Print

The Devil’s Advocate

Whenever the Church conducts a process of beatification or canonization, there is always a person who is appointed to argue against the candidate’s holiness. This person is the Promoter of the Faith, commonly called the devil’s advocate. For the cause of Thérèse, it was Msgr. Verde who was nominated.

 Verde-petit 

  The objections of Monsignor Alexander Verde

to the Canonization of Sister Thérèse of the Child Jesus

 Click here to read these objections to the Cause of Therese in full

All canonizations within the Catholic Church are the culmination of a long, complicated procedure that is governed by specific rules of canon law. During a series of trials, judges pass judgment on cases that are presented by, on the one hand, lawyers who are favorable to the candidate for sainthood, and on the other, by a designated objector, the Promoter of the Faith, who is responsible for listing everything that could hinder the recognition of the candidate’s sanctity.

From January 1914 onwards, Msgr. Verde held this function for the cause of Sister Thérèse of the Child Jesus. An experienced member of the hierarchy (he had been Promoter of the Faith since 1902), he was already distinguished for the rigor with which he carried out his tasks. This lawyer did not intend to be swayed by the charm which emanated from Story of a Soul or intimidated by either the shower of miracles that had been attributed to the little Carmelite from Lisieux or by the large popular movement that was rising in support of the canonization. It fell to him to scrupulously enforce the norms that Benedict XIV had laid down for any recognition of authentic sanctity. He applied himself to this in the Adnimaversiones (objections to the process), which he finished in April 1914. His line of argument, to put it briefly, was not lacking in consistency.

We can group his objections into two series, the first of which centers around Story of a Soul. Who, without the testimony that Thérèse provided on herself, would have thought that this nun that died aged 24 was a heroine of faith? Her entourage had undoubtedly noticed her great piety, but the young girl had accomplished nothing extraordinary. Her holiness passed unnoticed by many of her companions in the convent. It was problematic that Thérèse had written an autobiography that would be used as a means of “self-defense”, even if the narrator’s intention was not to show her personal merits but the grace of God at work in the smallest of souls. It would have been better to have had the objective testimony of a spiritual director, one who was unknown to the family. It was problematic that witnesses often referred to her book to interpret their own memories or support the idea that Thérèse was a saint. Their admiration stemmed from reading and not from direct observation. Lastly, it was problematic that the convent of Lisieux had published the manuscripts so quickly and organized an entire propaganda campaign (indulgences, holy cards, brochures, etc.) to spread the Theresian message. Verde insinuated that the Servant of God was a self-proclaimed saint and was admired mainly on account of her story.

The other series of objections was based on the virtue of humility. The Promoter of the Faith did not fail to cite her blood sisters’ comments relating to the advice Thérèse apparently made on her deathbed to collect relics; this was hardly a sign of self-abasement. Most importantly, according to the norms of Benedict XIV, the virtues of servants of God should have a heroic character. Yet the numerous little and ordinary humiliations that Thérèse suffered voluntarily did not display this character. The Carmelite might well have convinced herself that her little way, which was composed of tiny daily sacrifices, pleased the Child Jesus as much as proof of dazzling heroism. But the fact that she proposed an innovative doctrine in terms of holiness so young, and on her own initiative, revealed a confidence that was hardly compatible with extreme humility. What is more, whilst preaching humility, she displayed her merits to others, and not without taking a certain literary pleasure in writing a work that she claimed she completed out of obedience to her Superior. Besides, several conflicting testimonies sufficed to confirm that her life, which was hardly sublime, did not make her a unanimously admired example of holiness.

All in all, the Promoter suggested the idea of there being two types of holiness. The first was performed by pious servants of God in private, its intimate value being known by the heavenly Father alone: as authentic as it may be, the Church as a ruling body remained unaware of it. The second was demonstrated in an extraordinary way and was visible on the outside. It immediately inspired a form of veneration that owed nothing to biased publications. This was the type that, after confirmation of the candidate’s miracles, the Church raised to the glory of the altars. Thérèse belonged to the first category of saints, regardless of the graces she imparted from heaven. Verde concluded that, short of modifying the customary rules, her case had to be rejected.

The lawyers for the canonization cause delivered a skillful response to these objections, invoking the God of the Magnificat who raises up the humble, the unknown and the little in the person of the Blessed Virgin. Also, Pius X gave his consent for the Cause to be officially introduced. In 1921, having become Secretary of the Sacred Congregation of Rites, Msgr. Verde sided with the position of the new Pope, Benedict XV, according to whom “the universal popularity of Story of a Soul” was indisputable evidence of holiness. Verde followed the subsequent stages of the process with keen interest and signed the official documents in favor of Thérèse’s canonization.

Anne Langlois
Professor specialized in literary Classics, having translated Msgr. Verde's objections from Latin 
 

Click here to read these objections to the Cause of Therese in full

 

Back to the Process home page

Imprimer

L'avocat du diable

 

 

  

Lorsque l'Église catholique fait un procès de béatification

ou de canonisation, il y a toujours une personne qui est

chargée d'argumenter contre la canonisation du candidat

ou de la candidate à la sainteté. Il s'agit du promoteur de

la foi, familièrement surnommé l'avocat du diable.

Pour la cause de Thérèse, c'est Mgr Verde qui est nommé.

 Verde-petit 

 

Les objections de Monseigneur Alexandre Verde

à la canonisation de Sœur Thérèse de l’Enfant Jésus

 

           Toute canonisation, au sein de l’Eglise catholique, est l’aboutissement d’une procédure longue, compliquée et régie par les règles précises du droit canon. Au cours d’une série de procès, des juges se prononcent sur les dossiers que présentent d’une part les avocats favorables à la cause du « canonisable », d’autre part un objecteur en titre, le Promoteur de la Foi, chargé de lister tout ce qui peut faire obstacle à la reconnaissance de sainteté.

           Mgr Verde, dès janvier 1914, remplit cette fonction pour la cause de la sœur Thérèse de l’Enfant Jésus. Homme d’appareil - il était promoteur de la Foi depuis 1902 - il s’était déjà signalé par la rigueur avec laquelle il s’acquittait de sa tâche. Ce juriste n’entend pas se laisser ni séduire par le charme qui émane de l’Histoire d’une âme ni impressionner par la pluie de miracles attribués à la petite carmélite de Lisieux ou par l’important mouvement populaire qui se manifeste en faveur de la canonisation. Il lui incombe de faire respecter sans laxisme les normes édictées par Benoît XIV pour toute reconnaissance d’une sainteté authentique. Il s’y emploie dans les Adnimaversiones (objections au procès) terminées en avril 1914. Son argumentation, pour être brève, ne manque pas de consistance.

           On peut regrouper ses objections en une première série autour de l’Histoire d’une âme. Qui, sans le témoignage que Thérèse y donne sur elle-même , aurait pu deviner une héroïne de la foi, dans la religieuse décédée à 24 ans ? Sans doute son entourage avait remarqué sa grande piété, mais la jeune fille n’avait rien accompli d’extraordinaire. Sa sainteté était passée inaperçue de nombre de ses compagnes de couvent. Il est gênant que Thérèse ait écrit une autobiographie qui allait être utilisée comme un « autoplaidoyer », même si l’intention de la narratrice n’était pas de montrer ses mérites personnels mais la grâce de Dieu à l’œuvre dans la plus petite des âmes. Mieux eût valu le témoignage objectif d’un directeur de conscience étranger à la famille Martin. Il est gênant que souvent les témoins se rapportent à cet ouvrage pour interpréter leurs propres souvenirs ou pour s’entretenir dans l’idée que Thérèse est une sainte. Leur admiration naît d’une lecture et non d’une observation directe. Il est gênant enfin que le couvent de Lisieux ait publié si vite les manuscrits et qu’il ait organisé toute une propagande (indulgences, images, brochures…) pour diffuser le message thérésien. Verde insinue que la servante de Dieu est une sainte autoproclamée que l’on admire essentiellement à partir de son récit.

          L’autre série d’objections est centrée sur la vertu d’humilité. Le promoteur de la Foi ne manque pas de citer les propos rapportés par ses sœurs de sang sur les reliques qu’il faudrait recueillir, aurait dit Thérèse, sur son lit de mort : ce n’est guère une marque d’abaissement. Surtout, selon les normes de Benoît XIV, les vertus des serviteurs de Dieu doivent avoir un caractère  héroïque. Or les multiples petites humiliations banales éprouvées volontairement par sœur Thérèse ne présentent pas ce caractère  héroïque. Certes la carmélite a pu se convaincre que sa petite voie, faite de menus sacrifices quotidiens, plaisait à l’Enfant Jésus tout autant que des traits d’héroïsme fulgurant. Mais qu’elle propose, si jeune et de sa propre initiative, une doctrine innovante en matière de sainteté, cela révèle une assurance peu compatible avec une humilité extrême. Qui plus est : en même temps qu’elle prône l’humilité, elle expose ses mérites à la vue d’autrui, non sans prendre un certain plaisir littéraire à une rédaction qu’elle dit faire par obéissance à la Supérieure. Au reste, quelques témoignages discordants suffisent à affirmer que son existence peu sublime ne faisait pas d’elle un exemple de sainteté unanimement admis.

           En somme, le Promoteur suggère l’idée qu’il y aurait deux types de sainteté. La première est vécue dans l’obscurité par de pieux serviteurs de Dieu dont seul, le Père céleste connaît la valeur intime : les critères du jugement romain l’ignorent , si authentique soit-elle. La seconde se manifeste de façon extraordinaire et visible de l’extérieur. Elle attire d’emblée une vénération qui ne doit rien à des publications orientées. C’est à celle-ci que l’Église décerne la gloire des autels après la confirmation des miracles. Thérèse appartient au premier type de saints en dépit des grâces qu’elle répand du haut du ciel. Verde en conclut qu’il faut écarter ce dossier, sauf à modifier les règles habituelles.

           Les avocats de la cause de la canonisation surent habilement répondre à ces objections, plaçant de leur côté le Dieu du Magnificat qui élève les humbles, les obscurs, les petits  en la personne de la Vierge. Aussi Pie X donna-t-il son accord pour l’introduction de la Cause. Par la suite, devenu Secrétaire de la Sacrée Congrégation des rites, Mgr Verde se rangea, en 1921, à l’avis du nouveau pape, Benoît XV, selon lequel « l’universelle diffusion de l’Histoire d’une âme » témoignait d’une sainteté indubitable. Il suivit avec un réel intérêt les étapes ultérieures du procès et signa les documents officiels favorables à la canonisation.                                                                        

Anne Langlois

Professeur agrégée de lettres classiques - ayant traduit du latin les objections de Mgr Verde.


Lire ici l'ensemble des objections de l'avocat du diable

Retour à l'accueil des Procès