Print

Witness 29 - Sister Saint-Andrew, O.B.S.

 

Born in Les Chapelles (in the Diocese of Laval) on 21st January 1863, Eugénie-Marie Barbé came to the Benedictine Abbey Notre-Dame-du-Pré of Lisieux in 1882, as a lay assistant teacher of the boarding school. There she met Thérèse Martin who had been a pupil there for just a few months. She was admitted into the novitiate in 1884 and was professed on July 22, 1886.

It is worth remembering that the glorious Benedictine institution of Lisieux, which was founded at the very beginning of the 11th century, and then dispersed during the Revolution at the end of the 18th, was reborn in 1808. It was completely destroyed in the bombings of 6th-7th June 1944.

The witness testified on 11th August 1911, in the 84th session, pp. 1287r-1290r of our Public Copy.

[Session 84: - 11th August 1911, at 8:30am]

[1286v] [The witness answers the first question correctly].

[Answer to the second question]:

[1287r] My name is Eugénie Virginie Marie Barbé, in religion Sister Saint Andrew. I was born on 21st January 1863 in Les Chapelles (in the Diocese of Laval) of the legitimate marriage between Michel Barbé, a farmer, and Anne Bigot. I joined the Abbey (Benedictine Monastery of Lisieux), first as a lay assistant teacher in the boarding school (January 1882). I joined the novitiate on 11th August 1884, and was professed on 22nd June 1886. I have been Prioress of the monastery since 18th August 1896.  

[The witness answers questions three to seven correctly].

[Answer to the eighth question]:

I became familiar with the Servant of God when I was an assistant teacher in the boarding school. When I arrived in January 1882, Thérèse Martin had already been a pupil there for a few months. She wasn’t in the class I was assisting, [1287v] but I had the opportunity of seeing and talking to her every day at recreation, in the refectory, in study periods, etc. I will recount what I myself was able to notice during these two years of the Servant of God’s lifetime. I will also share what people have told me since the Servant of God’s death about favours that have been obtained through her intercession. I have reread, in preparation for giving my testimony, the “Story of a Soul written by herself”, but only to remind me of what I had directly observed. I was able to notice that in the particular passages relating to what I witnessed directly, the Servant of God’s story perfectly conforms to the truth.

[Answer to the ninth question]:

I desire the Trial to result in the Servant of God’s beatification, because I believe and I’ve seen that her doctrine and example do souls good. I have a certain devotion for the Servant of God, but [1288r] this leaves me entirely free from bias in my judgments and testimony.  

[Answer to questions ten to thirteen]:

I didn’t know the Servant of God before I arrived as a lay assistant teacher at the “Abbey” of Lisieux. I didn’t know her parents either, or the way in which she was brought up by her family.

[Answer to the fourteenth question]:

The Servant of God was already a pupil at the “Abbey” when I arrived. I can confirm that, as a pupil, she was remarkably punctual and always did her work. My observations on this point seem particularly weighty to me seeing as I wasn’t her teacher in the strict sense of the word, so I saw her in a more informal manner. As I was then a lay teacher, I could mix with the pupils more freely, and I would converse [1288v] with them more as my equals than the nun teachers would. I then became aware that her faithfulness stemmed from her ardent desire to please God, but, at that time, I was tempted to see exaggeration in her and, in a way, the sign of a worried and scrupulous soul. I was not directly involved in the preparations for her first Communion, and she didn’t share with me the state of mind she was in. I could only observe her attitude during the retreat and on the day of her first Communion itself, in the chapel of the “Abbey”, on 8th May 1884. I can remember that her posture and facial expression revealed a tender, and I may say exceptional, piety. She stood out among all the others even though they weren’t lacking in piety. After that, I didn’t follow her closely enough to notice anything in particular, for I entered the novitiate in August 1884, and I lost sight of her, even though she remained a pupil at the school. [1289r] In fact, the novices had no contact with the boarding school.

[To questions fifteen to twenty-six, the witness states she has nothing to depose].

[Answer to the twenty-seventh question]:

All the Sisters who knew the Servant of God at the boarding school gave a positive testimony of her; but since her death they have, like myself, gained a better understanding of how profound and elevated her virtue really was.

[Answer to the twenty-eighth question]:

I’ve never heard anyone object to the renown for holiness that is becoming established regarding the Servant of God. One or two of our nuns only say that when she was at boarding school, she was excessively sensitive, which would lead her to become overly distressed.

[1289v] [Answer to the twenty-ninth question]:

In my task as Prioress, I’ve noticed that reading Sister Thérèse’s life story and writings has had a positive influence when it comes to training souls. I would in particular point out that meditating on her life story is enlightening and encourages a more fervent practice of fraternal charity, mortification of the mind, little sacrifices and surrender to God. Several people have told me about miraculous favours obtained through the Servant of God’s intervention. They were mostly inner graces rather than temporal favours. People would explain them as follows: “I feel closer to God when I pray.” Several of our nuns (no less than six) have said this to me, and two people outside the monastery.

[Answer to the thirtieth question]:

I don’t know anything else.

[1290r] [Concerning the Articles, the witness says she knows nothing other than what she has already deposed in answer to the preceding questions. - Here ends the interrogation of this witness. The Acts are read out. The witness makes no amendment to them and signs as follows]:

Ita pro veritate deposui, ratum habeo et confirmo.

Signatum: Sister SAINT ANDREW, O.B.S.

Imprimer

Témoin 29 - Soeur Saint-André, O.S.B.

Née aux Chapelles (diocèse de Laval) le 21 janvier 1863, Eugénie-Marie Barbé arriva à l'Abbaye bénédictine Notre-Dame-du-Pré de Lisieux en janvier 1882, comme sous-maîtresse séculière du pensionnat. Elle y rencontra Thérèse Martin qui y venait comme élève depuis peu de mois. Elle fut admise au noviciat en 1884 et fit profession le 22 juillet 1886. La déposition présente peu d'intérêt.

Rappelons que la glorieuse institution bénédictine de Lisieux fondée au tout début du Xlème siècle, puis dispersée à la Révolution de la fin du XVIIIème, avait repris une nouvelle vie en 1808. Elle fut totalement détruite par les bombardements des 6-7 juin 1944.

Le témoin déposa le 11 août 1911, au cours de la 84ème session, f. 1287r-1290r de notre Copie publique.

 

[Session 84: - 11 août 1911, à 8h.30]

[1286v] [ Le témoin répond correctement à la première demande].

 

[Réponse à la seconde demande]:

[1287r] Je m'appelle Eugénie Virginie Marie Barbé, en religion soeur Saint André. Je suis née le 21 janvier 1863 aux Chapelles (diocèse de Laval) du légitime mariage de Michel Barbé, cultivateur, et de Anne Bigot. Je suis entrée à l'« Abbaye » (monastère des bénédictines de Lisieux), d'abord comme sous-maîtresse séculière au pensionnat (janvier 1882). Entrée au noviciat le 11 août 1884, j'ai fait profession le 22 juin 1886. Je suis actuellement prieure du monastère depuis le 18 août 1896.

 

[Le témoin répond correctement de la troisième à la septième demande].

[Réponse à la huitième demande]:

J'ai surtout connu la Servante de Dieu en exerçant ma charge de sous-maîtresse au pensionnat. Lorsque j'y arrivai en janvier 1882, Thérèse Martin y était élève

 

TÉMOIN 29: Soeur Saint-André O.S.B.

 

depuis quelques mois déjà. Mes rapports avec elle continuèrent jusqu'à mon entrée au noviciat, en août 1884. Elle ne faisait pas partie de la classe dont j'étais sous-maîtresse, [1287v] mais j'avais occasion de la voir et lui parler tous les jours en récréation, au réfectoire, dans les études, etc. Pour ces deux années de la vie de la Servante de Dieu, je rapporterai ce que j'ai pu observer personnellement. Je dirai aussi quelques confidences qui m'ont été faites depuis la mort de la Servante de Dieu sur des faveurs obtenues par son intercession. J'ai relu, pour préparer mon témoignage, l'« Histoire d'une âme écrite par elle-même », mais seulement pour me remémorer ce que j'avais observé directement. J'ai pu remarquer que notamment dans ces parties, objet de mes observations directes, le récit de la Servante de Dieu est bien conforme à la vérité.

 

[Réponse à la neuvième demande]:

Je désire que le Procès aboutisse à la béatification de la Servante de Dieu, parce que je crois et j'ai constaté que sa doctrine et ses exemples font du bien aux âmes. J'ai une certaine dévotion pour la Servante de Dieu, mais ce [1288r] sentiment me laisse entièrement libre dans mes appréciations et mon témoignage.

 

[Réponse de la dixième à la treizième demande]:

Je n'ai pas connu la Servante de Dieu avant mon arrivée comme sous-maîtresse séculière à l'« Abbaye » de Lisieux. Je ne connaissais pas non plus ses parents, ni la manière dont elle était élevée dans sa famille.

 

[Réponse à la quatorzième demande]:

La Servante de Dieu était déjà élève à l'« Abbaye », lorsque j'y arrivai. Je puis témoigner que, comme élève, elle était d'une régularité remarquable et toujours à son devoir. Mes observations sur ce point me paraissent avoir d'autant plus de poids que n'étant pas, à proprement parler, sa maîtresse, puisqu'elle ne faisait pas partie de ma section, je la voyais pour ainsi dire plus au naturel. Comme j'étais alors maîtresse séculière, je me trouvais plus mêlée aux élèves, et je traitais avec [1288v] elles plus d'égale à égale que ne le faisaient les maîtresses religieuses. J'ai compris depuis lors que cette fidélité procédait de son grand désir de plaire à Dieu, mais, à l'époque dont je parle, j'étais tentée d'y voir de l'exagération et comme la marque d'un état d'âme inquiet et scrupuleux. Je n'ai pas été mêlée directement à sa préparation à la première communion, et elle ne me faisait pas part de ses états d'âme. Je pouvais seulement observer son attitude pendant la retraite et le jour même de sa première communion dans la chapelle de l'« Abbaye », le 8 mai 1884. Je me souviens à ce sujet que sa tenue et l'expression de son visage témoignaient d'une piété tendre, et je puis dire exceptionnelle; on la remarquait entre toutes les autres qui, cependant, ne manquaient pas de piété. Après cette époque, je ne l'ai pas suivie assez intimement pour rien relever de particulier; j'entrai d'ailleurs au noviciat en août 1884, et je la perdis de vue, bien qu'elle continuât à être élève de la maison. [1289r] Les novices, en effet, n'avaient pas de rapports avec le pensionnat.

 

[De la quinzième à la vingt-sixième demande, le témoin répond n'avoir rien à déclarer].

[Réponse à la vingt-septième demande]:

Celles de nos soeurs qui ont connu au pensionnat la Servante de Dieu, rendaient toutes d'elle un bon témoignage; mais depuis sa mort, elles ont, comme moi d'ailleurs, mieux compris ce qu'il y avait de profond et d'élevé dans sa vertu.

 

[Réponse à la vingt-huitième demande]:

Je n'ai jamais entendu aucune protestation contre le renom de sainteté qui s'établit touchant la Servante de Dieu. Une ou deux de nos religieuses disent seulement qu'au temps de son séjour au pensionnat, elle était d'une sensibilité excessive qui la portait à se chagriner outre mesure.

 

[1289v] [Réponse à la vingt-neuvième demande]:

Dans ma charge de prieure, j'ai observé que la lecture de la vie et des écrits de soeur Thérèse exerçait une bienheureuse influence dans la formation des âmes. Je noterai en particulier que la méditation de cette vie procure une meilleure intelligence et une pratique plus fervente de la charité fraternelle, de la mortification de la sensibilité, des petits sacrifices et de l'abandon à Dieu. On m'a plusieurs fois communiqué des faveurs surnaturelles obtenues par l'influence de la Servante de Dieu. Il s'agissait plutôt de grâces intérieures que de faveurs temporelles. On les traduisait ainsi: « Je me sens plus près de Dieu, lorsque je la prie.» Ce témoignage m'a été communiqué par plusieurs de nos religieuses (pas moins de six) et par deux personnes du dehors.

 

[Réponse à la trentième demande]:

Je ne connais plus rien.

 

[1290r] [Au sujet des Articles, le témoin dit ne savoir que ce qu'il a déjà déposé en répondant aux demandes précédentes. - Est ainsi terminé l'interrogatoire de ce témoin. Lecture des Actes est donnée. Le témoin n’y apporte aucune modification et signe comme suit]:

Ita pro veritate deposui, ratum habeo et confirmo.

Signatum: Soeur SAINT ANDRÉ, O.S.B.