Print

Contemplative Prayer

The prayer specific to Carmel

Two hours a day of contemplative prayer in the choir
kneeling next to the stalls, visible in this contemporary photo.
What happens during this silence ? 

 an aspiration of the heart

a simple glance

directed to heaven

a cry of gratitude and love...

                                                                                                                                                                                                         Ms C, 25r


The great Teresa of Avila was passionate about the presence of God in each person. Her main activity was to keep Him company. As well, when she reformed Carmel in the 16th century she wished to fit into the daily schedule two hours two hours of intense attention to this divine presence; two hours of silent prayer that are specified in the text of the Constitutions contemporary to the little Thérèse.

Contemplative prayer is an exchange of love with God, a conversation, an encounter. This exchange of love with God causes us to seek God in ourselves, at the center of the soul. Heavens live entirely in our soul and faith creates the contact.

It is a meeting where we are awaited. God love created us through love and calls us to the communion of love with him. Thérèse, so young, understood the greatness of a vocation of the human being called to union with God.

Saint Terese of Avila invites us to this intimacy with God. She describes his presence in The Interior Castel of the Soul. She affirms that the door of this Castle is prayer... the intimate exchange of friendship where we meet single-handedly with this God where we know we are loved.  


The little manual of Spiritual Direction at the time of Thérèse declares that this hour is the holiest and most useful for it is during prayer that the soul nourishes itself and regains new energy. It is there that the spiritual fire is lit every morning which must burn continuously in the sanctuary of the heart.

In this little manual in use with Thérèse, there are several manners of beginning prayer that are described, notably “to put oneself in the presence of God and represent him as present in all and everywhere, filling all in Heaven and earth and we are in him like a sponge in the sea” (p.14).

When we consult the Manuel de la Maîtresse des Novices in use during Thérèse’s time, we note the importance of contemplative prayer in Carmel; an entire chapter explains how the novice mistress must take the greatest care when leading the novices in the paths of prayer “according to their interest” (chapter 12).

 Thérèse of Avila

« Let us employ ourselves in looking upon Christ, who is looking upon us. Lets us accompany Him. »

in Life, chap. 13

Teresa of Avila

« All I ask of you is to look at him.»

in Way of perfection


John of the Cross

« You are yourself that very place where he dwells, his retreat where he is hidden.»

in Spiritual Canticle

Contemplative prayer is an act of faith that continues, or better yet, a series of acts of faith that restart a broken connection. In this way Thérèse who happened to be distracted during prayer, compared herself to a little bird who never ceased to gaze upon the Divine Sun, the Sun of Love” (Ms. B folio 4 v°). She continues in this text to go through her distractions but she always comes back to the divine Sun: Manuscript B, folio 5 recto.

These two hours of daily prayer, this time for God in silence, have an effect on the person; she is transformed. This exercise of the love of God overflows and leads to the love of neighbor. Thérèse bears witness to this, telling how she was led little by little to understand what charity is in her Manuscript C, folio 11 verso and following.

 

 

John of the Cross

« In the happy night
In secret, when none saw me
Nor I beheld aught,
Without light or guide 
Save that which burned
 in my heart  
This light guided me more surely
Than the light of noonday. » 

in The dark night

To know more on contemplative prayer

http://www.oraison.net/

Back to the Lifestyle

Imprimer

L'oraison

La prière spécifique du Carmel
Deux heures par jour à prier silencieusement au chœur,
à genoux à côté des stalles, visibles sur cette photo contemporaine. 
Que se passe-t-il dans ce silence ? 

un élan du cœur...

un simple regard

jeté vers le ciel...

un cri de reconnaissance et d’amour...

                                                                                                                                                                                                         Ms C, 25r

La grande Thérèse d'Avila était passionnée par la présence de Dieu en chaque personne. Sa principale occupation était de Lui tenir compagnie! Aussi, lorsqu'elle réforma le Carmel au 16e siècle, elle voulut insérer dans l'horaire quotidien deux heures d'attention intense à cette présence divine : deux heures d'oraison, qui sont précisées dans le texte des Constitutions contemporain de la petite Thérèse. 

L'oraison est un échange d’amour avec Dieu, une conversation, un entretien. Cet échange d’amour fait chercher Dieu en soi, au centre de l'âme. Le ciel vit tout entier dans notre âme, et la foi réalise le contact. C'est un rendez-vous où nous sommes attendus.  Dieu Amour nous a créés par amour et nous appelle à la communion d’amour avec lui. Thérèse, si jeune, a compris la grandeur de la vocation de l’être humain appelé à l’union avec Dieu.

Sainte Thérèse d’Avila invite à cette intimité avec Dieu. Elle décrit sa présence dans le Château intérieur de notre âme. Elle affirme que « la porte de ce Château c’est l’oraison… un commerce intime d’amitié où l’on s’entretient souvent seul à seul avec ce Dieu dont on se sait aimé. » 

Le petit manuel de la Direction spirituelle, de l’époque de Thérèse, déclare que « cette heure est la plus sainte et la plus utile de la journée ; car c'est dans l'oraison que l'âme se nourrit et reprend de nouvelles forces ; c'est là qu'elle rallume, tous les matins, le feu spirituel qui doit brû­ler sans cesse dans le sanctuaire de son cœur. »

Dans ce petit manuel à l’usage de Thérèse, on décrit plusieurs manières de commencer l’oraison, notamment « de se mettre en la pré­sence de Dieu et de le représenter comme présent en tout et partout, et remplissant tout au ciel et en la terre, et nous étant dans lui comme une éponge dans la mer » (p.14).

On constate l'importance de l'oraison au Carmel lorsqu'on consulte le Manuel de la Maîtresse des Novices en usage au temps de Thérèse: un chapitre entier explique comment la maîtresse des novices doit apporter le plus grand soin à conduire les novices dans les voies de l'oraison "selon leur attrait" (chapitre 12).

 Thérèse d'Avila

« Demeurons près du Sauveur. Occupons-nous à considérer qu’Il nous regarde, que nous lui tenons compagnie. »

in Vie, chap. 13

 

Thérèse d'Avila

« Tout ce que je vous demande, c'est de le regarder."

in Chemin de la perfection

 

 

Jean de la Croix

« Tu es toi-même la demeure où il habite, la retraite où il se cache.»

 in Le Cantique spirituel

L’oraison est un acte de foi qui se prolonge, ou mieux, une série d’actes de foi qui reprennent un contact interrompu. Ainsi Thérèse, à laquelle il arrive d'être distraite à l'oraison, se compare à un petit oiseau qui ne cesse de fixer "le Soleil divin, le Soleil de l'Amour" (Ms B folio 4 v°). Elle continue dans ce texte à faire le tour de ses distractions mais toujours elle revient au Soleil divin: Manuscrit B, folio 5 recto.

Ces deux heures d’oraison quotidienne, ce temps pour Dieu dans le silence,  ont un effet sur la personne : celle-ci est transformée. Cet exercice d’amour de Dieu déborde et conduit à l’amour du prochain. Thérèse en témoigne, racontant que peu à peu elle a été conduite à compendre ce qu'est la charité dans son Manuscrit C, folio 11 verso, et suivants.

Jean de la Croix

« Dans cette heureuse nuit
Je n’apercevais rien 
Pour me guider
Que la lumière 
Qui brûlait dans mon cœur
Elle me guidait plus sûrement
Que la lumière du midi... » 

in La nuit obscure

Une fois où on voulut donner à Thérèse un remède assez long pendant l’oraison du soir [bain de pieds à la farine de moutarde] on lui dit : « Mais cela va vous empêcher de faire oraison ! » Elle répondit : « Rien ne peut empêcher de faire oraison. »
Lettre de Marie de Jésus à Mère Agnès 1935

 

Pour en savoir plus sur l'oraison

http://www.oraison.net/

Retour au Style de vie