Print

Witnesses of the Apostolic Process

 

In 58 sittings spanning less than one year, the court heard twenty or so witnesses, some of whom were of the highest authority. In their testimonies, which at times continued for several successive days, they displayed truly exemplary bravery and perseverance. This was because the world was at war and the difficulties created by the hostilities were already making themselves felt as far away as Normandy.

The closing hearing, which took place on 25th August 1916, in fact related to the currently raging war. Premonstratensian Father Godefroy Madelaine, the famous “grandfather of Story of a Soul” as he liked to call himself, should have been questioned. The Acts of Suppression had forced him to leave Saint-Michel-de-Frigolet and seek refuge in Leffe, in the diocese of Namur, Belgium. He ought to have travelled from his Belgian refuge to testify at the Apostolic Process. However, Belgium was under German occupation, and a journey could not be envisaged for someone who was not even reachable by letter. This was the reason for his questioning having necessarily been postponed until a later date.

Mention is made of other persons who, having testified in the earlier Process, were not present for various reasons. Three of these people, Auguste Valadier, Claude Weber and Etienne Frapereau, had died. Father Elie of the Mother of Mercy, a friar of the Monastery of Mount Carmel in the Holy Land, was not able to make the journey due to the war.

Imprimer

Les témoins du Procès Apostolique

 

En 58 sessions, en moins d'un an, sont entendus une vingtaine de témoins, dont certains des plus autori­sés, qui avaient déposé, parfois pendant plusieurs jours consécutifs, avec un cou­rage et une constance vraiment exem­plaires. Car on était en pleine guerre mon­diale et les difficultés provenant des hos­tilités se faisaient déjà sentir jusqu'en la lointaine Normandie.

La séance conclusive, qui se tint le 25 août 1916, se rapporte justement à la guerre qui alors battait son plein. L'abbé Godefroy Ma­delaine, prémontré, le fameux « grand-père de l'Histoire d'une âme » comme il aimait se surnommer, aurait dû être in­terrogé. Les lois de suppression l'avaient amené à quitter Saint Michel de Frigolet et à chercher un refuge en Belgique, à Leffe, dans le diocèse de Namur. Et du refuge belge, il aurait dû venir déposer au Procès Apostolique. Mais la Belgique était alors occupée par les allemands, et on ne pouvait songer à un voyage pour quelqu'un qu'on n'arrivait même pas à atteindre par correspondance. Ce fut ainsi que son interrogatoire dut être remis à plus tard.

On en mentionne d'autres qui, après avoir déposé au premier Pro­cès, n'étaient pas présents pour différents motifs. Trois d'entre eux, Auguste Vala­dier, Claude Weber, Etienne Frapereau étaient morts. Le P. Elie de la Mère de Miséricorde, conventuel au monastère du Mont Carmel, en Terre Sainte, se trou­vait, à cause de la guerre, dans l'impos­sibilité de se déplacer.