Print

The work of sacristan

 

   The Sacristan prepares the necessary materials for celebrations and liturgical offices

 

missel 05-a-calice-patene-TH aubes-details
Initial capital letter of Fr Youf's missal Base of the monstrance used by Thérèse. Detail from an alb of the period.

The first duty of a sacristan is to see to the transport into the exterior chapel all of the objects necessary for the liturgical offices that should take place there. Vestments, ciborium and chalice, wine and water, bread for the altar; the sacristan ensures the items will be passed through the drawer or through the turn of the sacristy. The turn and the drawer beneath it are accessible as much from the exterior sacristy as from the interior sacristy, without, in either case, the possibility of the Sister being seen.

When the priest presented himself for Mass, the sacristan should have prepared and passed through the tour all that was necessary for the priest to dress in order to celebrate Mass. After Mass, she would collect the vestments and objects in order to put them away neatly. The priestly vestments are complex: amice, alb, cincture, stole, manipule, and chasuble. One can see here some vestments contemporaneous with Therese. It would also be necessary to prepare the altar cloth and the cloth for the Communion grill. It was the sacristan who would open the Communion grill to the Choir in order to allow the Sisters to receive Communion on days so designated.

The objects necessary to celebrate the Mass consisted of the chalice, the paten, the ciborium, the burette (photo here below), the candlesticks, and the Missal. See here the sacred vessels from the time of Thérèse and the missal of Father Youf.

burettes

For the exposition of the Holy Sacrament, the sacristan passed the monstrance and the thabor stand (see the photos around the middle of the page) as well as the requisite candles. She would pass the cope and stole for the priest. On Saturdays, she would transmit the altar candles for the Salve. The white veiled Sisters would carry these lit candles during the singing of this hymn into the Choir before the evening silent prayer.

The Sacristan would also have the responsibility for maintaining all the linens that were used during diverse ceremonies. She would ensure that they would be very clean and in good order, making new ones when needed. The Sacristan would also be the one to bless before the ceremony the habit that the new novice would receive and to prepare a large church candle for the novice to carry as well as for the other Sisters of the Community who would carry these lit candles as they accompanied the new novice in procession as she entered the Choir.

For the Communion of the sick, she would prepare the altar in the infirmary, placing on it a crucifix between two candlesticks, a corporal, and the book to be used by the priest. Near the altar, she would place a holy water font and sprinkler. If the entire Community should accompany the priest carrying the Holy Sacrament, each of the Sisters would also carry a candle. For Extreme Unction, the sacristan would prepare the altar in the infirmary as if for the Communion of the sick, without corporal, but with two holy oils and 2 small trays containing cotton balls. She would also provide a small basin and water so that the priest could clean his hands after having applied the unctions.

For internments, she would bring out Prie-Dieus covered with black fabric. She would also place in the chapel the wall hangings and black cloth. The Communion grill would be covered with a violet colored curtain. She prepared the candlesticks for the clergy and black priestly vestments: chasuble, cope, pastoral stoles, albs, cinctures and amices. For the Choir, she would prepare the procession cross and the candles for the Sisters, as well as the candlesticks that would be placed around the coffin. Here below, a photo of a detail from a vestment used by Abbot Youf for funerals, notably that of Therese.

 ornement

In sum, on great feast days, the sacristan was required to decorate the altar and the tabernacle with the most beautiful white coverings and the church, if possible, with wall hangings.

With so many regular tasks to attend, one would understand that the sacristan needed an assistant. Therese would work in the sacristy from February 1891 until February 1893. In March 1896, she was put back in the sacristy but retired when she got really sick in early 1897.

 

Back to the Work home page

Imprimer

Le travail de sacristine

 

   La sacristine prépare le matériel nécessaire aux célébrations et aux offices liturgiques

 

missel 05-a-calice-patene-TH aubes-details
Lettrine du missel de l'abbé Youf. Base de l'ostensoir utilisé par Thérèse. Détail d'une aube d'époque.

Une première activité de la sacristine est de passer dans la chapelle extérieure tous les objets nécessaires aux offices liturgiques qui doivent s’y dérouler. Ornements, ciboire et calice, vin et eau, pain d'autel: la sacristine fait passer tout cela par le tiroir ou par le tour de la sacristie. Tour et tiroir dessous sont accessibles tant du côté de la sacristie extérieure comme de la sacristie intérieure, mais sans possibilité de se voir.

Quand le prêtre se présente pour la messe, la sacristine doit avoir préparé et passé au tour ce qui est nécessaire pour que le prêtre s’habille et puisse célébrer la messe. Après la messe, elle doit reprendre ornements et objets et les ranger. Les habits du prêtre sont complexes: l’amict, l’aube, le cordon, l’étole, le manipule et l’ornement. On peut voir ici quelques ornements contemporains de Thérèse. Il faut aussi préparer la nappe d’autel et la nappe pour la grille de communion.C'est la sacristine qui ouvrira la grille de communion, au chœur, pour permettre la communion des sœurs les jours de communion.

Les objets nécessaire pour célébrer la messe comprennent : le calice, la patène, le ciboire, les burettes (photo ci-dessous), les chandeliers, le missel. Voir ici les vases sacrés du temps de Thérèse, et le missel de l'abbé Youf.

burettes

Pour les expositions du Saint Sacrement, la sacristine passe l’ostensoir et le thabor (voir photos vers le milieu de la page) ainsi que les bougies nécessaires ; et pour le prêtre, la chape et l’étole. Le samedi, elle apporte les cierges du Salve, cierge que les sœurs en manteau blanc porteront allumés pendant le chant de cette hymne au chœur avant l’Oraison du soir.

C’est à elle que revient de maintenir tous les linges qui servent aux diverses cérémonies propres et en bon état, d’en confectionner de nouveaux quand c’est nécessaire.

C’est à elle que revient de faire bénir avant la cérémonie, l’habit que recevra une nouvelle novice, de préparer pour elle un grand cierge, ainsi que des cierges pour les autres sœurs de la communauté qu’elles porteront allumés, accompagnant en procession la nouvelle novice pour son entrée au chœur.

Pour la communion des malades, elle prépare sur l’autel de l’infirmerie, un crucifix entre deux chandeliers, un corporal, le livre qui doit servir au prêtre, près de l’autel elle place un bénitier et le goupillon. Si toute la communauté accompagne le prêtre portant le saint Sacrement, toutes les sœurs ont des cierges. Pour l’extrême onction, la sacristine doit préparer l’autel de l’infirmerie comme pour la communion des malades, sans corporal, mais avec les saintes huiles et 2 petits plateaux contenant des tampons de coton. Elle prévoit aussi un petit bassin et de l’eau pour que le prêtre puisse se laver les mains après avoir fait les onctions.

Pour les inhumations, elle fait sortir les prie-Dieu couverts de housses noires, elle fait mettre à la chapelle les tentures et les housses noires, à la grille de communion, les rideaux violets. Elle prépare les cierges pour le clergé, les ornements noir : chasuble, dalmatiques, chape, étoles pastorales, aubes, cordons et amicts. Pour le chœur, elle prépare la croix de procession et les cierges pour les sœurs, ainsi que les chandeliers qui seront mis autour du cercueil. Ci-dessous, photo d'un détail de l'ornement ayant été utilisé par l'abbé Youf pour les funérailles, notamment celles de Thérèse.

ornement

Enfin, les jours de grande fête, la sacristine fait orner l'autel et le tabernacle de leurs parements blancs les plus beaux et l'église de tentures, s'il est possible. 

Avec toutes ces tâches très régulières, on comprend que la sacristine ait une assistante. Thérèse a travaillé à la sacristie de février 1891 à février 1893. En mars 1896 elle fut remise à la sacristie, et retirée peu après son premier crachement de sang.

Un cahier d'une centaine de pages manuscrites (22,5 X 17,5 cm) décrivait la fonction en détail. Après 16 pages d’explications générales, ce cahier précise :

- les règles pour l’exposition du St Sacrement
- le nombre de bougies qu’il faut à l’autel
- ce qu’il faut consacrer et bénir
- l'usage des choses bénites
- que faire quand une hostie tombe au sol
- comment enlever les taches sur les ornements
- le blanchissage du linge de la sacristie
- le renouvellement des saintes huiles
- la manière de faire les bougies, de cire et stéarique (l’acide stéarique forme un solide blanc à température ambiante).
- des indications pour les cérémonies et pour les fêtes de l’année : matériel à préparer et parures de chapelle.

 

 

Retour à l'accueil du Travail.