Print

Witness 4 - Jean-Jules Auriault, S.J.

 

As has already been said (vol. 1, p. 390), Fr Auriault had not known Thérèse, and his testimony directly concerns her reputation for holiness and the doctrinal value of her teaching.

A long-admired Professor at the Catholic University of Paris, then a much sought-after preacher for spiritual instructions, Fr Auriault went to the Carmel of Lisieux for a retreat towards 1908-1909. He henceforth became a fervent admirer of Thérèse and her doctrine.

Fr Auriault’s testimony bears primarily on the efficacy of Thérèse’s message, although of course also appraises the young Carmelite nun’s virtues, the heroic nature of which he considers certain and well proven: “1) as a result of the intensity of love that she put into all her actions; 2) as a result of the continuity of her faithfulness to both the rules of observance and divine inspiration; 3) as a result of her truly extraordinary patience in terms of remaining even-tempered and meek in adversity; 4) through the great courage she showed when conquering her nature in particularly sensitive struggles” (p. 291).

The following appraisal is also worth underlining: “Her prudence comes through remarkably well in her letters and spiritual advice, which clearly and powerfully reflect the doctrine of the most authoritative masters on spiritual life . . . . In her duties as spiritual director, it is also worth noting the perfect dependency in which she remained with regards to the Holy Spirit. She is akin to an instrument in the hands of a craftsman” (p. 291).

Fr Auriault testified on 3rd May 1915, in the 7th sitting (pp. 285-296 of the Public Transcription).

 [Sitting 7: - 3rd May 1915, at 8:30 am and 2:30 in the afternoon]

[285] [The witness answers the first question satisfactorily].

 [Answer to the second question]:

My name is Jean-Jules-Raoul Auriault. I was born in Brie, in the diocese of Poitiers, on 19th February 1855. I am a professed Jesuit priest,

WITNESS 4: Jean-Jules Auriault, S. J. 121

an honorary Professor at the Catholic University of Paris, and currently reside at n° 5 Rue du Regard.

[The witness answers the third question satisfactorily].

[286] [Answer to the fourth question]:

I have twice appeared before the examining magistrate of the criminal court of Paris charged with practising the ministry, as a member of an unauthorised and legislatively abolished Congregation.  Both investigations were dismissed.

 [The witness answers the fifth question satisfactorily, and also the sixth].

 [Answer to the seventh question]:

I did not know the Servant of God personally.  What I do know of her comes from the following sources:

1stly The attentive reading of her autobiography and also the letters and other writings that were appended to that book.

2ndly I have preached two retreats at the Carmel of Lisieux; the first was about six or seven years ago (in 1908 or 1909), and the second two years later.  On both occasions, I discussed the Servant of God with not only her Carmelite sisters but also all of the community’s nuns.

3rdly In the exercise of my ministry (spiritual direction, confession, preaching, etc.) in Paris and in the provinces, I have been conveyed many people’s sentiments regarding the Servant of God.

4thly Many Jesuit friars and priests have also shared with me their opinion of Sister Thérèse of the Child Jesus.

[Answer to the eighth question]:

[287] For seven or eight years, I have had both a true devotion to the Servant of God and great trust in her.  These sentiments developed as a result of studying her life story and of my conversations with the Carmelite nuns of Lisieux.  I ardently desire her Cause to succeed because I believe it to be well-founded and I esteem also that its success will be very valuable for the Church.

 [Answer to questions nine to twelve]:

Concerning the historical details of Sister Thérèse’s biography, I know nothing bar what I have read in Story of a Soul, which is a widely known book.

 [Answer to questions thirteen and fourteen]:

I know nothing in particular.

 [Answer to questions fifteen to twenty-one]:

I was struck by the swiftness with which she adhered to even the smallest of the Church’s directives.  A detailed and careful reading of her writings reveals her preoccupation with conforming to the Church’s thinking.  I remember this characteristic particularly as it I think it is significant.  When in a flush of enthusiasm one nun told her that she would follow her spiritual path even were the Church to disapprove it, she said, indignant: “Poor soul! We must always strive to obey the Church,” or something similar.  

[288] What is also remarkable about her from the point of view of faith is the continuity of her spiritual aspirations.  Her spirit of faith also gave her an innate, deep and spiritual respect for the Sovereign Pontiff, bishops and priests.

She had a very marked and particularly remarkable appreciation of Holy Scripture, which she used in her writings constantly with a seldom seen relish.

All that I have just said results from my study of her writings.

 [Answer to questions twenty-two to twenty-six]:

I think that complete surrender to God is the prominent characteristic of her spiritual physiognomy.  This comes to light in her vision of God as a father.  I could quote any number of passages from her autobiography to prove this disposition.

Moreover, it is remarkable how she keeps professing that sin is not a reason to turn away from God, but to appeal to His mercy.  She says at one point that she trusts in God not because she has committed no sins; even had she committed the greatest of sins, her reliance on His trust and divine goodness would remain the same.  This surrender to God comes through also in her unreserved submission to all of her superiors’ directives. It could be said that she obeys indiscriminately, because she always saw God’s fatherly [289] will in creatures.

What is more, she is a tireless preacher of this absolute surrender to God.  All of her spiritual advice is founded on this path of surrender.

 [Answer to questions twenty-seven to thirty-one]:

She was so infused with love for God that she was not able to focus on anything else, even for a moment; it can be said that loving Him came as naturally to her as breathing.  She reminds me of Saint Louis de Gonzague, who suffered agonising torment because his superior asked him to think less of God in order to think more about earthly practicalities.

 [Answer to questions thirty-two to thirty-six]:

What she wrote on the subject of neighbourly charity is remarkable in terms of its depth and practicality.  It is akin to a commentary on Jesus’ words following the Last Supper.

What also strikes me is the way she put this thoughtful charity into effective practice over and over.  It can be summarised in these two terms: “Nemini obesse, omnibus prodesse.”

The spiritual nature of her charity is shown in that, in the convent, she did not direct her love and affection towards her three blood sisters more than the other nuns; rather, she did the opposite.

Her zeal for saving souls attained a degree that I esteem as unparalleled.  This disposition of hers appears in

WITNESS 4: Jean-Jules Auriault, S. J

that superb passage where she [290] expresses regret for not being able to simultaneously be a priest, missionary, martyr, etc.; but to compensate for this, she employs her littleness and dwells in the very heart of the Church that, through her prayers and love, she might shine a light throughout the world to help the Pope, bishops, priests, missionaries and all those working for the redemption of souls.  This zeal was particularly visible in her union with missionaries, and in her desire for a ministry that is, so to speak, eternal: “I want to spend my heaven doing good on earth” (Last Conversations 17-7).

 [Answer to questions thirty-seven and thirty-eight]:

Her prudence comes through remarkably well in her letters and spiritual advice, which clearly and powerfully reflect the doctrine of the most authoritative masters on spiritual life . . .

Notably, with Sister Thérèse, surrender to God is not a doctrine that is exclusive of other elements of spiritual life, such as fear of God, abhorrence of sin, etc.; instead these are an integral part of it, except they take the form that renders them most efficient and accessible.

In her duties as spiritual director, it is also worth noting the perfect dependency in which she remained with regards to the Holy Spirit.  She is akin to an instrument in the hands of a craftsman.

Her prudence is also shown in her personal conduct, particularly in her relations with the community, where she needed to reconcile obedience and charity [291] in tricky situations.

 [In answer to questions thirty-nine and forty, the witness has nothing particular to say.]

 [Answer to questions forty-one and forty-two]:

Love for suffering grew so intense in her person that it became almost a prevailing passion, to the point that she rejoiced in suffering. It was on days of suffering that she appeared the most joyful, the result being that several people mistakenly thought she was suffering little.

 [In answer to questions forty-three to forty-six, the witness has nothing particular to say.]

[Answer to questions thirty-seven and thirty-eight]:

In general terms, it seems to me that she practised all these virtues to a heroic degree. This is shown: 1stly as a result of the intensity of love that she put into all her actions; 2ndly as a result of the continuity of her faithfulness to both the rules of observance and divine inspiration; 3rdly as a result of her truly extraordinary patience in terms of remaining even-tempered and meek in adversity; 4thly through the great courage she showed when conquering her nature in particularly sensitive struggles. The words used to describe Saint John Berchmans [292] can also be applied to her: she did all ordinary things extraordinarily well.

 [Answer to questions forty-nine and fifty]:

I am not aware of there having been anything of the sort.

[Answer to the fifty-first question]:

1stly I know of no other writings except those that have been published.  I have not specifically verified the authenticity of these publications, but others have, and I do not doubt the truth of their findings.  I have even held the original biographical manuscript in my hands.

2ndly It is my belief that these writings can be deemed authentic and that they provide evidence for the reality of the Servant of God’s virtues. This is because 1/ as, thanks to their public renown, I was already aware of her heroic virtues, holy death and blessings granted through her intercession, her writings gained authority before reaching me; 2/ upon studying them, I found intrinsic characteristics that guarantee their authority.  Each sentence breathes truth and grace, and one cannot imagine, even for an instant, that the author was not expressing what she felt.  Therefore, the extrinsic testimonies corroborated the internal appraisal, conferring an unquestionable value to the documents.

[293] [Answer to questions fifty-two to fifty-five]:

I know nothing particular as regards these points.

[Answer to the fifty-sixth question]:

For the eight years that I have been in contact with the Carmel of Lisieux, for reasons of devotion I have not failed to visit the Servant of God’s burial place every time that circumstances have taken me to Lisieux, that is to say, on five or six different occasions, amounting to twenty or so visits.  On these pilgrimages I observed a regular concourse of pilgrims, sometimes despite bad weather conditions. What is more, their number is increasing.  Yesterday for instance, which was a Sunday, for the three quarters of an hour that I was there, I saw at least twenty people come and go. They included men, women, soldiers, etc., and were reverent and prayerful.  I have never heard it said that any enterprise was undertaken to initiate or maintain this pilgrim movement.

 [Answer to the fifty-seventh question]:

I do not know whether or not the Servant of God had [294] a reputation for holiness during her lifetime.

Since her death, her reputation for holiness, that is to say for heroic virtues, is evident to me, not only as a result of reading published accounts of them, but also from directly hearing reports from by several earnest and particularly learned Jesuit priests. One such priest was Reverend Father Longhaye, a nigh 80 year old Professor at the Seminary of Canterbury.

WITNESS 4: Jean-Jules Auriault, S.J.  125

In addition, I have verified the spread of her renown for holiness by noting the devotion that exist to her firstly in the Carmel of Lisieux, then in the other Carmelite monasteries with which I am in contact, and also in a good number of religious communities. As for devotion among the ordinary faithful, I see it every day and everywhere I go.  Now, the existence of this devotion indicates a belief in her holiness.

As for the reputation for miracles and spiritual favours obtained through her intercession, I am aware of it not only from reading editions of “Shower of Roses”, which relate the most remarkable cases, but also from hearing numerous accounts in person, particularly when requests are made for Masses, or when novenas are prayed for miracles, healings, favours, etc.  I know a very great number of people who pray to her assiduously.

I am not aware of anything having been done to create her renown for holiness.  Its spread can in my view be explained only by the reality of her [295] heroic holiness and healing power.  The means of publicity used by the Carmel of Lisieux have had, with regards to her reputation, a relationship that has been effect-cause rather than cause-effect. If her reputation had had no basis, all the publicity would have damaged rather than benefitted the spread of devotion to Sister Thérèse of the Child Jesus.

 [Answer to the fifty-eighth question]:

I have never heard anyone emit an opinion that was contrary to the Servant of God’s virtue or reputation for holiness.

 [Answer to questions fifty-nine to sixty-five]:

In general terms, I have often heard people attribute spiritual or corporal favours to the Servant of God’s intercession; it would not be untruthful to say that I personally have heard fifty or so testimonies of this kind.  Allow me to provide a few examples: a young man who experienced a religious crisis and denied God’s existence promptly converted during a novena to the Servant of God that had been requested by his mother.  Another young man who needed an operation following a tubercular tumour made a dramatic recovery over the course of a novena prayed to Sister Thérèse, much to his doctor’s astonishment.  I could relate other favours, but as there will be no lack of first-hand accounts of more significant examples, I do not [296] believe it useful to labour the point.

 [Answer to the sixty-sixth question]:

No, I believe to have said all that I considered useful.

[As regards the Articles, the witness claims to know nothing other than what they have already reported in response to the preceding questions.  Here ends the questioning of this witness.  The Acts are read out.  The witness makes no alteration to them and signs as follows]:

Signatum: J. Auriault

Imprimer

Témoin 4 - Jean-Jules Auriault, S.J.

TÉMOIN  IV

JEAN-JULES AURIAULT, S.J.

Comme déjà dit (vol. 1, p. 390). le P. Auriault n'a pas connu Thérèse et son témoignage concerne directement sa réputation de sainteté et la valeur doctrinale de son enseignement.

Longtemps professeur très apprécié à l’Institut Catholique de Paris, puis prédicateur très recherché pour les exercices spirituels, le P. Auriault alla au Carmel de Lisieux pour une retraite vers 1908-1909. Il devint dès lors un  fervent admirateur de Thérèse et de sa doctrine.

Le P. Auriault dont le témoignage porte avant tout sur l'efficacité du message de Thérèse, ne manque cependant pas non plus, bien sûr, de juger de l'héroïcité des vertus de la jeune carmélite, héroïcité qu’il retient certaine et bien prouvée: « 1) par l'intensité d'amour qu’elle   mettait dans tous ses actes; 2) par la continuité dans la fidélité, soit aux règles de l'observance, soit aux inspirations de la grâce; 3) par une patience vraiment extraordinaire à se maintenir égale et douce dans les épreuves; 4) par le grand courage qu’elle   avait à se vaincre elle-même dans les combats d’une nature spécialement sensible » (p. 291).

Mérite encore d'être souligné le jugement que voici: « Sa prudence se manifeste d'une manière remarquable dans ses lettres et ses conseils de direction qui reflètent avec clarté  la doctrine des maîtres les plus autorisés de la vie spirituelle... Dans sa direction, il faut noter aussi la dépendance parfaite dans laquelle elle se tient à l'égard de l’Esprit Saint. Elle est comme un instrument dans la main de l'ouvrier » (p. 291).

Le P. Auriault déposa le 3 mai 1915, au cours de la 7ème session (pp. 285-296 de notre Copie publique).

 [Session 7: - 3 mai 1915, à 8h.30 et à 2h.30 de l'après-midi]

 

[285] [Le témoin répond correctement à la première demande].

 [Réponse à la deuxième demande]:

Je m'appelle Jean-Jules-Raoul Auriault, né à Brie, diocèse de Poitiers, le 19 février 1855; je suis prêtre profès de la Compagnie de Jésus, professeur hono-

 

TEMOIN 4: Jean-Jules Auriault, S. J. 121

 

raire de dogme à l'Institut Catholique de Paris, actuellement résidant à Paris, n°5 rue du Regard.

[Le témoin répond correctement à la troisième demande].

 

[286] [Réponse à la quatrième demande]:

J'ai comparu deux fois devant le juge d'instruction au tribunal correctionnel de Paris, sous l'inculpation d'avoir exercé le ministère, étant membre d'une Congrégation non autorisée et légalement dissoute.  Les deux instructions ont abouti à un non-lieu.

 

 [Le témoin répond correctement à la cinquième demande, et pareillement à la sixième].

 

 [Réponse à la septième demande]:

Je n'ai pas connu personnellement la Servante de Dieu.  Ce que j'en sais provient des sources suivantes:

1° La lecture attentive de son autobiographie et aussi des lettres et autres écrits annexés à cet ouvrage.

2° J'ai prêché deux retraites au Carmel de Lisieux, la première il y a environ six ou sept ans (en 1908 ou 1909); la seconde deux ans plus tard.  Dans ces deux circonstances, je me suis entretenu de la Servante de Dieu, non seulement avec ses soeurs carmélites, mais encore avec toutes les religieuses de la communauté.

3° Dans l'exercice de mon ministère (directions spirituelles, confessions, prédications, etc.) à Paris et en province, beaucoup de personnes m’ont communiqué leurs sentiments sur la Servante de Dieu.

4° Dans la Compagnie de Jésus, plusieurs pères ou frères m'ont aussi fait part de leur jugement sur soeur Thérèse de l’Enfant Jésus.

 

[Réponse à la huitième demande]:

[287] Depuis sept ou huit ans, j'ai pour la Servante de Dieu une véritable dévotion et une grande confiance.  Ces dispositions se sont établies en moi par l'étude de sa vie et par mes conversations avec les carmélites de Lisieux.  Je désire vivement le succès de sa Cause parce que je la crois fondée et que son succès me paraît avoir un grand intérêt pour l'Eglise.

 

 [Réponse de la neuvième à la douzième demande]:

Sur les détails historiques de la biographie de soeur Thérèse, je ne sais rien que par la lecture de l'« Histoire d'une âme », ouvrage connu de tout le monde.

 

 [Réponse aux treizième et quatorzième demandes]:

Je ne sais rien de spécial.

 

 [Réponse de la quinzième à la vingt-et-unième demande]:

J'ai été frappé de la promptitude avec laquelle elle adhérait aux moindres directions de l'Eglise.  Quand on lit ses écrits avec attention, on saisit dans le détail cette préoccupation de se conformer à la pensée de l'Eglise.  Je me rappelle en particulier ce trait qui me semble significatif.  Comme une religieuse, dans un mouvement d'enthousiasme, lui disait qu'elle suivrait sa voie spirituelle quand même l'Eglise ne l’approuverait pas, elle s'indigna lui disant: « Malheureuse! il faut toujours et avant tout obéir à l'Eglise », ou une parole analogue  

[288] Ce qu'il y a en elle de remarquable aussi au point de vue de la foi, c'est la continuité des vues surnaturelles.  C'est l'esprit de foi aussi qui lui faisait professer un respect inné, profond et surnaturel pour le Souverain Pontife, les évêques et les prêtres.

Elle avait un goût très accentué et particulièrement remarquable pour la Sainte Ecriture dont elle se sert constamment dans ses écrits avec un rare bonheur.

Tout ce que je viens de dire, résulte de l'étude que j'ai faite de ses écrits.

 

 [-Réponse de la vingt-deuxième à la vingt-sixième demande]:

Il me semble que l'abandon total à Dieu est comme le trait saillant de sa physionomie surnaturelle.  Cela apparaît dans l'idée qu'elle a de Dieu qu'elle regarde comme un père.  On pourrait citer toute son autobiographie comme preuve de cette disposition.

En particulier, il est remarquable comment elle professe à toute occasion que le péché n'est pas une raison de s'éloigner de Dieu, mais un motif de se rapprocher de sa miséricorde.  Elle dit quelque part que si elle a confiance en Dieu, ce n'est pas précisément parce qu'elle n'a pas commis de péchés; si elle avait commis tous les péchés les plus graves, elle aurait le même appui dans sa confiance en la bonté divine.  Cet abandon à Dieu se manifeste aussi dans sa soumission sans réserve à toutes les directions de ses supérieurs; on pourrait dire qu'elle obéit à tort et à travers, parce qu'elle voit toujours derrière les créatures la volonté [289] paternelle de Dieu.

Bien plus, cet abandon absolu à Dieu, elle s'en fait le prédicateur infatigable.  Toute sa direction spirituelle revient à cette voie d'abandon.

 

 [Réponse de la vingt-septième à la trente-et-unième demande]:

L'amour de Dieu la possède tellement qu'elle ne peut pas s'en distraire, même un instant; on peut dire qu'elle aime comme elle respire.  Elle me rappelle saint Louis de Gonzague, souffrant le martyre parce que son supérieur lui demandait de moins penser à Dieu pour penser davantage aux choses pratiques de la terre.

 

 [Réponse de la trente-deuxième à la trente-sixième demande]:

Ce qu'elle a écrit sur la charité envers le prochain est remarquable par la profondeur et le sens pratique.  C'est comme un commentaire des paroles de Notre Seigneur après la Cène.

Ce qui me frappe aussi, c'est l'exercice effectif de cette charité délicate à l'infini.  On pourrait l'exprimer dans ces deux mots: « Nemini obesse, omnibus prodesse.»

Ce qui montre le surnaturel de cette charité, c'est qu'étant dans le couvent avec ses trois soeurs, elle n'a pas incliné son coeur et ses affections vers elles plutôt que vers les autres religieuses; elle s'en détournait plutôt.

Le zèle pour le salut des âmes a atteint chez elle un degré qui me paraît hors de pair.  Cette disposition apparaît dans

 

TÉMOIN 4: Jean-Jules Auriault, S. J.

 

cette page sublime où elle [290] exprime le regret de ne pouvoir être à la fois prêtre, missionnaire, martyre, etc., mais pour y suppléer, recourant à sa petitesse, elle se loge dans le coeur même de l'Eglise par sa prière et son amour afin de rayonner de là à travers le monde entier pour aider le Pape, les évêques, les prêtres, les missionnaires et tous ceux qui s'appliquent au salut des âmes.  Ce zèle se manifeste spécialement dans son union avec les missionnaires, et dans cette formule d'un apostolat pour ainsi dire éternel: « Je veux passer mon ciel à faire du bien sur la terre» @DEA 17-7@.

 

 [Réponse aux trente-septième et trente-huitième demandes]:

Sa prudence se manifeste d'une manière remarquable dans ses lettres et ses conseils de direction qui reflètent avec clarté et force, la doctrine des maîtres les plus autorisés de la vie spirituelle.

Spécialement, chez soeur Thérèse, l'abandon à Dieu n'est pas une doctrine exclusive des autres sentiments de la vie spirituelle, comme sont la crainte de Dieu, l'horreur du péché, etc.; ils en sont plutôt partie intégrante, seulement ils y prennent la forme qui les rend plus efficaces et plus accessibles.

Dans sa direction, il faut noter aussi la dépendance parfaite dans laquelle elle se tient à l'égard de l'Esprit-Saint.  Elle est comme un instrument dans la main de l'ouvrier.

Sa prudence se montre aussi dans sa conduite personnelle, notamment dans ses rapports avec la communauté, où il lui fallut concilier dans des passes [291] difficiles l'obéissance et la charité.

 

 [De la trente-neuvième à la quarantième demande, le témoin n’eut rien de particulier à répondre.]

 

 [Réponse aux quarante-et-unième et quarante-deuxième demandes]:

L'amour de la souffrance avait pris chez elle une telle intensité qu'elle était devenue comme une passion dominante, à tel point qu'elle jubilait devant la souffrance: les jours où elle souffrait, c'étaient les jours où elle paraissait plus joyeuse, en sorte que plusieurs s'y sont trompés et ont cru qu’elle  avait peu souffert.

 

 [De la quarante-troisième à la quarante-sixième demande, le témoin n'eut rien de particulier à répondre].

 

[Réponse aux quarante-septième et quarante-huitième demandes]:

D'une façon générale, il me semble qu'elle a pratiqué à un degré héroïque toutes ces vertus; ce qui paraît: 1° par l'intensité d'amour qu'elle mettait dans tous ses actes; 2° par la continuité dans la fidélité, soit aux règles de l'observance, soit aux inspirations de la grâce; 3° par une patience vraiment extraordinaire à se maintenir égale et douce dans les épreuves; 4° par le grand courage qu'elle mit à se vaincre elle-même dans les combats d'une nature spécialement sensible. On peut dire d'elle ce qu'on dit de saint Jean Berch-[292]mans: elle a extraordinairement bien fait toutes les choses ordinaires.

 

 [Réponse aux quarante-neuvième et cinquantième demandes]:

Je n'ai pas connaissance d'aucun fait de ce genre.

 

[Réponse à la cinquante-et-unième demande]:

1 ° Je ne connais d'autres écrits que ceux qui ont été édités.  Je n'ai pas fait la critique spéciale de l'authenticité de ces publications; mais elle a été faite par d'autres, et je ne doute pas de la véracité de leur témoignage.  J'ai même eu en main le manuscrit original de l'autobiographie.

2° J'estime que ces écrits peuvent faire foi et appuyer un jugement certain sur la réalité des vertus de la Servante de Dieu, car 1/ ayant déjà connaissance, par le renom public, de ses vertus héroïques, de sa sainte mort et des grâces obtenues par son intercession, ses écrits ne m'arrivaient pas sans une autorité acquise; 2/ en les étudiant, j'y trouve des caractères intrinsèques qui en garantissent l'autorité.  La vérité, l'onction jaillissent de chaque phrase, et on ne peut penser, même un instant, que l'auteur n'ait pas exprimé ce qu'il éprouvait.  De cette façon, les témoignages extrinsèques et la critique interne se corroborent pour donner une valeur incontestable à ces documents.

 

[293] [Réponse de la cinquante-deuxième à la cinquante-cinquième demande,]:

Je ne sais rien de particulier sur ces points.

 

[Réponse à la cinquante-sixième demande]:

Depuis huit ans que je suis en relations avec le Carmel de Lisieux, je n'ai pas manqué de visiter par dévotion le tombeau de la Servante de Dieu toutes les fois que les circonstances m'ont amené à Lisieux, c'est-à-dire à cinq ou six reprises différentes, en tout une vingtaine de visites.  Dans ces pèlerinages j'ai remarqué un concours régulier de pèlerins, quelquefois malgré les intempéries; de plus, ce concours va croissant.  Hier notamment, qui était un dimanche, pendant les trois quarts d'heure que j'y ai passés, j'ai remarqué une assistance se renouvelant sans cesse d'une vingtaine de personnes, hommes, femmes, soldats, etc.; ces pèlerins étaient recueillis et priant.  Je n'ai jamais entendu dire qu'on ait exercé une action quelconque pour déterminer ou entretenir ce pèlerinage.

 

 [Réponse à la cinquante-septième demande]:

Je ne sais pas si la Servante de Dieu jouissait [294] d'une réputation de sainteté pendant sa vie.

Depuis sa mort, sa réputation de sainteté., c'est-à-dire de vertus héroïques, m'est évidente, non seulement par la lecture des témoignages qu'on en a publiés, mais encore par la relation directe qui m'en a été faite par plusieurs pères de la Compagnie de Jésus, graves et particulièrement instruits; je citerai en particulier le révérend père Longhaye, âgé de près de 80 ans, professeur au juvénat de Cantorbéry.

 

TÉMOIN 4: Jean-Jules Auriault, S.J.  125

 

De plus, j'ai vérifié l'extension de ce renom de sainteté par la dévotion que j'ai constaté, d'abord dans le Carmel de Lisieux, puis dans d'autres Carmels avec lesquels je suis en rapport, dans un bon nombre de communautés religieuses; quant aux simples fidèles, l'expérience en est continue et universelle.  Or le fait de cette dévotion permet de conclure à la conviction de sa sainteté.

Quant à la réputation de miracles ou de faveurs surnaturelles obtenus par son intercession, je la connais non seulement par la lecture des« Pluies de roses », où on relate les plus remarquables, mais encore par les relations personnelles qui m'en ont été faites, notamment par la demande fréquente de messes, à l'occasion de neuvaines faites pour obtenir des miracles, des guérisons, des faveurs, etc.  Je connais un très grand nombre de personnes qui l'invoquent assidûment.

Je ne sache pas qu'on ait rien fait pour créer ce renom de sainteté.  Le développement qu’il a pris ne peut s'expliquer, à mon avis, que par la réalité de la [295] sainteté héroïque et du pouvoir thaumaturgique.  Les moyens de publicité employés par le Carmel de Lisieux ont plutôt par rapport à cette réputation une relation d'effet à cause que de cause à effet; si la base avait manqué, toute cette publicité eût plutôt nui que profité à l'extension de la dévotion à soeur Thérèse de l’Enfant Jésus.

 

 [Réponse à la cinquante-huitième demande:

Je n'ai jamais entendu formuler une opinion contraire à la vertu ou à la réputation de sainteté de la Servante de Dieu.

 

 [Réponse de la cinquante-neuvième à la soixante-cinquième demande]:

D'une façon générale, j'ai souvent entendu des personnes attribuer à l'intercession de la Servante de Dieu des faveurs spirituelles ou corporelles; je ne serais pas au-dessus de la vérité en disant que personnellement j'ai reçu une cinquantaine de témoignages de ce genre.  Je vais préciser quelques cas: la conversion subite d'un jeune homme, traversant une crise religieuse et niant l'existence de Dieu, a été obtenue au cours d'une neuvaine faite par sa mère à la Servante de Dieu.  Un autre jeune homme, menacé d'une opération par suite de tumeur tuberculeuse, s'est trouvé, dans le cours d'une neuvaine à soeur Thérèse, hors de danger, à l'étonnement du médecin.  Je pourrais indiquer d'autres faveurs; mais comme les témoignages directs ne manqueront pas sur des faits plus saillants, je ne [296] crois pas utile d'y insister.

 

 [Réponse à la soixante-sixième demande]:

Non, je crois avoir dit tout ce que je savais d'utile.

 

[Au sujet des articles, le témoin dit ne savoir que ce qu’il a déposé en répondant aux demandes précédentes.  Est ainsi terminé l’interrogatoire de ce témoin.  Lecture des actes est donnée.  Le témoin n’y apporte aucune modification et signe comme suit :

Signatum :J. Auriault