Print

Witness 6 - Lucien-Victor Dumaine

 

The sixth witness is Lucien-Victor Dumaine, Vicar-General of the Diocese of Séez.

Born in Tinchebray (Orne) on 8th September 1842, he was ordained priest in Séez on 15th June 1867. He was first nominated Vicar of La Lande-Patry in 1868, then of the Church of Notre Dame in Alençon; it was here that he baptized Thérèse Martin on 4th January 1873. He had particular esteem for Mr. Martin and his friendship for his family didn’t stop when they moved to Lisieux. Successively Curate of Tourouvre and Montsort, and then Archpriest of the Cathedral of Séez, he went on to become Vicar-General in 1899.

Learned and pious, devoted to religious historical research in the region, he enjoyed looking after the soldiers he was in contact with during the Franco-Prussian War of 1870, and became their chaplain. He died in Séez on 25th September 1926, therefore after the canonization of Saint Thérèse of the Child Jesus (V.T. October 1961, pp.36-40). Father Dumaine was above all able to testify on the Martins’ family background in Alençon, and also on Thérèse’s reputation for holiness in the diocese of Séez.

He testified on 25th November 1910, in the 40th session, pp. 457r-464v of our Public Copy.

[Session 40: - 25th November 1910, at 8:30am and at 2pm]

[457v] [The witness answers the first question correctly].

[Answer to the second question]:

My name is Dumaine Lucien-Victor; I am 68 years old, having [458r] been born in Tinchebray, in the diocese of Séez, on 8th September 1842. I am a titular Canon of the Cathedral of Séez and honorary Vicar-General to his Excellency the Bishop of Séez, after having been titular Vicar-General from March 1899 to January 1910.

[The witness correctly answers questions three to six inclusively].

[Answer to the seventh question]:

I am prompted to give this testimony by my desire for God’s glory and the particular affection I have for the Servant of God, whom I baptized myself.

[Answer to the eighth question]:

1st As Vicar of Notre Dame Church in Alençon (June 1868 to June 1876), I knew the Servant of God’s family intimately, and kept up close relations with them; I heard the confessions of several members of the family and I was fortunate enough to baptize the Servant of God myself. These relations continued until Mr. Martin [458v] and his children left for Lisieux, after the death of Mrs. Martin.

2nd Since they left, I haven’t had any more direct contact with the family.

3rd When the Servant of God’s reputation for holiness spread after her death, I decided to learn about her by attentively reading the book entitled “Story of a Soul”. Moreover, I got in contact with the Carmel of Lisieux, and have been kept up to date by the Prioress and nuns about everything that has happened concerning the Servant of God.

4th His Excellency the Bishop of Séez asked me to exhibit to the court everything involving Sister Thérèse’s reputation for holiness and her miracles in the diocese of Séez. I am well informed by my numerous connections among the clergy and by the faithful in the diocese and from attentively observing peoples’ frames of mind on this subject.  

[Reply to the ninth question]:

I desire very much the success of this Cause for the glory of God, the honour of the two dioceses of Séez and Bayeux and for the general good of souls who, I’m [459r] sure, will obtain very precious graces through invoking the Servant of God.

[Answer to the tenth question]:

The Servant of God was born in Alençon, in the parish of Notre Dame, on 2nd January 1873. Her father, Mr. Louis Martin, lived until about 1871 in the parish of Saint Pierre de Monsort, in Alençon, where he worked as a jeweler and watchmaker. He had acquired a very honourable position and quite a handsome fortune. He left his business to go and live in rue Saint Blaise, in the parish of Notre Dame. It’s there that the Servant of God was born. Her mother, Mrs. Martin, born Guérin, engaged in lace-making, called point d’Alençon (Alençon lace). Mr. and Mrs. Martin already had eight children before Thérèse was born. Several of them died at a young age. I knew those who survived very well: Marie, Pauline, Léonie and Céline. I believe that when Thérèse was born, her elder sisters could have been between 12 and 13. At first the Servant of God was fed and brought up by her mother; but when the child fell ill, she was sent to a wet-nurse in Semallé, near Alençon. She recovered her health and went back to the family. Mrs. Martin [459v] took it upon herself to educate the child, until her premature death when Thérèse was about four and a half years old. Her elder sisters, Marie and Pauline, then tended to the bringing up of their young sister. Shortly after Mrs. Martin’s death Mr. Martin moved to Lisieux; as for me, I was nominated in 1878 to another post and I lost sight of this family a little.      

[Answer to the eleventh question]:

Mr. Martin got married rather late in life. The reputation for piety and fervour in his Christian life led people in the town to believe that he had made a vow of celibacy. His religious practices were very marked. He went to church a great deal, went to mass even during the week, took communion frequently (especially at that time) and was a member of the Association for the monthly nocturnal Adoration of the Holy Sacrament. His character, which was serious and a little melancholy on the outside, was gentle and joyful among family and friends. In his spare time he enjoyed fishing, often in the company of his curate, and he usually sent the product of his fishing to the nuns [460r] at the Poor Clares convent in Alençon. He knew how to be benevolent in the managing of his wealth and was widely esteemed: he was considered a perfectly honest gentleman. I was not so familiar with Mrs. Martin. She was reserved (and a housewife). She was very pious and very good. The unity within the family was remarkable, both between the spouses, and between parents and children.

[Answer to the twelfth question]:

I baptized her myself on Saturday 4th January 1873, in the evening, in Notre Dame Church in Alençon, as proves the baptism certificate which, since the Servant of God’s death, has been photographed and distributed among the public. Following the vice-postulator’s wishes, I added an apostil to the copy of the baptism certificate that he intends to include in the Trial: “I bless God for having granted me the grace to open through holy baptism the door to heaven unto the future little Carmelite Saint of Lisieux; I am pleased to testify in particular to the profoundly Christian and good background in which she was born and grew up. Signed: LUCIEN DUMAINE, Vicar-General of Séez (September 1909). Cum sigillo.”

[460v] [Answer to the thirteenth question]:

My friendly connections with the different members of the Martin family during the years I spent in Alençon allowed me to observe the behaviour and habits of the parents and children. The young daughters were, from a young age, trained in a very serious and fervent piety. Their attitude demonstrated that their human and Christian education was led very well.  

[Answer to questions fourteen to nineteen inclusive]:

I don’t know anything about these points, apart from what is written in the “Story of a Soul”.

[Answer to the twentieth question]:

If I judge her life on my attentive reading of her autobiography, I can’t help but believe that her virtue is completely out of the ordinary. It seems to me that her great simplicity, her profound self-denial, her constant mortification and her extraordinary love of God exceed even that of profoundly Christian souls.

[461r] [What do you think about the genre and the truth of the “Story of a Soul” and therefore about what this writing tells us about the Servant of God, her childhood and death?]:

My conviction is that this book was really written before God and that it is perfectly sincere. I know that on some occasions traits of a certain sentimentality have been pointed out, at least that’s several people’s opinion. But these details appeared to me as negligible in relation to the ensemble of positive acts that constitute her life and demonstrate the authenticity of her virtues.

[Answer to questions twenty-one to twenty-four inclusive]:

Only knowing these details indirectly through reading her life story, I believe that my testimony wouldn’t be of great benefit in a trial where first-hand witnesses must abound.

[Answer to the twenty-fifth and twenty-sixth questions]:

I went to cemetery of Lisieux last year (15th November 1909). As soon as I arrived, the guardian of the ce-[461v]metery spontaneously said to me: I know why you have come: it’s for the little Saint, take the left alley, etc.” I found the tomb decorated with flowers and different pious objects attesting to the frequency with which visitors come and to their trust. I’ve learnt that since then there has been, as there was prior to my pilgrimage also, a considerable and regular flow of people to the grave. To prove it I have the letters and conversations not only from the Carmel of Lisieux but also from people who themselves went to the grave on different occasions. The corroborating reports were given to me by not only simple and less educated people, but also by grave and well-educated people, and even by venerable priests who are the epitome of dignity, including Canon Guesdon, former Archpriest of the Cathedral of Séez and former professor at the Seminary of Séez where he taught for about 30 years.    

[462r] [Answer to the twenty-seventh question]:

Since the Servant of God’s death and the publication of the “Story of a Soul”, I have, on many occasions, and in all the regions in the diocese of Séez, observed that people are unanimous in their conviction that she was heroically holy. I can safely say that I saw, among the faithful and priests everywhere, trust that was expressed in prayers, and in veneration of her pictures and souvenirs. I have been frequently approached and asked to intervene to obtain one or other of these objects from the Carmel. If, as I will say so later, I have heard people question the appropriateness of one or other means employed to make her better known, never in my knowledge have I heard people doubt the crux of the matter, that is to say [462v] her heroic virtues.    

[The Promoter of the Faith asks whether such a reputation for holiness might stem from exaggerated and excessive admiration. The witness’ answer]:

I can confirm that on the whole it is not so. Among those who have told me about their admiration and trust, there are many who are particularly learned and levelheaded and whose judgment is based on a carefully thought-out and impartial observation of the facts. I don’t think it is irrelevant to note at this point that out of the many religious communities in the diocese, I haven’t found a single one that wasn’t altogether convinced of the holiness of this young Carmelite nun. Now, all those who have experience of living in a community know that a certain emulation prevails between them guaranteeing the value of any testimony relating to members of other communities. I can mention among other learned and prudent figures who confirm Sister Thérèse’s heroic life: 1st all my canon colleagues at the Cathedral of Séez; 2nd the three curates of the parishes of Alençon (Notre Dame, [463r] Saint Pierre and Saint Léonard); 3rd the Archpriest of Argentan, who knew the family well in the past, being Vicar of Saint Pierre de Monsort, the parish where Mr. Martin then lived; 4th the Archpriest of Mortagne, and former Curate of the Church of Saint Léonard in Alençon; 5th the Most Reverend Father of the Trappist Monastery; 6th the Superior of the Major Seminary of Séez who, while having some reservations about the “sentimentality” that he finds in the “Story of a Soul”, unhesitatingly admits the Servant of God’s heroic virtues.      

[Doesn’t her reputation owe its growth and expansion to a certain industrious zeal on the part of her family?]:

Distributing the “Story of a Soul" and pictures and souvenirs of Sister Thérèse of the Child Jesus has undoubtedly contributed to making her better known, but I think that it is only what could be called artificial publicity. Very often I have noticed that it was those who were already convinced of Sister Thérèse’s holiness who wished to possess one of her objects or read the detailed story of her life. I myself have handed out some souvenirs or copies of her life story that were given to me [463v] by the Carmel of Lisieux, but I can confirm that the Carmelite nuns never asked me to actively distribute them, something I only did with discretion.    

[Answer to the twenty-eighth question]:

I have never heard anyone make a contrary remark with regard to the substance of the Servant of God’s reputation for holiness. On the odd occasion, but they were very few, I have heard some criticism directed towards the way the distribution of her story and souvenirs was undertaken; some found that “too much fuss” was being made in her memory. The two or three people that I heard say this are decent and recommendable people, but I think that in their case their remarks weren’t the result of a well-pondered appreciation; they were rather what we would call “small-talk” or “an impression”.

[Answer to the twenty-ninth question]:

I have observed on many occasions that in their veneration and trust of the Servant of God, [464r] the faithful were convinced not only that she was holy, but also that, through her prayers, she obtained a large number and a variety of different prodigious graces. They have faith in the words she once uttered: “I want to spend my heaven doing good on earth” – DEA 17-7 -. Consequently, she is invoked everywhere for healings, conversions, for solving temporal and spiritual difficulties, and so on. I have indirectly heard of several favours that were obtained though her intercession and reported to the Reverend Mother Prioress of the Carmel of Lisieux. I personally knew a lady who had received one of these favours and who recounted it to me as follows (Miss Louise Alexandre, who is about 50 years old and lives in Saint Front de Collière): “I was suffering from a serious eye complaint that the doctor had noticed and treated. When I prayed at Sister Thérèse’s tomb, I was suddenly and completely cured.” A detailed report of this event was sent by Miss Alexandre to the Reverend Mother Prioress of Lisieux, and I who knew this lady very well, didn’t hesitate in attesting, at the bottom of the document, that this very Christian person was very honourable, sensible, and worthy of credence.  

[464v] [Answer to the thirtieth question]:

I can’t see anything to modify in my deposition.

[Concerning the Articles, the witness says he only knows what he has already testified by answering the preceding questions. – This marks the end of the interrogation of this witness. The Acts are read out. The witness makes no modification and signs as follows]:

Ita pro veritate deposui, ratum habeo et confirmo.

Signatum: LUCIEN DUMAINE, canonicus, vicarius generalis sagiensis.

Imprimer

Témoin 6 - Lucien-Victor Dumaine


Le sixième témoin est Lucien-Victor Dumaine, vicaire général du diocèse de Sées.

Né à Tinchebray (Orne) le 8 septembre 1842, il fut ordonné prêtre à Sées le 15 juin 1867. Nommé d'abord vicaire à La Lande-Patry en 1868, puis à Notre-Dame d'Alençon, ce fut là qu'il baptisa Thérèse Martin le 4 janvier 1873. Il avait une estime toute particulière de monsieur Martin et son amitié pour sa famille ne cessa pas lors de son départ pour Lisieux. Successivement curé de Tourouvre et de Montsort, puis archiprêtre de la cathédrale de Sées, il devint en outre vicaire général en 1899.

Docte et pieux, adonné à des recherches historiques religieuses au plan régional, il s'occupa avec prédilection des soldats avec lesquels il avait été en contact durant la guerre de 1870 et dont il devint l'aumônier. Il mourut à Sées le 25 septembre 1926, après donc la canonisation de sainte Thérèse de l'Enfant-Jésus (V.T.octobre 1961,pp.36-40). L'abbé Dumaine a pu témoigner avant tout sur le milieu familial des Martin à Alençon, et aussi sur la renommée de sainteté de Thérèse au diocèse de Sées.

Sa déposition eut lieu le 25 novembre 1910, au cours de la 40ème session, f. 457r-464v de notre Copie publique.

[Session 40: - 25 novembre 1910, à 8h.30 et à 2h. de l'après-midi]

[457v] [Le témoin répond correctement à la première demande].


[Réponse à la seconde demande]:

Je m'appelle Dumaine Lucien-Victor; je suis âgé de 68 ans, étant [458r] né à Tinchebray, diocèse de Séez, le 8 septembre 1842. Je suis chanoine titulaire de la basilique cathédrale de Séez et vicaire général honoraire de sa Grandeur monseigneur l'évêque de Séez, après avoir été vicaire général titulaire de mars 1899 à janvier 1910.

 

[Le témoin répond correctement de la troisième à la sixième demande inclusivement].

[Réponse à la septième demande]:

Je suis mû à produire ce témoignage par le désir de la gloire de Dieu et par l'affection très spéciale que je porte à la Servante de Dieu, que j'ai moi-même baptisée.

 

[Réponse à la huitième demande]:

1° Etant vicaire à Notre-Dame d'Alençon (juin 1868 à juin 1876), j'ai connu intimement la famille de la Servante de Dieu, avec laquelle famille j'entretenais des relations suivies; j'ai confessé plusieurs des membres de cette famille et j'ai eu le bonheur de baptiser moi-même la Servante de Dieu. Ces relations se sont continuées jusqu'au départ [458v] de monsieur Martin et de ses enfants pour Lisieux, après la mort de madame Martin. 

2° Depuis ce départ, je n'ai plus eu de rapports directs avec cette famille.

3° Lorsque s'est répandu le renom de sainteté de la Servante de Dieu après sa mort, je me suis instruit de ce qui la concernait par la lecture attentive du livre intitulé l'« Histoire d'une âme.» De plus, je me suis mis en relation avec le Carmel de Lisieux, et j'ai été tenu au courant par la prieure et les religieuses de tout ce qui se passait concernant la Servante de Dieu.

4° J'ai reçu mission de sa Grandeur monseigneur l'évêque de Séez d'exposer au tribunal ce qui touche à la réputation de sainteté et de miracles de soeur Thérèse dans le diocèse de Séez. J'en suis bien informé par mes nombreuses relations avec le clergé et les fidèles du diocèse et par l'observation attentive que j'ai faite de l'état des esprits à ce sujet.

 

[Réponse à la neuvième demande]:

Je désire beaucoup le succès de cette Cause pour la gloire de Dieu, pour l'honneur des deux diocèses de Séez et de Bayeux et pour le bien général des âmes qui, j'en suis [459r] convaincu, obtiendront des grâces très précieuses par l'invocation de la Servante de Dieu.

 

[Réponse à la dixième demande]:

La Servante de Dieu est née à Alençon, paroisse Notre-Dame, le 2 janvier 1873. Son père, monsieur Louis Martin, avait habité jusque vers 1871 la paroisse de Saint Pierre de Monsort, à Alençon, où il exerçait la profession d'orfèvre-horloger. Il avait acquis une situation très honorable et une assez belle fortune. Il quitta le commerce et vint habiter rue Saint Blaise, paroisse Notre Dame. C'est là que naquit la Servante de Dieu. Sa mère, madame Martin, née Guérin, pour occuper ses loisirs se livra à la fabrication de la dentelle, dite point d'Alençon. Monsieur et madame Martin avaient déjà eu huit enfants avant la naissance de Thérèse. Plusieurs de ces enfants étaient morts en bas âge. Je connaissais très bien les survivantes: Marie, Pauline, Léonie et Céline. J'estime que lors de la naissance de Thérèse, ses soeurs aînées pouvaient avoir environ 12 et 13 ans. La Servante de Dieu fut d'abord nourrie et élevée par sa mère; mais l'enfant étant tombée malade, elle fut mise en nourrice à Semallé, près d'Alençon. Elle y recouvra la santé et revint dans la famille. Madame [459v] Martin s'employa à l'éducation de cette enfant, jusqu'à sa mort prématurée qui arriva alors que Thérèse avait environ quatre ans et demi. Ses soeurs aînées, Marie et Pauline, prirent alors soin d'élever leur jeune soeur. Peu de temps après la mort de madame Martin, monsieur Martin se retira à Lisieux; de mon côté, je fus nommé en 1878 à un autre poste et je perdis un peu de vue cette famille.

 

[Réponse à la onzième demande]:

Monsieur Martin se maria plutôt tardivement. La réputation de piété et la ferveur de sa vie chrétienne faisaient croire dans le pays qu'il avait fait voeu de célibat. Ses pratiques religieuses étaient très accentuées. Il fréquentait beaucoup l'église, assistait à la messe même en semaine, communiait fréquemment (pour ce temps-là surtout) et faisait partie de l'Association pour l'Adoration nocturne mensuelle du Très-Saint Sacrement. Son caractère, grave et un peu mélancolique à l'extérieur, était doux et enjoué dans l'intimité. Il aimait à employer ses loisirs à l'exercice de la pêche, souvent en compagnie de son curé, et il envoyait ordinairement le produit de sa pêche aux reli-[460r]gieuses de sainte Claire d’Alençon. Il savait se montrer bienfaisant dans l'usage de sa fortune et jouissait de l'estime générale: on le tenait pour un parfait honnête homme. J'ai moins connu madame Martin. Elle était réservée ('et femme d'intérieur'). Elle était très pieuse et très bonne. L'union était remarquable dans cette famille, soit entre les époux, soit entre les parents et les enfants.

 

[Réponse à la douzième demande]:

Je l'ai baptisée moi-même le samedi 4 janvier 1873, vers le soir, dans l'église Notre-Dame d'Alençon, comme en fait foi l'acte de baptême qui depuis la mort de la Servante de Dieu a été photographié et répandu dans le public. Sur le désir de monsieur le vice-postulateur, j'ai apostillé en ces termes la copie de l'acte de baptême qu'il se propose de verser au Procès: «Je bénis Dieu de m'avoir fait la faveur d'ouvrir par le saint baptême le vestibule du ciel à la future petite sainte carmélite de Lisieux; je me plais à rendre un particulier témoignage au milieu si profondément chrétien et bon dans lequel elle est née et a grandi. Signé: LUCIEN DUMAINE, vicaire général de Séez (septembre 1909). Cum sigillo.»

 

[460v] [Réponse à la treizième demande]:

Mes relations cordiales avec les divers membres de la famille Martin pendant les années que j'ai passées à Alençon, m’ont permis de bien observer la tenue et les habitudes des parents et des enfants. Ces jeunes filles étaient, dès leur jeune âge, formées à une piété très sérieuse et très fervente. Leur attitude me témoignait que leur éducation humaine et chrétienne était fort bien conduite.

 

[Réponse de la quatorzième à la dix-neuvième demande inclusivement]:

Je ne sais rien sur ces points, sinon ce qui est relaté dans l'« Histoire d'une âme.»

 

[Réponse à la vingtième demande]:

Si je juge de sa vie par la lecture attentive que j'ai faite de son autobiographie, je ne puis me défendre d'estimer que sa vertu sort tout-à-fait de l'ordinaire. Sa grande simplicité, sa profonde abnégation, sa mortification constante et son extraordinaire amour de Dieu me semblent dépasser ce qu'on remarque même dans les âmes profondément chrétiennes.

 

[461r] [Que pensez-vous du genre et de la vérité de l'« Histoire d'une âme » et donc de ce que cet écrit nous rapporte de la Servante de Dieu, de son enfance à sa mort?]:

Ma conviction est que ce livre a été réellement écrit devant Dieu et qu'il est d'une sincérité parfaite. Je sais qu'on y a relevé quelquefois des traits d'une certaine sentimentalité, du moins selon l'opinion de plusieurs. Mais ces détails m’ont paru tout à fait négligeables en présence de cet ensemble d'actes positifs qui constituent sa vie et témoignent du sérieux de ses vertus.

 

[Réponse de la vingt-et-unième à la vingt-quatrième demande inclusivement]:

Ne connaissant ces détails qu'indirectement par la lecture de sa vie, j'estime que mon témoignage n'aurait pas sur ces questions un bien grand intérêt dans un procès où doivent abonder les témoignages de visu.

 

[Réponse aux vingt-cinquième et vingt-sixième demandes]:

Je me suis rendu au cimetière de Lisieux l'année passée (15 novembre 1909). Dès mon arrivée, le gardien du ci-[461v]metière me dit de lui-même: « Je sais bien pourquoi vous venez: c'est pour la petite sainte, prenez l'allée à gauche, etc..» Je trouvai le tombeau orné de fleurs et de divers objets de piété attestant la fréquence et la confiance des visiteurs. J'ai su pertinemment que depuis cette date, et antérieurement aussi à mon pèlerinage, le concours du peuple est considérable et régulier. J'en ai pour preuve les communications qui m'ont été faites à ce sujet de vive voix et par écrit, non seulement par le Carmel de Lisieux, mais par des personnes mêmes qui se sont rendues à la tombe à diverses époques. Ces récits concordants m'ont été faits, non seulement par des personnes simples et peu instruites, mais aussi par des personnes graves et bien instruites, même par des prêtres vénérables et constitués en dignité, entre autres par monsieur le chanoine Guesdon, ancien archiprêtre de la cathédrale de Séez et ancien professeur au grand Séminaire de Séez pendant environ 30 ans.

 

[462r] [Réponse à la vingt-septième demande]:

Depuis la mort de la Servante de Dieu et la diffusion de l'« Histoire d'une âme », j'ai, à maintes reprises, et dans toutes les régions du diocèse de Séez, constaté l'unanimité dans la conviction de sa sainteté héroïque. Je puis dire que partout j'ai rencontré la confiance des fidèles et des prêtres, se traduisant par des prières, par la vénération de ses images et de ses souvenirs. Fréquemment j'ai été sollicité de m'interposer pour obtenir du Carmel quelqu'un de ces objets. Si, comme je le dirai plus loin, j'ai parfois entendu émettre quelque restriction sur l'opportunité de tel ou tel moyen employé pour la faire mieux connaître, jamais à ma connaissance on n'a émis de doute sur le fond de la question, c’est-à-dire sur [462v] l'héroïcité de ses vertus.

 

[Le promoteur de la foi demande si une telle renommée de sainteté ne procède pas d'une admiration exagérée et inconsidérée. Réponse du témoin]:

Je puis affirmer que dans l'ensemble il n'en est pas ainsi. Parmi les personnes qui m'ont témoigné de leur admiration et de leur confiance, il en est beaucoup de particulièrement instruites et pondérées dont le jugement repose sur une appréciation réfléchie et impartiale des faits. Il ne me paraît pas indifférent à ce sujet de noter que dans les nombreuses communautés du diocèse, il n'en est pas une que je n'aie trouvée pleinement convaincue de la sainteté de cette jeune carmélite. Or, tous ceux qui ont l'expérience de la vie des communautés savent qu'une certaine émulation règne facilement entre elles et garantit la valeur de leur témoignage en faveur des membres de communautés étrangères. Je puis faire mention entre autres personnages doctes et prudents qui affirment l'héroïcité de vie de soeur Thérèse: l° tous mes confrères chanoines de la cathédrale de Séez; 2° les trois curés des paroisses d'Alençon (Notre-Dame, [463r] Saint Pierre et Saint Léonard); 3° monsieur l'archiprêtre d'Argentan, qui autrefois a bien connu la famille, étant vicaire de Saint Pierre de Monsort, paroisse où habitait alors monsieur Martin; 4° monsieur l'archiprêtre de Mortagne, ancien curé de Saint Léonard d'Alençon; 5° le révérendissime père abbé de la Grande Trappe; 6° monsieur le supérieur du grand Séminaire de Séez qui, tout en faisant quelques réserves sur l'élément «sentimentalité », qu'il trouve dans l'« Histoire d'une âme », admet sans hésitation l'héroïcité des vertus de la Servante de Dieu.

 

[Cette renommée de sainteté ne doit-elle pas sa croissance et sa diffusion à quelque zèle industrieux de sa famille ?]:

La diffusion de l'« Histoire d'une âme» et des images et souvenirs de soeur Thérèse de l’Enfant Jésus a sans doute contribué à la faire mieux connaître, mais j'estime qu'il n'y a pas là ce qu'on pourrait appeler une réclame factice. Bien souvent j'ai constaté que la conviction déjà acquise de la sainteté de soeur Thérèse faisait désirer la possession de quelqu'un de ces objets ou la lecture du récit détaillé de sa vie. Moi-même j'ai répandu parfois certains de ces souvenirs ou des exemplaires de la vie qui n'avaient été remis [463v] par le Carmel de Lisieux, mais je puis affirmer que les religieuses carmélites ne m'ont jamais sollicité de m'employer activement à cette diffusion à laquelle je n'ai collaboré qu'avec discrétion.

 

[Réponse à la vingt-huitième demande]:

Je n'ai jamais entendu formuler une appréciation contraire pour le fond à la réputation de sainteté de la Servante de Dieu. En quelques cas seulement, et fort peu nombreux, j'ai entendu émettre quelques critiques touchant la forme donnée à la diffusion de son histoire et de ses souvenirs; on trouvait qu'il se faisait « trop de bruit » autour de sa mémoire. Les deux ou trois personnes, que j'ai entendues parler ainsi, sont bonnes et recommandables, mais j'estime que dans le cas leur appréciation ne provenait pas d'un jugement bien réfléchi; c'était plutôt ce qu'on appelle « un propos de conversation » ou « une impression.»

 

[Réponse à la vingt-neuvième demande]:

J'ai constaté à maintes reprises que la vénération et la confiance des fidèles [464r] envers la Servante de Dieu impliquait non seulement la conviction de sa sainteté, mais encore la persuasion que, par ses prières, elle obtenait des grâces prodigieuses, en grand nombre et très variées dans leur objet. On a foi dans la parole qu'elle a dite un jour: « Je veux passer mon ciel à faire du bien sur la terre » - DEA 17-7 - . En conséquence, on l'invoque de toutes parts pour obtenir des guérisons, des conversions, la solution des difficultés d'ordre temporel et spirituel, etc. J'ai entendu raconter indirectement plusieurs faveurs obtenues par son intercession et dont le récit a été fait à la révérende mère prieure du Carmel de Lisieux. J'ai connu personnellement une dame qui a été elle-même l'objet d'une de ces faveurs qu'elle m'a ainsi racontée (il s'agit de mademoiselle Louise Alexandre, âgée d'environ 50 ans et demeurant à Saint Front de Collière): «Je souffrais d'une grave affection des yeux, que le médecin avait constatée et soignée. En priant sur la tombe de soeur Thérèse, j'ai été subitement et absolument guérie.» Un rapport détaillé de ce fait fut adressé par mademoiselle Alexandre à la révérende mère prieure de Lisieux, et moi qui connaissais très bien cette demoiselle, je n'hésitai pas à attester, au bas de cette pièce, que cette personne très chrétienne est fort honorable, sensée et digne de créance.

 

[464v] [Réponse à la trentième demande]:

Je ne vois rien à modifier à ma déposition.

 

[Au sujet des Articles, le témoin dit ne savoir que ce qu'il a déjà déposé en répondant aux demandes précédentes. -- Est ainsi terminé l'interrogatoire de ce témoin. Lecture des Actes est donnée. Le témoin n’y apporte aucune modification et signe comme suit]:

Ita pro veritate deposui, ratum habeo et confirmo.

Signatum: LUCIEN DUMAINE, canonicus, vicarius generalis sagiensis.