Print

Witness 23 - Marie‑Elisa‑Jeanne Guerin (La Neele)

WITNESS XXIII

MARIE ELISA JEANNE GUERIN (LA NEELE)

The witness belongs to the group of family members of Thérèse of the Child Jesus. From this point of view, her declaration, although brief, assumes special value.

She is “Jeanne”, Thérèse’s cousin and childhood companion from Lisieux, who is mentioned in several passages of Manuscript “A” of Story of a Soul and in some of the Servant of God’s letters. She was born in Lisieux on 24th February 1868, and was the daughter of Isidore Guérin, who was the brother of Zélie, Thérèse’s mother, and Céline Fournet. On 1st October 1890, she married Doctor Francis La Néele, who treated Thérèse on a few rare occasions during her last illness. All those who know Thérèse’s writings remember the “invitation” to her wedding with Jesus, which was inspired by the invitation to Jeanne and Francis’s wedding. They will also recall the hope with which Thérèse continually supported her cousin in her wish to have a child. This hope was never fulfilled despite the Saint’s promise that the grace would be granted when she went to heaven. To hear the witness, it would seem that Thérèse’s mission was to obtain not blessings but trials. It is therefore with a smile on our lips that we hear her declare, “I thank God for the many blessings she was given, and for this reason I recite the Magnificat when I go to her grave. As for asking her to obtain blessings for me, as she has sent me nothing but trials, I am hesitant” (p. 1350). She returns to the subject a little later, but in the form of a most interesting conclusion: “I have often prayed to the Servant of God in times of trouble, and have noticed only an increase in crosses and trials. I pray she gives me the grace to bear them as a Christian” (p. 1360).

Her testimony unfolds with extreme simplicity as she recites her childhood memories. All the details are already in the 1911 Process, during which the witness spoke at greater length.

She testified on 12th March 1917, in the sacristy of the Carmelite Convent of Lisieux, in the 69th sitting of the Process, and her testimony can be found on pages 1349-1360 of the public transcription.

[Sitting 69: 12th March 1917, at 9 o’clock and at 2 o’clock in the afternoon]

[1349] [The witness answers the first question satisfactorily.]

 [Answer to the second question:]

My name is Marie Elisa Jeanne Guérin. I am Doctor La Néele’s widow. I was born in Lisieux on 24th February 1868 to Marie Isidore Victor Guérin, a chemist, and to Céline Fournet. My father was the brother of Mrs Martin, the Servant of God’s mother; I am therefore the first cousin of Sister Thérèse of the Child Jesus.

 [The witness answers questions three to five satisfactorily].

 [Answer to the sixth question:]

I will testify honestly and in all truth. No one has tried to influence me in any way; doing so would have been pointless.

 [Answer to the seventh question:]

From 1877, when the Martin family moved to Lisieux, until the Servant of God joined the Carmelite convent in 1888, relations between our two families were very frequent and very close. We would get together every Thursday and Sunday. On other days, Thérèse Martin and I would go to the same school with my sister Marie and Céline Martin. When the Servant of God [1350] joined the Carmel, I would visit her once a fortnight or so.

[Answer to the eighth question]:

I believe that Sister Thérèse of the Child Jesus has a very high place in heaven. I thank God for the many blessings she was given, and for this reason I recite the Magnificat when I go to her grave. I hope with all my heart she will be canonised. As for asking her to obtain blessings for me, as she has sent me nothing but trials, I am hesitant.

[Answer to the ninth question]:

I know that the Servant of God was born in Alençon on 2nd January 1873. She had four surviving elder sisters: Marie, Pauline, Léonie and Céline. Several other children, four I believe, died in infancy; I didn’t know them. Mrs Martin died in Alençon when the Servant of God was about four. As I was five years older than Sister Thérèse, I went to her parents’ house in Alençon several times before her mother died. I remember Mrs Martin was a very devout Christian and carried out her duties most valiantly. Every morning she attended the six o’clock Mass and continued to do so until shortly before she died, even though she was suffering from the very painful illness of cancer. Mr Martin was also a very ardent and exemplary Christian.

[1351] [Answer to the tenth question]:

WITNESS 23: Jeanne Guérin

Following Mrs Martin’s death in August 1877, Mr Martin moved to Lisieux with his children to bring our two families closer and to have my mother look after the young girls. He lived in a small villa, called “Les Buissonnets” just over half a mile away from my parents’ house. I had one sister, Marie, who was two years younger than me, and she died at the Carmel of Lisieux in 1905. Little Thérèse was educated by her father, and especially by my cousin Pauline, who is Mother Agnes of Jesus today. Mr Martin loved Thérèse, his youngest child, particularly dearly. Her elder sisters also shared this special affection for their little sister. However I can confirm that this favouritism did not harm her education or arouse any jealousy in her family.

Towards the age of eight, the Servant of God began attending school each day at the Benedictine Abbey of Lisieux. Céline went there, too, as did Léonie Martin, my sister Marie and myself. As I was five years older than Thérèse, I was closer to Céline, who was my age, and Thérèse was closer to my younger sister Marie. At that time, I remember that the Servant of God was very mild and very kind to everyone. She was particularly sensitive, disliking noisy games and lots of movement. She was solemn, thoughtful and reserved with anyone who was not immediate family. I remember that when Pauline left her for the Carmel, she told no one of her sorrow, not even Céline, I think. [1352] However, her sorrow was very great, for we think it caused the serious illness that befell her at that time. I can also remember she was very pious, loved religious activities and prayed with great fervour. I knew of no faults except her hypersensitivity, but she is not to blame for that.

[Was the Servant of God’s piety greater than average? - Answer]:

There is no possible comparison between her piety and that of other children her age. Her fervour was extraordinary and exceeded everyone else’s in the family, save perhaps Pauline’s, who was also very pious.

Her father being away, the Servant of God was staying with my parents when she fell ill at the age of ten (1883). The illness was at first characterised by severe trembling, which was indicative of a fever. Then, on top of depression, she entered a state of semi-hallucination that made objects or the postures of those around her take on terrifying forms. At its worst, there were also several physical fits, during which her whole body would make rotating movements that would have been entirely impossible for her when healthy. The doctor, Doctor Notta, made no precise diagnosis as to the nature of the illness. My father, who had a great deal of experience and knowledge of illnesses as a result of his profession and studies, could not believe this was no more than an earthly illness [1353]. He thought Satan had had a hand in it. Even at that time, he recognised an extraordinary holiness in Thérèse, and would say, “This child will do great things.” Just when the fits were at their most violent, the illness suddenly left her. I think I can remember that, at that very moment, it was confirmed what I have often been told since, that she was cured by the Blessed Virgin.

[Was it at that very moment that it was believed she had had a vision of the Blessed Virgin? - Answer]:

I cannot remember if it was described in such terms at the time.

[The witness resumes]:

No sign whatsoever of this condition has ever reappeared since, and my father said that if it had been a mental illness and left to follow its natural course, we would have seen traces of it in the girl’s temperament later on.

The Servant of God took her First Communion at the Abbey, after a closed retreat. The great piety I mentioned was visible on this occasion although I noticed nothing out of the ordinary. During her time at the Abbey, the Servant of God was a good pupil, did well in her studies, and was very obedient to her teachers. She was kind to her schoolmates, but preferred not to participate in their games. She did not become close to them, and usually kept herself at a certain distance. All in all, as school life contrasted with her family life, it was rather difficult for her. I think that her spiritual [1354] education remained primarily the work of Pauline, and that school, even though she had good teachers, had little influence on her.

 [Answer to the eleventh question]: 

At the age of 13, the Servant of God left the Benedictine school and finished her education at home. I believe that her continual headaches were the reason for her leaving. I do not remember the two years preceding her admittance to the Carmel in any detail. I can however describe that period in general; there was nothing worldly about either of our families; we lived a very introspective Christian life.

I heard from my father, whom she had come to consult, of her decision to soon join the Carmel. I wasn’t surprised she was to become a nun. Every one expected it, but I didn’t expect her to join so young.

[1355] [Continuation of the answer]:

[Answer to the twelfth question]:

From the day Sister Thérèse joined the Carmel, I lost sight of her to a certain extent. I would visit her and her sisters at the same time, so I do not know anything precise as to the details of her life at the Carmel. This is all the more true as, out of humility no doubt, she spoke little, even when she came to the visiting room, and let her sisters do the talking.

 [Answer to questions thirteen and fourteen]:

Concerning her virtues at the Carmel, I can quote a few written examples that I’ve already reported either in the Process of her Writings or in the Informative Process.

WITNESS 23: Jeanne Guérin

They are extracts from letters written by the Servant of God to my parents, or written by my Carmelite sister Marie, and other letters.

For instance:

1stly In a letter to my parents, the Mother Prioress of the Carmel said the following about Thérèse: “Never would I have believed a child of 15 could be so mature in judgment; I don’t need to say a word to her: everything is perfect.” The Prioress who wrote this was Mother Marie de Gonzague.

2ndly Here are two passages from letters written by Sister Thérèse to my mother:

“It will soon be nine years since I entered the Lord's house. I should, then, be already advanced in the ways of perfection, but I am still at the bottom of the ladder. This does not discourage me... hoping at the end of my life [1356] to share in the riches of my sisters who are much more generous. I hope, too, dear Aunt, to have a beautiful place at the heavenly banquet... When the saints and the angels learn I have the honour of being your little daughter, they will not want to make me sad by placing me far from you.... Thus I shall enjoy eternal goods because of your virtues. My heart melts with gratitude to God, who has given me relatives such as are no longer to be found on earth” [LT 202].

On another occasion, she wrote to her aunt, “For your feast day, I would like to take away all sorrow and to take for myself all your pains. This is what I was praying for just now... I then felt that all He could give us of the best was suffering, and He was giving this only to His chosen friends... I saw that Jesus loved dear Aunt too much to take away the Cross” [LT 67]. To her uncle, my father, she wrote, “Ah, how beautiful the crown reserved for you appears to me! It can't be otherwise since your whole life has been a perpetual cross and because God acts in this way only with the great saints” [LT 59]. If my father had lived, he would have happily testified for his darling little Thérèse, and he would certainly have reported many edifying details, as would my mother.

                                                                   

[Answer to questions fifteen to forty-six]:

As I’ve said, I am not in a situation to provide a personal and detailed testimony on these points.

[1537] [Answer to the forty-seventh question]:

I knew her personally only until she joined the Carmel, and afterwards only by what I was told by my parents and her sisters. I was far from imagining she would work miracles as she is doing today, and that people all over the world would speak of her as they are doing. Yet concerning her virtues, I believed even at the time when we lived together that her perfection was absolutely extraordinary and exceeded what is commonly seen in virtuous people. This was also the opinion of my parents and all those who knew her.

[Can you say in what way specifically the Servant of God’s virtues appeared heroic? - Answer]:

I never saw her do anything extraordinary, but, what seemed heroic in her conduct was that she never slackened in virtue, even in her childhood, that is to say, in the years I was with her. Her piety, humility, and obedience were especially remarkable, as was her mildness and charity towards her neighbour.

 [Answer to questions forty-eight to fifty]:

I’ve heard nothing particular as regards these points.

[Answer to the fifty-first question]:

Everyone knows her autobiography. I also kept the letters she wrote to me and my parents.

[1358] [Answer to the fifty-second question]:

During the Servant of God’s last illness, her Carmelite sisters sent us news often, and I would come to the visiting room to ask after her. I therefore learnt that she suffered greatly, and suffered more than people with this illness (pulmonary tuberculosis) normally suffer, and also that she bore her suffering with admirable patience.

My husband Doctor La Néele was called to see her twice in the absence of the community’s doctor, Doctor de Cornière. He told me at the time that he had been very struck by her holiness and the angelic mildness with which she bore her suffering.

[Answer to the fifty-third question]:

The Servant of God died on 30th September 1897. I came to pray when her body was laid out at the choir grate. I noticed nothing out of the ordinary on this occasion. Many faithful also came, but this can be explained by the fact that our family was well known in the town.

 [Answer to the fifty-fourth question]:

It is public knowledge that she was buried in Lisieux town cemetery, and that, in September 1910, I think, her remains were transferred, by order of His Lordship the Bishop of Bayeux, to a nearby grave, where everybody now goes to pray.

 [Answer to the fifty-fifth question]:

[1359] I saw nothing resembling worship on these occasions.

 [Answer to the fifty-sixth question]:

I often go to pray at the Servant of God’s burial place. Since the Process began in 1910, the number of pilgrims has steadily increased and is still growing. It seems to me that pilgrims from all backgrounds come to her burial place to pray fervently and reverently.

WITNESS 23: Jeanne Guérin

I saw nothing in these demonstrations that was not sincere and solemn.

[Answer to the fifty-seventh question]:

All those in my entourage pray to the Servant of God in great faith. People everywhere pray to her and relate favours they have received through her intercession. It is well known today that her reputation for holiness has spread, so to speak, all over the world.

I do not think any effort has ever been made to hide or dissimulate what might damage her Cause. I do not think her virtues have been exaggerated, either, but the Carmel in particular has spared no expense in terms of making her known just as she is.

[Answer to the fifty-eighth question]:

I have never heard any criticism in relation to the Servant of God’s virtues or holiness.

[Answer to questions fifty-nine to sixty-five]:

[1360] Personally, I have often prayed to the Servant of God in times of trouble, and have only noticed an increase in crosses and trials. I pray she gives me the grace to bear them as a Christian.

As for other people, I have heard whole hosts of accounts relating blessings that have been obtained through Sister Thérèse’s intercession. My husband told me that he himself had, as a doctor, officially recognised the miraculous recovery of Father Anne, a curate from Pont l’Évêque, and of an elderly man in the institute of the Little Sisters of the Poor who had suffered from lung cancer.

[Answer to the sixty-sixth question]:

I have nothing to add.

 [As regards the Articles, the witness claims to know nothing other than what they have already declared in response to the preceding questions. - Here ends the questioning of this witness. The statements are read out. The witness makes no alteration to them and signs as follows]:

Signatum: JEANNE LA NÉELE, [1361] witness. I have testified as above according to the truth. I hereby ratify and confirm my testimony.

Imprimer

Témoin 23 - Marie‑Elisa‑Jeanne Guerin (La Neele)

TÉMOIN XXIII

MARIE‑ELISA‑JEANNE GUERIN (LA NEELE)

Le témoin appartient au groupe des membres de la famille de Thérèse de l'Enfant‑Jésus. A ce point de vue, sa déclaration, malgré sa brièveté, revêt une valeur particulière.

 

Il s'agit de « Jeanne », la cousine compagne d'enfance à Lisieux, dont parlent plusieurs passages du Manuscrit « A » de l'Histoire d'une âme, et certaines lettres de la Servante de Dieu. Née à Lisieux le 24 février 1868, fille d'Isidore Guérin, frère de Zélie, la maman de Thérèse, et de Céline Fournet, elle épousa le 1er octobre 1890 le docteur Francis La Néele, qui soigna, en quelques rares occasions, Thérèse pendant sa dernière maladie. Tous ceux qui connaissent les écrits de Thérèse se souviennent du « faire‑part » de son mariage avec Jésus qui lui avait été suggéré par le faire-part du mariage de Jeanne avec Francis, ainsi que de l'espoir avec lequel Thérèse soutenait continuellement sa cousine, désireuse d'avoir un enfant; cet espoir ne se réalisa jamais malgré la promesse de la Sainte de lui obtenir cette grâce quand elle serait au ciel. A en croire le témoin, il semble que Thérèse ait eu la mission de lui obtenir des grâces non pas de douceur, mais de souffrance. C'est donc avec le sourire aux lèvres qu'on l'entend déclarer: « Je remercie Dieu des grâces dont elle a été comblée, et pour cela je récite le Magnificat quand je vais sur sa tombe... Quant à lui demander de m'obtenir des grâces, comme elle ne m'a envoyé que des croix, cela me rend hésitante » (p. 1350). Elle y revient un peu plus loin, mais sous forme de conclusion fort intéressante: « J'ai souvent invoqué la Servante de Dieu dans mes peines temporelles, et je n'ai constaté qu'une recrudescence de croix et d'épreuves. Je lui demande de m'obtenir la grâce de les supporter chrétiennement » (p. 1360).

Son témoignage se déroule avec une extrême simplicité sur la base des souvenirs d'enfance. Tous les détails se trouvent déjà dans le Procès de 1911, au cours duquel le témoin avait parlé avec un peu plus d'étendue.

Elle déposa le 12 mars 1917, dans la sacristie du Carmel de Lisieux, au cours de la session 69 du Procès, et sa déposition se trouve aux pages 1349‑1360 de notre Copie publique.

 

[Session 69: ‑ 12 mars 1917, à 9h. et à 2h. de l'après‑midi]

[1349][Le témoin répond correctement à la première demande].

 

 [Réponse à la deuxième demande]:

Je m'appelle Marie‑Elisa‑Jeanne Gué­rin, veuve de monsieur le docteur Francis La Néele, née à Lisieux, le 24 février 1868, de Marie‑Isidore‑Victor Guérin, pharma­cien et de Céline Fournet. Mon père était le frère de madame Martin, mère de la Servante de Dieu; je suis donc la cousi­ne germaine de soeur Thérèse de l'Enfant -Jésus.

 

 [Le témoin répond correctement de la troisième à la cinquième demande].

 

 [Réponse à la sixième demande]:

Je vais faire ma déposition en conscience et en toute vérité, personne n'a exercé sur moi aucune influence; d'ailleurs c'eût été inutile.

 

 [Réponse à la septième demande]:

Depuis l'arrivée de la famille Martin à Lisieux, en 1877, jusqu'à l'entrée de la Servante de Dieu au Carmel, en 1888, les relations entre nos deux familles furent quotidiennes et très intimes. Nous nous            réunissions tous les jeudis et tous les di­manches. Les autres jours, Thérèse Mar­tin et moi allions à la même pension ain­si que ma soeur Marie et Céline Martin. Après l'entrée au [1350] Carmel de la Ser­vante de Dieu, je venais au parloir, en­viron tous les 15 jours.

 

[Réponse à la huitième demande]:

J'ai confiance que soeur Thérèse de l'Enfant Jésus est en très belle place au ciel. Je remercie Dieu des grâces dont elle a été comblée, et pour cela je récite le Magnificat quand je vais sur sa tombe. Je désire de tout mon coeur sa canonisation. Quant à lui demander de m'obtenir des grâces, comme elle ne m'a envoyé que des croix, cela me rend hésitante.

 

[Réponse à la neuvième demande]:

Je sais que la Servante de Dieu est née à Alençon le 2 janvier 1873. Elle avait quatre soeurs aînées survivantes: Marie, Pauline, Léonie et Céline. Plusieurs autres enfants, quatre je crois, étaient morts en bas âge; je ne les ai pas connus. Madame Martin est morte à Alençon, lorsque la Servante de Dieu avait environ quatre ans. Etant moi‑même de cinq ans plus âgée que soeur Thérèse, je suis allée plusieurs fois chez ses parents à Alençon avant la mort de sa mère. Je me rappelle que madame Martin était une chrétienne très fervente et très courageuse dans la pratique de ses devoirs. Tous les matins elle assistait à la messe de six heures et elle a été fidèle à cette pratique jusqu'à peu de jours avant sa mort, bien qu'elle fût atteinte d'une maladie très douloureuse, un cancer. Monsieur Martin était lui‑même un chrétien très ardent et exemplaire.

 

[1351] [Réponse à la dixième demande]:

Après la mort de madame Martin, en août 1877, monsieur Martin vint à Li

 

TÉMOIN 23: Jeanne Guérin

 

sieux avec ses enfants pour rapprocher nos deux familles et pour que ma mère s'occupât des jeunes filles. Il habita une petite villa, appelée les «Buissonnets», à un kilomètre de distance de la maison de mes parents. J'avais une soeur, Marie, plus jeune que moi de deux ans, et qui est morte au Carmel de Lisieux, en 1905. L'éducation de la petite Thérèse fut faite par son père, mais surtout par ma cousine Pauline, aujourd'hui mère Agnès de Jésus. Monsieur Martin aimait d'un amour de prédilection Thérèse, sa plus jeune enfant. Ses soeurs aînées partageaient aussi cette affection spéciale pour leur petite soeur. Mais j'affirme que cette préférence n'a pas nui à son éducation et ne suscitait aucune jalousie dans sa famille.

 

Vers huit ans, la Servante de Dieu commença à fréquenter chaque jour l'école des bénédictines de Lisieux. Céline y allait aussi, ainsi que Léonie Martin, ma soeur Marie et moi. Comme j'étais de cinq ans plus âgée que Thérèse, j'étais plutôt intime avec Céline qui était de mon âge, et Thérèse était plus liée avec ma jeune soeur Marie. A cette époque, j'ai souvenir que la Servante de Dieu se montrait très douce, très aimable pour tous, notablement sensible, mais n'aimant pas les jeux bruyants et le mouvement. Elle était sérieuse, réfléchie, et, en dehors de la famille très intime, ne se livrait pas. Je me souviens que quand Pauline la quitta pour le Carmel, elle ne dit rien de son chagrin à personne, pas même, je crois, à Céline. [1352] Cependant son chagrin était bien grand puisqu'il détermina, croyons‑nous, la maladie grave dont elle fut atteinte à cette époque. Je me souviens aussi qu'alors elle était très pieuse, aimait beaucoup les exercices religieux et priait avec une grande ferveur. Je ne lui connaissais pas de défauts que sa sensibilité extrême, mais ça n'était pas sa faute.

 

[Est‑ce que cette piété de la Servante de Dieu excédait la mesure commune? ‑ Réponse]:

Il n'y a pas de comparaison possible entre sa piété à cette époque et celle des autres enfants de son âge. Sa ferveur était extraordinaire et nous dépassait toutes dans la famille, sauf peut‑être Pauline qui, elle aussi, était très pieuse.

 

La Servante de Dieu, en l'absence de son père, était chez mes parents, quand se déclara la maladie dont elle fut atteinte à l'âge de dix ans (1883). Ce mal débuta par un tremblement violent qui fit croire d'abord à une fièvre. Puis se manifesta avec de la dépression, un état de demi‑hallucination qui lui faisait voir les différents objets ou les attitudes de ceux qui l'entouraient, sous des formes effrayantes. A la période la plus intense, il y eut aussi plusieurs crises motrices pendant lesquelles elle réalisait des mouvements rotatoires de tout le corps, dont elle eût été absolument incapable en état de santé. Le médecin, monsieur le docteur Notta, ne se prononçait pas nettement sur la nature de la maladie. Mon père qui, par sa profession et ses études, était très expérimenté dans la connaissance des malades, ne pouvait se résoudre à n'y voir qu'une [1353] maladie naturelle, il y voyait une action du démon. Dès cette époque, et toujours d'ailleurs, il reconnaissait en Thérèse une sainteté extraordinaire, et répétait: « Cette enfant fera de grandes choses.» Au plus fort des crises, ce mal cessa subitement. Je crois me rappeler qu'à ce moment même  on affirma, ce qui m'a été bien souvent redit depuis, qu'elle avait été guérie par la Sainte Vierge.

 

[Est‑ce qu'au moment même on crut à une apparition de la Sainte Vierge? ‑ Réponse]:

Je ne me rappelle pas si on l'a dit précisément à ce moment‑là.

[Suite de la ré­ponse]:

Jamais depuis aucune manifestation quelconque de ce mal ne s'est produite, et mon père disait que si c'eût été une af­fection nerveuse, laissée à son cours na­ turel, on en aurait retrouvé des traces ul­térieurement dans le tempérament de la jeune fille.

La Servante de Dieu fit sa première com­munion à l'Abbaye, après une retraite fermée. La grande piété, dont j'ai parlé, se manifesta en cette circonstance sans que j'aie pourtant rien remarqué de bien particulier.           Pendant son séjour à l'Abbaye, la Servante de Dieu était une bonne élève, réussissait bien dans ses études, elle était       très obéissante à ses maîtresses. Elle était bonne avec ses compagnes, mais ne parta­ geait pas volontiers leurs jeux; elle ne se familiarisait pas, et se tenait habituelle­   ment dans une certaine réserve. En somme, la vie de pension contrastant avec sa vie de famille, lui était plutôt pénible. Je crois que sa formation [1354] intérieure est restée surtout l'oeuvre de Pauline, et que la pension, où elle avait pourtant de bonnes maîtresses, a eu peu d'influence sur elle.

 

 [Réponse à la onzième demande]: 

A l'âge de 13 ans, la Servante de Dieu quitta la pension des bénédictines et acheva son éducation dans sa famille. Je crois que des maux de tête continuels furent la raison de son départ. Je n'ai pas gardé un souvenir bien précis des deux années qui ont précédé son entrée au Carmel. Je puis cependant caractériser d'une manière générale cette période: il n'y avait, dans nos deux familles, aucune mondanité; c'était une vie d'intérieur bien chrétien.

J'appris par mon père, qu'elle était venue consulter, sa décision d'entrer prochainement au Carmel. Je ne fus pas surprise qu'elle se fit carmélite, tout le monde le prévoyait, mais je ne m'attendais pas à ce qu'elle entrât si tôt.

 

[1355] [Suite de la réponse].

[Réponse à la douzième demande]:

A compter du jour où soeur Thérèse est entrée au Carmel, je ne l'ai plus suivie de bien près: je venais au parloir où elle me recevait avec ses soeurs, je ne sais donc rien de précis sur les détails de sa vie au Carmel, et cela d'autant plus que, par humilité sans doute, elle parlait peu, même quand elle venait au parloir, et laissait la parole à ses soeurs.

 

 [Réponse aux demandes treizième et quatorzième]:

Touchant ses vertus au Carmel, je puis citer de nouveau quelques témoignages écrits que j'ai déjà communiqués, soit au Procès des écrits, soit au Procès Informa

 

TÉMOIN 23: Jeanne Guérin

 

tif de l'ordinaire Ce sont des extraits de lettres écrites par la Servante de Dieu à mes parents, ou bien encore écrites par ma soeur Marie, carmélite, ou d'autres lettres encore.

Ainsi:

1° La supérieure du Carmel écrivait à mes parents au sujet de Thérèse: « Jamais je n'aurais pu croire à un jugement aussi avancé dans une enfant de 15 ans; pas un mot à lui dire: tout est parfait. La supérieure qui écrivait ainsi était mère de Marie de Gonzague.

2° Voici quelques passages des lettres de soeur Thérèse à ma mère:

« Bientôt neuf ans que je suis dans la maison du Seigneur, je devrais donc être déjà avancée dans les voies de la perfection, mais je suis encore au bas de l'échelle; cela ne me décourage pas... espérant à la fin de ma vie [1356] participer aux richesses de mes soeurs qui sont bien plus généreuses. J'espère aussi, ma chère tante, avoir une belle place au banquet céleste... Lorsque les anges sauront que j'ai l'honneur d'être votre petite fille, ils ne voudront pas me faire le chagrin de me placer loin de vous... aussi je jouirai à cause de vos vertus des biens éternels... Mon coeur se fond de reconnaissance envers le bon Dieu qui m'a donné des parents comme on n'en trouve plus sur la terre » @LT 202@

 

Une autre fois elle écrit encore à sa tante: « Pour votre fête, je voudrais vous enlever tout chagrin, prendre pour moi toutes vos peines. C'est ce que je demandais tout à l'heure... mais je sentais que tout ce que Jésus pouvait nous donner de meilleur était la souffrance, qu'il ne la donnait qu'à ses amis de choix... je voyais que Jésus aimait trop ma tante chérie pour lui enlever la croix.»@LT 67@ Elle écrivait à son oncle, mon père: « Oh! qu'il me semble que la couronne qui vous est réservée est belle! Il ne peut en être autrement puisque toute votre vie n'est qu'une croix perpétuelle et que Dieu n'agit ainsi qu'avec les grands saints»  @LT 59@. Si mon père avait vécu, il aurait été heureux de rendre témoignage pour sa chère petite Thérèse, et il aurait certainement rapporté bien des détails édifiants, ainsi que ma bien aimée mère.

                                                                   

[Réponse de la quinzième à la quarante‑sixième demande]:

Comme je l'ai dit, je ne suis pas en état de fournir un témoignage personnel et

détaillé sur ces points.

 

[1537] [Réponse à la quarante‑septième demande]:

Je ne l'ai connue personnellement que jusqu'à son entrée au Carmel, et après seulement par ce que m'en disaient mes parents et ses soeurs. J'étais bien loin de penser alors qu'elle ferait des miracles        comme elle en fait aujourd'hui et qu'on parlerait d'elle comme on en parle dans le monde entier; mais pour ce qui est des    vertus, je croyais dès le temps que nous vivions ensemble que sa perfection était tout à fait extraordinaire et dépassait ce qu'on observe communément dans les personnes vertueuses. C'était aussi l'avis de mes parents et de tous ceux qui la connaissaient.

 

[Pouvez‑vous dire en quoi spécialement les vertus de la Servante de Dieu apparaissaient héroïques? ‑ Réponse]:

Je ne lui ai jamais rien vu faire d'extraordinaire, mais, ce qui me paraissait héroïque dans sa conduite, c'est que jamais ses vertus ne souffraient aucune défaillance, même dans son enfance, c’est-à-dire, dans les années où je l'ai fréquentée. C'était remarquable surtout pour sa piété, son humilité, son obéissance, et sa douceur et sa charité envers le prochain.

 

 [Réponse de la quarante‑huitième à la cinquantième demande]:

Je n'ai rien entendu de particulier sur ces points.

 

[Réponse à la cinquante‑et‑unième demande]:

Tout le monde connaît l'histoire de sa vie écrite par elle‑même. J'ai gardé aussi les lettres qu'elle a écrites à mes parents ou à moi.

 

[1358] [Réponse à la cinquante‑deuxième demande]:

Lors de la dernière maladie de la Servante de Dieu, nous recevions, par ses soeurs carmélites, des nouvelles fréquentes, et je venais au parloir prendre de ses nouvelles. J'ai su ainsi qu'elle avait beaucoup souffert, plus qu'on ne souffre ordinairement de cette maladie (tuberculose pulmonaire) et qu'elle avait supporté ses souffrances avec une admirable patience.

 

Mon mari, monsieur le docteur La Néele fut appelé deux fois auprès d'elle en l'absence de monsieur le docteur de Cornières, médecin de la communauté. Il me dit, à cette occasion, qu'il avait été extrêmement frappé de sa sainteté et de la douceur angélique avec laquelle elle supportait ses souffrances.

 

[Réponse à la cinquante‑troisième demande]:

La Servante de Dieu mourut le 30 septembre 1897. Je vins prier auprès de son corps exposé à la grille du choeur. Je n'ai rien remarqué d'extraordinaire dans cette circonstance. Beaucoup de fidèles vinrent pareillement; mais ce concours peut s'expliquer par le fait que notre famille était très connue dans la ville.

 

 [Réponse à la cinquante‑quatrième demande]:

Tout le monde sait qu'elle a été inhumée au cimetière public de la ville de Lisieux, et que, en septembre l910, je crois, elle fut transférée, par ordre de monseigneur l'évêque de Bayeux, dans un tombeau voisin où tout le monde va prier.

 

 [Réponse à la cinquante‑cinquième demande]:

[1359] Je n'ai rien remarqué dans ces circonstances qui ressemblât à un culte.

 

 [Réponse à la cinquante‑sixième demande]:

Je vais souvent prier sur la tombe de la Servante de Dieu. Depuis le commencement du Procès en 1910, il s'est établi un concours de pèlerins qui se maintient et ne fait qu'augmenter. Il me semble que les pèlerins de toute condition qui vien-

 

TÉMOIN 23: Jeanne Guérin

 

nent sur la tombe prient avec ferveur et recueillement. Je n'ai rien remarqué dans ces manifestations qui ne fût sérieux et grave.

 

[Réponse à la cinquante‑septième demande]:

Je constate dans tout mon entourage que l'on a une très grande confiance dans l'invocation de la Servante de Dieu. On la prie beaucoup de toutes parts et on rapporte de tous côtés des faveurs obtenues par son intercession. Il est notoire aujourd'hui que cette réputation de sainteté est répandue pour ainsi dire dans le monde entier.

Je ne crois pas qu'on ait jamais cherché à cacher ou à dissimuler ce qui aurait pu nuire à la Cause; on n'a pas non plus, à mon avis, exagéré ses vertus, mais le Carmel en particulier n'a rien épargné pour la faire connaître telle qu'elle est.

 

[Réponse à la cinquante‑huitième demande]:

Je n'ai jamais entendu de critique qui eût pour objet les vertus ou la sainteté de la Servante de Dieu.

 

[Réponse de la cinquante‑neuvième à la soixante‑cinquième demande]:

[1360] En ce qui me concerne personnellement, j'ai souvent invoqué la Servante de Dieu dans mes peines temporelles, et je n'ai constaté qu'une recrudescence  de croix et d'épreuves.  Je lui demande de m'obtenir la grâce de les supporter chrétiennement.

Pour ce qui est d'autres personnes, j'ai entendu rapporter une foule de grâces obtenues par l'intercession de soeur Thérèse. Mon mari m'a rapporté qu'il avait lui‑même reconnu, comme médecin, la guérison miraculeuse de monsieur l'abbé Anne, vicaire de Pont‑l'Évêque, et d'un vieillard des Petites Soeurs des Pauvres, atteint d'un cancer à la langue.

 

[Réponse à la soixante‑sixième demande]:

Je n'ai rien à ajouter.

 

 [Au sujet des Articles, le témoin dit ne savoir que ce qu'il a déjà déposé en répondant aux demandes précédentes. ‑ Est ainsi terminé l'interrogatoire de ce témoin. Lecture des Actes est donnée. Le témoin n'y apporte aucune modification et signe comme suit]:

Signatum: JEANNE LA NÉELE, [1361]  témoin, j'ai déposé comme ci‑dessus selon la vérité, je le ratifie et je le confirme.