Print

“Mansions” (places) during Lent—


Places for Lent—1st Sunday of Lent


1st Mansion
Your mansion will be found in abandoning yourself to the Divine will. It is almost the only place from where no event, no creature can lead you astray. If, during the Holy Forty Days, you know to remain there faithfully, you will find so many heavenly charms that you will not wish to leave.

2nd Mansion
Your mansion during Lent will be the Carmel of Lisieux. Why do you remove yourself from there, even if only by thoughts, from this land of graces, from this place of benedictions where the glances of God and His angels will fall upon you with so many delights and love? Spend the Holy Forty Days thanking Heaven for allowing you to live in this paradise on earth. Think of how many saints there are among your sisters; give for them thanks to God; pray for them, pray for all so that they may be worthy of the great privilege of having been selected for this choice place.

3rd Mansion
Reside within your own heart during this Lent. It is a living temple where resides the Holy Trinity. Develop a love for withdrawing to there as often as possible to entertain your adorable Guests.

4th Mansion
During Lent, stay in the arms of Mary. Ask your celestial Mother to give you the understanding of the great mysteries that will develop before your eyes; ask that you may contemplate the crucified Jesus, soon resurrected, with the same sentiments of love that animated her during days of the humiliation and triumph of her divine Son.

5th Mansion
During this Lent, you will provide company to the Holy Virgin, you will remember the Forty Days that she spent alone while Jesus was in the desert, fasting and praying. You will be filled with tenderness for your dear Mother; you will often speak to her thinking how she must suffer from this separation that painfully reminds her of the three days Jesus spent in the Temple. It was for you that she withstood this sorrow; thus, give her proof of your love.

6th Mansion
Your mansion during this Lent will be the desert in order to be near Jesus. You will imitate His fasts, physically and spiritually, both if possible, if you can. You will imitate Him most of all his continual prayers and, therefore, you will have a more perfect recollection than ever before.

7th Mansion
Stay during this Lent within the shadow of the Cross. “Wherever you may go” says the Imitation, “you will find the Cross.” If you should choose this place, you will find the strength to stay there. The Cross is sweet to those who embrace it with love; so, embrace it with a fervent heart on the thousand small occasions that you encounter it on your path and you will soon prefer its own gentleness, even if you did not previously know it.

8th Mansion
Make as your home, during this Lent, the “fertile valley of humility.” Descend and, without stopping, think about your littleness, receive with joy the exterior humiliations that will come to you. Think of the great courage that one day will be yours during the long Lent of this life. The Resurrected Jesus will be the divine Elevator that will carry you from the terrestrial valley into the summit of the eternal hills.

9th Mansion
Remain, during this Lent, next to Jesus in prayer. Remember those nights that He spent in prayer, and make an effort to reproduce in your heart the sentiments of humility and love that animated the soul of the Man-God in His ineffable colloquies with His celestial Father.

10th Mansion
In the Altar, Jesus renews, in silence and shadows , the great mysteries of salvation that the Church presents for our meditation. Stay, therefore, during this holy time of Lent, in spirit and in reality, before Jesus in the Eucharist and unite your sentiments to His adorable Heart.

11th Mansion (abridged)
Your mansion will be, during Lent, in the company of…all sinners. You will multiply your small sacrifices, your acts of virtue in order to convert a great number of poor souls and to offer to them the Resurrected Jesus on the day of His triumph.

12th Mansion
Your mansion, during this Lent, will be Jerusalem, listening with an avid heart to Jesus’ predictions in this Holy City and indemnifying Him for the cold mockery of His listeners with your respectful and loving attention and for your fervent observation of all that He teaches.

13th Mansion
Your mansion, during Lent, will be the lake shore of Genesareth [known better as Sea of Galilee]. Sometimes, you mix with the enthusiastic crowd that acclaims Jesus and you praise Him with them; sometimes; you join the disciples to be nearer Him. You will look for Him most of all when He is poorly received in order to console Him through your ardent and generous love and shield Him from the hate and indifference that He sometimes finds.

14th Mansion
You will spend Lent in Bethany, imitating Mary and Martha in the love and diligence that they show Him; and also consoling Him for the hate and indifference with which men repay Him for his devotion and ineffable tenderness.

15th Mansion
During Lent, build your dwelling in the Heart of Jesus and, plunging into this ardent furnace, you will embrace love [charite] of God and neighbor.
16th Mansion
During this Lent, you will go often in spirit to the Garden of Olives; there you will accompany Jesus during his long vigil and above all during his terrible agony; this will produce in you the most tender love so as to help Him forget the ingratitude and malice of your fellow sinners.

17th Mansion
Your mansion, during this Lent, will be the Cenacle [“the Upper Room’]; adorn your soul with a meticulous care for the reception of the divine Eucharist, and prepare yourself, for fervent daily Communion; in receiving [the Sacred Host] on Holy Thursday, you will also draw ineffable graces.

18th Mansion
You will, during this Lent, fix your eyes lovingly upon the ravaged face of Jesus, offering to the Celestial Father, for the salvation of sinners, this divine Face from which His kind gaze proceeds.

19th Mansion
You will, during this Lent, fix your eyes lovingly upon the glorious Face of Jesus, begging Him, like Therese, to stamp in you His divine likeness and excite within your heart, by appreciating His ineffable beauty, a most tender and ardent love.

20th Mansion
You will proceed, during this Lent, on the Via Dolorosa [“voie douloureuse”] going in spirit from Pilate’s Praetorium to the summit of Calvary; you will stop at each Station and meditate with tender love upon the sufferings of the Savior.

21st Mansion
During this Lent, you will follow the Holy Virgin in the paths and places that she would have taken from Jerusalem to Bethany during the forty days that preceded the Resurrection. You will share her concerns, her agonies; you will ask her to communicate to you a little of her love for Jesus, and you will offer her all your filial love.

22nd Mansion
During this Lent, you will follow Jesus to everywhere He went in the weeks preceding His death; you will provide Him your faithful and gentle company during His Passion; and you will stay at His tomb until His Resurrection.

23rd Mansion
During this Lent, reside within a profound solitude, both interior and exterior, if your employment so permits; but, if not, then simply interior solitude. You will thus move towards a divine union that fulfills your deepest desires.

24th Mansion
Stay during this Lent in a continual and universal state of renouncement. If you are faithful to this exercise of abnegation, your soul will have an astonishing ascent of love when Easter comes.

25th Mansion
Build your mansion, during this Lent, in the region of pure faith. Exercise towards your Superiors the full spirit of faith. Remember that it is through faith that we reach knowledge of God, of His love, and, consequently, achieve the union for which the soul so greatly yearns.

26th Mansion
During this Lent, you will reside in peace, but with one condition: that is, that you will employ all your power to give primacy to your charity, your humility, your deference, your gentleness. And, if you so act, you will be called “Child of God” , who you will look upon with a singular desire to please.  

Back to the Little Words

Imprimer

Demeures pour le Carême - 1er dimanche de Carême


Demeure 1
Votre demeure sera dans l’abandon au bon plaisir divin. C’est à peu près l’unique demeure de laquelle nul événement, nulle créature ne peut  vous faire sortir malgré vous. Si, durant la Sainte Quarantaine, vous savez y rester fidèlement, vous y goûterez tant de célestes charmes que vous ne voudrez plus jamais le quitter.
Demeure 2
Votre demeure, pendant le Carême, sera au Carmel de Lisieux. Pourquoi vous éloigneriez-vous, même par la pensée, de cette terre de grâces, de ce lieu de bénédictions où le regard de Dieu et de ses Anges se repose avec tant de délices et d’amour ? Passez la Sainte Quarantaine à remercier le Ciel de vous faire vivre dans ce paradis terrestre. Songez qu’il y a des saintes parmi vos sœurs ; rendez-en grâces à Dieu ; priez pour elles, priez pour toutes afin  que toutes soient dignes du grand privilège d’avoir été plantées en ce parterre de choix.
Demeure 3
Demeurez dans votre propre cœur pendant ce Carême. C’est un temple vivant où habite la Trinité Sainte. Aimez à vous y retirer le plus souvent possible et à vous entretenir avec vos adorables Hôtes.
Demeure 4
Pendant ce Carême, demeurez dans les bras de Marie. Demandez à votre céleste Mère de vous donner la science des grands mystères qui vont se dérouler sous vos yeux ; demandez-lui de vous faire contempler Jésus crucifié, puis ressuscité, avec les sentiments d’amour qui l’animaient elle-même aux jours de l’humiliation et du triomphe de son divin Fils.
Demeure 5
Pendant ce Carême, vous tiendrez compagnie à la Sainte Vierge, vous souvenant  des quarante jours qu’elle passa solitaire tandis que Jésus était au désert, jeûnant et priant. Vous serez pleine de tendresse pour votre Mère chérie, vous lui parlerez souvent, songeant combien elle dut souffrir de cette séparation qui devait lui rappeler douloureusement les trois jours passés par Jésus au Temple. C’est pour vous qu’elle a enduré cette peine, témoignez-lui en donc plus d’amour.
Demeure 6
Vous demeurerez, pendant ce Carême, au désert, près de Jésus. Vous l’imiterez dans son jeûne, soit au physique, soit au spirituel, soit aux deux, si vous le pouvez. Vous l’imiterez surtout dans son oraison  continuelle en vous tenant dans un recueillement plus parfait que jamais.
Demeure 7
Demeurez, pendant  ce Carême, à l’ombre de la Croix. « En quelque lieu que vous alliez, dit l’Imitation, partout vous trouverez la Croix. » Si vous choisissez cette demeure, vous êtes donc bien sûre de pouvoir y rester. La croix est douce à celui qui l’embrasse avec amour, embrassez-la d’un cœur fervent, dans les mille petites occasions que vous rencontrez chaque jour sur votre route et vous goûterez bientôt sa suavité, si vous ne la connaissez pas encore.
Demeure 8
Faites votre demeure, pendant ce Carême, dans « la vallée fertile de l’humilité ». Descendez-y sans cesse en pensant à votre néant, en recevant avec joie les humiliations extérieures qui vous seront envoyées. Songez pour vous donner du courage, qu’un jour viendra où, après le long carême de cette vie, Jésus ressuscité sera le divin Ascenseur qui vous emportera de la terrestre vallée au sommet des collines éternelles.
Demeure 9
Demeurez, pendant ce Carême, auprès de Jésus en oraison. Souvenez-vous de ces nuits qu’il passait en prière, et efforcez-vous de reproduire dans votre cœur les sentiments d’humilité et d’amour qui animaient alors l’âme de l’Homme- Dieu dans ces ineffables colloques avec son Père céleste.
Demeure 10
A l’Autel Jésus renouvelle, dans le silence et les ombres de la foi, les grands mystères de salut que l’Eglise va proposer à nos méditations. Demeurez donc, pendant ce saint temps du Carême, soit en esprit, soit en réalité, auprès de Jésus Eucharistie et unissez-vous aux sentiments de son Cœur adorable.
Demeure 11
Votre demeure sera, pendant ce Carême, au milieu des Juifs, des infidèles, des hérétiques et de tous les pécheurs. Vous multiplierez vos petits sacrifices, vos actes de vertu dans le but de convertir un grand nombre de ces pauvres âmes et de les offrir à Jésus ressuscité le jour de son triomphe.
Demeure 12
Votre demeure sera, pendant ce Carême, à Jérusalem écoutant d’un cœur avide les prédications de Jésus dans la Ville sainte et le dédommageant de la froideur railleuse de ses auditeurs par votre attention de respect et d’amour et par votre ferveur dans l’observation de tout ce qu’il enseigne.
Demeure 13
Votre demeure, pendant ce Carême, sera sur les rives du lac de Génésareth. Tantôt vous vous mêlerez à la foule enthousiaste qui acclame Jésus et vous le louerez avec elle ; tantôt vous vous joindrez aux disciples pour l’entendre de plus près. Vous vous trouverez là surtout où il est indignement reçu afin de le consoler, par votre amour ardent et généreux, de la haine ou de l’indifférence qu’il rencontre.
Demeure 14
Vous passerez le temps du Carême à Béthanie, imitant Marie et Marthe dans leur amour et leur assiduité auprès du Sauveur, et le consolant avec elles de l’indifférence et de la haine dont les hommes paient son dévouement et sa tendresse ineffables.
Demeure 15
Pendant ce Carême, fixez votre demeure dans le Cœur de Jésus et, plongée dans ce brasier ardent, embrasez-vous de charité pour Dieu et le prochain.
Demeure 16
Pendant ce Carême, vous irez souvent en esprit au Jardin des Oliviers ; vous y tiendrez compagnie à Jésus durant ses longues veilles et surtout durant sa terrible agonie, lui prodiguant le plus tendre amour pour lui faire oublier l’ingratitude et la malice de vos frères pécheurs.
Demeure 17
Votre demeure, pendant le Carême, sera le Cénacle. Ornez votre âme avec un soin jaloux pour la réception de la divine Eucharistie, et préparez-vous, par une plus fervente Communion quotidienne, à la Communion du Jeudi Saint qui doit, en commémorant le mystère de la première Cène, vous en ramener aussi les ineffables grâces.
Demeure 18
Vous demeurerez, pendant ce Carême, les yeux fixés avec amour sur la Face douloureuse de Jésus, offrant au Père Céleste, pour le salut des pécheurs, cette Face divine sur laquelle reposent ses regards de complaisance.
Demeure 19
Vous demeurerez, pendant ce Carême, les yeux fixés sur la Face glorieuse de Jésus, le suppliant, comme Thérèse, d’imprimer en vous sa divine ressemblance  et excitant en votre cœur, par la vue de son ineffable beauté, un amour plus tendre et plus ardent.
Demeure 20
Vous demeurerez, pendant ce Carême, sur la voie douloureuse, allant en esprit du prétoire de Pilate au sommet du Calvaire, vous arrêtant à chaque station et méditant  avec un tendre amour sur les souffrances du Sauveur.
Demeure 21
Pendant ce Carême, vous suivrez la Ste Vierge dans les allées et venues qu’elle dut faire de Jérusalem à Béthanie durant les quarante jours qui précédèrent la Résurrection. Vous partagerez ses sollicitudes, ses angoisses, vous la prierez de vous communiquer un peu de son amour pour Jésus, et vous lui offrirez à elle-même toute votre tendresse filiale.
Demeure 22
Pendant ce Carême, vous suivrez Jésus partout où il fut durant les semaines qui précédèrent sa mort ; vous lui tiendrez fidèle et tendre compagnie durant sa Passion, et demeurerez au tombeau juqu’après sa Résurrection.
Demeure 23
Pendant ce Carême, demeurez dans une solitude profonde, solitude intérieure et extérieure si vos emplois le permettent, ou simplement intérieure. Vous vous acheminerez ainsi vers l’union divine à laquelle tendent tous vos désirs.
Demeure 24
Demeurez pendant ce Carême dans un continuel et universel renoncement. Si vous êtes fidèle à cet exercice d’abnégation, votre âme aura fait d’étonnantes ascensions dans l’amour lorsque viendra le Jour de Pâques.
Demeure 25
Faites votre demeure, pendant ce Carême, dans les régions de la pure foi. Exercez-vous beaucoup à l’esprit de foi à l’égard de vos Supérieurs.  Souvenez-vous que c’est par la foi que nous arrivons à la connaissance de Dieu, à son amour et, par conséquent, à l’union tant désirée de votre âme.
Demeure 26
Pendant ce Carême, vous demeurerez dans la paix, mais à une condition : c’est que vous vous employiez de tout votre pouvoir à la faire régner autour de vous par votre charité, votre humilité, votre déférence, votre douceur. Et, si vous agissez ainsi, vous serez appelée « enfant de Dieu » qui vous regardera avec une singulière complaisance. 

 

Retour aux Petits mots