Print

Witness 25 - Alexandre-Charles Maupas

 

Alexandre-Charles Maupas was born in Mesnil-Auzoul (Calvados) on 27th August 1850 and was ordained priest in Bayeux on 29th June 1874. Vicar at the Church of Saint-Jean in Caen (1876) and parish priest in Bretteville-sur-Odon (1889), he succeeded his cousin, Canon Delatroëtte, in 1895 as parish priest of Saint Jacques’ in Lisieux and as Superior delegate of the Carmel. He was therefore in a good position to receive information about Sister Thérèse of the Child Jesus, and was in direct contact with her during her lifetime and especially the last two months. By right, it was Father Louis-Auguste Youf’s duty (born in 1842) to attend Thérèse, but he was already very ill and would die in 1897, just a few days after the Saint. This is why Fr. Maupas was able to visit Thérèse, hear her confession and give her Extreme Unction on 30th July 1897. He died in Lisieux an honorary Canon on 19th February 1920. The witness testified on 7th August 1911 during the 79th session, pp. 1228r-1235r of our Public Copy.

[Session 79: - 7th August 1911 at 8:30am]

[1228r] [The witness answers the first question correctly].

[Answer to the second question]:

[1228v] My name is Alexandre-Charles Maupas, I was born in Mesnil-Auzouf on 27th August 1850 of the legitimate marriage between Alexandre Maupas, a farmer, and Jeanne Marie. I am a priest, an honorary Canon, and have been the parish priest of the Church of Saint Jacques in Lisieux since 1895; I therefore began to perform this last duty about two years before the Servant of God died.  

[The witness answers the third question correctly].

[Answer to the fourth question]:

I was summoned before the civil judge at the separation of the Church and the State in France (December 1906) to answer to the offence of having celebrated Mass without the required certificate from the government. It’s an offence I’m very proud of.  

[1229r] [The witness correctly answers questions five to seven].

[Answer to the eighth question]:

I believe it is pointless to repeat in my testimony what I know from reading “Story of a Soul”, since everyone knows the work. I will only relate the personal information I have: I was in direct contact with the Servant of God when I was Superior of the Carmel. I saw her quite frequently during the last months of her illness. Since the chaplain was seriously ill, I visited the Servant of God five or six times and administered the last sacraments to her. I also then collected testimonies about the Servant of God from the Carmelite Superiors and the chaplain of the monastery.

[Answer to the ninth question]:

I have a trusting devotion [1229v] for the Servant of God and I hope the day will come when the Church will officially recognize her holiness; my hope is based on the great esteem I hold with regard to her holiness and the power of her intercession, which has been observed not only by others but also by myself.

[Answer to questions ten to seventeen]:

I have nothing to say with regard to all these points except for what I read in her autobiography. For the personal information I have only dates back to the time when I was Superior of the Carmel (1895).

[Answer to the eighteenth question]:

My duties as ecclesiastical Superior didn’t put me in direct contact with all the nuns of the community. But I can remember that the reverend Mother Prioress, Marie de Gonzague, singled out Sister Thérèse of the Child Jesus as an exemplary [1230r] and exceptionally fervent nun. I believe that she put her in charge of looking after the novices, even though she was only 22 years old. The Carmel’s chaplain, Fr. Youf, said he considered Sister Thérèse as an exceptionally virtuous nun.

[Answer to the nineteenth question]:

I can remember that when she was drafting the customary obituary after the Servant of God’s death, the reverend Mother Prioress said she was in possession of very precious notes on Sister Thérèse’s life which Thérèse had written herself at the Prioress’ order.  

[Answer to questions twenty to twenty-three]:

I didn’t know the Servant of God well enough to be able to give a more precise testimony than what I said in answer to the eighteenth question.

[Answer to the twenty-fourth question]:

The Servant of God died from tuberculosis at the infirmary of the Carmel of Lisieux, on 30th September [1230v] 1897. The first time I was called to visit her was about two months before her death. I found her very radiant and smiling. When I expressed my surprise at finding such a blooming patient, she replied she was happy at the thought of soon going to see Jesus in heaven. From the few visits I made to see her at that time, I’ve kept the general yet very clear impression of a childlike candour, and of a very simple surrender to God’s designs. When I gave her Extreme Unction and the Plenary Indulgence at the Hour of Death, I told her that “these graces would purify her soul as on the day of her baptism.” I see in her Life Story that these words struck her and made her very happy.    

[Answer to the twenty-fifth and twenty-sixth questions]:

I’m aware it is public knowledge that the Servant of God’s tomb, in the cemetery of our town of Lisieux, is constantly visited by pilgrims who come from all over the [1231r] world to pray and give thanks. My vicars go several times a week to the cemetery for the parish services and tell me that most of the time they see the faithful praying on the Servant of God’s tomb. This pious movement has lasted a long time and is not slowing down.

[Answer to the twenty-seventh question]:

Everywhere the faithful pray to the Servant of God in the same way people pray to a saint.

[Answer to the twenty-eighth question]:

I have never heard anything said against the Servant of God’s renown for holiness.

[Answer to the twenty-ninth question]:

Being the parish priest of the Church of Saint Jacques, I have noticed that the trust the faithful have in the Servant of God’s miraculous intervention is, so to speak, universal. As soon as an illness appears, people most often think to recommend themselves to her prayers through novenas and other pious practices. Among the different favours that have been attributed to the Servant of God’s intercession, there are two cases in particular about which I can testify:  

1. My vicar, Father Lamy, informed me himself of his observations regarding the healing of young Legot, who had been suffering from a case of meningitis that the doctor pronounced [1231v] incurable. The matter is related in the Vice Postulator’s “Articles” under the n° 132 and the account my vicar gave me is wholly conform to this report.

2. Father Anne, whose healing is recounted in the same “Articles” (n° 126) was, when he was ill, living in my parish. I was able to see that he was “at death’s door”. There was no hope of him recovering; it surprised his family and friends; I still see him from time to time, now that he’s a vicar in Pont l’Evêque, and I see he’s in good health. I also know that he attributed his recovery to the Servant of God, to whom he prayed. Nevertheless, other people who knew him prayed to Our Lady of Lourdes at the same time for his recovery.

In my functions as pastoral minister, I have several times recommended to the Servant of God’s prayers people who are dying and whose conversions prove particularly difficult. In three different cases, I’ve attributed [1233r] (* The Public Copy goes from p. 1231 to p. 1233, therefore omitting p. 1232.) these patients’ return to God to the intercession of Sister Thérèse of the Child Jesus. One of the patients, who was mixed up in an affair regarding the theft of Church goods in France, and who couldn’t receive an ecclesiastical burial without first making a public revocation, refused at first to make his revocation. I recommended him to the Servant of God’s prayers, asking her, as a sign of her intervention, to have the sinner call me himself, which is what happened. He spontaneously sent his home nurse to find me, revoked his scandals, received all the sacraments, and died a Christian death. In the few trips I had the opportunity of taking in France and Switzerland, I noticed that Sister Thérèse’s renown for holiness had spread to just about everywhere. Six or seven years ago, when the Carthusians were still in their monastery at Grande Chartreuse, the bursar with whom I stayed on one of my trips said to me that reading Sister Thérèse’s life story very markedly influenced the friars [1233v] to greater fervour.    

[Answer to the thirtieth question]:

I can’t see anything in particular to add.

[Concerning the Articles, the witness says he knows other than what he has already deposed in answer to the preceding questions. – Here ends the interrogation of this witness. The Acts are read out. The witness makes no amendment to them and signs as follows]:

Ita pro veritate deposui, ratum habeo et confirmo.

Signatum: A. MAUPAS.

Imprimer

Témoin 25 - Alexandre-Charles Maupas

Alexandre-Charles Maupas naquit à Mesnil-Auzoul (Calvados) le 27 août 1850 et fut ordonné prêtre à Bayeux le 29 juin 1874. Vicaire à Saint-Jean de Caen (1876) et curé de Bretteville-sur-Odon (1889) il succéda à son cousin, le chanoine Delatroëtte, en 1895 comme curé de Saint-Jacques de Lisieux et comme supérieur délégué du Carmel. Il fut donc à bonne source pour être informé de soeur Thérèse de l'Enfant-Jésus, et eut avec elle des contacts directs au cours surtout de ses deux derniers mois. Cette assistance revenait, de droit, à l'abbé Louis-Auguste Youf (né en 1842), mais qui était déjà bien malade et devait mourir en 1897, quelques jours seulement après la Sainte. C'est pourquoi monsieur Maupas put visiter Thérèse, la confesser et lui donner l'Extrême-Onction le 30 juillet 1897. Il mourut à Lisieux, chanoine honoraire, le 19 février 1920. Le témoin déposa le 7 août 1911. au cours de la 79ème session, f. 1228r-1235r de notre Copie publique.

 

[Session 79: - 7 août 1911 à 8h. 30]

 

[1228r] [Le témoin répond correctement à la première demande].

 

[Réponse à la seconde demande]:

[1228v] Je m'appelle Alexandre-Charles Maupas, né à Mesnil-Auzouf le 27 août 1850 du légitime mariage de Alexandre Maupas, cultivateur, et de Jeanne Marie. Je suis prêtre, chanoine honoraire, curé de la paroisse de Saint Jacques de Lisieux depuis novembre 1895; je suis aussi supérieur ecclésiastique du Carmel de Lisieux depuis la même époque. J'ai donc commencé à exercer cette dernière fonction deux ans environ avant la mort de la Servante de Dieu.

 

TÉMOIN 25: Alexandre Maupas

 

[Le témoin répond correctement à la troisième demande].

 

[Réponse à la quatrième demande]:

J'ai comparu devant les juges civils, au moment de la séparation de l'Eglise et de l'Etat en France (décembre 1906) pour répondre du délit d'avoir célébré la messe sans la déclaration exigée par le gouvernement. C'est un délit dont je me fais gloire.

 

[1229r] [Le témoin répond correctement de la cinquième à la septième demande].

[Réponse à la huitième demande]:

Je crois inutile de reproduire dans mon témoignage ce que je sais par la lecture de l'« Histoire d'une âme », cet ouvrage étant connu de tous. Je dirai seulement mes informations personnelles: j'ai eu avec la Servante de Dieu quelques rapports directs dans l'exercice de ma charge de supérieur du Carmel. Ces rapports ont été un peu plus fréquents dans les derniers mois de sa maladie. Le chapelain étant alors lui-même gravement malade, j'ai visité cinq ou six fois la Servante de Dieu et lui ai administré les derniers Sacrements. J'ai aussi recueilli alors les témoignages des supérieures carmélites et de l'aumônier du monastère sur la Servante de Dieu.

 

Réponse à la neuvième demande]:

J'ai une dévotion confiante [1229v] pour la Servante de Dieu et j’espère que l'Eglise la mettra un jour sur les autels; mon espérance est fondée sur l'estime que j'ai de sa sainteté et sur la puissance de son intercession constatée, non seulement chez les autres, mais encore personnellement.

 

[Réponse de la dixième à la dix-septième demande]:

Je n'aurais rien à dire sur tous ces points sinon ce que j'en ai lu dans son autobiographie. Mes informations personnelles ne datent, en effet, que de l'époque où j'ai été nommé supérieur du Carmel (1895).

 

[Réponse à la dix-huitième demande]:

Mes fonctions de supérieur ecclésiastique ne me mettaient pas en rapport bien direct avec chacune des religieuses de la communauté. Mais je me souviens que la révérende mère prieure. Marie de Gonzague, m'entretenant de l'état de la communauté, signalait soeur Thérèse de l’Enfant Jésus comme une religieuse [1230r] exemplaire et exceptionnellement fervente. Je crois qu'elle l'avait chargée du soin des novices, bien qu'elle n'eût alors que 22 ans. L'aumônier du Carmel, monsieur Youf, me parlant de soeur Thérèse, me disait qu'il la tenait pour une religieuse d'une vertu exceptionnelle.

 

[Réponse à la dix-neuvième demande]:

Je me souviens qu'au moment de rédiger la circulaire nécrologique habituelle, après la mort de la Servante de Dieu, la révérende mère prieure me dit qu'elle possédait sur la vie de soeur Thérèse des notes très précieuses rédigées par elle-même sur l'ordre qu'elle lui en avait donné.

 

[Réponse de la vingtième à la vingt-troisième demande]:

Je n'ai pas connu assez intimement la Servante de Dieu pour faire sur chacun de ces points en particulier une déposition plus précise que ce que j'ai dit en réponse à la question dix-huitième.

 

[Réponse à la vingt-quatrième demande]:

La Servante de Dieu est morte d'affection tuberculeuse à l'infirmerie du Carmel de Lisieux, le 30 sep-[1230v] tembre 1897. Je fus appelé à la visiter, pour la première fois, deux mois environ avant sa mort. Je la trouvai alors toute radieuse et souriante. Comme je lui exprimais ma surprise de trouver une malade si épanouie, elle me répondit qu'elle était joyeuse à la pensée d'aller bientôt voir Jésus dans le ciel. Des quelques visites que je lui fis à cette époque, j'ai retenu cette impression générale, mais très nette, d'une candeur d'enfant, et d'un abandon très simple aux desseins de Dieu. Quand je lui donnai l'Extrême-Onction et l'indulgence de la Bonne-Mort, je lui dis que « ces grâces allaient rendre son âme pure comme au jour de son baptême.» Je trouve dans sa Vie que ces paroles l'avaient frappée et rendue très heureuse.

 

[Réponse de la vingt-cinquième à la vingt-sixième demande]:

Je sais qu'il est de notoriété publique que le tombeau de la Servante de Dieu, au cimetière de notre ville de Lisieux, est constamment visité par des pèlerins qui viennent de tous [1231r] pays pour prier et remercier. Mes vicaires vont plusieurs fois par semaine au cimetière pour le service de la paroisse et me rendent témoignage que la plupart du temps ils trouvent des fidèles priant sur le tombeau de la Servante de Dieu. Ce mouvement de piété dure depuis longtemps et ne se ralentit pas.

 

[Réponse à la vingt-septième demande]:

De tous côtés les fidèles invoquent la Servante de Dieu comme on invoque une sainte.

 

[Réponse à la vingt-huitième demande]:

Je n'ai rien entendu dire contre le renom de sainteté de la Servante de Dieu.

 

[Réponse à la vingt-neuvième demande]:

Comme curé de la paroisse Saint Jacques de Lisieux, je constate que la confiance des fidèles dans l'intervention miraculeuse de la Servante de Dieu est, pour ainsi dire, universelle. Dès que se déclare une maladie, on pense le plus souvent à se recommander à elle par des neuvaines et autres pratiques de piété. Parmi les faveurs particulières attribuées à l'intercession de la Servante de Dieu, je puis apporter un témoignage spécial sur deux cas:

1° Mon vicaire, monsieur l'abbé Lamy, m'a fait personnellement le récit de ses constatations dans la guérison du jeune Legot, atteint de méningite déclarée [1231v] incurable par le médecin, Ce cas est relaté dans les « Articles » du vice-postulateur sous le n.

 

TÉMOIN 25: Alexandre Maupas

 

132 et le récit que m'a fait mon vicaire est de tout point conforme à cette relation.

 

2° Monsieur l'abbé Anne, dont la guérison est rapportée dans les mêmes « Articles » (n. 126) était, lors de sa maladie, domicilié sur ma paroisse. J'ai pu constater qu'il était « à toute extrémité.» Sa guérison était désespérée; elle a surpris son entourage; je continue de le voir de temps à autre, maintenant qu'il est vicaire de Pont l'Evêque, et je constate qu'il jouit d'une bonne santé. Je sais aussi que sa guérison est attribuée par lui à l'intercession de la Servante de Dieu qu'il invoquait. Néanmoins, d’autres personnes qui s'intéressaient à lui, priaient en même temps Notre Dame de Lourdes pour son rétablissement.

 

Dans l'exercice de mon ministère pastoral, j'ai plusieurs fois recommandé à la Servante de Dieu des mourants, dont la conversion était particulièrement difficile. Dans trois cas différents, j'ai attri-[1233r]( * La Copie publique passe du f. 1231 au f. 1233, omettant donc le f. 1232.) bué le retour à Dieu de ces malades à l'intercession de soeur Thérèse de l’Enfant Jésus. Un surtout de ces mourants, compromis dans la spoliation des biens d'Eglise en France, et qui n'eût pu, sans une rétractation publique, recevoir la sépulture ecclésiastique, avait, une première fois, refusé cette rétractation. Je le recommandai à la Servante de Dieu, lui demandant comme un signe de son intervention que ce pécheur me fit appeler de lui-même; c'est ce qui arriva. Spontanément il envoya sa garde-malade me chercher, rétracta ses scandales, reçut tous les Sacrements, et mourut chrétiennement. Dans les quelques voyages que j'ai eu l'occasion de faire en France et en Suisse, j'ai remarqué que la renommée de sainteté de soeur Thérèse était répandue un peu partout. Il y a six ou sept ans, alors que les chartreux étaient encore dans leur monastère de la Grande-Chartreuse, l'économe qui me reçut, dans un de mes voyages, me déclara que la lecture de la vie de soeur Thérèse exerçait sur les frères une influence très marquée pour [1233v] les porter à la ferveur.

 

[Réponse à la trentième demande]:

Je ne vois rien de particulier à ajouter.

 

[Au sujet des Articles, le témoin dit ne savoir que ce qu'il a déjà déposé en répondant aux demandes précédentes. - Est ainsi terminé l'interrogatoire de ce témoin. Lecture des Actes est donnée. Le témoin n'y apporte aucune modification et signe comme suit]:

Ita pro veritate deposui, ratum habeo et confirmo.

Signatum: A. MAUPAS.