Print

Handmade alpargates

 

alpargateLT

Alpargates are a kind of handmade espadrille used by Spanish farmers of the 16th century. The Carmelites of the Teresian reform carried out by Teresa of Avila adopted them and passed on to their foundations abroad.

The sole is made of a braid of hand-woven hemp wound upon itself and sewn very tightly.

alpargate semelle LTSr Aimee thanked her family one day for the gift of raw materials in a letter to her sister Marie: I just received a big bag of hemp sewn and harvested by my dear brother Arsène. I looked at it and handled it with pleasure. This hemp will be used to make the braid that will form the bottom of our alpargates (or shoes) that are not in use in the world, or rather in our France. In the past, in the time of our mother Saint Teresa it was the shoe of the poor in Spain. It was a godsend that happened at the right time. Our good depositary didn’t know where to buy this to give this sister in charge of providing us with shoes this year. [Sr St Vincent de Paul].

 

The upper and the heel were made of a woven fabric. It is not tightly fitted on the foot, making the walk a little slippery. It was also hampered by the length of the habit.

The upper, heel and sole were sewn with thick thread with big needles and awls, some of which have been kept (right photo).

This work was often given to the white veil sisters (converse sisters) given the physical strength that was required.

The frequency of replacement of the alpargates was also problematic. Thus, Sr. Aimée continued in the same letter to her family: I am one of the sisters who wear out shoes the most, always having a job that keeps me active on Sundays and feast days as well as work days.

See the room where they were made.

outils-alpargates LT

socques LTWalking with alpargates is difficult on wet floor tile (these squares of baked earth), thus the wearing of wooden sandals (photo) for walking on the cloister tiles during wet weather.

As the alpargates were easily soiled because of their light color, the Carmelites also wore wooden sandals with their alpargates to go in the garden. For the laundry, they had to wear clogs over alpargates because wet alpargates took a long time to dry! Marie Guérin complained of this in a letter to her father (letter of July 3rd, 1898).

 

A few scale models received from Spain.

alpargates miniatures LT

Back to the Work home page.

Imprimer

Les alpargates artisanales

English here

alpargateLT

Les alpargates sont une sorte d’espadrilles utilisées par les paysans espagnols au 16e siècle.  Les carmélites de la Réforme thérésienne effectuée par sainte Thérèse d'Avila les ont adoptées et transmises dans leurs fondations à l’étranger.

La semelle est faite d’une tresse de chanvre tressé, enroulée sur elle-même et cousue très serrée. 

alpargate semelle LTSr Aimée  remercie un jour sa famille d'un cadeau de matière première dans une lettre à sa soeur Marie: Je viens de recevoir un gros sac de chanvre ensemencé et récolté par mon cher frère Arsène. C'est avec plaisir que je l'ai vu et manié. Ce chanvre servira à faire de la natte pour former le dessous de nos alpargates (ou chaussures) qui ne sont pas en usage dans le monde, ou plutôt dans notre France car c'était autrefois, du temps de notre mère Sainte Thérèse, la chaussure des pauvres en Espagne.C'est une providence qui nous arrive fort à propos. Notre bonne dépositaire ne savait où en faire acheter pour fournir à la soeur chargée de nous chausser sa provision de cette année [Sr St Vincent de Paul].

Le dessus et le talon sont faits dans une grosse toile tissée, sauf l'extrémité des orteils, nommée rosette et faite à l'aiguille (modèle ci-dessous).

aiguilles alpargates LT

Dessus, talon et semelle étaient cousus avec de très gros fils à l’aide de ces grosses aiguilles et de poinçons, dont plusieurs sont conservés (photo de droite). Cet ouvrage était souvent donné aux sœurs du voile blanc (les soeurs converses), compte tenu de la force physique qu'il exigeait.

Ces chaussures artisanales s'usaient très rapidement. Ainsi, Sr Aimée poursuit dans la même lettre à sa famille: Je suis du nombre des soeurs qui usent le plus de chaussures, ayant toujours un emploi qui me met en activité aussi bien le dimanche et les fêtes que le jour ouvrier.

Voir ici la pièce où on les fabriquait.

outils-alpargates LT

socques LTLa marche avec des alpargates est difficile sur des tomettes mouillées (ces carreaux de terre cuite), d'où le port de "socques" de bois pour marcher sur le carrelage des cloîtres par temps très humides.

Comme les alpargates étaient très salissantes à cause de leur teinte claire, les carmélites chaussaient aussi des socques sur leurs sandales pour aller au jardin. Pour la lessive, on devait passer carrément au sabot car des alpargates mouillées sont longues à sécher! Marie Guérin s'en plaint dans une lettre à son père (lettre du 3 juillet 1898).


Ci-dessous quelques modèles miniatures qui ont été conservés, venus d'Espagne.

alpargates miniatures LT

 Retour à l'accueil du Travail.