Print

Witness 27 - Alexander-James Grant

Witness 27 - Alexander-James Grant

Alexandre-James Grant, whom Thomas Nimmo mentioned in his testimony, was born in Latheron-Caithness (Scotland) in 1854 and was the pastor at the United Free Church of Scotland in Lochranga (Isle of Arran). On 20th September 1900 he married an Anglican, Ethel Dalley (1874-1956), who converted to Catholicism (20th July 1908) and who soon became a fervent admirer of Saint Thérèse of the Child Jesus. She left in her husband’s office the issue of the Catholic Herald that gave an outline of Thérèse’s biography and also announced the publication of the English translation of her life story. Pastor Grant cut out the article and put it in his wallet. He read the book as early as 1909 and was bowled over by it. He felt Thérèse’s presence several times, but his struggle was hard. He was very learned, speaking eight languages, and the Greek biblical text, which he studied with passion, accompanied him wherever he went. He was exquisitely charitable to absolutely everyone and at the same time sought the truth with ardour and serenity. After months and months of internal struggle he abjured on 20th April 1911 and consequently joined the Catholic Church under the name of Francis-Mary-Thérèse. He testified at the Ordinary Trial in Lisieux a few months later and it was then that it was suggested he come with his wife to live in Alençon as guardians of Thérèse’s birthplace, according to his testimony in the Apostolic Trial on 31st May 1915. He moved to Alençon, rue Saint-Blaise, on 3rd June 1912, to humbly serve and guide pilgrims visiting the hometown of Sister Thérèse of the Child Jesus (Annals 1956, n° 4).

The witness testified on 8th August 1911, in the 80th session, pp. 1249v-1256v of our Public Copy.

[Session 80: - 8th August 1911, at 8:30am and at 2pm]

[1249v] [The witness answers the first question correctly].

[Answer to the second question]:

My name is Alexander-James Grant, I was born in 1854 (I don’t know which day exactly, because the parish registers weren’t regularly kept then) in Latheron Caithness, Scotland, of the marriage between Louis Grant and Marguerite Macpherson. Until my recent conversion, I was a member and minister of the United Free Church of Scotland. I was a minister from 1890 until my conversion on 20th April 1911. Today I live in Edinburgh (Scotland), at 34 Warrender Park [1250r] Terrace.  

[The third question is omitted. Answer to the fourth question]:

I’ve never been summoned before the court.

[Answer to the fifth question]:

I made my Canonic abjuration on 20th April 1911.

[Answer to the sixth question]:

I give my answers completely freely.

[Answer to the seventh question]:

It is the truth alone that dictates my testimony.

[Answer to the eighth question]:

As my testimony relates only to my conversion, I will draw my answers from my personal experience.

[Answer to the ninth question]:

The success of the Servant of God’s Cause is my ardent desire, [1250v] because I believe it could prompt other people’s conversions, as she prompted mine.

[Questions ten to twenty-eight inclusive are omitted. We come to question twenty-nine, which gives the witness the opportunity to talk about his miraculous conversion to Catholicism. He answers the question as follows]:

I owe my conversion to reading Sister Thérèse’s Life Story.

[Question from the Promoter of the Faith: had you already thought of embracing the Catholic faith before hearing about the Servant of God? Answer]:

Not in the slightest; the reading and studying I devoted myself to only reinforced my Protestant faith.

[Did your wife’s conversion in about 1908 have any influence over your own? Answer]:

[1251r] The event didn’t influence my thinking at all. My wife was very religious and very good before her conversion; she has remained so since. I noticed no change that could have made me reconsider.

[Did someone at least attempt to lead you towards the Catholic faith before you finished reading the Servant of God’s Story? Answer]:

Twice did I meet Catholic priests who, at times, said a few words about the Roman Religion, but I was absolutely refractory to their insinuations.

[Had you at least read some books about the Catholic religion? Answer]:

I had read some, but only looking for objections to Catholicism.

[How did you come to read the “Story of Sister Thérèse”? Answer]:

By chance I read in the “Catholic Herald” newspaper, [1251] which my wife received each week, a short biographical sketch written by Reverend Father Taylor; it mentioned the up-coming release of the complete English edition of the “Story of Sister Thérèse”. The article interested me very much. I cut it out and carried it in my pocket for about a year, and often checked whether the complete biography had finally been published. One of my wife’s friends borrowed the old version from Catholic nuns. At Christmas time 1909, when I came back from preaching a mission, I had to stay in bed for a while following a bout of influenza, and I found the book on my table, and I read it avidly.

[What moral effect did reading it produce? Answer]:

I esteemed that what had fallen into my hands was the work of a genius, a theologian, as well as a first-rate poet. I can’t describe the extraordinary impression that reading this life story produced. [1252r] I felt what a person might feel if the invisible world suddenly opened up before him. One evening, when I was fully awake, I felt an extraordinary sensation, and I said to my wife as she entered the bedroom: “that little girl is here” – “Who?” she asked. “The little Flower” I replied, “I’m sure she’s in this room.” Nothing had prepared me for this sensation, or prompted an event such as this. This is how I felt in my soul: the exterior world seemed to vanish before by eyes, and it was inwardly, in my mind, that I saw the Servant of God. I pushed these thoughts aside, saying to myself: “You’re giving in to superstition and idolatry”; but my attempts at pushing her away were in vain; she came back and wrapped herself around my heart, refusing to leave me, and this is what I believe I heard: “This is how holy Catholics love Jesus, choose my little way.” “Well,” I replied, “I shall try to follow it, if you will help me”, for I ardently desired to succeed. [1252v] This took place at the end of the year 1909.

It was at about the same time that I read the “Apologia” by Newman, and after having read it, I remember saying to my wife: “I now believe in things that I was never able to believe before.” Nevertheless, I didn’t then want to become Catholic and follow Sister Thérèse. As I’d recovered my health, I’d begun preaching and reading rationalist books again, thereby little by little losing all my faith. It was then that Sister Thérèse made a second extraordinary appearance in my life. It happened in August 1910. Again, without anything having presaged or prepared me for her visit, I felt the Servant of God near me, and when the spell of her presence had broken, I was left with these words which seemed to echo in my mind: “Can rationalism be true, and a life of such beauty and such gentleness be a lie?” I was convinced it was impossible and that the Religion that brings about such a life must be a great reality.

[1253r] The following month, I bought Sister Thérèse’s complete life story in French. By providential coincidence, I bought her life story the same day as my friends, unbeknownst to me, finished saying a novena to Sister Thérèse for me. It was on reading her life story in French that I began asking for Sister Thérèse’s help. For a Protestant minister, it wasn’t an easy thing to begin doing. My prejudices were there to prevent me from doing so. However, after some effort [1253v], I was able to continue and with much delight. Sister Thérèse completely changed the way I felt about the Blessed Virgin. The change was all the more striking as it was on this aspect of the Catholic doctrine that I had, a few months previously, put a stop to the debate I’d began with a nun in Edinburgh. I heard these words: “Why do you ask me to pray for you, and ignore the Blessed Virgin?” I then saw the absurdity of this course of action and began recommending myself to Mary. The result surprised me. At that instant, an extraordinary love filled my heart. Where was she leading me? I had no idea at the time; but I was sometimes surprised by the emotions I felt and the change in my ideas regarding the Catholic faith.    

The influence that Sister Thérèse had on me was very great and helped me to brave sarcastic and mocking remarks. There were many incidents, but here is one of the most touching. I had [1254r] hung on my fireplace an enlarged photograph of the “Little Flower”; she was placed in such a way that nobody could miss seeing her. Well! One day when we were expecting a visit from a Protestant minister and his wife, I was tempted to take down the picture, but, when I was about to do so, it was impossible for me to move it. I said to myself: “Are you ashamed of someone with whom God and the angels keep company?” And I thought: “The picture will stay there, even if the entire world is to visit me!” Sister Thérèse saw fit to thank me for my action by pushing me into the Church. Moreover, I’ve almost continually enjoyed Sister Thérèse’s presence near me. She encouraged me to perform acts of generosity, and when I resisted, she would immediately leave me. However, the gentleness and the considerable help that this presence procured disappeared almost entirely in the month preceding my abjuration, and all I was left with was the struggle, doubts and darkness.    

[1254v] Sister Thérèse employed a human way to destroy the prejudices I still held against Catholicism, and teach me about the faith’s truths. Desiring to go to Lisieux, I wanted to study the French language further, and my wife obtained permission from the Superior of a convent in Edinburgh for a nun to give me French lessons. By God’s grace, the lessons soon turned into a religious debate, and for many hours each week we would discuss the Real Presence, the divine institution of Mass, what constituted a sacrifice, and also the authority and institution of the Church by Our Lord Jesus Christ. I attribute to a large extent the change that took place in me at this time to these lessons. The studies I made of the “Conferences on Holy Scripture” by Father Leroy, of “Mass” by Father Hoppenot, and even simply of the Catholic Bible, also contributed to enlightening me. Sometimes God seemed to shine a special light on things I’d already read several times, for instance when, as I was reading Father Leroy’s [1255r] Conferences on the Eucharist, I cried out: “He’s making me better understand everything I’ve read up until now!” However, I still couldn’t believe in the Real Presence. One day, at the end of March 1911, during a novena I was then saying to Sister Thérèse for the faith I so ardently desired, after a long and passionate discussion on the Eucharist, the nun who was teaching me suggested visiting the chapel. There, I felt as though I could sense Our Lord’s presence in the tabernacle, and when I left I said to the nun who was waiting for me: “I now believe he’s there. I felt it; something that wasn’t there for me before is there now.”  

After many struggles, doubts, and anxieties, Sister Thérèse made me take a first decisive step on 9th April, the day she herself broke the ties that were keeping her in the world to go to the Carmel. I wasn’t aware of this coincidence of date: someone pointed it out to me later. So on this day, I wrote to my ecclesiastical Superiors, saying that I couldn’t [1255v] stay in the Presbyterian Church since my convictions no longer corresponded to its doctrine. Finally, on 20th April 1911, I definitively broke my ties and was received into the Catholic Church by Father Widdowson, S.J., who had seen and helped me during the fortnight preceding my abjuration, and whose teachings seemed to me to be divine revelations. I was baptized that day, 20th April 1911, in the church of the Sacred Heart in Edinburgh (Lauriston). Out of gratitude for my celestial benefactress, I wanted to be baptized under the names Francis-Mary-Thérèse. Since then, I’ve felt Sister Thérèse’s presence again, and this was followed by material proof. As a consequence of my entry into the Catholic Church, I’d lost my living; one Thursday afternoon in May, when I was alone in my bedroom in Edinburgh, I saw Sister Thérèse standing beside me, looking in the direction of Glasgow. At the same time I inwardly felt she was doing something for me in that town. To my wife, who entered the room at that moment, I said: “Thérèse is looking after us now.” The following Thursday, extraordinary and unhoped-for assistance came from Glasgow. Since then, I continue to have great confidence in the little Carmelite from Lisieux and she continues to help me with my spiritual and temporal needs.

To me, these interventions, this invisible presence, these touches of grace seemed to come from heaven, for nothing in my initial education, or in my religion, prepared me for these impressions; 2ndly I’ve read very few mystical books: the Life of Saint Teresa of Avila written by herself, and a 16th century author, who I read about thirty years ago and whose name I have forgotten, are the only mystical works I’ve read; 3rdly her interventions have pushed me into sacrificing everything; they’ve helped me brave human respect and my protestant friends’ sarcasm. These reasons, among others, persuade me of the truth of this [1256v] supernatural action.  

[Answer to the thirtieth question]:

I’ve nothing to add either to the interrogations, or the Articles.

[Here ends the interrogation of this witness. The Acts are read out. The witness makes no amendment to them and signs as follows]:

Ita pro veritate deposui, ratum habeo et confirmo.

Signatum- A. J. GRANT

Imprimer

Témoin 27 - Alexander-James Grant

Alexandre-James Grant, dont Thomas Nimmo Taylor a parlé en sa déposition, naquit à Latheron-Caithness (Ecosse) en 1854 et fut pasteur de l'Eglise libre-unie d'Ecosse à Lochranga (île d'Arran). Le 20 septembre 1900 il épousa une anglicane, Ethel Dalley (1874-1956) qui, convertie au catholicisme (20 juillet 1908), devint bientôt une fervente admiratrice de sainte Thérèse de l'Enfant-Jésus. Elle laissa dans le bureau de son mari le n° du Catholic Herald qui donnait les grandes lignes de la biographie de Thérèse et annonçait aussi la parution de la version anglaise de l'Histoire d'une âme. Le pasteur Grant coupa cette annonce publicitaire et la mit dans son portefeuille. Il lut le livre dès 1909 et en fut bouleversé. Il avertit(sentit ?) plusieurs fois la présence de Thérèse, mais la lutte fut dure., Très cultivé - il parlait huit langues -, le texte grec biblique l'accompagnait toujours et il l'étudiait avec passion. Il se donnait à tous avec une exquise charité et recherchait en même temps la vérité avec ardeur et sérénité. Après des mois et des mois de lutte intérieure il abjura le 20 avril 1911 et entra ainsi dans l'Eglise catholique sous le nom de François-Marie-Thérèse. Il témoigna à Lisieux, au Procès Ordinaire, quelques mois après et c'est alors qu'on lui proposa de venir avec sa femme habiter Alençon comme gardiens de la maison natale de Thérèse, ainsi qu'il le fit savoir en déposant au Procès Apostolique le 31 mai 1915. Il se fixa donc à Alençon, rue Saint-Blaise, le 3 juin 1912, comme humble serviteur et guide des pèlerins de soeur Thérèse de l'Enfant-Jésus (Annales 1956, n°4).

Le témoin déposa le 8 août 1911, au cours de la 80ème session, f. 1249v-1256v de notre Copie publique

[Session 80: - 8 août 1911, à 8h. 30 et à 2h. de l'après-midi]

[1249v] [Le témoin répond correctement à la première demande].

 

[Réponse à la seconde demande]:

Je m'appelle Alexandre-Jacques Grant, né en 1854 (j'ignore la date précise, parce qu'alors on ne tenait pas régulièrement les registres paroissiaux) à Latheron Caithness, Ecosse, du mariage de Louis Grant et de Marguerite Macpherson. Jusqu'à ma récente conversion, j'étais membre et ministre de l’église libre-unie d'Ecosse. J'ai été ministre depuis 1890 jusqu'à ma conversion, 20 avril 1911. Je suis domicilié aujourd'hui à Edimbourg (Ecosse), 34 Warrender Park [1250r] Terrace.

 

[On omet la troisième demande. Réponse donnée à la quatrième demande]:

Je n'ai jamais été traduit devant aucun tribunal.

 

[Réponse à la cinquième demande]:

J'ai fait mon abjuration canonique le 20 avril 1911.

 

[Réponse à la sixième demande]:

Je donne mes réponses en toute liberté.

 

[Réponse à la septième demande]:

C'est la vérité seule qui me dicte mon témoignage.

 

[Réponse à la huitième demande]: -

Comme je témoigne sur le fait personnel de ma conversion, je prendrai mes réponses dans mon expérience personnelle.

 

[Réponse à la neuvième demande]:

Le succès de la Cause de la Servante de Dieu est mon désir cordial, [1250v] parce que je crois qu'elle pourrait déterminer la conversion des autres, comme elle a déterminé la mienne.

 

[Les demandes sont omises de la dixième à la vingt-huitième inclusivement. On en arrive à la vingt-neuvième qui donne au témoin l'occasion de parler de sa conversion miraculeuse à la foi catholique. Il répond ainsi à l'interrogation]:

C'est à la lecture de la Vie de soeur Thérèse que je dois ma conversion.

 

[Demande du promoteur de la foi: aviez-vous déjà pensé quelque peu à embrasser la foi catholique avant d'entendre parler de la Servante de Dieu? Réponse]:

Aucunement; les lectures et les études auxquelles je me livrais ne faisaient que m'attacher plus fortement à ma foi protestante.

 

TÉMOIN 27: Alexander-James Grant

 

[La conversion de votre femme qui eut lieu aux environs de 1908 a-t-elle eu quelque influence sur la vôtre? Réponse]:

[1251r] Cet événement n'eut aucune influence sur ma pensée. Ma femme était très religieuse et très bonne avant sa conversion; elle le demeura depuis. Je ne remarquai aucun changement qui pût me faire réfléchir.

 

[Quelqu'un du moins a-t-il tenté de vous orienter vers la foi catholique avant que vous n'ayez lu en son entier l'Histoire de la Servante de Dieu? Réponse]:

Deux fois je rencontrai des prêtres catholiques qui, par occasion, me dirent quelques mots de la Religion Romaine, mais j'étais absolument réfractaire à leurs insinuations.

 

[Aviez-vous lu du moins des livres traitant de la religion catholique? Réponse]:

J'en lisais, mais pour y trouver des objections contre le catholicisme.

 

[Comment avez-vous été conduit à lire l'« Histoire de soeur Thérèse»? Réponse]:

J'avais lu, comme par hasard, dans le journal «Catholic Herald.» [1251] que ma femme recevait chaque semaine, une courte esquisse biographique, rédigée par le révérend père Taylor; on y mentionnait la prochaine publication de l'édition complète en anglais de l'« Histoire de soeur Thérèse.» Cet article m'intéressa très vivement. Je découpai l'annonce que je portai dans ma poche près d'un an, m'informant souvent si enfin la biographie complète était parue. Une amie de ma femme emprunta l'ancienne édition à des religieuses catholiques. Au temps de Noël 1909, revenant de prêcher une mission, je dus m'aliter par suite de l'influenza, et je trouvai ce livre déposé sur ma table, et je le lus avec avidité.

 

[Quel fut l'effet moral de cette lecture? Réponse]:

Je trouvai qu’il m’était tombé entre les mains l'oeuvre d'un génie, d'un théologien, aussi bien que d'un poète de premier ordre. Je ne puis rendre l'impression extraordinaire que me causa la lecture de cette vie. [1252r] Je ressentis alors ce qu'éprouverait une personne devant laquelle s'ouvrirait tout à coup le monde invisible. Un soir, étant pleinement éveillé, j'éprouvai une sensation extraordinaire, et je dis à ma femme qui entrait en ce moment dans ma chambre: « Cette petite fille est là » - « Qui? », me demanda-t-elle -. « La petite Fleur - répondis-je -, je suis sûr qu'elle est dans cette chambre.» Rien ne m'avait préparé à cette sensation, ni ne motivait un pareil fait. Voici ce que je ressentis en mon esprit: le monde extérieur parut comme disparaître à mes yeux, et c'est intérieurement, dans mon intelligence, que je vis la Servante de Dieu. Je repoussai de moi sa pensée, et je me disais à moi-même: « Vous êtes superstitieux et idolâtre »; mais c'était en vain que j'essayais de la repousser; elle revenait et s'entrelaçait autour de mon coeur, refusant de me quitter, et voici ce qu'il me semblait entendre: « Voici comment les saints catholiques aiment Jésus, choisissez ma petite voie » -. «Eh bien! - lui répondis-je -, je tâcherai de la suivre, si vous m'aidez », car je désirais ardemment y arriver. [1252v] Ceci se passait vers la fin de l'année 1909.

C'est vers cette même époque que j'ai lu l'« Apologia de Newman », et après l'avoir lue, je me souviens d'avoir dit à ma femme: « Je crois maintenant des choses que je n'avais jamais pu croire auparavant.» Néanmoins, je ne voulais pas alors devenir catholique et suivre soeur Thérèse. La santé étant revenue, je recommençai à prêcher et à lire de nouveau des livres rationalistes, perdant ainsi peu à peu toute ma foi. C'est alors que, pour la seconde fois, soeur Thérèse apparut d'une façon extraordinaire dans ma vie. Cela arriva au mois d'août 1910. Cette fois encore, sans que rien m'ait fait prévoir cette visite ou m'y ait préparé, je sentis la Servante de Dieu près de moi, et lorsque le charme de cette présence eut disparu, il me resta ces mots qui semblaient résonner à mon esprit: « Est-ce que le rationalisme peut être vrai, et une vie d'une telle beauté et d'une telle douceur peut-elle être un mensonge?.» J'eus la conviction que c'était impossible et que la Religion qui produit une telle vie devait être une grande réalité.

 

[1253r] Le mois suivant, j'achetais la vie complète de soeur Thérèse en français. Par une coïncidence providentielle, j'achetais cette vie le jour même où se terminait une neuvaine à soeur Thérèse, que des amis faisaient pour moi à mon insu. C'est en lisant la vie en français que j'ai commencé d'invoquer l'aide de la soeur Thérèse. Pour un ministre protestant, ce n'était pas d'abord chose facile. Mes préjugés étaient là pour me le défendre. Après quelques efforts cepen-[1253v]dant, j'ai pu continuer avec grandes délices. Soeur Thérèse changea complètement mes sentiments à l'égard de la Très-Sainte Vierge. Le changement fut d'autant plus frappant que c'était sur ce point de la doctrine catholique que j'avais, quelques mois auparavant, interrompu la controverse commencée avec une religieuse d'Édimbourg. Voici comment, il me semble, que soeur Thérèse opéra ce changement. J'entendis ces paroles: « Pourquoi me demandez-vous de prier pour vous, et ignorez-vous la Sainte Vierge?.» Je vis alors toute l'inconséquence d'un pareil procédé et je me mis à invoquer Marie. Le résultat m'étonna. A l'instant, un amour extraordinaire remplit mon coeur. Où me conduisait-elle? Je n'en savais rien alors; mais j'étais parfois étonné des sentiments qui me possédaient et du changement qui s'opérait dans mes idées à l'égard de la foi catholique.

L'influence que prit sur moi soeur Thérèse fut très grande et me faisait braver sarcasmes et moqueries. Entre autres faits, voici un des plus touchants. J'avais [1254r] suspendu au-dessus de ma cheminée une photographie agrandie de la « Petite Fleur »; elle était placée de telle façon que personne ne pouvait manquer de l'observer. Eh bien! un jour que nous attendions la visite d'un ministre protestant et de sa femme, je fus tenté de décrocher le tableau, mais, lorsque je fus au moment de le faire, il me fut impos-

 

TÉMOIN 27: Alexander-James Grant

 

sible d'y toucher. « Auriez-vous honte - me dis-je à moi-même - d'une personne dont Dieu et les anges font leur société? » Et je me dis: « Le tableau restera là, le monde entier dut-il me visiter!.» Il plut à soeur Thérèse de me témoigner de la reconnaissance pour cet acte, en me poussant dans l'Eglise. De plus, j'ai presque continuellement joui de la présence de soeur Thérèse auprès de moi. Elle m'invitait à des actes de générosité, et lorsque je résistais, elle me quittait aussitôt. Cependant, la douceur et le secours sensible de cette présence disparurent presque entièrement dans le mois qui précéda immédiatement mon abjuration, et il ne me resta que la lutte, le doute et l'obscurité.

 

[1254v] La soeur Thérèse se servit d'un moyen humain pour détruire les préjugés que j'avais encore contre le catholicisme, et pour m'instruire des vérités de la foi. Désirant aller à Lisieux, je voulus étudier plus à fond la langue française, et ma femme obtint de la supérieure d'un couvent d'Édimbourg qu'une religieuse me donnât des leçons de français. Par une grâce de Dieu, les leçons se changèrent bientôt en controverse religieuse, et pendant de longues heures, chaque semaine, nous discutions la présence réelle, l'institution divine de la messe, ce qui en constituait le sacrifice, et aussi l'autorité et l'institution de l'Eglise par Notre Seigneur Jésus Christ. J'attribue à ces leçons une grande partie du changement qui s'opéra en moi à cette époque. Les études faites dans les « Conférences sur l'Ecriture Sainte » du père Leroy, dans la « Messe » du père Hoppenot, et même simplement dans la Bible catholique, contribuèrent aussi à m'éclairer. Dieu semblait parfois donner une lumière spéciale aux choses que j'avais déjà lues plusieurs fois, comme lorsque, en lisant les Conférences du père [1255r] Leroy sur l'Eucharistie, je m’écriais: « Il me fait plus comprendre que tout ce que j'avais lu jusque là!.» Cependant, je ne pouvais arriver à croire à la présence réelle. Un jour, vers la fin de mars 1911, pendant la neuvaine que je faisais alors à soeur Thérèse pour obtenir cette foi tant désirée, après une discussion longue et ardente sur l'Eucharistie, la religieuse qui m'instruisait me proposa une visite à la chapelle. Là, j'eus comme le sentiment de la présence de Notre Seigneur dans le tabernacle, et en sortant je dis à la même religieuse qui m'attendait: « Maintenant je crois qu'il est là. Je l'ai senti; une chose qui n'était pas là pour moi auparavant y est maintenant.»

 

Après bien des luttes, des doutes, des angoisses, soeur Thérèse me fit faire un premier pas décisif le 9 avril, jour où elle-même brisait les liens qui la retenaient dans le monde, pour s'en aller au Carmel. J'ignorais alors cette coïncidence de date: on me la fit remarquer plus tard. Ce jour-là donc, j'écrivis à mes supérieurs ecclésiastiques que je ne pouvait continuer [1255v] à demeurer dans l'église presbytérienne, mes convictions n'étant plus en rapport avec sa doctrine. Enfin, le 20 avril 1911, je rompis définitivement mes liens et fus reçu dans l'Eglise Catholique par le père Widdowson, S.J., qui m'avait vu et aidé les quinze derniers jours qui précédèrent mon abjuration, et dont les instructions me semblaient comme des révélations divines. J'ai été baptisé ce même jour, 20 avril 1911, dans l'église du Sacré-Coeur d'Édimbourg (Lauriston); par reconnaissance pour ma céleste bienfaitrice, j'ai voulu prendre au baptême les noms de François-Marie-Thérèse. Depuis, j'ai eu encore un sentiment extraordinaire de la présence de soeur Thérèse, suivi d'une preuve matérielle. Par le fait de mon entrée dans l'Eglise Catholique, j'avais perdu mes moyens d'existence; un jeudi du mois de mai, étant seul dans ma chambre à Edimbourg pendant le jour après-midi, je vis soeur Thérèse debout à mon côté et regardant dans la direction de Glasgow; en même temps j'eus le sentiment intérieur qu'elle faisait dans cette ville quelque chose pour moi. Ma [1256r] femme entrant à ce moment, je lui dis: « Thérèse s'occupe en ce moment de nous.» Le jeudi suivant, un secours extraordinaire et inespéré m'arrivait de Glasgow. Depuis, je continue à avoir grande confiance en la petite carmélite de Lisieux et elle continue de m'assister dans les besoins spirituels et temporels.

Ces interventions, cette présence invisible, ces touches de la grâce me paraissent venir du ciel, car rien dans mon éducation première, ni dans ma religion, ne me disposait à éprouver ces impressions; 2° j'ai lu très peu de livres mystiques: la Vie de Sainte Thérèse d'Avila écrite par elle-même, et un auteur du XVIe siècle, que je lus il y a une trentaine d'années et dont j'ai oublié le nom, sont les seuls ouvrages mystiques que j'aie lus; 3° ces interventions m'ont poussé à tous les sacrifices; elles m'ont aidé à braver le respect humain et les sarcasmes de mes amis protestants. Ces motifs entre autres me persuadent de la vérité de cette action sur-[1256v]naturelle.

 

[Réponse à la trentième demande]:

Je n'ai rien à ajouter ni sur les interrogatoires, ni sur les Articles.

 

[Est ainsi terminé l'interrogatoire de ce témoin. Lecture des Actes est donnée. Le témoin n'y apporte aucune modification et signe comme suit]:

Ita pro veritate deposui, ratum habeo et confirmo.

Signatum- A. J. GRANT