Print

From Sister Marie‑Dosithée to Mrs. Martin and her nieces - September 8, (?) 1876

From Sister Marie‑Dosithée to Mrs. Martin and her nieces. 8‑10th (?) September 1876.

V. + J. (Live Jesus)

From our Mtery in Le Mans

                                                               8th Nativity of O. L.

My Dear Sister, My dear children,

So you want me to write to you, it wasn’t my intention however, but what can I say, I’m weak, I cannot refuse you anything.

Yesterday, we received Pauline’s two pretty vases, which I was very pleased with, because I saw that giving them was so important to her: my Pauline has a good heart, it would be a shame if she didn’t become good, but she will do of course. Coming back to those ladies you sent, they caused me a fair bit of embarrassment, they handed me the letter and didn’t at all offer to come back and pick up a reply; so I thought that I would have to send you news about my health verbally, which bothered me, because I don’t particularly want [l v°] everyone to know about my affairs, especially if I’d have known I had to write to you.   

You were surprised to receive such a short letter last time; I couldn’t do otherwise: at a quarter to 11, I was brought my letters and told that I needed to hand over my reply at noon; I skimmed through them, and couldn’t even read them properly, it would have taken too long, I started writing at about 11 o’clock, and before ½ past 11, they were hounding me for my letter. Furthermore, I was very tired I was trembling and couldn’t gather my thoughts, so what do you expect? 

You wished for news of my health. Yesterday and today I’ve been better, my temperature has gone down, I have more strength. For the five or six days before that, it wasn’t so, I had a very high temperature which plagued me continually; don’t think I stayed in bed, no, because this week, I’ve been up at 5 in the morning 4 days in a row now to take Holy Communion and I’m no worse. Tomorrow, I will rest if I can, I say if I can, because my cough gets me up, since I cough more in bed than standing up. I am weaker, so I’m unable to walk in the garden, without the arm [2r°] of one of our sisters, and a stick in my other hand. If you saw me, you would be surprised I have a delightful complexion, and if my assessment is right, I will be able to go on for at least a year like this, if not longer, unless I catch pneumonia, but I’m taking many precautions. Consequently, Pauline, your aunt won’t be dying this year.

I would have liked to see Marie at the beginning of term, but if she comes then she perhaps won’t be able to come later, it’s for this reason that I would have liked her to come later, because she won’t be able to see Father Cartier (the Jesuit who preached at the June-July retreat), on that day due to the new term starting. Yet it would have done her good if he’d seen her again for a moment, it would have strengthened and consolidated her on the right path, anyway do what you think is best. 

Sister Félicité is in the infirmary for her leg and yesterday she said to me: “Oh! How often your sister asks the Poor Clares (the Order of Saint Clare in Alençon) to pray for you.” To her great surprise I replied, that not only did you not ask them to pray but that you yourself didn’t want to pray (sic) for me because I was a saint! Would you mind, please, telling me who has ever told you that I was a saint? Nobody! Here nobody neither says it nor thinks it, and even if I were the greatest saint in the world, it only takes a second to fall from grace, and who has ever asserted [2v°l that the righteous persevere? I assure you that I’m not very grateful to you for this, because even my own sister refuses to help me! Holy Scripture says: “A brother shall help his brother, and the Lord will save both of them”. 

Please tell me about Léonie when you come, I particularly wish to speak to you about her.

I wasn’t able to finish my letter to you on Friday, I found I was too tired, but since then, I’ve been thinking that in actual fact, it might be better for Marie to come at the start of term, because although I’m not a prophet and I don’t know what could happen to me, perhaps later on, I won’t be able to see her again and she would regret that; don’t bring the children, I do love them, but I couldn’t bear their noise.

My Pauline, your little garden is looking delightful, I’ve never seen it so beautiful, when I am able to go out I will go to see it and that will be a little treat for me, the China asters are so beautiful! Unfortunately the flowers will be over when you come, but there are some still in bud that are waiting for your return to flower. - I’ve put your vases, not next to the Sacred Heart, there were so many there already, but next to the poor Bl. Virgin in the dormitory, it’s just been her Nativity, if you’d have seen how happy she looked, I stopped to look at her, she has never looked so beautiful!... Sr. M. Aloysia sends her affection, but she’s not pleased that you are doing your homework she wants you to rest. It seems, my Pauline, that your Mother has been making you take lessons from the Fishmongers, you speak so loudly that everybody gets a splitting headache; your uncle told me about it, he was sorry and found that you weren’t well brought up [2v°tv] a young lady boarding at the Visitation convent and especially a 15 year-old, should have good manners.

Your affectionate Sr.

Sr. M. Dosithée Guérin

Of the Von of Holy Mary

B. B. G.

Back to the list

Imprimer

De sœur Marie‑Dosithée à Mme Martin et à ses nièces - 8‑10 (?) septembre 1876.

 

De sœur Marie‑Dosithée à Mme Martin et à ses nièces. 8‑10 (?) septembre 1876.

 

V. + J.

De notre Mère du Mans

                                                               le 8 Nativité de Ne De.

 

Ma Chère Sœur, Mes chers enfants,

Vous voulez donc que je vous écrive, ce n'était pourtant pas mon intention, mais que voulez-vous, je suis faible, je ne sais rien vous refuser.

Hier, nous avons reçu les deux jolis petits vases de Pauline, qui m’ont fait bien plaisir, parce que j'ai vu que cela lui en faisait tant de les offrir: elle a bon cœur, ma Pauline, ce serait dommage si elle ne devenait pas bonne, mais elle le sera bien sûr. Pour en revenir à vos bonnes dames, je me suis trouvée assez embarrassée avec elles, elles m'ont remis la lettre et ne se sont pas du tout offertes à venir chercher une réponse; alors j’ai cru qu’il fallait verbalement vous faire donner des nouvelles de ma santé, ce qui me contrarie, car je n'ai pas envie de mettre [l v°] tout le monde au courant de mes affaires, surtout si j'avais su devoir vous écrire.

Vous avez été surprises d'en voir si peu long la dernière fois ; il était impossible de faire autrement : à 11 h. moins un quart, on m'apporte vos lettres en me disant qu'à midi il faut la réponse; je les parcours, et même je ne puis les lire, c'eut été trop long, je me mets vers 11 h. à écrire, et avant 11 h. 1/2, on courait après moi pour avoir ma lettre. Avec cela j’étais très fatiguée je tremblais et n'avais pas mes idées, que vouliez-vous donc ?

Vous désirez des nouvelles de ma santé. Hier et aujourd'hui je vais mieux, J'ai moins de fièvre, plus de force; les cinq ou six jours précédents, il n'en était pas ainsi, j'avais une grosse fièvre qui me tourmentait continuellement; ne croyez cependant pas que je reste au lit, non, car cette semaine, voilà 4 jours de suite que je me lève à 5 h du matin pour faire la Ste Communion et je n'en suis pas pire; demain, je prendrai du repos si je peux, je dis si je peux, parce que la toux me force à me lever, toussant davantage au lit que debout. Mes forces sont affaiblies, ainsi je ne pourrais pas me promener au jardin, sans le bras [2r°] d'une de nos sœurs, et un bâton de l'autre côté. Si vous me voyiez, vous seriez surpris, J'ai une mine charmante, et suivant mon appréciation que je crois juste, j'irai au moins un an comme cela, si ce n'est pas davantage, à moins d'une fluxion de poitrine, mais je prends bien des précautions. Ainsi ma Pauline, tu ne verras pas mourir ta tante pendant ton année.

Cela m'aurait bien fait plaisir de voir Marie à la rentrée, mais si elle vient à ce moment là peut être ne pourrait-elle pas venir plus tard, c'est pour cela que j'aurais voulu que ce fût plus tard, parce qu'elle ne pourra pas voir le Père Cartier (le jésuite qui a prêché la retraite de juin-juillet), ce jour-là à cause de leur rentrée. Cela lui aurait pourtant fait grand bien d'être un peu revue de lui, cela l'aurait fortifiée et affermie dans le bien, enfin faites ce que vous voudrez.

Ma Sœur Félicité est à l'infirmerie pour sa jambe et hier elle me disait : « Oh ! comme votre sœur fait prier pour vous aux Stes Claires (les Clarisses d'Alençon). » Je lui ai répondu à sa grande surprise, que non seulement tu ne les faisais pas prier mais que toi-même ne le voulait pas prier (sic) parce que j'étais une sainte! Veux-tu, s'il vous plaît, me dire à qui jamais tu as entendu dire que j'étais une sainte ? A personne ! Ici personne ne le dit ni le pense, et encore quand je serais la plus grande sainte du monde, il ne faut qu'un instant pour perdre la grâce, et qui donc a assuré [2v°l aux justes qu'ils persévéreraient ? je t'assure que je ne te sais pas bon gré de cela, car enfin ma propre sœur refuse de me venir en aide ! La Ste Ecriture dit : « Le frère aidera le frère, et le Seigneur les sauvera tous deux ».

Je te prie de me parler de Léonie quand tu viendras, je désire t'en parler en particulier.

Je n'ai pas pu finir ma lettre Vendredi, je me suis trouvée trop fatiguée, mais depuis, j'ai réfléchi qu'en effet, peut-être valait-il mieux que Marie vînt à la rentrée, car enfin je ne suis pas prophète et je ne sais ce qui peut m'arriver, peut-être que plus tard, je ne pourrais la revoir et alors elle regretterait; n'amène pas d'enfants, je les aime bien, mais je ne pourrais supporter leur bruit.

Ma Pauline, ton petit jardin est délicieux, jamais je ne l'avais vu si beau, quand je puis sortir je vais le voir et cela me fait une petite jouissance, les reines-marguerites sont si belles ! Malheureusement elles seront défleuries quand tu viendras, mais il y en a qui ne sont qu'en bouton et qui attendent ton retour pour fleurir. ‑ J'ai mis tes vases, non au Sacré‑Cœur, il en avait déjà tant, mais à la pauvre Ste Vierge du dortoir, juste­ment c'était sa Nativité, si tu avais vu quel air content elle avait, je m’arrêtais devant elle, jamais elle n'avait été aussi belle !. . . Ma Sr M. Aloysia te dit bien des choses affectueuses, mais elle n'est pas contente que tu fasses tes devoirs elle veut que tu te reposes. Il paraît, ma Pauline, que ta Mère t'aurait fait prendre des leçons aux Marchands de poisson, tu parles, si haut que tout le monde en a la tête fendue; ton oncle m'en a parlé, il était désolé et ne te trouvait pas bien élevée [2v°tv] une Delle pensionnaire de la Visitation et surtout ayant 15 ans, devrait avoir de bonnes manières.

Votre Sr affectionnée

Sr M. Dosithée Guérin

De la Von Ste Marie

D. S. B.

Retour à la liste des correspondants