Print

Witness 31 - Sister Saint John the Evangelist, O.B.S.

 

Marie-Blanche Dupont was born in Balleroy (in the Diocese of Bayeux) on 11th May 1867. She was Thérèse Martin’s companion for a while at the Benedictine Abbey where she was later to become a nun. She was professed on 12th August 1890, so just a few months before Thérèse in the Carmel, in the same year. While she was one day acting as supervisor (for she was a little older), Marie-Blanche appeared to call into question Thérèse’s sincerity, and she was met with this reply: “Marie!... I never lie” (pp. 1297r).

The witness testified on 11th August 1911, in the 84th session, pp. 1296r-1298v of our Public Copy.

[Session 84: - 11th August 1911, at 2pm].

[1296r] [The witness answers the first question correctly].

[Answer to the second question]:

My name is Marie-Blanche Dupont, in religion Sister Saint John the Evangelist. I was born in Balleroy, in the Diocese of Bayeux, on 11th May 1867, of the legitimate marriage between Théodore Dupont, a merchant, and Léontine Domin. I’ve been a professed nun of the Benedictine Monastery of Lisieux since 12th August 1890.

[The witness answers questions three to seven correctly].

[1296v] [Answer to the eighth question]:

I came to know the Servant of God: 1stly when meeting the family on the day she took her first Communion; 2ndly during the stay I made at the boarding school for my studies, from June 1885 onwards.  

[Answer to the ninth question]:

I trust Sister Thérèse a great deal, although I may not be as enthusiastic in my devotion as many others I know. I hope she will be beatified, because, among other virtues, I admire her faithfulness in little things.

[To questions ten to thirteen inclusive, the witness replies that she has nothing particular to say on these points].

[Answer to the fourteenth question]:

On the day of her first Communion (8th May 1884) I came to the Abbey to visit two of my younger cousins who were also taking their first Communion. As [1297r] there were some links between the Servant of God’s family and my own, little Thérèse was introduced to us, and my mother noticed that her eyes were red as if she’s been crying. Reading her life story reminded me of this and revealed the reason why.

[Answer to the fifteenth question]:

In June 1885, when I was 18 years old, I joined the Abbey’s boarding school, to take my teacher’s exams. I met the Servant of God during the school year of 1885-1886; I noticed she was exceptionally edifying and punctual. She would stand at a bit of a distance from her classmates’ games; her character was much more serious than theirs. As I was much older, I was sometimes entrusted to do a bit of supervising. On one of these occasions, I asked little Thérèse whether she had failed to remain silent; she replied that she hadn’t; and when to tease her a little I pretended to doubt her sincerity, she seemed very distressed and said: “Marie!... I never lie” – Primary source -.  

[1297v] [Answer to the fifteenth question]:

Once she had left the boarding school, the Servant of God would come back two or three times a week, so that she might be enrolled in the association of the Children of Mary, which I presided; she was required to fulfill this condition. The headmistress of the boarding school, Sister Saint Placidus, who died in 1909, said to us on this occasion: “Thérèse has left the boarding school but is asking to be admitted among the Children of Mary; I gave her permission on this condition; we won’t regret having her name on our list.” I remember that in the afternoons she spent at the boarding school during that period, I really wanted to talk to her after class, but she would disappear. Her life story revealed that she would hide in the chapel gallery and pray. She became a Child of Mary on 31st May 1887, at the same time as Marie Domin, who would later become my sister-in-law. I can remember the day very clearly and I’ve kept a little picture signed “Thérèse, Child of Mary”, which she gave me for the occasion. [1298r] I’m stating these details to rectify an omission I then made and which I regret. I was the Congregation’s president and secretary and therefore tasked with drafting the receipts. When a few days later I wanted to write the list of new members, I looked about me and saw those who were in the Abbey, forgetting Thérèse Martin who wasn’t a pupil at the boarding school. It was after her death that I noticed and rectified this omission.                

[To questions sixteen to twenty-eight inclusive, the witness replies she doesn’t know anything].

[Answer to the twenty-ninth question]:

I hear it said everywhere that significant favours can be obtained through the Servant of God’s intercession. I haven’t personally felt the benefits of these favours; but I know that a fair number of our Sisters acknowledge that they obtain significant inner graces by praying to her. Her doctrine has helped clarify certain points about spiritual life for me, particularly on the subject of practicing humility.

[Answer to the thirtieth question]:

I believe I have said everything I know about the Servant of God.

[Concerning the Articles, the witness says she knows nothing other than what she has already deposed in answer to the preceding questions. - Here ends the interrogation of this witness. The Acts are read out. The witness makes no amendment to them and signs as follows]:

Ita pro veritate deposui, ratum habeo et confirmo.

Signatum: Sister SAINT JOHN THE EVANGELIST, O.B.S.

Imprimer

Témoin 31 - Soeur Saint-Jean L’évangéliste, O.S.B.

Marie-Blanche Dupont naquit à Balleroy (diocèse de Bayeux) le 11 mai 1867. Elle fut pendant quelque temps la compagne de Thérèse Martin à l'Abbaye des bénédictines où elle devait ensuite entrer comme religieuse. Elle y fit profession le 12 août 1890, peu de mois donc avant Thérèse au Carmel, la même année. Tandis que faisant un jour fonction de surveillante (car elle était un peu plus âgée), Marie-Blanche semblait mettre en doute la sincérité de Thérèse, elle en reçut cette riposte: « Marie!... je ne mens jamais » (f. 1297r).

Le témoin déposa le 11 août 1911, au cours de la 84ème session, f. 1296r-1298v de notre Copie publique.

 

[Session 84: -11 août 1911, à 2h. de l'après-midi]

 

[1296r] [Le témoin répond correctement à la première demande].

[Réponse à la seconde demande]:

Je m'appelle Marie-Blanche Dupont, en religion soeur Saint-Jean-l’Evangéliste, née à Balleroy, diocèse de Bayeux, le 11 mai 1867, du légitime mariage de Théodore Dupont, négociant, et de Léontine Domin. Je suis religieuse professe du monastère des bénédictines de Lisieux depuis le 12 août 1890.

 

[Le témoin répond correctement de la troisième à la septième demande].

[1296v] [Réponse à la huitième demande]:

J'ai connu la Servante de Dieu: l° dans une entrevue de famille le jour de sa première communion; 2° pendant le séjour que je fis au pensionnat pour mes études, à partir de juin 1885.

 

[Réponse à la neuvième demande]:

 

TÉMOIN 31: Soeur Saint-Jean l'Évangéliste O.S.B.

 

J'ai bien confiance dans soeur Thérèse, bien que ma dévotion ne soit pas aussi enthousiaste que celle de plusieurs autres que je connais. J'espère qu'elle sera béatifiée, parce que j'admire en elle entre autres vertus sa fidélité dans les petites choses.

 

[De la dixième à la treizième demande inclusivement, le témoin répond qu'il n'a rien à dire de particulier sur ces points-là ].

 

[Réponse à la quatorzième demande]:

Le jour de sa première communion (8 mai 1884) je vins à l'Abbaye visiter deux petites cousines qui y faisaient aussi leur première communion. Comme [1297r] il y avait quelques liens entre ma famille et celle de la Servante de Dieu, on nous présenta la petite Thérèse, et ma mère remarqua qu'elle avait les yeux très rouges et semblait avoir pleuré. La lecture de sa vie m'a depuis remémoré cette particularité et m'en a révélé la signification.

 

[Réponse à la quinzième demande]:

Au mois de juin 1885, étant âgée de 18 ans, j'entrai au pensionnat de l’Abbaye, pour y préparer mes examens d'institutrice, j'y rencontrai la Servante de Dieu pendant l'année scolaire 1885-1886; je remarquai qu'elle était exceptionnellement édifiante et régulière. Elle se tenait un peu à l'écart des jeux de ses compagnes; son caractère était beaucoup plus grave que le leur. Comme j'étais beaucoup plus âgée, on me confiait quelquefois une part de surveillance; dans une de ces circonstances, je demandai à la petite Thérèse si elle n'avait pas manqué au silence; elle répondit qu'elle n'y avait pas manqué; et comme un peu par taquinerie je feignais de douter de sa sincérité, elle parut très affligée et me dit: « Marie!... je ne mens jamais » - Source pre. -

 

[1297v] [Réponse à la quinzième demande]:

Après son départ du pensionnat, la Servante de Dieu y revenait deux ou trois fois par semaine, pour pouvoir être inscrite dans l'association des enfants de Marie, dont j'étais présidente; on lui avait imposé cette condition. La directrice du pensionnat, soeur Sainte-Placide, décédée au mois de décembre 1909, nous dit à cette occasion: « Thérèse qui a quitté le pensionnat demande à être admise parmi les enfants de Marie; je le lui ai accordé à cette condition; nous n'aurons pas à regretter d'avoir son nom dans nos listes.» Je me souviens que pendant les après-midi qu'elle passait alors au pensionnat, j'avais grande envie de converser avec elle après l'heure de classe, mais je constatais sa disparition. L'histoire de sa vie m'a révélé qu'elle se cachait dans la tribune de la chapelle pour y prier. Elle fut reçue enfant de Marie le 31 mai 1887, en même temps que Marie Domin qui devait devenir plus tard ma belle-soeur. J'en ai un souvenir très précis et je conserve une petite image signée « Thérèse, enfant de Marie », qu'elle me donna à cette occasion. [1298r] je note ces détails pour réparer un oubli regrettable que je commis alors. J'étais présidente et secrétaire de la congrégation et chargée à ce titre de rédiger les procès verbaux de réception. Quand après quelques jours je voulus dresser la liste des nouvelles associées, je regardai autour de moi celles qui étaient dans la maison et oubliai Thérèse Martin qui ne faisait point partie du pensionnat. C'est après sa mort que j'ai remarqué et réparé cet oubli.

 

[De la seizième à la vingt-huitième demande inclusivement, le témoin répond qu'il ne sait rien].

[Réponse à la vingt-neuvième demande]:

J'entends dire de tous côtés, que l'on obtient des faveurs signalées par l'intercession de la Servante de Dieu. Je n'ai pas éprouvé personnellement le bienfait de ces faveurs; mais je sais que, parmi nos soeurs, un bon nombre reconnaissent qu'elles obtiennent en l'invoquant des grâces intérieures signalées. Sa doctrine m'a éclairée utilement sur certains points de la vie [1298v] spirituelle, notamment sur la pratique de l'humilité.

 

[Réponse à la trentième demande]:

Je crois avoir dit tout ce que je savais sur la Servante de Dieu.

 

[Au sujet des Articles, le témoin dit ne savoir que ce qu'il a déjà déposé en répondant aux demandes précédentes. - Est ainsi terminé l'interrogatoire de ce témoin. Lecture des Actes est donnée. Le témoin n'y apporte aucune modification et signe comme suit]:

Ita pro veritate deposui, ratum habeo et confirmo.

Signatum: Soeur SAINT-JEAN L'EVANGÉLISTE, O.S.B.