Print

Witness 22 - Jean-Jules-Pierre Gaignet

 

Jean-Jules-Pierre Gaignet was born in Gué-de-Velluire (Diocese of Luçon) on 11th May 1839. He was a professor of dogmatic theology and Holy Scripture at the Major Seminary of Luçon, then, once a Sulpician, he became a professor of moral theology in Dijon and Superior of the Major Seminary of Limoges, before finally moving to Issy. Father Gaignet’s testimony pertains to Father Rossignol’s vision of Sister Thérèse of the Child Jesus on 16th January 1911, which has just been discussed. He provides further information on the subject.

The witness testified on 30th and 31st March 1911, in sessions 72 and 73, pp. 1165r-1172r of our Public Copy.

[Session 72: - 30th March 1911, at 3pm]

[1165r] [The witness answers the first question correctly].

[Answer to the second question]:

My name is Jean-Jules-Pierre Gaignet, born in Le Gué-de-Velluire, in the Diocese of Luçon, on 11th May 1839, of the legitimate marriage between Jean Gaignet, a farmer, and Modeste Freté. I am a priest in the Diocese of Luçon; after having been a professor for a few months at the Junior Seminary of Les Sables-d'Olonne (1862-1863), I was called to the Senior Seminary of Luçon, where I was a professor of Holy Scripture, then of dogmatic theology (1863-1884). I then joined the Community of Saint-Sulpice (1884); after having taught moral theology in Dijon (1884-1885) as an assistant teacher, I did my novitiate (1885-1886) and was sent, in the capacity of Superior, to the Major Seminary of Limoges (1886-1905). Since then, [1165v] I have lived at the Saint-Sulpice Residence in Issy, in the Diocese of Paris.        

[The witness correctly answers questions three to seven].

[Answer to the eighth question]:

My testimony uniquely concerns the case of Father Rossignol, who was accorded a vision at Beaupréau of the Servant of God. I will draw the information for my deposition from my personal knowledge of Father Rossignol, who was first my professor, then my colleague at the Major Seminary of Luçon. In these two capacities, I was close to him for 25 years.

[Answer to the ninth question]:

I have a particular devotion for the Servant of God, whose life story I read with much edification. I recognized in her a noble soul and heroic holiness and I desire and hope that she will be beatified.

[As, at the request of the Vice [1166r] Postulator, the witness was summoned to give his testimony regarding the vision of the Servant of God, questions ten to twenty-eight inclusive are omitted, and we immediately move on to question twenty-nine. The witness’ answer]:

I was very close to Father Jules Rossignol for 25 years. He was director of the Major Seminary of Luçon, where he successively taught dogmatic and moral theology with equal success. He had a firm and fine mind; his teaching was precise and perfectly orthodox: he was an outstanding professor. He was prudent when giving advice and demonstrated no inclination for exaggerated mysticism. His virtues, and notably his humility, excludes the possibility and even the suspicion of him wanting to rise in the esteem of those with whom he had shared the secret of his vision, a vision with which he said he had been favoured. He confided about this spiritual favour, the vision of Sister Thérèse of the Child Jesus, to two people whose testimonies came to me as follows. The first person to be told of this grace was Father Frapereau, a former parish priest in La Salle de Vihiers and his fellow retiree at the community of Saint-Martin in Beaupréau. I held and read the written report [1166v] of the event that the afore-mentioned Father Frapereau presented to the Vice Postulator of the Cause. Moreover, I’ve seen Father Frapereau myself in the last few days, and he gave me the same account of the vision, providing even more details. He told me that on the morning of 16th January 1911, when he asked Father Rossignol for news on his health, he was told that his night had been good, very good even, and particularly his waking, for he had then distinctly seen beside his bed the Servant of God Sister Thérèse of the Child Jesus, who was smiling at him, indicating that the matter he had entrusted her with was on the right track.    

The other person in whom Father Rossignol confided was Father Arsène, who is a Trappist friar from Bellefontaine and his confessor. In fact I saw, at the Carmel of Lisieux, a report written and signed by the afore-mentioned Father Arsène, with the authenticated signature, attesting that Father Rossignol had informed him of his vision of the Servant of God near his bed. In this document, Father Arsène also mentions Father Rossignol’s immense fears of God’s judgment. I don’t doubt that the Vice Postulator is intending to one day add this document to the Trial’s files. My knowledge of Father Rossignol’s moral values allows me to state that [1167r] his testimony is very reliable when he claims that Sister Thérèse of the Child Jesus appeared to him and that he recognized her perfectly from her resemblance to her portraits. I therefore unhesitatingly hold this fact as real.          

[Question from the judge: do you know if Father Rossignol still had, at the end of his life, the same remarkable spirit of lucidity you mentioned? Answer]:

I don’t doubt it and cannot doubt it, seeing the testimonies I’ve received of him from those who knew him up to the last moment, notably Father Frapereau, and Father Rossignol’s own nephew, a distinguished and very sincere priest in Luçon.

[The witness then continues]:

As for the meaning of Father Rossignol’s words: “She had me understand that the matter was on the right track”, everyone was sorry Father Frapereau hadn’t insisted on finding out what this matter was. Those who knew Father Rossignol well interpreted two meanings, which, I might add, are not mutually exclusive and do equal justice to the excellent priest: 1st the Servant of God wanted to reassure him with regard to his fears of God’s [1167v] judgment. He had often revealed these fears to me, either as a friend, or as the director of his conscience (I was his confessor between 1870 and 1874). Now, according to those who witnessed his death, his unusually radiant face, the sudden disappearance of his fears, and the enthusiastic sacrifice he made of his life, are facts that so markedly contrasted with Father Rossignol’s usual state that we can quite reasonably consider them as consequences of his vision of Sister Thérèse. 2nd In the vision, Father Rossignol was able to see the announcement of his imminent death and, by means of his death itself, the resolution of a question very close to his heart and about which he’d prayed to the Servant of God. Here is the nature of this matter according to a letter that Father Camille Rossignol, his nephew, wrote me. He had founded a good Christian school and relied on his personal resources to maintain it. The lengthening of his life, which diminished his resources, appeared to compromise the future of his work. His nephew wrote: “In his mind he had to die for his school to survive.”

[Session 73: - 31st March 1911, at 8:30am]

[1171v] [Answer to the thirtieth question]:

I believe I have said everything I know concerning the Cause.

[Concerning the Articles, the witness says he knows nothing other than what he has already deposed in answer to the preceding questions. – Here ends the interrogation of this witness. The Acts are read out. The witness makes no amendment to them and signs as follows]:

Ita pro veritate deposui, ratum [1172r] habeo et confirmo.

Signatuni: J. GAIGNET, Priest

Imprimer

Témoin 22 - Jean-Jules-Pierre Gaignet

Jean-Jules-Pierre Gaignet naquit à Gué-de-Velluire (diocèse de Luçon) le 11 mai 1839. Professeur de théologie dogmatique et d'Ecriture Sainte au grand séminaire de Luçon, puis, devenu sulpicien, professeur de théologie morale à Dijon et supérieur du grand séminaire de Limoges, résidant enfin à Issy, monsieur Gaignet témoigne au sujet de l'apparition de soeur Thérèse de l’Enfant-Jésus à l'abbé Rossignol le 16 lévrier 1911, dont il vient d'être question. Il apporte des compléments d'information.

Le témoin déposa les 30 et 31 mars 1911, au cours des sessions 72 et 73, f. 1165r-1172r de notre Copie publique.

 

[Session 72: - 30 mars 1911, à 3h. de l'après-midi]

 

[1165r] [Le témoin répond correctement à la première demande].

 

[Réponse à la seconde demande]:

Je m'appelle Jean-Jules-Pierre Gaignet, né au Gué-de-Velluire, diocèse de Luçon, le 11 mai 1839, du légitime mariage de Jean Gaignet, cultivateur, et de Modeste Freté. Je suis prêtre du diocèse de Luçon; après avoir été professeur pendant quelques mois au petit séminaire des Sables-d'Olonne (18621863), j'ai été appelé au grand séminaire de Luçon, où j'ai été professeur d'Ecriture Sainte, puis de théologie dogmatique (1863-1884). Je suis ensuite entré dans la Congrégation de Saint Sulpice (1884); après avoir enseigné la théologie morale à Dijon (1884-1885) à titre d'auxiliaire j'ai fait mon noviciat (18851886) et j'ai été envoyé comme supérieur au grand séminaire de Limoges (1886-1905). Depuis ce temps, [1165v] je suis à la résidence de Saint Sulpice à Issy, diocèse de Paris.

 

[Le témoin répond correctement de la troisième à la septième demande].

 

TÉMOIN 22: Jean Gaignet

 

[Réponse à la huitième demande]:

Mon témoignage se limite au cas de monsieur l'abbé Rossignol, favorisé à Beaupréau d'une apparition de la Servante de Dieu. Je puiserai la matière de ma déposition dans la connaissance personnelle que j'ai eue des dispositions de monsieur Rossignol qui a été d'abord mon professeur, puis mon collègue au grand séminaire de Luçon. A ce double titre, j'ai vécu dans son intimité pendant 25 ans.

 

[Réponse à la neuvième demande]:

J'ai une dévotion particulière pour la Servante de Dieu, dont j'ai lu la vie avec beaucoup d'édification. J'ai reconnu en elle une âme d'élite et d'une sainteté héroïque dont je désire et espère la béatification.

 

[Comme à la requête du vice[1166r]postulateur le témoin avait été cité pour donner son témoignage sur l'apparition de la Servante de Dieu, les demandes sont omises de la dixième à la vingt-huitième inclusivement, et l'on passe tout de suite à la vingt-neuvième. Réponse du témoin]:

J'ai connu intimement pendant 25 ans monsieur l'abbé Jules Rossignol, directeur au grand séminaire de Luçon, où il a successivement enseigné et avec un égal succès la théologie dogmatique et morale. Il avait l'esprit ferme et élevé; son enseignement était précis et d'une parfaite orthodoxie: c'était un professeur hors ligne. Il était prudent dans ses conseils et ne manifestait aucune tendance à un mysticisme exagéré; ses vertus, et notamment son humilité, écartent la pensée et même le soupçon qu'il ait voulu se rehausser dans l'estime de ceux auxquels il a confié le secret de l'apparition dont il dit avoir été favorisé. Cette faveur surnaturelle d'une vision de soeur Thérèse de l’Enfant Jésus, il en a fait confidence à deux personnes différentes, dont le témoignage m'est parvenu comme je vais dire. Le premier confident de cette grâce fut monsieur l'abbé Frapereau, ancien curé de la Salle de Vihiers, son collègue de pension à la communauté de Saint-Martin de Beaupréau. J'ai eu entre les mains et j'ai lu le rapport écrit [1166v] que ledit monsieur Frapereau avait fait de cette communication au vice-postulateur de la Cause. De plus, j'ai vu ces jours derniers le même monsieur Frapereau qui m'a fait verbalement et avec encore plus de détails le même récit. Il m'a dit que le matin du 16 janvier 1911, comme il demandait à monsieur Rossignol des nouvelles de sa santé, celui-ci lui avait répondu que la nuit avait été bonne et même très bonne, et surtout son réveil, car alors il avait vu distinctement au chevet de son lit la Servante de Dieu soeur Thérèse de l’Enfant Jésus qui lui était apparue souriante, lui faisant comprendre que l'affaire qu'il lui avait confiée, était en bonne voie.

 

L'autre confident de monsieur Rossignol fut le père Arsène, trappiste de Bellefontaine, son confesseur. J'ai vu en effet, au Carmel de Lisieux, un rapport écrit et signé de la main dudit père Arsène, avec la signature légalisée, dans lequel ledit père Arsène atteste que monsieur Rossignol lui a déclaré le fait de l'apparition près de son lit de la Servante de Dieu. Dans cette pièce, le père Arsène parle aussi des grandes craintes qu'avait monsieur Rossignol des jugements de Dieu. Je ne doute pas que monsieur le vice-postulateur se propose de verser un jour cette pièce au dossier du Procès. La connaissance que j'ai de la valeur morale de monsieur Rossignol me fait affirmer que [1167r] son témoignage est très recevable quand il atteste que la soeur Thérèse de l’Enfant Jésus lui est apparue et qu'il l'a parfaitement reconnue à sa ressemblance avec ses portraits. Je tiens donc ce fait comme réel sans aucune hésitation.

 

[Demande du juge: savez-vous si ledit monsieur Rossignol jouissait encore à la fin de sa vie de la remarquable lucidité d'esprit dont vous avez parlé? Réponse]:

Je n'en doute pas et n'en puis douter, vu les témoignages que j'en ai reçus de ceux qui l'ont connu jusqu'au dernier moment, notamment monsieur Frapereau et le propre neveu de monsieur Rossignol, prêtre distingué et très grave du clergé de Luçon.

 

[Puis le témoin poursuit]:

Quant au sens à attacher à cette parole de monsieur Rossignol: « Elle m'a fait comprendre que mon affaire était en bonne voie », tout le monde a regretté que monsieur Frapereau n'ait pas insisté pour savoir de lui quelle était cette affaire. Ceux qui connaissaient bien monsieur Rossignol ont interprété dans deux sens, qui d'ailleurs ne s'excluent pas, et sont également à l'honneur de cet excellent prêtre: l° la Servante de Dieu veut le rassurer contre les craintes qu'il avait des jugements de [1167v] Dieu. Ces craintes, il me les avait souvent manifestées, soit comme ami, soit comme directeur de sa conscience (j'étais en effet son confesseur entre 1870 et 1884). Or, au dire des témoins de sa mort, l'épanouissement insolite de son visage, la cessation subite de ses craintes, le sacrifice de sa vie fait avec enthousiasme, sont des faits qui contrastent tellement avec l'état habituel de monsieur l'abbé Rossignol, qu'on a toute raison de les considérer comme les effets de l'apparition de soeur Thérèse. 2° Dans cette apparition, monsieur Rossignol a pu voir l'annonce de sa fin prochaine et, par le fait même de sa mort, la solution d'une affaire qui lui était fort à coeur et qu'il recommandait à la Servante de Dieu. Voici la nature de cette affaire telle qu'elle m'est exposée dans une lettre que monsieur l'abbé Camille Rossignol, son neveu, m'a écrite. Il avait fondé une belle école chrétienne et comptait pour l'entretenir sur ses ressources personnelles. La prolongation de sa vie, diminuant ses ressources, paraissait compromettre l'avenir de son oeuvre. « Dans sa pensée -m'écrit son neveu - il devait mourir pour que son école vécût.»

 

TÉMOIN 22: Jean Gaignet

 

[Session 73: - 31 mars 1911, à 8h. 30]

 

[1171v] [Réponse à la trentième demande]:

Je crois avoir dit tout ce que je sais concernant la Cause.

[Au sujet des Articles, le témoin dit ne savoir que ce qu'il a déjà déposé en répondant aux demandes précédentes. - Est ainsi terminé l'interrogatoire de ce témoin. Lecture des Actes est donnée. Le témoin n'y apporte aucune modification et signe comme suit]:

Ita pro veritate deposui, ratum [1172r] habeo et confirmo.

Signatuni: J. GAIGNET, prêtre