Print

From Sister Marie-Dosithée Guérin to Mrs. Martin – July 27, 1858


From Sister Marie-Dosithée Guérin to her sister Mrs. Martin.

V. J. (Live Jesus)

From our Monastery in Le Mans

27th July 1858

Dearest Sister,

I cannot resist the need I have to write a few words to you even though I could very well express them in person to my Mother. I am very glad that you are happy.  I would not know how to express to the honourable family you have entered all the gratitude I owe them for all the kindness they have been showing you.  

You needn’t worry about what you told me, I only told our Mistress (the Novice Mistress). Rest assured that your secret (the newlywed couple promised each other to live conjugal chastity, as brother and sister) will be well-kept; she won’t tell anybody. She rejoiced to hear that you have embraced such a perfect state. Tell Mr. Louis Martin that I love him very much; I consider him as my brother. In my prayers your two names are always together and I shall be very happy to * [v°] see you; Mother said it was either August 12th or 13th. Be sure to let me know because I like precision.

I had many other things to tell you but time is lacking although I enjoy conversing with you.

Please give Mr. Martin my love, and assure him of my sincere affection for him.

With all my love.

L. Guérin

(Louise Guérin was still only a postulant. She would take the name Sister Marie-Dosithée at the receiving of the habit on 24th February 1859)

of the Visitation of Holy Mary

Blessed be God.

*[r°tv] Our mistress would be happy to accept the book you want to give her, she would very much like the life of Mother Séraphine Bourlier by L. Veuillot, remember not to give it to her in paperback, it will be for her feast day which is on 15th August.

Go to March 1861

 

Back to the list

Imprimer

De sœur Marie‑Dosithée Guérin à sa sœur Zélie Martin - le 27 juillet 1858

 

 De sœur Marie‑Dosithée Guérin à sa sœur Zélie Martin.

V. J.  (Vive Jésus)

                                                                                                      De notre Monastère du Mans

                                                                                                                       le 27 juillet 1858

 

Ma chère et bonne Sœur

Je ne puis résister au besoin que j’éprouve de t’écrire quelques mots quoique je pourrais bien le dire de vive voix à ma Mère. Je suis très contente que tu sois heureuse, je ne saurais exprimer à l'honorable famille où tu es entrée toute la reconnaissance que je lui dois pour toutes les attentions qu'elle te porte.

Tu peux être tranquille sur ce que tu m'as dit, je ne l'ai dit qu'à notre bonne Maîtresse (la maîtresse de noviciat), compte que ton secret (les nouveaux époux se sont promis de vivre dans la chasteté, comme frère et sœur) sera bien gardé elle ne le dira à personne, elle s'est bien réjouie de ce que vous aviez embrassé un état aussi parfait; dis à Mr Louis Martin que je l'aime beaucoup, je le regarde comme mon frère. Dans mes prières vos deux noms se trouvent toujours ensemble je serai bien heureuse de * [v°] vous voir, ma Mère m'a dit que c’était le 12 ou le 13 Août, ne manquez toujours pas car j’aime l'exactitude.

J'avais encore beaucoup de choses à te dire, le temps me manque quoique j'ai beaucoup de plaisir à m'entretenir avec toi.

Je te prie de bien embrasser Mr Martin pour moi, et de l'assurer de l'affection sincère que je lui porte.

Je t'embrasse de tout mon cœur.                                                                

L. Guérin  

(Louise Guérin n'est encore que postulante. Elle ne prendra le nom de sœur Marie-Dosithée qu'à sa prise d'habit, le 24 février 1859)

de la Visitation Ste Marie

Dieu soit béni.

*[r°tv]     Notre maîtresse veut bien accepter le livre que tu veux lui donner elle voudrait bien la vie de la Mère Séraphine Bourlier par L. Veuillot, ne lui donne toujours pas broché cela sera pour sa fête qui est le 15 août. 

Retour à la liste des correspondants