Print

From Mme La Néele to Léonie - March 1893.

From Mme La Néele to Léonie - March 1893.

Dear little Léonie.

I’ve saved you till last. You are the one who is served last and yet you are the eldest; it is therefore you who should have received my first thank you after my birthday. But I didn’t forget you and I’ve been anxious to reply to your most affectionate wishes. So even though you are the last served you are not the least loved [1 v°] and you will have lost nothing by waiting, first of all because I’m going to have a long chat with you, and secondly because I’m going to reassure you about the little parcel you entrusted me with, and which has just taken the road to its destination.

It won’t be long until I see you, my dear Léonie; we are thinking of going to Lisieux on Sunday (March 5th) unless the patients, who have become very numerous over the last two days, keep us here. Upon arriving at 6 o’clock on Sunday Francis was positively overwhelmed with them and came home for dinner at nine o’clock.

At the moment he is treating some very sick people, but in a few days time, that might [2 r°] change. Yesterday I took the carriage to Cagny and in the evening we dined at Henry’s house with the Pézeril family.

I was completely surprised to see my Uncle Maudelonde, so you will have our news doubly tomorrow because you will receive my letter which you will kindly pass on to Mama. I would very much like dear mother not to worry, she is counting on receiving one of my epistles tomorrow, but as I’m writing to you I thought that Mama would be as satisfied with this and wouldn’t be jealous. Give her a big kiss for me and tell her I love her very much. Anyway she shall have as many kisses as she wants from me [2 v°] on Sunday. Also tell her that I am very well, I didn’t have a migraine after yesterday’s soirée.

I played baccarat and I did absolutely nothing but lose, which showed me once more the truth in the axiom: one who is unlucky at cards is lucky in love.

Thank Céline for me for her gilding which looks delightful. Give my love to my dear little sisters, Papa and dear Uncle (Mr. Martin, who was living in Rue Labbey with Céline, very near the Guérins), whom I haven’t forgotten and whose name I often mention to St. Joseph.

Farewell, my darling, I send you my love and kisses. Francis sends you all his best wishes.

Wholly Yours

Jeanne La Néele

Back to the list

Imprimer

De Mme La Néele à Léonie - Mars 1893.

 

De Mme La Néele à Léonie. Mars 1893. 

Ma Chère petite Léonie.

Je t'ai gardée pour la fin, c'est toi qui es servie la dernière et cependant tu es l'aînée ; c'est donc toi qui aurais dû avoir mon premier merci après mon anniversaire, mais je ne t'ai pas oubliée et j'ai tenu à répondre à tes souhaits si affectueux. Donc pour être la dernière servie tu n'en es pas la moins aimée [1 v°] et tu n'auras rien perdu pour attendre, d'abord parce que je vais te faire une longue causerie, ensuite parce que je vais te rassurer sur le petit paquet que tu m'as confié et qui vient de prendre le chemin de sa destination.

Je ne serai pas bien longtemps sans te voir, ma chère Léonie, nous pensons aller à Lisieux dimanche (5 mars) à moins que les malades, qui sont devenus très nombreux depuis deux jours, ne nous retiennent ici. En arrivant dimanche à 6 h. Francis a été positivement assailli et il est revenu dîner à neuf heures.

Il soigne en ce moment des personnes très gravement malades, mais d'ici quelques jours, il peut y avoir du [2 r°] changement ; hier je suis allée en voiture à Cagny et le soir nous avons dîné chez Henry avec la famille Pézeril.

J'ai été toute surprise de trouver mon oncle Maudelonde, vous aurez donc de nos nouvelles demain, doublement puisque tu recevras ma lettre et que tu voudras bien la communiquer à maman. Je voudrais bien que cette chère petite mère ne soit pas inquiète, elle compte recevoir une de mes épîtres demain, mais comme je t'écris j'ai pensé que ma petite maman serait aussi satisfaite et ne serait pas jalouse. Donne-lui un bon baiser pour moi et dis-lui que je l'aime bien, du reste elle aura des baisers de moi dimanche tant qu'elle en [2 v°] voudra. Dis-lui aussi que je vais très bien je n'ai pas eu de migraine après la soirée d'hier.

J'ai joué à la banque je n'ai fait absolument que de perdre, ce qui m'a montré  encore une fois la vérité de l'axiome : Qui n'a pas de chance au jeu en a en ménage.

Remercie Céline pour moi de sa dorure qui fait à ravir, embrasse bien pour moi mes chères petites sœurs, papa et mon bon oncle (M. Martin, qui habite rue Labbey avec Céline, tout près des Guérin), que je n'oublie pas et que je nomme souvent au bon Saint Joseph.

Adieu, ma chérie, je t'embrasse comme je t'aime. Francis vous envoie toutes ses amitiés.

Tout à Toi

Jeanne La Néele

Retour à la liste des correspondants