professor at the Major Seminary of Luçon for about 26 years where he had taught dogmatic then moral theology. For about four years he had been a member of our community [1162v] of retired priests at Saint-Martin in Beaupréau. Father Rossignol had the reputation of being a very distinguished professor and a most saintly priest throughout the Diocese of Luçon. In the community, we all considered him as a “saint”. He was a timorous soul; the shadow of a venial sin would have made him tremble. He spent two whole hours every day before the Blessed Sacrament, and he would kneel for the duration of that time, despite his age and infirmity. When he died, several penitential instruments he had used were found, and nobody was surprised. His judgment was very calm and very sure; he was a man of experience and wasn’t prone to flights of fancy. For a long time he suffered from a chronic intestinal complaint, but this didn’t prevent him from taking part in all communal activities and in no way did it give us cause to anticipate his almost sudden death two days after he saw the vision. Reading the life story of Sister Thérèse of the Child Jesus inspired him with a very great devotion for the Servant of God. Here is the plain account of the extraordinary event that happened to him:  

In the morning of 16th January last, [1163r] I asked him how his health was; he replied: “Thank you, my night was good, very good, considering my condition, but what was particularly good, very good, was my waking and rising this morning. At that instant I saw little Sister Thérèse, it was really her; I could see her clearly and recognized her from her photograph. She was standing beside my bed; she was looking at me smiling and had me understand through signs and her facial expressions what it was she had come to tell me: ‘I’m taking care of matters… the matter; it will come soon, you can be sure of it.’” He added: “it wasn’t a dream, I was perfectly awake.”

What do Father Rossignol’s words here mean? Discretion prevented me from asking. He happily walked away, advising me not to speak to anybody about it. The death of the holy priest two days later released me from my promise and today allows me to tell people what he wanted to hide, and this out of humility, I have no doubt. I was told that Father Rossignol was overly terrified of God’s judgment, hence we inferred that his vision of the Servant of God was to [1163v] announce his imminent death and reassure him. The fact is that at the moment of his death, he made the sacrifice of his life, in my presence, with extraordinary transports of joy, without any sign of fear or fright. But I must say that he had never revealed his inner apprehensions to me, I know about them from talking with Father Arsène, a Trappist friar from Belle-Fontaine, his ordinary confessor, and also with Father Gaignet who had been his colleague at Luçon for 16 years. Father Arsène also informed me that on 16th January Father Rossignol had described the same vision to him as he had to me. Moreover, I have in my hand, to add to the Trial, the written and authenticated attestation of the afore-mentioned Father Arsène, a document that was drafted at the request of Mgr. de Teil, the Vice Postulator.      

[The judges recognize the document’s authenticity and, after having shown it to the Promoter of the Faith, order me, the notary, to include it at the end of the present attestation].

[1164r][Answer to the thirtieth question]:

I’ve said all I know.

[Concerning the Articles, the witness says he knows nothing other than what he has already deposed in answer to the preceding questions. – Here ends the interrogation of this witness. The Acts are read out. The witness makes no amendment to them and signs as follows]:

Signatum: Testis deposui ut supra secundum veritatem, ratum habeo et confirmo.

ETIENNE FRAPEREAU, Presbyterian

[1164v] [Authentic rapport of Reverend Father Arsène]:

I undersigned attest that on sixteenth January 1911, I received a visit from Father Rossignol who would come to me for confession. He said that on waking that morning he had seen the Servant of God Sister Thérèse of the Child Jesus. She was standing near his bed. I personally know that he had a great devotion for her. I was privy to his fears of God’s judgment at his death. I was pleased to learn that, two days later, a few hours before he died, he enthusiastically offered the sacrifice of his life to God.  

Signed: Brother MARIE ARSÈNE, O.C.R., Presbyterian

Imprimer

Témoin 21 - Étienne Frapereau

Etienne Frapereau naquit à La Jumellière (diocèse d'Angers) le 12 avril 1831.

Curé de Beaucouzé (1870-1876) et de La Salle-de-Vihiers (1876-1908), il se retira ensuite dans la communauté sacerdotale Saint-Martin de Beaupréau (Maine-et-Loire) où il mourut le 27 décembre 1913.

L'abbé Frapereau témoigna d’une apparition de soeur Thérèse de l’Enfant-Jésus à un prêtre âgé, monsieur Rossignol, qui avait été ainsi libéré de l'angoisse qui l'éprouvait à la pensée du jugement de Dieu.

Le témoin déposa le 30 mars 1911, au cours de la session 72ème, f. 1161v-1164r de notre Copie publique.

 

[Session 72: - 30 mars 1911 à 8h. 30]

 

[1161v] [Le témoin répond correctement à la première demande].

 

[Réponse à la seconde demande]:

Je m'appelle Etienne Frapereau né à La Jumellière, diocèse d'Angers, le 12 avril 1831, du légitime mariage de Charles Frapereau horloger et de Jacquine Colaisseau. Je suis prêtre, aujourd'hui retraité à la communauté de Saint-Martin de Beaupréau, diocèse d'Angers. Ma vie sacerdotale s'est écoulée dans l'exercice du ministère paroissial, ayant été successivement curé de Beaucouzé (1870-1876) et de La Salle de Vihiers, diocèse d'Angers (1876-1908); depuis 1908 je suis à Beaupréau.

 

[Le témoin répond correctement de la troisième à la septième demande].

 

[1162r] [Réponse à la huitième demande]:

Mon témoignage portera seulement sur un fait miraculeux que j'ai appris de celui-là même qui en a été l'objet, comme je l'exposerai en racontant le fait.

[Réponse à la neuvième demande]:

Je ne puis pas dire que j'aie une dévotion particulière pour la Servante de Dieu. On en a beaucoup parlé à la communauté où j'habite et j'ai lu sa Vie qui m'a beaucoup édifié.

 

[De la dixième à la vingt-huitième inclusivement, les demandes sont omises, car pour la citation de ce témoin le vice-postulateur n'a insisté que sur un seul ,fait, à savoir l'assertion de l'apparition de la Servante de Dieu. On en arrive donc aussitôt à la vingt-neuvième demande. Le témoin répond]:

Celui qui a été favorisé de cette apparition est monsieur l'abbé Rossignol, âgé d'environ 76 ans. Il avait été professeur au grand séminaire de Luçon, pendant environ 26 ans; il y avait enseigné successivement la théologie dogmatique et morale. Depuis quatre ans environ, il faisait partie de notre commu- [1162v ] nauté de prêtres retraités à Saint-Martin de Beaupréau. Monsieur Rossignol jouissait dans tout le diocèse de Luçon d'une réputation de professeur très distingué et de prêtre d'une haute sainteté. A la communauté, nous le considérions tous comme un « saint.» C'était une âme timorée; l'ombre d'un péché véniel l'aurait fait trembler. Il passait chaque jour deux heures entières auprès du Très Saint Sacrement, et pendant tout ce temps il se tenait à genoux, malgré son âge et ses infirmités. Après sa mort, on a trouvé plusieurs instruments de pénitence dont il faisait usage, et personne n'en a été étonné. Il était d'un jugement très calme et très sûr, c'était un homme positif de grande expérience et n'était pas porté aux écarts d'imagination. Il souffrait depuis longtemps d'une affection chronique des intestins, mais cet état ne l'empêchait pas de prendre part à toute la vie commune et ne faisait nullement prévoir, à la date de l'apparition, la mort presque subite qui eut lieu deux jours après. La lecture de la vie de soeur Thérèse de l’Enfant Jésus lui avait inspiré une très grande dévotion pour la Servante de Dieu. Voici maintenant le simple récit du fait extraordinaire dont il a été l'objet:

 

Le 16 janvier dernier, au matin, [1163r] je lui demandai des nouvelles de sa santé; il me répondit: « Merci, la nuit a été bonne, bien bonne, vu mon état habituel, mais ce qui a été bon surtout, très bon, c'est mon réveil et mon lever de ce matin, J'ai vu à ce moment la petite soeur Thérèse, c'est bien elle, je l'ai bien vue et reconnue telle que nous la donne sa photographie; elle se tenait au chevet de mon lit; elle me regardait en souriant et me fit comprendre par ses signes et l'expression de tout son visage qu'elle venait me dire: je m'occupe de votre affaire... de l'affaire; ça va venir bientôt, comptez-y'. Il a ajouté: ce n'est pas un rêve, j'étais parfaitement éveillé.»

Que signifiaient ces paroles de monsieur Rossignol? La discrétion m'empêcha de le lui demander. Il s'éloigna l'air heureux, en me recommandant de ne parler de cela à personne. La mort de ce saint prêtre, arrivée soudainement le surlendemain, m'a délié de ma promes-

 

TÉMOIN 21: Etienne Frapereau

 

se et me permet de dire aujourd'hui ce qu'il voulait tenir caché - je n'en doute nullement - par esprit d'humilité. On m'a dit que monsieur Rossignol avait une terreur exagérée des jugements de Dieu, d'où l'on a inféré que l'apparition de la Servante de Dieu avait pour objet de [1163v] lui annoncer sa mort prochaine et de le rassurer. Le fait est qu'au moment de mourir, il a fait, en ma présence, le sacrifice de sa vie avec des transports de joie extraordinaire, sans aucune manifestation de frayeur ou de crainte. Mais ces appréhensions intérieures de son âme, je dois dire qu'il ne me les avait jamais manifestées, je les ai connues par ce que m'en a dit le père Arsène, religieux trappiste de Belle-Fontaine, son confesseur ordinaire, et aussi monsieur l'abbé Gaignet qui avait été son collègue à Luçon pendant 16 ans, je tiens aussi du même père Arsène que monsieur Rossignol lui avait fait le 16 janvier le même récit de l'apparition qu'il m'avait fait à moi-même. D'ailleurs, j'ai en main, pour la verser au Procès, l'attestation écrite et légalisée de ce dit père Arsène, pièce rédigée sur la demande de monseigneur de Teil, vice-postulateur.

 

[Les juges reconnaissent l'authenticité de ce document et après l'avoir montré au promoteur de la foi, ils ordonnent que moi, notaire, je l'insère au terme de la présente attestation].

 

[1164r][Réponse à la trentième demande]:

J'ai dit tout ce que je sais.

 

[Au sujet des Articles, le témoin dit ne savoir que ce qu'il a déjà déposé en répondant aux demandes précédentes. - Est ainsi terminé l'interrogatoire de ce témoin. Lecture des Actes est donnée. Le témoin n'y apporte aucune modification et signe comme suit]:

Signatum:Testis deposui ut supra secundum veritatem, ratum habeo et confirmo.

ETIENNE FRAPEREAU, presbyter

 

[1164v] [Relation authentique du révérend père Arsène]:

Je soussigné, atteste que le seize janvier 1911, j'ai reçu la visite de monsieur l'abbé Rossignol qui s'adressait à moi pour les confessions. Il m'a dit avoir vu ce matin-là, à son réveil, la Servante de Dieu soeur Thérèse de l’Enfant Jésus, qui se tenait près de son lit. Je sais personnellement aussi la grande dévotion qu’il avait pour elle. Il m'avait fait le confident des terreurs qu'il avait des jugements de Dieu, après sa mort. J'ai été heureux d'apprendre que, deux jours après, quelques heures avant sa mort, il avait offert avec enthousiasme à Dieu le sacrifice de sa vie.

Signé: Frère MARIE ARSÈNE, O.C.R., presbyter.