Print

Gardening

 

jardin home

The garden work especially occupied the lay sisters. However, as the novices were used for weeding, it is assumed they could be used to weed the vegetable garden at the busiest times. This garden was reorganized in 1890, with a large purchase of seeds.

Besides a vegetable garden, the garden includes fruit trees and hay growing in the meadow whose sale only brings a little money. It is mainly used to replace the contents of mattresses, these mattresses stuffed with hay on which the Carmelites sleep. Its harvest has given us a nice photo of the community at work (in June 1896).

The straw mattress bag is a big burlap bag in the form of a mattress with every corner made and well stitched. They filled it with straw until it is well packed.

The straw mattress remains rounded for about a month: we had to make our hole in order not to fall out of bed because it was difficult to hold on to the first few days. It was like sleeping on a little barrel!

We changed the straw when the middle became a hole due to the crushed straw.

webTH-35

The community had a gardener until 1888, according to the account book. After that, he came as needed during busy times.

There is also a small poultry yard at the end of the garden which calls for daily care. The sisters eat eggs but it is not enough to feed the community.

 

Back to the Work home page.

Imprimer

Le jardin


 

jardin home

 

Le travail du jardin occupait surtout les sœurs converses. Cependant, comme les novices étaient utilisées pour désherber, on présume qu’aux moments les plus intenses, elles pouvaient être employées au jardin pour désherber le potager. Ce potager a été réorganisé en 1890, avec un important achat de graines.

A part ce potager, le jardin comprend quelques arbres fruitiers, et le foin qui pousse dans la prairie, dont la vente ne rapporte que peu de chose. Il sert surtout à remplacer le contenu des paillasses, ces matelas bourrés de foin sur lesquels dorment les carmélites. Sa moisson nous a valu une belle photo de la communauté en plein travail (en juin 1896).

Le sac de paillasse est un sac de grosse toile de jute, en forme de matelas avec tous les coins faits et bien cousus. On le remplit de paille jusqu’à ce qu’il soit bien bourré.

La paillasse reste bombée pendant un mois environ : il fallait faire son trou dedans pour ne pas tomber en bas du lit, car il était difficile de tenir dessus aux premiers jours. C’était comme se coucher sur un petit tonneau !

On changeait la paille quand le milieu était devenu un trou à cause de la paille trop cassée.

webTH-35

La communauté disposait d’un jardinier jusqu’en 1888, d’après le livre de comptes. Ensuite, il vient à la journée dans les temps forts.

Il y a également une modeste basse-cour au bout du jardin, qui réclame des soins quotidiens. Les sœurs en mangent les oeufs mais cela ne suffit pas pour l’alimentation de la communauté.

 

Retour à l'accueil du Travail