Print

Witness 5 - Alexander-James Grant

 

Pastor Alexander-James Grant has already been introduced. He was born in 1854 and died in 1917, abjuring his Protestant faith in 1911 (vol. 1, pp. 535-540).

During this, his second testimony, the witness revisits Thérèse’s intervention in his conversion and tells the Court of her reputation for holiness. Having been guardian of the Servant of God’s birthplace in Alençon since 3rd June 1912, he was well-placed to keep a record of visitors’ testimonies of veneration regarding Thérèse, the number of which had been growing significantly. Thousands of faithful piously were making the pilgrimage to the humble house in Rue Saint-Blaise.

The witness remains grateful to Sister Thérèse of the Child Jesus for all the blessings she has shown him and humbly relates them. He is given to feel her mysterious “presence” and, he says, “Sister Thérèse does not content herself with friendly words alone, or generous sentiments; she desires action, and demands sacrifices” (p. 322).

Before he died (on 19th July 1917 in Alençon), he would murmur, “Little Thérèse, come for me, if it be God’s will, and take me away with you.”

The witness testified on 31st May and 1st June 1915, in sittings 8 and 9 (pp. 305-314 and 320-323 of the Public Transcription).

 [305] [The witness answers the first question satisfactorily].

 [Answer to the second question]:

My name is Alexandre-James Grant. I was born in Latheron-Caithness, Scotland, on 14th April 1854. I was a Protestant Minister for about 25 years in Scotland. I converted to Catholicism in Edinburgh [306] in 1911. In April 1912, I came to settle in France, in the house where Sister Thérèse of the Child Jesus was born at n° 42 Rue Saint-Blaise in Alençon. I give English language lessons in a school and to private students in the town. I am married, and my wife, who converted several years before me, is guardian of Sister Thérèse’s birthplace.

[Answer to the third question]:

I am fortunate enough to receive Communion almost every day. I go to confession once a fortnight.

[Answer to the fourth question]:

Never.

[Answer to the fifth question]:

Since my conversion, I have been faithful to the Church’s precepts and have incurred no ecclesiastical penalties.

 [Answer to the sixth question]:

My love for Sister Thérèse defies words; I was once afraid that it was only a feeling, but now I am sure that my disposition is spiritual and does not prevent me from being truthful. My testimony is very spontaneous. It comes from the heart and no one has imposed it on me.

[Answer to the seventh question]:

[307] I know of the life of Sister Thérèse only from what I have read in Story of a Soul and what I have heard said since living in France. My testimony will bear on two elements only: 1stly Sister Thérèse’s influence on my conscience; and 2ndly the spread of her reputation for holiness in the region of Alençon since I settled there.

[Answer to the eighth question]:

It is my deep wish that the Church will pronounce the beatification of Sister Thérèse on account of her merits and because I believe that it will greatly benefit souls.

 [Answer to questions nine to fifty-five]:

I can provide no direct testimony on any of these points.

[Answer to the fifty-sixth question]:

Since being in France, I have visited Sister Thérèse’s burial place twenty times or so. I go there out of devotion to express my thanks and to pray. I have noticed that a fairly continual stream of pilgrims visit the site. People come not out of curiosity; instead, their dress indicates very pious intentions.

 [Answer to the fifty-seventh question]:

When I first visited Lisieux, at the time of the [308] first trial process in 1911, I was asked to take on the guardianship of Sister Thérèse’s birthplace in Alençon. I moved into the house with my wife. Both of us have observed the following as regards the number of pilgrim visitors to the house:

The people who visit the bedroom where the Servant of God was born are the country’s elect. It is not just the poor and illiterate who come and appeal for her support, but also the wealthy, the learned and the country’s brightest in terms of intellectual, moral and religious qualities.

WITNESS 5: Alexander-James Grant

Princes and princesses, dukes and duchesses, counts and countesses, bishops, priests, lawyers, army officers and ordinary soldiers, and people from all classes and backgrounds come and write their names in the visitors’ book.

The house receives large numbers of visitors. In Pentecost week, which, it is true, was an exceptional week, one thousand and seventy-three (1073) people came. In an ordinary week, we can expect to see sixty people a day, and on Thursdays, when children do not have school, we can expect at least two hundred people.

People come not to satisfy their curiosity but to pray. The pieces of paper that are placed in a small basket indicate people’s trust in the little “Flower of Jesus” and their gratitude for blessings granted. These notes carry requests for the conversion of husbands, fiancés, Protestant families, and mothers. However, since war broke out, they carry mainly requests for favours [309] for soldiers going to the front or soldiers who have already been killed or taken prisoner. Women ask that their husbands will not be harmed, etc., etc. Some of the prayers are very selfless, for example, soldiers might request nothing for themselves, but pray simply for France, the Allies and their parents. I have brought samples of such notes of request and thanks. They are no more than small scraps of paper but they convincingly show the absolute trust and gratitude that Sister Thérèse inspires.

Most visitors bring candles, which are set to burn in front of the picture of the Holy Face or statue of the Blessed Virgin. Some bring flowers; sometimes the prettiest from their garden; sometimes wild flowers picked from the fields, knowing that Sister Thérèse loved these. Often we receive as many as thirty candles a day, and flowers in such huge quantities that we are obliged to send them to the church of Notre-Dame, where Sister Thérèse was baptised. Visitors often request thanksgiving Masses for blessings received; others donate money, vases, or altar cloths; one of our most beautiful cloths was donated by the wife of a general who is posted in Alençon.

 [Answer to the fifty-eighth question]:

I have never heard anything adverse said.

[Answer to questions fifty-nine to sixty-five]:

I can first relate a certain number of blessings [310] that have been granted to various people of my acquaintance. I will then describe the blessings that I have received personally.

I will therefore quote:

1stly the healing of a four and a half year old girl’s eye. On her first visit, her eye was closed and bandaged; she came back every day for the duration of a few novenas, following which she was healed. Afterwards, she came back regularly to thank Sister Thérèse. Her mother donated some vases for Thérèse’s bedroom out of thanksgiving. This happened in 1912.

 [Do you know what the nature of the girl’s condition was, or at least, whether or not it was serious? – Answer]:

I saw the child’s eye, and it looked seriously damaged to me, but I could not say what the name of the ailment was. I also know that her doctor had been treating it for several months to no avail. The child’s mother has since died and her father is at the war.

2ndly Mrs Boulay, who lives in the small house adjacent to ours, had a large cyst on her lip that had been growing in size over the previous three months. Her doctor told her that she would need an operation in ten days’ time. She joined us in praying four novenas to Sister Thérèse. She was completely healed, and no trace of the cyst remains. When we began the novenas, she stopped all of her doctor’s treatments.

 [Do you know what the nature of the tumour was? – Answer]:

I do not know what the doctor’s opinion was, but [311] I believe that it was a cancerous cyst, because I have known several cases of confirmed cancer and the symptoms looked the same.

3rdly A postal worker in Alençon, who had not been to confession for eight years, fell sick and was told by his doctor that he needed an operation. His wife came to see me and said that if Thérèse saved him from being operated, he promised to carry out his Easter duty. She got together a large number of people to join her in praying a novena. The operation was not necessary, and the man went to confession, and later came to visit little Sister Thérèse’s bedroom.

If I may give an overall impression of the work that Sister Thérèse has performed in me personally, I would say that it was her wish to draw men closer to God, to lead them to His sheepfold, and to ennoble and purify their life, thus fulfilling her promise to do good on earth.

[312] [Continuation of the answer]:

2ndly Among the blessings that I myself have received, the most significant is my conversion to the Catholic faith, which was heavily influenced by Sister Thérèse. It happened as follows: when I was leading a parish in Loch-Ranza as a Minister of the United Church of Scotland, my wife, under foreign influences, converted to Catholicism. At first I was opposed to this, but eventually I accepted the fait accompli out of respect for her freedom of conscience. I, on the other hand, had no intention of becoming Catholic; quite the opposite. My wife’s conversion created in intolerable situation in my parish; I was obliged to leave my post and retire to Edinburgh where I continued my ministry as an independent preacher. My wife had many people pray for my conversion, but I had no knowledge of this. One day, in a Catholic newspaper, I happened to read a brief article on Sister Thérèse, known as “the little Flower”, which announced an imminent publication of her autobiography in English. The desire to read it immediately took hold of me and I would frequently ask my wife whether we could purchase it. A year later, when I had an illness, failing the much-anticipated publication, which was not issued until much later, I was able to read an abridged version of her life story in English.

WITNESS 5: Alexander-James Grant

I read it one night, in one sitting, and [313] during all that time I had the impression that Sister Thérèse was present in my bedroom. I could not stop thinking about her after that. At about the same time, I developed serious doubts as regards the faith after reading some very advanced rationalist books, and one day I asked myself the following question: “Can everything be explained by the laws of nature, without a personal God?” Sister Thérèse’s life story quickly sprung to mind, and I immediately thought, “Is it possible that her life story is a lie and that rationalism is truth?” I realised that her life could not be explained without accepting the existence of a personal God. This was in August 1910; and yet I did not convert until April the following year. The evolution took place little by little over the winter, under the influence of Sister Thérèse. I had bought a copy of her life story in French; hardly a moment went by that I did not think of her; I felt her continually acting on my spirit, pushing me to convert. I, however, resisted her pressure with all my might. That was how things remained until the beginning of April 1911. I had begun to suffer great torment and was deeply miserable as a result of my inner struggle as I continued preaching the Protestant doctrine on the one hand, while feeling drawn to the Catholic truth on the other. Sister Thérèse’s influence inspired two overriding thoughts, the first being that, through its infallible authority, the Catholic Church did away with all the other minor difficulties; [314] the second was that I needed to pray to the Blessed Virgin. One day when I was praying to Sister Thérèse, I wondered, “Why accept to pray to God, to Sister Thérèse, and not to the Blessed Virgin?” I decided, “Well, I shall pray to her!” And my soul was immediately flooded with great joy.

One Jesuit priest whom I consulted at the time advised me not to hurry and to continue my ministry until it became clear what I should do. However, a nun who was teaching me French and knew my state of mind pressed me to make a decision. Yet it was above all my moral suffering and the attractive influence of Sister Thérèse that made up my mind to abjure my Protestant faith, which I did in April 1911.

[Session 9: - 1st June 1915, at 8:30 am]

[320] [Continuation of the answer to questions fifty-nine to sixty-five inclusively]:

Following my conversion, I found myself deprived of all sources of income, and as I had no [321] personal savings, I had reason to fear financial difficulty. This fear oppressed me for a while, but I overcame it. Shortly afterwards, Sister Thérèse made her spiritual presence known to me on two further occasions, giving me the unshakable conviction that she was taking care of us where money was concerned, and she did: even though we took great care to hide our financial embarrassment, a Catholic priest from Glasgow, who was himself a converted Protestant minister, hand delivered me a cheque for two hundred pounds sterling the following day.

I would now like to talk about the personal debt to little Thérèse that I have built up since appearing before this court for the first time (1911). At that time I was merely a three month old child in the Catholic Church, which is why I feared that, once the wave of emotion that had pushed me into the Church had passed, I would find myself victim to illusions corresponding to nothing in reality. Time and deep reflection appeased my fears, however, and convinced me that I possessed the most precious of convictions and aspirations, and I owed these convictions and aspirations uniquely to the influence that my dear little heavenly protector exerted upon me in my favour.

Since I joined the Church, the ties that unite us have grown stronger, and I hope it is not crossing the line of modesty to add that I believe to have made some progress under her inspiration. I think I am allowed to say that I am aware [322] of my life having been raised higher, of my convictions having deepened, and of my desire to live a holy life having become more focused. I am also aware of being more penitent for my past sins and of living in an atmosphere of purity of thought and sentiment, an atmosphere that I strove vainly to reach when I was Protestant. And if I have made such little progress along the “sure way”, it is not for want of help from my celestial guide.

One of the things that has struck me most is the deep sense of spiritual understanding that descends upon my soul through her intercession. Oh, it’s simply wonderful! In an instant, when I have least been expecting it, and when my natural train of thinking has been leading me in the opposite direction, I have suddenly felt my soul flood with a sense of spiritual understanding that I can only describe in the words of the patriarch [Jacob]: “Surely the Lord is in this place; and I knew it not.” On these occasions, a realisation of a spiritual dimension dawns on me, becoming obvious to me; the following words come powerfully to my mind: “Thérèse is praying for you.” I have been paid such visits by her many times, and have learned that they herald times of temptations.

Sister Thérèse does not content herself with friendly words alone, or generous sentiments; she desires action, and demands sacrifices. One of the first things she asked of me when I joined the Church [323] was to rid myself of the books of which she disapproved. Most of them were decidedly rationalist: I immediately gave them up for her. Yet there were certain books of other genres that deeply interested me and which I kept, seeing no harm in them. At a later date, however, Sister Thérèse returned and, looking carefully through my library shelves, began raising objections: “This one must go,” she said, “and this one too,” and so on. I apologised profusely for having kept them, but she kept pressing the matter, saying, “What do you wish to do with them now?” And, seeing that I was still attached to them, she put an end to the discussion by giving me a genuine aversion to them.

WITNESS 5: Alexander-James Grant

What I have described here is only one of the many blessings for which I owe her.

It is wonderful to see how the dear little Carmelite will have things happen her own way, and how she makes her wishes known and attends to fulfilling them. I am convinced that if my surrender was absolute, there is nothing she would not teach me. Yet I fear she finds me a pupil who is difficult to lead and slow to follow. In any case, I do not think it is possible to exaggerate her influence on me or my love for her. What I have said is only a very feeble attempt to express the inexpressible.

 [Answer to the sixty-sixth question]:

I have nothing to add.

[324] [With regards to the Articles, the witness claims to know nothing other than what they have already reported in response to the preceding questions. Here ends the questioning of this witness. The Acts are read out. The witness makes no alteration to them and signs as follows]:

Signatum:      A.  J. GRANT

Imprimer

Témoin 5 - Alexander-James Grant

TÉMOIN V

ALEXANDER-JAMES GRANT

Nous avons déjà présenté le Pasteur ,Alexander-James Grant.  Né en 1854 et mort en 1917, il abjura en 1911 (vol. 1, pp. 535-540).

Au cours de cette seconde déposition, le témoin revient sur l'intervention de Thérèse dans sa conversion et nous entretient de sa réputation de sainteté.  Gardien de la maison natale de la Servante de Dieu à Alençon depuis le 3 juin 1912, il était bien placé pour enregistrer les témoignages de vénération qui étaient allés se multipliant progressivement de manière impressionnante à l'égard de Thérèse.  Des milliers de fidèles se rendaient pieusement en pèlerinage à l'humble maison de la rue Saint-Blaise.

Le témoin demeure reconnaissant à soeur Thérèse de l'Enfant-Jésus pour tous ses bienfaits et en témoigne humblement.  Il expérimente de manière mystérieuse sa « présence » particulière et, dit-il, « soeur Thérèse ne se contente pas de simples paroles d'amitié, ni de sentiments généreux, elle veut des actes, elle réclame des sacrifices » (p. 322).

Avant de mourir (ce fut à Alençon, le 19 juillet 1917), il murmura: « Petite Thérèse, venez me chercher, si c'est la volonté de Dieu et prenez moi avec vous.»

Le témoin déposa le 31 mai et le ler juin 1915, au cours des 8ème et 9ème sessions (pp. 305-314 et 320-323 de notre Copie publique).

 

 [305] [Le témoin répond correctement à la première demande].

 

 [Réponse à la deuxième demande]:

Je m'appelle Alexandre-James Grant, né à Latheron-Caithness, Ecosse, le 14 avril 1854.  J'étais ministre protestant pendant environ 25 ans, en Ecosse.  Je me suis converti à la religion catholique à Edim-[306]burg, en 1911. En avril 1912, je suis venu établir mon domicile en France, à Alençon, dans la maison natale de soeur Thérèse de l’Enfant Jésus, rue Saint-Blaise n. 42.  Je donne des leçons de langue anglaise, soit dans une école, soit à des particuliers dans la ville.  Je suis marié, ma femme, convertie elle-même plusieurs années avant moi, est gardienne de la maison natale de soeur Thérèse.

 

[Réponse à la troisième demande]:

J'ai le bonheur de communier presque tous les jours.  Je me confesse tous les quinze jours.

 

[Réponse à la quatrième demande]:

Jamais.

 

[Réponse à la cinquième demande]:

Depuis ma conversion, j'ai été fidèle aux préceptes de l'Eglise et je n'ai encouru aucune peine ecclésiastique.

 

 [Réponse à la sixième demande]:

J'aime soeur Thérèse au-delà de ce qu'on peut dire; j'ai eu peur autrefois que ce ne fut que du sentiment, mais maintenant je suis bien sûr que cette disposition est surnaturelle et qu'elle ne m'empêche pas de dire la vérité.  Mon témoignage est très spontané, il part de mon coeur et personne ne me l'a imposé.

 

[Réponse à la septième demande]:

[307] Je ne connais la vie de soeur Thérèse que par la lecture de son «Histoire » et par ce que j’en ai entendu dire depuis que je suis en France.  Mon témoignage ne portera que sur deux choses: 1° l'influence de soeur Thérèse sur l'état de mon âme – 2° le développement de sa réputation de sainteté dans la région d'Alençon, depuis que j'y ai fixé mon domicile.

 

[Réponse à la huitième demande]:

Je désire beaucoup que l'Eglise prononce la béatification de soeur Thérèse, à cause de ses mérites et parce que je crois qu'il en résultera un grand bien pour les âmes.

 

 [Réponse de la neuvième à la cinquante-cinquième demande]:

Je n'ai point de témoignage direct à donner sur tous ces points.

 

[Réponse à la cinquante-sixième demande]:

Depuis que je suis en France, j'ai visité le tombeau de soeur Thérèse une vingtaine de fois environ; j'y venais par dévotion pour témoigner ma reconnaissance et pour prier.  J'ai remarqué qu'il y avait un courant de pèlerins à peu près continuel.  Ces personnes ne venaient pas par curiosité, mais leur tenue exprimait des sentiments de grande piété.

 

 [Réponse à la cinquante-septième demande]:

A l'occasion de ma première visite à Lisieux, à l'épo-[308]que du premier procès, en 1911, on me demanda de devenir le gardien de la maison natale de soeur Thérèse à Alençon.  Je m'y suis établi avec ma femme.  Voici ce que nous avons constaté l'un et l'autre, au sujet du concours des pèlerins vers cette maison:

La chambre où est née la Servante de Dieu est visitée par l'élite du pays.  Ce ne sont pas simplement les pauvres et les illettrés qui viennent invoquer son appui, mais les riches, les savants et ceux qui sont les meilleurs du pays au point de vue intellectuel, moral et religieux.

 

TÉMOIN 5: Alexander-James Grant

 

Princes et princesses, ducs et duchesses, comtes et comtesses, évêques, prêtres, hommes de loi, officiers et simples soldats, gens de toutes classes et de toutes conditions viennent et inscrivent leurs noms au livre des visiteurs.

Ces visiteurs sont très nombreux.  La semaine de la Pentecôte, qui est, il est vrai, une semaine exceptionnelle, il en est venu mille soixante-treize (1073).  Les semaines ordinaires, il vient environ soixante personnes par jour, et le jeudi, jour de congé pour les enfants, il vient bien deux cents personnes.

Ces pèlerins se proposent, non de satisfaire leur curiosité, mais de prier.  Les feuilles de papier, déposées dans une petite corbeille, témoignent de leur confiance en la petite «Fleur de Jésus » et de leur reconnaissance pour les faveurs accordées.  On y trouve des requêtes pour la conversion d'un mari, d'un fiancé, d'une famille protestante, d'une mère.  Mais, depuis le commencement de la guerre, ce sont, pour la plupart, des faveurs [309] demandées par des soldats allant au front, ou pour des soldats déjà partis, ou prisonniers.  Des femmes demandent que leur mari ne soit pas blessé, etc., etc.  Il y a des prières très désintéressées, par exemple, un soldat ne demande rien pour lui-même, il prie simplement pour la France, pour les alliés et pour ses parents.  J'ai apporté des spécimens de ces requêtes et de ces remerciements.  Ce ne sont que de petits morceaux de papier, mais ils montrent d'une manière convaincante la confiance et la gratitude parfaites que soeur Thérèse inspire.

La plupart de ces visiteurs apportent des bougies que l'on fait brûler devant la Sainte Face ou devant la statue de la Sainte Vierge.  Quelques-uns donnent des fleurs, les plus belles de leur jardin; quelquefois des fleurs sauvages cueillies dans les champs, sachant que soeur Thérèse les aimait.  Il nous arrive souvent de recevoir trente bougies par jour, et des fleurs en si grande quantité que nous sommes obligés de les envoyer à l'église Notre-Dame, où fut baptisée soeur Thérèse.  Les visiteurs demandent souvent des messes d'action de grâces pour les faveurs reçues; d'autres offrent de l'argent, des vases de fleurs, des nappes d'autel; une des plus belles a été donnée par la femme du général qui commande à Alençon.

 

 [ R épouse à la cinquante-huitième demande]:

Je n'ai jamais entendu rien de contraire.

 

[Réponse de la cinquante-neuvième à la soixante-cinquième demande]:

Je puis relater d'abord un certain nombre de grâces [310] accordées à diverses personnes, à ma connaissance.  Je dirai ensuite les grâces qui me sont personnelles.

Je citerai donc:

1° La guérison d'un oeil chez une petite fille de quatre ans et demi.  A sa première visite, elle avait l'oeil fermé et bandé; elle revint tous les jours pendant quelques neuvaines, à la fin desquelles elle fut guérie.  Dans la suite, elle vint souvent remercier soeur Thérèse.  Sa mère a donné en reconnaissance des vases pour la chambre; cela se passait en 1912.

 [Savez-vous quelle était la nature de ce mal, ou, à tout le moins, s'il était grave ou non? - Réponse]:

J'ai vu l'oeil de cette enfant, il me paraissait gravement atteint, mais je ne saurais dire le nom de cette affection.  Je sais encore que le médecin l'avait traitée depuis plusieurs mois sans résultat.  La mère de l'enfant est morte et son père est à la guerre.

2° Madame Boulay, qui habite la petite maison voisine de la nôtre, avait à la lèvre un gros kyste qui avait été en grossissant pendant trois mois.  Alors le médecin lui dit qu'il faudrait une opération au bout de dix jours.  Nous avons fait avec elle quatre neuvaines à soeur Thérèse.  Elle a été complètement guérie, on ne voit plus trace du mal.  Au moment de faire les neuvaines, elle avait cessé tout traitement du médecin.

 

 [Connaissez-vous la nature de cette tumeur? - Réponse]:

Je ne sais pas quel était l'avis du médecin, mais [311] mon impression est qu'il s'agissait d'un kyste cancéreux, parce que j'ai connu plusieurs personnes atteintes de cancer certain et dont le mal présentait le même aspect.

3° Un employé du bureau de poste d'Alençon qui ne s'était pas confessé depuis huit ans, était malade, et le docteur disait qu'il faudrait une opération.  Sa femme vint me voir et me dit que si soeur Thérèse le préservait de l'opération, il promettait d'accomplir son devoir pascal.  Elle trouva beaucoup de personnes qui firent une neuvaine avec elle.  L'opération ne fut pas nécessaire, et l'homme a fait son devoir, et est venu depuis visiter la chambre de la petite soeur Thérèse.

Si on me permettait de dégager l'impression générale que l'oeuvre de soeur Thérèse a faite sur moi-même, je dirais qu'elle a voulu attirer les hommes plus près de Dieu, les conduire à son bercail, ennoblir et purifier leur vie, remplissant ainsi sa promesse de faire du bien sur la terre.

 

[312] [Suite de la réponse]:

2° En ce qui concerne les grâces qui me sont personnelles, la principale est ma conversion à la religion catholique, qui s'est faite sous l'influence de soeur Thérèse.  En voici l'histoire: pendant que j'étais à la tête d'une paroisse, à Loch-Ranza, comme ministre de l'Eglise unie écossaise, ma femme, sous des influences étrangères, se convertit au catholicisme; j'y fis d'abord opposition, mais finalement j'acceptai le fait accompli, par respect pour sa liberté de conscience.  Je n'avais alors pour mon compte aucune idée de me faire catholique, bien au contraire.  Cette conversion de ma femme me créa une situation intolérable dans ma paroisse; je fus obligé de quitter ce poste et je me retirai à Edimbourg où j'exerçai un ministère de prédicateur libre.  Ma femme faisait beaucoup prier pour ma conversion, mais tout cela à mon insu.  Un jour, je lus, par hasard, dans un journal catholique, un article de quelques lignes sur soeur Thérèse appelée « la petite Fleur », et annonçant la prochaine apparition d'une édition anglaise de sa vie.  Je fus dès lors poursuivi par le désir de lire cette vie et je demandai fréquemment à ma femme si on pouvait se la procurer.  Un an après, étant malade, à défaut de cette édition attendue qui ne parut que beaucoup plus

 

TÉMOIN 5: Alexander-James Grant

 

tard, je pus lire une vie abrégée en anglais.  Je la lus d'un trait dans une nuit, et j'eus [313] pendant tout ce temps comme une impression de la présence de soeur Thérèse dans ma chambre.  Sa pensée ne me quitta presque plus dans la suite.  Vers cette époque, la lecture de livres rationalistes très avancés, fit naître en moi des doutes graves sur la foi, et un jour que je me posais cette question « ne pourrait-on pas tout expliquer par les seules forces de la nature sans un Dieu personnel? », la vie de soeur Thérèse se présenta très vivement à mon esprit, et aussitôt cette pensée s'imposa à moi: « est-il possible que cette vie soit un mensonge et que le rationalisme soit la vérité? », car je voyais qu'il était impossible d'expliquer cette vie sans admettre un Dieu personnel.  C'était au mois d'août de l'année 1910; et je ne me convertis pourtant qu’en avril de l'année suivante. Cette évolution se fit peu à peu au cours de l'hiver, sous l'influence de soeur Thérèse.  Je m'étais procuré sa vie en français; son souvenir ne me quittait presque plus; je sentais que sans cesse elle agissait sur mon esprit pour me pousser à la conversion; mais de mon côté, je résistais de toutes mes forces à cette impulsion.  Il en fut ainsi jusqu'au commencement d'avril 1911. Je souffrais de grandes angoisses et j'étais très malheureux dans ce combat intérieur, continuant d'un côté de prêcher la doctrine protestante, et de l'autre me sentant attiré vers la vérité catholique.  L'influence de soeur Thérèse me suggérait surtout deux pensées, la première que l'Eglise catholique par son autorité infaillible supprime toutes les autres difficultés particulières, [314] la seconde qu'il faut invoquer la Sainte Vierge.  Un jour que je priais soeur Thérèse, cette question s'imposa à mon esprit: « pourquoi me prier, moi, et ne pas prier la Sainte Vierge?» Je répondis: « eh! bien, je la prierai», et aussitôt mon âme fut pénétrée d'une grande joie.

Un père jésuite que je consultai à cette époque, me conseillait de ne pas me presser et de continuer mon ministère en attendant que la lumière se fasse plus complète pour moi.  D'un autre côté une religieuse qui me donnait des leçons de français et qui connaissait mon état d'âme, me pressait d'en finir.  Mais ce furent surtout mes souffrances morales et l'influence attractive de soeur Thérèse qui me déterminèrent à l'abjuration que je fis au mois d'avril 1911.

 

[Session 9: - 1 juin 1915, à 8h.30]

[320] [Suite de la réponse de la cinquante-neuvième à la soixante-cinquième demande inclusivement]:

Par suite de ma conversion, je me trouvai privé de tous mes moyens d'existence, et comme je n'ai pas [321] de fortune personnelle, je pouvais craindre la gêne matérielle.  Cette crainte me fit impression quelque temps, mais je la surmontai.  J'eus alors de nouveau à deux reprises l'impression spirituelle de la présence de soeur Thérèse auprès de moi et la conviction impérieuse qu'elle s'occupait de nous à ce point de vue.  En effet, quoique nous eussions pris grand soin de cacher notre situation embarrassée, un prêtre catholique de Glascow, lui-même ancien ministre protestant converti, m'apporta de lui-même le lendemain un chèque de deux cents livres anglaises.

Je voudrais parler maintenant de ma dette personnelle à la petite Thérèse depuis que j'ai paru pour la première fois devant ce tribunal (1911).  A cette époque je n'étais qu'un enfant de trois mois dans l'Eglise Catholique, et c'est pourquoi je craignais, une fois passée la vague d'émotion qui m'avait poussé dans l'Eglise, de me trouver victime d'illusions auxquelles rien ne correspondrait dans la réalité.  Le temps, et des réflexions approfondies ont cependant apaisé mes craintes et m'ont convaincu que j'étais en possession de convictions et d'aspirations de la plus précieuse qualité, et que je puis seulement faire remonter à l'influence exercée sur moi et en ma faveur par ma chère petite protectrice céleste.

Depuis mon entrée dans l'Eglise, les liens qui nous unissent se sont fortifiés, et on ne croira pas, je l'espère, que je dépasse les limites de la modestie, si j'ajoute que je pense avoir fait quelques progrès sous son inspiration.  Je me crois autorisé à le dire, j'ai conscience [322] que ma vie a été élevée plus haut, que mes convictions sont devenues plus profondes, mon désir plus exclusif de parvenir à une vie de sainteté; j'ai conscience aussi que je suis dans un état d'âme plus profondément pénitent pour mes péchés passés et que je vis dans une atmosphère de pureté de pensées et de sentiment que je m’efforçai vainement d'atteindre quand j'étais protestant.  Et si j'ai fait si peu de progrès dans «la voie sûre», ce n'est pas que j'aie manqué de secours de la part de mon céleste guide.

Une des choses qui m'ont le plus frappé, c’est le sens du surnaturel qu'elle fait descendre sur l'âme.  Oh! cela est merveilleux!  En un instant, quand je m'y attendais le moins et quand le train naturel de mes pensées me conduisait au pôle opposé, je trouvais soudain mon âme envahie d'un sens du surnaturel qui ne saurait mieux s'exprimer que par les paroles du patriarche [Jacob] « Certainement le Seigneur était ici, et je ne le savais pas.»  Et en de telles occasions, une pensée brillait à travers mon esprit, laquelle m'en imposait, comme le surnaturel lui-même; ces mots m'arrivaient avec une grande puissance: « Thérèse prie pour vous.»  J'ai eu de ses visites à maintes reprises, et j'ai appris qu'elles présageaient un temps de tentations.

Soeur Thérèse ne se contente pas de simples paroles d'amitié, ni de sentiments généreux; elle veut des actes, elle réclame des sacrifices.  Une des premières choses qu’elle me demanda, à mon entrée dans l'Eglise, [323] ce fut de me séparer de livres qu'elle n'approuvait pas.  Ils étaient pour la plupart nettement rationalistes: je les lui sacrifiai immédiatement.  Mais il y avait certains ouvrages d'un autre genre qui m’intéressaient vivement et que je conservai, n'y voyant pas de mal.  Plus tard cependant soeur Thérèse revint et, regardant attentivement à travers les rayons de ma bibliothèque, se mit à soulever des objections « celui-ci doit s'en aller - dit-elle - et celui-là aussi», etc.  Je m'excusai beaucoup de les avoir retenus, mais elle revint maintes fois à la charge, en me disant: «Que voulez-vous en faire maintenant?» Et voyant que j'y étais toujours attaché, elle termi-

 

TÉMOIN 5: Alexander-James Grant

 

na enfin la discussion en m'en donnant une réelle aversion.

Ce que j'ai dit ici n'est qu'un des nombreux bienfaits dont je lui suis redevable.

C'est merveille de voir comment la chère petite soeur a ses moyens propres, comment elle fait connaître ses désirs et en obtient la réalisation.  J'ai la conviction que si l'abandon était complet de ma part, il n’y a rien qu'elle ne m'apprît.  Mais je crains qu’elle  ne trouve en moi un élève difficile à conduire et lent à suivre.  En tout cas, je crois qu'il est impossible d'exagérer son influence sur moi et mon amour pour elle. Ce que j'ai dit n'est qu'un essai bien faible pour exprimer l'inexprimable.

 

 [Réponse à la soixante-sixième demande]:

Je n'ai rien à ajouter.

 

[324] [Au sujet des Articles, le témoin dit ne savoir que ce qu'il a déjà déposé en répondant aux demandes précédentes. Est ainsi terminé l'interrogatoire de ce témoin. Lecture des Actes est donnée. Le témoin n'y apporte aucune modification et signe comme suit]:

Signatum:      A.  J. GRANT