Print

Ascension

 

Drawn on the Feast of the Ascension.

either a printed series: “Testament of Jesus”, based on a version dating from 1040 transmitted by the Ursulines;

or a handwritten series: “Testament of Our Lord”.

 

TESTAMENT OF JESUS
DEAR Soul, I rise to my Father; as a measure of my love, I leave you the Evangelical Spirit. Its movements carry the soul to a gentle zeal that charms hearts and profits their salvation through holy conversation. It disengages itself from things of this world; such a soul aspires only for Eternity.

TESTAMENT OF JESUS
DEAR Soul, I rise to my Father; as a measure of my love, I leave you filial Fear [“Crainte filiale”]. There is a mercenary fear that engenders slaves, but the fear that honors me is the one that inspires my love. This fear considers less the gravity of faults than it does the injury inflicted upon the infinitely good Heart that she never wishes to sadden.

TESTAMENT OF JESUS
DEAR Soul, I rise to my Father; as a measure of my love, I leave you to study the Crucifix. A naked God nailed to a cross, abandoned by Heaven and earth, abused with bile, scorned by all, nothing but a miserable one, tortured like a criminal, offering Himself in this state as a Host to the eternal Father for the salvation of the world. That is the book you should read.

TESTAMENT OF JESUS
DEAR Soul, I rise to my Father; as a measure of my love, I leave you the example of my Humanity to confound your own pride that strives only to elevate you above the rest. Follow me from the Creche to Calvary, then to the Altar where I am immolated daily, and see whether it is at all proper to exaggerate and appear ridiculous while a God suffers all manner of opprobrium and annihilation.

TESTAMENT OF JESUS
DEAR Soul, I rise to my Father; as a measure of my love, I leave you the sage madness of the Cross. The wisdom of God penetrates deeper than any man can go, because it blinds the senses so that all may be clearly seen; it renders you deaf to make you hear, the mad to be turned into sages. Blessed are those who are capable of receiving all these divine gifts with fidelity.

TESTAMENT OF JESUS
DEAR Soul, I rise to my Father; as a measure of my love, I leave you my humble Life. It has led me to exaltation in the glory that you aspire to achieve. It is necessary for you to take the same road, that is to say, through love and abasement of self and wait in peace until you are called by God.

TESTAMENT OF JESUS
DEAR Soul, I rise to my Father; as a measure of my love, I leave you my penitential Life. I did not spend a moment during my sojourn on earth without acting and suffering for the salvation of the world, and for yours in particular. Try hard to obtain by imitating me the pleasure of all the good that I have merited for you. Suffering passes! To have suffered is to have gained your eternal home.

TESTAMENT OF JESUS
DEAR Soul, I rise to my Father; as a measure of my love, I leave you my Love. I leave you to participate in my sufferings. Sin is not expiated except through voluntary suffering. Heaven does not open except for penitents and innocents, and God is pleased above all with those who suffer in imitation of me.

TESTAMENT OF JESUS
DEAR Soul, I rise to my Father; as a measure of my love, I leave you my Spirit of Gentleness and Humility. Try hard to live a humble life before God. While in complete abandonment to what pleases Him, acting lovingly towards your neighbor, excusing their imperfections as they excuse yours, you must be gentle towards yourself, enduring without anguish your own defects while working to correct them.

TESTAMENT OF JESUS
My daughter, I leave you a great confidence towards Me…”If you trust in the Lord, strength will be given to you from Heaven and you will triumph over you own self. “ Imitation, Book II, ch. 12, 9.

TESTAMENT OF JESUS
I leave you to meditate on this promise that I wish to realize in you…”Whoever makes themselves as little as this child shall be called the greatest in the Kingdom of Heaven.” Matt 18: 4

TESTAMENT OF JESUS
My daughter, I leave you my peace…”To sample gentleness, choose above all to have less rather than more; always search for the last place and to seek to be beneath all others”. Imitation, Book 3, ch. 23, 2

TESTAMENT OF JESUS
My daughter, I leave you my peace…”Exterior works, the necessary occupations at certain times, do not trouble the interior man…instead he readies for things as they come.” Book 2, ch. 1, 7

TESTAMENT OF JESUS
My daughter, I leave you the grace to fulfill my new command that you love one another, as I have loved you, so you must love one another. John 13: 34

TESTAMENT OF JESUS
My daughter, I leave you my peace…”Do not judge the words or the actions of others; and do not occupy yourself with affairs that have not been left to you; thus, it will come about that you will be disturbed little and seldom.” Imitation, Book 3, ch. 25, 3.

TESTAMENT OF JESUS
My daughter, I leave you my peace…”Your peace will be in much patience.” Imitation, Book 3, ch. 25, 1.

TESTAMENT OF JESUS
My daughter, I leave you my peace…”Apply yourself always to do the will of others rather than your own. It is acting as this that you will be on the way of peace and rest.” Imitation, Book 3, ch. 23, 3.

TESTAMENT OF JESUS
My daughter, I leave you my peace…”My peace is with those who are gentle and humble of heart.” Book 3. Ch. 25, 1.

 

Back to the Little Words

Imprimer

Ascension

 

A la fête de l'Ascension, on tirait

soit une série imprimée : Testament de Jésus, suivant un usage datant de 1040 et transmis par les Ursulines ;

soit une série manuscrite : Testament de Notre Seigneur.


TESTAMENT DE JÉSUS
CHERE Âme, je monte à mon Père : pour gage de mon Amour, je vous laisse l'Esprit Evangélique. Ses mouvements portent l'âme à un zèle plein de suavité qui charme les cœurs, et qui profite à leur salut par une sainte conversation. Se dégageant elle-même des choses de ce monde, cette âme n'aspire qu'à l'Eternité.

TESTAMENT DE JÉSUS
CHERE Âme, je monte à mon Père : pour gage de mon Amour, je vous laisse la Crainte filiale. Il y a une crainte mercenaire qui n'engendre que des esclaves ; mais la crainte qui m'honore est celle qu'inspire l'amour. Elle considère moins la gravité des fautes que la blessure qu'elles font au Cœur infiniment bon qu'il ne faudrait jamais attrister !

TESTAMENT DE JÉSUS
CHERE Âme, je monte à mon Père : pour gage de mon Amour, je vous laisse l'étude du Crucifix. Un Dieu nu et cloué sur une croix, abandonné du ciel et de la terre, abreuvé de fiel, couvert de plaies, bafoué de tous, ainsi qu'un misérable, supplicié comme un criminel, s'offrant en cet état comme une hostie au Père éternel pour le salut du monde : voilà le livre où vous devez lire.

TESTAMENT DE JÉSUS
CHERE Âme, je monte à mon Père : pour gage de mon Amour, je vous laisse l'Exemple de mon Humilité pour confondre votre orgueil qui ne cherche qu'à vous élever au dessus des autres. Suivez-moi de la Crèche au Calvaire, puis à l'Autel où je m'immole chaque jour, et voyez s'il est convenable au néant de s'enfler et de vouloir paraître lorsqu'un Dieu souffre toutes sortes d'opprobres et d'anéantissements.

TESTAMENT DE JÉSUS
CHERE Âme, je monte à mon Père : pour gage de mon Amour, je vous laisse la sage Folie de la Croix. La sagesse de Dieu a des conduites où l'esprit humain ne pénètre point, car il aveugle les siens pour les faire voir clair ; il les rend sourds pour les faire entendre, fous pour les rendre sages. Heureux ceux qui sont capables de recevoir toutes ces formes divines avec fidélité !

TESTAMENT DE JÉSUS
CHERE Âme, je monte à mon Père : pour gage de mon Amour, je vous laisse ma Vie humiliée. Elle m'a mené à l'exaltation dans la gloire que vous espérez; mais, pour y parvenir, il faut prendre le même chemin, c'est-à-dire entrer par amour dans l'abaissement de vous-même et attendre en paix quel ordre de Dieu vous en retire.

TESTAMENT DE JÉSUS
CHERE Âme, je monte à mon Père : pour gage démon Amour, je vous laisse ma Vie pénitente. Je n'ai passé aucun moment pendant mon séjour sur la terre sans agir et sans souffrir pour le salut du monde, et pour le vôtre en particulier, Efforcez-vous d'obtenir par imitation la jouissance du bien que je vous ai mérité. Souffrir passe ! avoir souffert demeure éternellement.

TESTAMENT DE JÉSUS
CHERE Âme, je monte à mon Père : pour gage de mon Amour, je vous laisse la Participation a mes souffrances. Le péché ne s'expie que par la souffrance volontaire ; le Ciel ne s'ouvre qu'aux pénitents ou aux innocents, et Dieu se plait surtout en ceux qui souffrent comme mes imitateurs.

TESTAMENT DE JÉSUS
CHERE Âme, je monte à mon Père : pour gage de mon Amour, je vous laisse mon Esprit de Douceur et d'Humilité. Efforcez-vous de vivre humblement devant Dieu, tout abandonnée a son bon plaisir ; aimablement avec le prochain, supportant ses imperfections comme il supporte les vôtres ; doucement avec vous même, endurant sans trouble la vue de vos misères et travaillant à les corriger.

*

TESTAMENT DE NOTRE SEIGNEUR
Ma fille, je vous laisse une grande confiance en moi… « Si vous vous confiez dans le Seigneur, la force vous sera donnée d’en–Haut, et vous triompherez de vous-même. » Imitation, Livre II, ch. 12, 9


TESTAMENT DE NOTRE SEIGNEUR
Je vous laisse à méditer cette promesse que je voudrais réaliser en vous : « Quiconque se fait petit comme cet enfant, celui-là est le plus grand dans le Royaume des Cieux. » Math. 18, 4

TESTAMENT DE NOTRE SEIGNEUR
Ma fille, je vous laisse ma paix… « Pour en goûter la douceur, choisissez toujours plutôt d’avoir moins que plus ; cherchez toujours la dernière place et à être au-dessous des autres. » Imitation, Livre 3, ch. 23, 2  

TESTAMENT DE NOTRE SEIGNEUR
Ma fille, je vous laisse ma paix. « Les travaux extérieurs, les occupations nécessaires en certains temps, ne troublent pas l’homme intérieur ; mais il se prête aux choses selon qu’elles arrivent.» Imitation, Livre 2, ch. 1, 7

TESTAMENT DE NOTRE SEIGNEUR
Ma fille, je vous laisse la grâce d’accomplir mon commandement nouveau qui est de vous entr’aimer, et que, comme je vous ai aimées, vous vous aimiez les unes les autres. St Jean 13. 34

TESTAMENT DE NOTRE SEIGNEUR
Ma fille, je vous laisse ma paix… « Ne jugez point des paroles ou des actions des autres ; ne vous occupez point de ce qui n’est pas commis à votre charge ; alors vous serez peu ou rarement troublée. » Imitation, Livre 3, ch. 25, 3

TESTAMENT DE NOTRE SEIGNEUR
Ma fille, je vous laisse ma paix… « Votre paix sera dans une grande patience. » Imitation, Livre 3, ch. 25, 1

TESTAMENT DE NOTRE SEIGNEUR
Ma fille, je vous laisse ma paix… « Appliquez-vous toujours à faire la volonté d’autrui plutôt que la vôtre. Celui qui agit ainsi est dans la voie de la paix et du repos. » Imitation, Livre 3, ch. 23, 3

TESTAMENT DE NOTRE SEIGNEUR
Ma fille, je vous laisse ma paix. « Ma paix est avec ceux qui sont doux et humbles de cœur. » Imitation, Livre 3, ch. 25, 1

 

Retour aux Petits mots