Print

Monsieur Guérin

 

Study on Isidore Guérin

 

Isidore Guérin (born January 2nd, 1841) and his two sisters, Marie-Louise and Zélie, were the children of one of the many French families affected by the rural exodus at the beginning of the 19th century. The Guérins were famers; they moved from generation to generation (their father was a French policeman who served the Emperor as a soldier) from the military campaigns in the Orne region to his police station in Alençon. Isidore benefited from the establishment of public instruction and its best; the lycée Napoleon (public secondary school established under the educational reforms of Napoleon). He obtained his degrees of bachelor of letters and science in 1860 and 1863. This training permitted him to join the École Supérieure de Pharmacie de Paris and then to become a pharmacist in 1966. By buying a pharmacy (as well as a hardware store in 1870, which burned in 1873), he joined the noteworthy members of society in Lisieux. His marriage on September 11th, 1866, considered by some as strategic, with Céline Fournet, descendant of a manufacturing family in Lisieux, strengthened his social position even more. The son of a policeman became a distinguished citizen as is seen in his nomination to the local Conseil d’hygiène (sanitary commission). Unquestionably, he was “the” most important person in the Martin and Guérin families during the life of Thérèse. 

The documents preserved in the Theresian collection of the archives of the convent of the Carmel of Lisieux show this notability:

- Like many other notables of his time period, he kept a family journal (livre de raison) to record in writing what he inherited from his ancestors and what he would bring to the posterity he hoped for. Outstanding events, acquisitions, phases of his private or public life were listed chronologically. As head of the family, he collated, with the same logic, everything that concerned members of the family, direct or by marriage. Paradoxically, this self-proclaimed head of the family (the creation of a family journal is a private work) would die without descendants. An only son still-born, Paul, a first daughter, Jeanne, married but without biological progeny, Marie, a Carmelite who died prematurely, would make him a patriarch without descendants.

- A photographic snapshot placed in the first pages of the family journal, holds the trace of another representation of this constructed notability. A family tree organizes the ancestors and the descendants of the pharmacist of Lisieux. The imaginary roots (an improbable alliance with a family named “de Guérin”) and an aborted summit (an inset of his daughter as Carmelite) synthesize the strength and fragility of Isidore’s path.

- Other snapshots revive for us the pleasures of vacation lived by the Martin and Guérin families. Elegant and dazzling silhouettes pose in front of the place par excellence of social distinction: a manor house. In fact, the Guérins inherited with joint tenancy the Château de la Musse, in the Eure, purchased 25 years earlier by a first cousin of Céline Fournet’s mother. But the same fleetingness would strike this symbolic possession. It would be sold to an aristocrat in 1899 before becoming a sanatorium in 1932. Currently it houses a detox center for alcoholics.

If Isidore Guérin knew success, he also suffered in his body (illness did not spare him), in his heart and his hopes. His personality would become richer for it. This notable was sentimental and mild-mannered. Committed and generous, his uncompromising convictions, marked by the seal of a narrow ideology, would cause him to engage in controversial battles with regards to our calm democratic opinions. The slow emergence of the Republic, on the ruins of the Monarchy and the Empire, at the hands of a wayward and clerical Catholic Church, helps to understand the nationalistic and anti-Semitic drifts of his journalistic activity.

Isidore Guérin received a Christian education but all of that faded away during the Parisian studies. His sister, Marie-Dosithée recommended from her Visitation convent in Mans, that he visit the sanctuary of Our Lady of Victories, Refuge of sinners. The correspondence between the Visitation nun and the med student retain the memory of spiritualism séances that Isidore seemed to prefer to churches in the Capital. After his marriage, Isidore didn’t go to Easter Mass anymore. Slowly he lapsed into the atheism of the elites of the 19th century. That said, he would later develop a real religion, very typical as well of these notables of the Republic being painfully birthed. Their nostalgia for the religious harmony of the Old Regime is obvious. All their efforts strove to restore what the Revolution had weakened. They created a Society of Combat and Defense to confront the Society of the Rights of Man and the republican Triad: Liberty, Equality and Fraternity. Isidore would increase his affiliations with societies of restoration and reparation. He would be in all the circles of Christian notables contributing to the creation of the Works giving access to culture and religions of the poorest. In 1874 he founded the Saint Vincent de Paul conference in Lisieux which brought together prayer and charitable action. That same year, he became a member of the parish fabrique (parish council). So, with other lay people, he managed the accounts of his faith community. When he founded the Catholic Circle it was to bring together friends who loved spiritual books. This Society of notables devoted themselves to the care of religious in the social and public sphere, threatened by secular thinking. Ad intra, these fervent Catholics propagated night adoration. Ad extra, they protected the Brothers of Christian Schools when they were persecuted. A Calvary, built at the expense of Isidore Guérin, still stands today at the entrance of the city of Lisieux. This urban sentry is the perfect summary of the devotion to the cause of religion in the republican arena. That being said, this zeal which was all exterior, found its roots in a true baptismal consecration: on September 5th, 1900, Isidore made a permanent commitment in the Third Carmelite order under the name of Brother Elijah of the Blessed Sacrament.

Lastly, the uncle of Saint Thérèse was also a publicist who spread his opinions and those of his sector. From 1891 to 1896 he became a journalist. Numerous articles appearing in Le Normande, which he relaunched financially and of which he was the editorialist, gave witness to his public commitment. His ideology revealed itself. He acted as a defender of the Church and of moral order, not without his own drifts of this agonistic public opinion. Nationalism and anti-Semitism defended at the same time the land, and the purest, blood against so many imaginary enemies: foreigners, those without citizenship, the Jews supposed deicide.

After a long illness, Isidore Guérin died in Lisieux on September 28th, 1909-shortly before the opening of the Ordinary Process for his niece…

Brother Marc Fontin ocd

 

Back to the Family members

Imprimer

Monsieur Guérin

 

     Étude sur Isidore Guérin


Isidore Guérin (né le 2 janvier 1841) et ses deux sœurs, Marie-Louise et Zélie, sont les enfants d’une de ces nombreuses familles françaises marquées par l’exode rural au début du XIXème siècle.
Les Guérin sont des agriculteurs ; ils ont migré, de génération en génération (leur père déjà était gendarme, après avoir servi l’Empereur comme soldat) des campagnes de l’Orne à sa Préfecture, Alençon. Isidore a profité de la mise en place de l’enseignement public et de son fleuron : le lycée napoléonien. Il obtient les baccalauréats ès-lettres et ès-sciences en  1860 et 1863. Cette formation lui permettra d’intégrer l’Ecole Supérieure de Pharmacie de Paris puis de devenir Pharmacien de première classe en 1866. En achetant une officine à Lisieux (ainsi qu’une droguerie en 1870, qui sera incendiée en 1873), il se glisse parmi les notables lexoviens. Son mariage, à certains égards stratégique, le 11 septembre 1866 avec Céline Fournet, descendante d’une famille de manufacturiers de Lisieux, renforce encore sa position sociale. Le fils de gendarme est devenu un notable comme en témoigne sa nomination au Conseil d’hygiène du département. Sans conteste, il est « le » personnage important des familles Martin et Guérin  du vivant de sainte Thérèse.

Des documents conservés dans le fonds thérésien des archives du monastère du Carmel de Lisieux témoignent de cette notabilité:
•    Comme beaucoup d’autres notables de son époque, il tient un livre de raison pour recueillir  par écrit à la fois ce qu’il hérite de ses ascendants et ce qu’il apporte à la postérité qu’il espère. Des événements marquants, des acquisitions, des étapes de sa vie privée ou publique  sont répertoriés chronologiquement. Chef de famille, il collationne, selon la même logique chronologique, tout ce qui concerne les membres de sa famille, directe ou par alliance. Paradoxalement, ce chef de famille auto-proclamé (le livre de raison est une production privée) mourra sans descendance. Un fils unique mort-né, Paul, une première fille, Jeanne, mariée mais sans progéniture biologique, et une seconde, Marie, carmélite morte prématurément, feront de lui un patriarche sans postérité.
•    Un cliché photographique, placé dans les premières pages du livre de raison, garde la trace d’une autre représentation de cette notabilité construite. Un arbre généalogique  rassemble l’ascendance et la descendance du pharmacien de Lisieux. Les racines imaginaires (une alliance improbable avec une famille « de Guérin ») et un sommet avorté (un médaillon de sa fille en carmélite) synthétisent la force et la fragilité du parcours d’Isidore.
•    D’autres clichés nous font revivre les plaisirs de la villégiature vécus par les familles Martin et Guérin. Des silhouettes élégantes et radieuses posent devant le lieu par excellence de la distinction sociale : un château. En effet, en 1888, les Guérin héritent en indivision du  Château de la Musse, dans l’Eure, acheté 25 ans plus tôt par un cousin germain de la mère de Céline Fournet. Mais la même fugacité frappera ce bien symbolique. Il sera vendu à un aristocrate en 1899, avant de devenir sanatorium en 1932. Actuellement il abrite un centre de désintoxication pour alcooliques. 

Si Isidore Guérin a connu le succès, il a aussi souffert dans sa chair (la maladie ne l’a pas épargné), dans son cœur et dans ses espérances. Sa personnalité n’en sera que plus riche. Ce notable est un homme sentimental et doux. Engagé et généreux, ses convictions intransigeantes, marquées du sceau d’une idéologie étroite, lui feront mener des combats parfois douteux au regard de nos opinions démocratiques apaisées. La lente émergence de la République, sur les décombres de la Monarchie et de l’Empire, face à une Eglise catholique rétive et cléricale, aide à comprendre les dérives nationalistes et antisémites de son activité journalistique.

Isidore Guérin a reçu une éducation chrétienne, mais tout cela s’efface pendant les études parisiennes. Sa sœur, Marie-Dosithée, depuis le monastère de la Visitation du Mans où elle est moniale, doit lui recommander, non sans humour, de fréquenter le sanctuaire de Notre Dame des Victoires, Refuge des pécheurs. La correspondance de la visitandine et du carabin garde la mémoire de séances de spiritisme qu’Isidore semble préférer aux églises de la Capitale. Après son mariage, Isidore n’ira plus à la Messe de Pâques. Lentement il verse dans l’athéisme des élites du XIXème siècle. Cela dit, il va développer ultérieurement une véritable religion, tout aussi typique de ces notables d’une République péniblement naissante. Leur nostalgie de l’harmonie religieuse de l’Ancien Régime est patente. Tous leurs efforts tendent à restaurer ce que la Révolution a fait vaciller. Ils bâtissent une Société de combat et de défense face à la Société des Droits de l’Homme et de la Triade républicaine : Liberté, Egalité, Fraternité. Isidore va ainsi multiplier les appartenances à des sociabilités de restauration et de réparation. Il sera de tous les cercles de notables chrétiens contribuant à la création d’Œuvres permettant l’accès à la culture et à la religion pour les plus pauvres. En 1874, il fonde la Conférence Saint Vincent de Paul à Lisieux qui allie la prière à l’action caritative. La même année, il intègre la fabrique paroissiale. Ainsi, avec d’autres laïcs, il gèrera les biens matériels de sa communauté de Foi. Quand il fonde le Cercle Catholique, c’est pour réunir des amis amateurs de livres spirituels. Cette Société de notables chrétiens se dévoue à la maintenance du religieux dans l’espace social et public, menacé par l’esprit laïciste. Ad intra, ces catholiques fervents propagent la pratique de l’Adoration  nocturne. Ad extra, ils protègent les Frères des Ecoles Chrétiennes lorsqu’ils seront persécutés. Un Calvaire, érigé aux frais d’Isidore Guérin, se dresse encore aujourd’hui à l’entrée de la Commune de Lisieux. Cette sentinelle urbaine est le parfait résumé de ce dévouement à la cause de la religion dans l’espace républicain. Cela dit, ce zèle, tout extérieur, s’enracine dans une véritable consécration baptismale : le cinq septembre 1900, Isidore s’engage pour toujours dans le Tiers Ordre carmélitain sous le nom de Frère Élie du Saint Sacrement.

Enfin, l’oncle de sainte Thérèse est aussi un publiciste qui propage ses opinions et celles de son milieu.  De 1891 à 1896, il se fait journaliste. De nombreux articles parus  dans Le Normand, qu’il a relancé financièrement et dont il sera l’éditorialiste, témoignent  de son engagement politique. Son idéologie se dévoile. Il se pose en défenseur de l’Eglise et de l’Ordre moral, non sans les dérives propres de cette opinion publique agonistique. Le nationalisme et l’antisémitisme défendent tout à la fois le plus proche, le sol, et le plus pur, le sang contre autant d’ennemis imaginaires : l’étranger, l’apatride, le juif supposé déicide.

Après une longue maladie, Isidore Guérin meurt à Lisieux en 1909, le 28 septembre - peu avant l'ouverture du Procès de l'Ordinaire pour sa nièce Thérèse...

 Frère Marc Fortin ocd