Print

Making altar bread

 

 decoupe hosties LT

The Sisters produced bread for the altar: an unleavened bread to be used in the course of the Mass being known as the host. It is a sort of a small waffle, very flat, for which we provide below the recipe of the time.

Recipe for Altar Bread 

cuisson-hostieLittle by little, one mixes flour with water. The flour should be of the best kind from very fresh wheat that has been finely ground. The water that is to be used should be sparkling (that is, have gas in it) and hard (that is, rich in minerals). The source of the water should be a fountain or a well. Rain water will not do. When the flour is well mixed, one takes a spoonful of it and pours it in the iron and then places the iron on the fire. The time for baking would be about that of an Ave Maria for each side when the fire is in good condition; because if the fire is not quite glowing it will take longer. If the fire is too much, it is necessary to retrieve the iron very quickly and place it on the edge of the stove and not open it until it is no longer giving off smoke. If a charcoal oven is being used, it is important that the wood being used is to be of an uniform heat. The breads are quite beautiful. It is very unfavorable to do this work during the hot season. It is preferable and much easier to do so during spring or winter.

The batter is baked over a gas oven between two iron plates: an iron mold to make for hosts, such as that being used in the photo above on the right by Marie of the Sacred Heart. These iron molds bear hollow reliefs that leave an imprint on the bread at the moment of baking: the monograms HIS and IHC or religious scenes from the Passion of Christ as one can see here below from another iron mold for hosts from the time of Therese. One can see there reliefs for large and small hosts. The “left overs” after being trimmed are sold as trimmings.

 

moule-hostie-detail

Manner of Polishing New Irons or old ones

It is sometimes difficult to manufacture these bread when using an iron mold that is new and has not been improved—when they are new and unused the molds are sometimes a bit rough. It is necessary to rub all sides with sand paper, then take the remains of a beaten and sifted brick in a wool cloth, wet it, and then vigorously polishing the iron with the mixture—then one polishes it again with a cleaning agent known as Tripoli sec. Sometimes, it is necessary to repeat over the course of three or four hours or more. Then after one has done all this polishing, one can test the irons to see how well they serve to make the bread. (Note from the period).

Baking

At the Carmel of Lisieux, there was one room within the cloister specially designated for the preparation and baking of hosts: the office of altar bread. There one would find a pipe of gaseous water. The Sisters would substitute for one another on the day of cooking, sometimes leaving to go to where the Community was gathered.

One should thoroughly clean the iron using brick powder that has gone through a sieve, also putting some olive oil on the iron with a feather. When the flour is good, one can go at times for many days without having to clean the iron so, but when the flour is too loose, it is important to clean the iron well every day and often twice per day. It is easier to clean the iron when it is hot than when it is cold. In addition, when the iron goes white the bread will be black and smudged, it will be necessary to grease the iron with a bit of tallow [afterwards].  The first breads that are made after the iron has been so greased will not be good except for the little calves (Note from the period).

Cutting

Once cooked, the altar bread is dried and then cut with a small tool called roundeau, seen in the photo below left in the hands of Mother Agnes cutting small hosts for the faithful attending Mass. Below right is the hand of Celine cutting large wafers for the priest celebrating Mass.

decoupe petites hosties decoupe grandes hosties

The cutting out of the hosts is a very delicate operation that, when poorly done, can ruin all the prior work by causing the bread to crumble. As noted in the instruction manual from the time: Bread that shows much by way of designs is very difficult to achieve because the more the engravings the more susceptible it is to flaking.

emballage hosties

Sale at the Front Desk and to the Exterior

Once the altar breads are cut, they are placed in small cardboard boxes for sale. From these, Therese would take hosts to refill the ciborium for the next Mass. This was part of her duties as a Sacristan.

The altar bread destined for sale would be packaged and kept at the Turn for those who presented themselves at the reception desk of the Monastery. Despite the expense of the flour, the cooking materials, and water with gas, the sale of these altar breads brought in close to 1600 francs in revenue in the last years of the life of Therese.


 

Back to the Work home page.

Imprimer

Le pain d'autel

 

 decoupe hosties LT

Les sœurs fabriquaient du pain d’autel : ce pain sans levain, utilisé au cours de la messe pour devenir l’hostie. C’est une sorte de petite gaufre très plate dont voici la recette d’époque.

Recette de pain d'autel

cuisson-hostie

On délaie peu à peu avec de l’eau la farine qui doit être belle, de blé nouveau et toute fraîche moulue. L’eau dont on doit se servir doit être la plus vive et la plus dure possible telle que l’eau de source, fontaine ou puis, l’eau de pluie ne peut servir. Quand la farine est bien délayée on en met une cuillérée environ dans le fer qu’on met ensuite sur le feu, le temps de la cuisson est d’un Ave Maria de chaque côté quand le feu est bien conditionné ; car si le feu n’était pas bien embrasé il faudrait plus de temps ; et s’il l’est trop il faut retirer son fer plus promptement sur le bord du fourneau et ne l’ouvrir que quand il ne fume plus. Pour le feu le charbon est préférable au bois la chaleur étant plus égale. Les pains sont plus beaux. Les temps de grande chaleur sont peu favorables pour la confection des pains on les fait de préférence et plus facilemnt au printemps et en hiver.

Ce mélange est cuit sur le gaz entre deux plaques de fer qu’on appelle fer à hosties, comme celui qui est utilisé dans la photo de droite par Marie du Sacré-Coeur. Ces fers comportents des reliefs en creux qui s’impriment sur le pain au moment de la cuisson:monogrammes IHS et IHC ou des scènes de la Passion du Christ, comme on peut le voir d’un autre modèle de fer de l’époque sur la photo ci-dessous. On y distingue le relief pour des grandes et petites hosties. Les chutes lors de la découpe dont vendues comme rognures.

moule-hostie-detail

Manière de polir les fers neufs ou qui ont été travaillés

Il est parfois difficile de bien faire le pain avec les fers neufs ou travaillés – quand cela arrive et qu’il ont quelque chose de brutes, il faut les frotter en tous sens avec du papier verré, puis prendre de la brique battue et tamisée et avec un chiffon de laine et un peu d’eau les bien frotter – ensuite on les frotte de nouveau avec du tripoli sec, quelques fois il faut y revenir 3 ou 4 heures en diverses fois et même plus – après qu’on les a frottés on les fait chauffer afin de voir comment ils font le pain (note d'époque).

Cuisson

Au Carmel de Lisieux une pièce sous le cloître était spécialement destinée à la fabrication et à la cuisson des hosties: l'office des pains d'autel.   Il y avait une arrivée d'eau et de gaz pour cela. Les sœurs s’y succédaient, au jour de cuisson, ce qui leur faisaient parfois manquer des moments où la communauté était réunie.

On écure le fer avec de la brique écrasée bien fine et passée au tamis en mettant aussi un peu d’huile d’olive sur le fer avec une plume. Quand la farine est bonne on peut quelquefois aller plusieurs jours sans écurer le fer ; mais quand elle se relâche il faut l’écurer tous les jours et souvent deux fois. Il est plus facile de l’écurer chaud que froid. Outre cela en travaillant quand le fer se blanchi, que le pain se fait noir et brouillé il faut le graisser avec un peu de suif. Les premiers pains que l’on fait après que le fer a été ainsi graissé ne sont bons que pour les petits veaux (note d'époque).

Découpe

Une fois cuit, le pain d’autel est séché puis découpé avec un petit outil nommé rondeau, qu’on voit sur la photo ci-dessous à gauche dans la main de Mère Agnès qui découpe de petites hosties destinées aux fidèles participant à la messe. Ci-dessous à droite, c'est la main de Céline qui découpe de grandes hosties destinées au prêtre célébrant la messe.

decoupe petites hosties decoupe grandes hosties

La découpe des hosties est une opération délicate qui, mal faite, peut ruiner tout le travail en effritant le pain. Comme le précise le manuel d'instruction du temps, les pains où il y a beaucoup de dessins sont bien plus difficiles à réussir parce que plus il y a de gravures plus ils sont susceptibles d’écorcher.

emballage hosties

Vente à l'accueil et à l'extérieur

Le pain d’autel une fois découpé est déposé dans des petites boîtes de carton pour la vente. Thérèse y prend des hosties pour remplir le ciboire en vue d'une prochaine messe. Cela fait partie de sa tâche de sacristine.

Le pain d'autel destiné à la vente est emballé et déposé au tour pour les personnes qui se présenteront à l’accueil du monastère. Malgré les dépenses de farine, de matériel de cuisson et de gaz, la vente de ce pain d'autel rapporte près de 1600 francs par an les dernières années de la vie de Thérèse.

Le Carmel de Laval fait une présentation de ce travail - au XXIe siècle

http://www.carmeldelaval.fr/Pain-d-autel-Fabrication-des.html

Retour à l'accueil du Travail.