Print

From Céline to Mme La Néele - November 3, 1893.

From Céline to Mme La Néele - November 3, 1893.

Darling little Jeanne,

I’m writing to you to give you news of Mrs. Founet and to say a little hello before seeing you again. You know I’m still intending to leave with you on Monday. I will go and see Léonie on Tuesday. I’m looking forward to this little trip which will allow me to spend a few days with my little Jeanne.

We have some very good news concerning Mrs. Fournet, she is feeling better. Yesterday evening, she didn’t have a fit and spent her evening [1°] working like she used to do. I’m going to leave a little bit of my paper blank so that if my Aunt has fresher news, she can give it to you. We are all very glad to see that God is resolved to leaving our dear grandmama with us for longer. It is so sad having sick people in the family, one doesn’t enjoy life.

Apparently, my dear little sister, you have donned Léonie’s coat. I am glad of it and very happy you like it. What I like above all is [2r°] knowing it is nice and warm. You had more sense than us to wear it on All Saints Day: we froze in our summer jackets.

I have just finished my portrait of Marthe. I’ve never done one like it. Her father and mother came to see it this evening, and are delighted. Krug’s lessons have clearly done me some good, I have less difficulty and more pleasure than before. But do you know what happened to me?... In my hurry and muddle I kissed Mr. Lahaye! Yes, almost. It left him stunned and stuttering: it doesn’t matter.

I will leave you to meditate on the inattentiveness of your dignified sister, who loves you more and more if that’s possible.

Céline.

Back to the list

Imprimer

De Céline à Mme La Néele - 3 novembre 1893.

 

De Céline à Mme La Néele. 3 novembre 1893. 

Ma petite Jeanne chérie,

Je t'écris pour te donner des nouvelles de Madame Fournet et te dire un petit bonjour avant de te revoir. Tu sais que je compte toujours partir Lundi avec toi. J'irai voir Léonie Mardi, je me réjouis de ce petit voyage qui me fera passer quelques jours avec ma chère petite Jeanne.

Nous avons de très bonnes nouvelles de Mme Fournet, elle va mieux. Hier soir elle n'a pas eu de crise et a passé sa veillée [1°] à travailler comme par le passé. Je vais laisser un petit bout de ma lettre afin que si ma Tante a des nouvelles plus fraîches, elle puisse te les donner. Nous sommes tous bien contents de voir que le bon Dieu se décide à nous conserver encore notre chère bonne maman, c'est si triste d'avoir des malades dans la famille, on ne vit pas.

Il paraît, ma chère petite sœur, que tu as endossé le vêtement de Léonie, j’en suis contente et tout heureuse de te faire plaisir. Surtout ce qui me plaît c'est de [2r°] savoir qu'il est bien chaud. Tu as eu bien plus de sens que nous de le mettre le jour de la Toussaint, nous, nous avons gelé avec nos jaquettes d'été.

Je viens de finir le portrait de Marthe. Jamais je n'en avais fait un pareil. Son père et sa mère sont venus le voir ce soir, ils sont ravis. Décidément les leçons de Krug m’ont fait du bien, j'ai moins de mal et plus d'agrément qu'autrefois. Mais tu ne sais pas ce qui m'est arrivé ?... Dans mon empressement et mon trouble j'ai embrassé Monsieur Lahaye ! oui, presque. Il est resté tout ahuri en balbutiant : cela ne fait rien.

Je te laisse en méditation sur la distraction de ta digne sœur, qui t'aime toujours de plus en plus si c'est possible.

Céline.

Retour à la liste des correspondants