Print

Witness 23 - Anatole-Armand-Marie Flamérion, S.J.

 

Anatole-Armand-Marie Flamérion was born in Paris on 7th October 1851. He joined the Company of Jesus, taught for ten years in various colleges while also devoting his time to preaching, and was nominated Director of “Villa Manrèse”, a Retreat House located in Clamart, near Paris. There he was well-placed to observe the strong appeal that Sister Thérèse of the Child Jesus had for priests. In 1909 he succeeded Father de Haza as the exorcist for the Diocese of Paris.

Father Flamérion underlines the prudence with which obsessed people’s words must be measured.

We recall what Mother Agnès wrote on 12th January 1911 in a letter to the Postulator: “We receive more and more letters from all over the world testifying to the confidence that our little sister’s intercession inspires; she continues to heal bodies and convert souls. In exorcisms, the devil is obliged to acknowledge her. A very sincere Jesuit priest recently wrote in a confidential letter to me: Providence and obedience have it that I have been entrusted with the same mission as venerated Father de Haza, and Sister Thérèse of the Child Jesus proves very powerful in the battles I lead against the evil spirit. On several occasions, the devil, seized with fear and forced to make the humiliating admission, has pointed to a spot on the horizon, crying out: “Ah! there she is!” “Who’s that?” “The little Carmelite Sister” “Say her name!” “Thérèse of the Child Jesus!” And, on another occasion, he added furiously: “She is there, the little priest-eater! Oh! She’s snatched so many from me!” (Arch. Gen. OCD, 398d: 9). Father Flamérion would also testify in the Apostolic Trial on 25th August 1916.      

The present testimony was given on 3rd April 1911, in the 74th session, pp. 1175v- 1180r of our Public Copy.

WITNESS 23: Anatole Flamérion S.J.

[Session 74: - 3rd April 1911, at 8:30am and at 2pm]

[1175v] [The witness answers the first question correctly]:

[Answer to the second question]:

My name is Anatole-Armand-Marie Flamérion, born in Paris in the Parish of Saint-François-Xavier, on 7th October 1851, of the legitimate marriage between Nicolas-Alexandre Flamérion, an employee to the town of Paris, and Louise Adélaïde Charlotte Sicart. I am a professed friar of the Company of Jesus. For 15 years I was dedicated to teaching in a college and simultaneously doing religious works and teaching. After that I was mainly devoted to preaching until 1900. At that time, I was called to direct the house called “Villa Manrèse” in Clamart (Diocese of Paris) where series of sacerdotal retreats are given. 18 months ago Mgr. the Archbishop of Paris designated me exorcist of the diocese.

[1176r] [The witness correctly answers questions three to seven].

[Answer to the eighth question]:

I didn’t know the Servant of God, save through reading “Story of a Soul”, but I won’t be using this work in my deposition. The details I would like to make known to the court relate to the graces obtained by the Servant of God since her death, and which I have come to know about through making observations in my ministry as either exorcist or director of priests when I give sacerdotal retreats at “Villa Manrèse”.  

[Answer to the ninth question]:

In about 1906, I made a very hasty, superficial and incomplete reading of “Story of a Soul”, and I drew a rather unfavourable impression from it: to me this Biography appeared soppy and puerile. A few years later, in 1909, upon learning from some sincere and very Christian people that [1176v] reading the same book had done them a lot of good, I decided to study it carefully, and my first impression changed entirely. I found it had a very profound and very strong spirituality. Furthermore I noticed that precious graces had been obtained through the Servant of God’s intercession, either by priests or by other people I directed, or by myself. Since then, I have a great devotion for the Servant of God and I hope her Beatification Trial will have a happy conclusion.  

[Answer to questions ten to twenty-eight]:

I have nothing particular to say for these questions.

[Answer to the twenty-ninth question]:

To understand what I have to say about the Servant of God, I must explain in a few words what we call the “Works of the All-Merciful Mother and of the Victims of the Heart of Jesus”. To assist the Church and souls in their fight against a particularly dreadful attack of demons, [1171r] to which the Sovereign Pontiff Leo XIII alludes in the prayer he exhorted us to say after Mass, the Blessed Virgin, the “All-Merciful Mother”, chose a certain number of “voluntary victims’ over whom the demon has powerful possession and who, through generosity, accept to bear these terrible hardships and offer them to our Lord, draining the demons’ power, and thereby serving the Church by preserving or delivering other souls. Father de Haza, my predecessor in the post of exorcist which he held for 36 years, recognized this merciful plan in the very exercise of his ministry. Having been his “socius” for nine years in his function as official exorcist, then his successor since 1909, I myself have observed manifold events that prove the principle to be real. In 1900, Reverend Father de Haza had Mgr. the Archbishop of Tours present a report of his observations to the Holy Office. In 1901, the Holy Office replied to Mgr. the Archbishop of Tours as follows: “We found this work supremely interesting; all that it recounts conforms to the doctrine of the Church. We particularly noticed [1177v] that the whole corresponds to what the prayers exhorted by the Holy Father presuppose in terms of demon attacks.”

[Continuation of the answer to the twenty-ninth question]:

I must also mention that writers of mystical theology acknowledge that during exorcisms demons are often compelled, despite their inclination to lie, to admit, to their detriment, truths involving the glory of God and the good of souls. The same writers give reliable rules to discern the truth from the lies in these different [1178r] assertions. There are even reliable rules, officially recognized by the Church, to discern divine effects in souls and distinguish them from imaginary phenomena. Now, in the exercise of my ministry as an exorcist, I’ve identified and cannot doubt, either in demons’ admissions that always corroborate with many other exorcisms involving diverse individuals who are completely unknown to each other, or by conforming declarations made by the same people under divine action, as I said, I’ve identified:  

1st. That the Blessed Virgin has very specifically orientated the “Work of Victims”, which I mentioned above, towards the sanctification of priests and the reparation of insults directed against Our Lord during Holy Eucharist by unworthy priests.

2nd. That in this work of mercy and love, undertaken for the sanctification of priests, the Blessed Virgin has, in a very special way, associated herself with the Servant of God Sister Thérèse of the Child Jesus, who acts: 1st to help those who are working for the sanctification of priests; 2nd to deliver priests from demons who tempt them and even enslave them, by shackling these demons solely to “Victims” whose virtues torment and [1178v] reduce them to powerlessness.

3rd. That demons fear the following as particularly contrary to their undertakings and favourable to souls’ progress: acts of obedience, humility, littleness, trusting surrender and love undertaken in the spirit of Sister Thérèse’s “Little Way”.

To support these assertions, here are just a few of the many facts I’ve highlighted:

A) The demon has declared, through the mouth of several possessed people who were complete strangers, that Sister Thérèse of the Child Jesus assists me in my ministry, precisely because I work for the sanctification of priests. “Thérèse has been preparing you for a long time - It’s she who’s directing your arm – It’s the Virgin who sent her to you” (Exorcism of 20th January 1910 on J… Paris). “Thérèse is the angel of your priesthood and ministry to priests” (A response I’ve heard from the demon on many different occasions, notably on 30th July 1910). “Thérèse has been given to you, she is yours and always assists you, on account of your priestly mission” (9th February 1911, exorcism of J…). – “Thérèse was given to you on account of your mission… she helps you with [1179r] priests” (Exorcism of M… on 8th December 1810 – M… is completely unknown to J…).

B) The demon has similarly declared that Sister Thérèse had snatched many priests’ souls from him. “She is there, the little Carmelite Sister, Thérèse of the Child Jesus, the little priest-eater:

Oh! She’s snatched so many from me” (Exorcism of J… 25th November 1909 – ditto 27th January 1910: “Thérèse of the Child Jesus! She’s snatched priests from me!”)

C) Another time the demon declared that Thérèse had snatched him from a priest’s soul, and that the Virgin had sent him into the body of a “Voluntary Victim”: “Yes, it’s your Thérèse who snatched this soul from me and who’s the reason I’m imprisoned by the Virgin.”

D) The demon confessed that he finds the way of perfection through humility and obedience taught by Thérèse of the Child Jesus particularly odious: he disdainfully calls it “supreme stupidity”. I said to the demon: “What was it then that attracted the Heart of Jesus to little Thérèse?” He replied “Because she destroyed her soul!... A destroyed soul! Ah! Jesus comes and lives in him; a [1179v] priest with a destroyed soul would save the world; he would be a living Christ” (Exorcism of J… 10th March 1910). “Thérèse reached supreme stupidity”, said the demon one day; and when I asked him: “What do you mean by supreme stupidity?” he replied: “Because she was little.”  

Outside my ministry as an exorcist, I’ve been able to see in my ordinary ministry when giving priest retreats at “Villa Manrèse” that devotion for the Servant of God inspires them with a great desire to progress in holiness. 400 to 500 priests come to “Villa Manrèse” every year, and many of them tell me of their trust in the Servant of God. Some even consider her as an assistant and associate in their ministry and spiritual life.

[Answer to the thirtieth question]:

I have nothing to add.

[1180r] [Concerning the Articles, the witness says he knows nothing other than what he has already deposed in answer to the preceding questions. – Here ends the interrogation of this witness. The Acts are read out. The witness makes no amendment to them and signs as follows]:

Testis deposui ut supra pro veritate, ratum habeo et confirmo.

Signatum: A. FLAMÉRION, S.J.

Imprimer

Témoin 23 - Anatole-Armand-Marie Flamérion, S.J.

Anatole-Armand-Marie Flamérion naquit à Paris le 7 octobre 1851. Il entra dans la Compagnie de Jésus, enseigna pendant dix ans dans divers collèges en s'adonnant aussi à la prédication et fut nommé directeur de la «Villa Manrèse», maison de retraites sise à Clamart, près Paris. Il était là bien placé pour se rendre compte du profond attrait exercé sur les prêtres par soeur Thérèse de l’Enfant-Jésus. Il succédait en 1909 au père de Haza comme exorciste du diocèse de Paris.

Le père Flamérion souligne avec combien de prudence il faut savoir mesurer les paroles des obsédés.

Rappelons que mère Agnès avait écrit le 12 janvier 1911 au père postulateur: «Nous recevons de plus en plus de lettres de tous côtés qui témoignent de la confiance qu'inspire l'intercession de notre petite soeur; elle continue à guérir les corps et à convertir les âmes. Le démon dans les exorcismes est obligé d'en convenir. Un père jésuite très sérieux m'en écrivait dernièrement en confidence: La Providence et l'obéissance m'ont confié la même mission qu'au vénéré père de Haza et soeur Thérèse de l'Enfant-Jésus se montre bien puissante dans les luttes dont je suis chargé contre l'esprit malin. A plusieurs reprises, le démon pris de peur et forcé d'en faire l'aveu humiliant s'est écrié, montrant un point de l'horizon: « Ah! la voilà! » «Qui donc?» - «La petite carmélite! » - « Dis son nom! » - « Thérèse de l'Enfant-Jésus! » - Et, à une autre reprise, il ajoute furieux: « Elle est là, la petite mangeuse des prêtres! Oh! qu'elle m’en a arrachés! » (Arch. Gen. OCD, 398d: 9). Le père Flamérion déposera aussi au Procès Apostolique le 25 août 1916.

Le présent témoignage a été donné le 3 avril 1911, au cours de la 74ème session, f. 1175v- 1180r, de notre Copie publique.

 

TÉMOIN 23: Anatole Flamérion S.J.

 

[Session 74: - 3 avril 1911, à 8h. 30 et à 2h. de l'après-midi]

 

[1175v] [Le témoin répond correctement à la première demande].

[Réponse à la seconde demande]:

Je m'appelle Anatole-Armand-Marie Flamérion, né à Paris paroisse Saint-François-Xavier, le 7 octobre 1851, du légitime mariage de Nicolas-Alexandre Flamérion, employé à la ville de Paris, et de Louise Adélaïde Charlotte Sicart. Je suis religieux profès de la Compagnie de Jésus. J'ai été appliqué pendant 15 ans à l'enseignement dans un collège et simultanément aux oeuvres et à la prédication; ensuite j'ai été spécialement appliqué à la prédication, jusqu'en 1900, A cette époque, j'ai été appelé à diriger la maison dite « Villa Manrèse » à Clamart, diocèse de Paris, où se donnent des séries de retraites sacerdotales. Depuis 18 mois, j'ai été désigné par monseigneur l'archevêque de Paris pour exercer dans ce diocèse les fonctions d'exorciste.

 

[1176r] [Le témoin répond correctement de la troisième à la septième demande].

[Réponse à la huitième demande]:

Je n'ai pas connu la Servante de Dieu si ce n'est par la lecture de l'« Histoire d'une âme », je ne me servirai d'ailleurs pas de cet ouvrage dans ma déposition. Les détails que j'ai à faire connaître au tribunal se rapportent à des grâces obtenues par la Servante de Dieu, depuis sa mort, et je les ai connues par mon observation personnelle dans l'exercice de mon ministère, soit d'exorciste, soit aussi de directeur des prêtres dans les retraites qu'ils viennent faire à la « Villa Manrèse.»

 

[Réponse à la neuvième demande]:

Vers 1906, je fis une lecture très hâtive, superficielle et incomplète de l'« Histoire d'une âme », et j'en retirai une impression plutôt défavorable: cette Biographie me paraissait mièvre et puérile. Quelques années après, en 1909, apprenant de personnes graves et très chrétiennes que la [1176v] lecture de ce même livre leur faisait beaucoup de bien, je me décidai à en faire une étude réfléchie, et ma première impression changea du tout au tout. J'y trouvai une spiritualité très profonde et très forte. D'autre part, je constatai des grâces précieuses obtenues par l'intercession de la Servante de Dieu, soit par des prêtres ou d'autres personnes que je dirigeais, soit par moi-même. Depuis ce temps, j'ai pour la Servante de Dieu une grande dévotion et j'espère que le Procès de sa béatification aura une heureuse issue.

 

[Réponse de la dixième à la vingt-huitième demande]:

Je n'ai rien de spécial à dire sur ces questions.

 

[Réponse à la vingt-neuvième demande]:

Pour l'intelligence de ce que j'aurai à dire de la Servante de Dieu, je dois exposer en quelques mots ce qu'on appelle l'« Oeuvre de la Mère toute miséricordieuse et des Victimes du Coeur de Jésus.» Pour venir en aide à l'Eglise et aux âmes contre un déchaînement particulièrement [1171r] redoutable des démons, auxquels le Souverain Pontife Léon XIII fait allusion dans la prière qu'il a prescrit de dire après la messe, la très Sainte Vierge « Mère toute miséricordieuse » a choisi un certain nombre de « victimes volontaires » sur lesquelles le démon reçoit une puissance spéciale de possession et qui, par leur générosité à supporter et à offrir à Notre Seigneur ces terribles épreuves, usent la puissance des démons, et ainsi servent l'Eglise en préservant ou délivrant les autres âmes. Le père de Haza, mon prédécesseur dans la fonction d'exorciste qu'il remplit durant 36 ans, reconnut ce plan miséricordieux dans l'exercice même de son ministère. Ayant été son « socius » pendant neuf ans dans cette fonction d'exorciste officiel, puis son successeur depuis 1909, j'ai moi-même constaté par des faits multiples la réalité de ce dessein. En 1900, le révérend père de Haza fit présenter au Saint Office, par monseigneur l'archevêque de Tours, une relation des constatations qu'il avait faites. En 1901, le Saint Office répondit à monseigneur l'archevêque de Tours en ces termes: « On a trouvé cet ouvrage intéressant au suprême degré; tout ce qui y est raconté est conforme à la doctrine de l'Eglise. On a particulièrement [1177v] remarqué que tout l'ensemble est en conformité avec ce que supposent les prières prescrites par le Saint Père sur une sorte de déchaînement des démons.»

 

[Suite de la réponse à la vingt-neuvième demande]:

Je dois remarquer encore que les auteurs de théologie mystique reconnaissent qu'au cours des exorcismes, les démons sont souvent contraints, en dépit même de leur tendance au mensonge, de faire, à leur confusion, l'aveu de vérités intéressant la gloire de Dieu et le bien des âmes; ces mêmes auteurs donnent des règles sûres pour discerner la vérité du mensonge entre ces diverses as-[1178r]sertions. Il y a de même des règles sûres, sanctionnées par l'Eglise, pour reconnaître les effets divins dans les âmes et les distinguer des phénomènes d'imagination. Or, dans l'exercice de mon ministère d'exorciste, j'ai reconnu sans pouvoir en douter, soit par l'aveu des démons, toujours concordants dans des exorcismes multiples, intéressant des sujets divers, totalement inconnus les uns des autres, soit par les déclarations conformes de ces mêmes âmes sous l'action divine, j'ai reconnu, dis-je:

 

1°. Que la très Sainte Vierge a orienté l'« Oeuvre des Victimes », dont j'ai parlé ci-dessus, très particulièrement vers la sanctification des prêtres et la réparation des outrages faits à Notre Seigneur, dans la sainte Eucharistie, par les prêtres indignes.

 

2o. Que dans cette oeuvre de miséricorde et d'amour, entreprise pour la sanctification des prêtres, la Sainte Vierge s'est associée d'une manière toute spéciale la Servante de Dieu Thérèse de l’Enfant Jésus, laquelle s'emploie: l° à aider ceux qui travaillent à la sanctification des prêtres; 2° à délivrer les prêtres des démons qui les tentent ou même les asservissent, en enchaînant ces démons aux seules « Victimes » dont

 

TÉMOIN 23: Anatole Flamérion S.J.

 

les vertus font leurs tourments et les [1178v] réduisent à l'impuissance.

 

3°. Que les démons redoutent comme particulièrement contraires à leurs entreprises et favorables au progrès des âmes, les actes d'obéissance, d'humilité, de petitesse, d'abandon confiant et d'amour, faits dans l'esprit de la « Petite voie » de soeur Thérèse.

 

A l'appui de ces assertions, voici, entre beaucoup d'autres, quelques-uns des faits que j'ai relevés:

 

A) Le démon a déclaré, par la bouche de plusieurs possédées, tout-à-fait inconnues les unes aux autres, que soeur Thérèse de l’Enfant Jésus m'assiste dans mon ministère, précisément parce que je m'occupe de la sanctification des prêtres. « Thérèse t'était préparée depuis longtemps - C'est elle qui dirige ton bras - C'est la Vierge qui te l'a envoyée » (Exorcisme du 20 janvier 1910 sur j.... Paris). - « Thérèse est l'ange de ton sacerdoce et de ton ministère auprès des prêtres » (Cette réponse du démon m'a été faite en maintes circonstances diverses, notamment le 30 juillet 1910). « Thérèse t'a été donnée, elle est tienne et t'assiste toujours, à cause de ta mission sacerdotale » (9 février 1911, exorcisme de J... ). - « Thérèse t'a été donnée à cause de ta mission... elle t'aide pour les [1179r] prêtres » (Exorcisme de M... le 8 décembre 1910 - M... complètement inconnue de J... ).

 

B) Le démon a déclaré de même que soeur Thérèse lui avait arraché beaucoup d'âmes de prêtres. « Elle est là, la petite carmélite, Thérèse de l’Enfant Jésus, cette petite mangeuse de prêtres:

Oh! qu'elle m'en a arrachés » (Exorcisme de J... 25 novembre 1909 - item 27 janvier 1910: « Thérèse de l’Enfant Jésus! elle m'en a arraché des prêtres! »).

 

C) Le démon déclare ailleurs que Thérèse l'a arraché de l'âme d'un prêtre, et que la Vierge l'a relégué dans le corps d'une « victime volontaire »: « Oui, c’est ta Thérèse qui m'a arraché cette âme et qui est cause que je suis enfermé par la Vierge.»

 

D) Le démon confesse que la voie de perfection par l'humilité et l'obéissance qu'enseigne Thérèse de l’Enfant Jésus lui est particulièrement odieuse: il l'appelle avec dédain « suprême imbécillité.» « Qu'est-ce donc - disais-je au démon - qui a attiré le Coeur de Jésus vers cette petite Thérèse? » - « Parce que - répond-il - c'était une âme qui se détruisait!... Une âme détruite! Ah! Jésus vient et y demeure; un [1179v] prêtre, qui aurait l'âme détruite, sauverait le monde; il serait un Christ vivant » (Exorcisme de J... 10 mars 1910). « Thérèse est parvenue à la suprême imbécillité », disait un jour le démon; et comme je lui demandais: « Qu’entends-tu donc par cette suprême imbécillité? », il répondit: « Parce qu'elle était petite.»

En dehors de ce ministère d'exorcisme, j'ai pu constater aussi dans le ministère ordinaire des retraites de prêtres à la « Villa Manrèse », que la dévotion à la Servante de Dieu leur inspire un grand désir de progresser dans la sainteté. Il vient à la « Villa Manrèse » de 400 à 500 prêtres par an, et beaucoup d'entre eux m'entretiennent de leur confiance en la Servante de Dieu. D'aucuns même la considèrent comme une auxiliaire et comme associée à leur ministère et à leur vie spirituelle.

 

[Réponse à la trentième demande]:

Je n'ai rien à ajouter.

 

[1180r] [Au sujet des Articles, le témoin dit ne savoir que ce qu'il a déjà déposé en répondant aux demandes précédentes. - Est ainsi terminé l'interrogatoire de ce témoin. Lecture des Actes est donnée. Le témoin n'y apporte aucune modification et signe comme suit]:

Testis deposui ut supra pro veritate, ratum habeo et confirmo.

Signatum: A. FLAMÉRION, S.J.