Print

Archives of the Carmel of Lisieux

 

 

Another universe with its own rules

 

coulisse5

 

 

As with any archives, the work of the Archives of the Carmel of Lisieux encompasses three major operations:

-sorting and classification of documents and archives

-their preservation

-their dissemination

The work, initiated by Sr. Marie of the Trinity, was initially gathering components, objects, information, notably from Céline and the contemporaries of Thérèse. The work then continued with sorting and classification of new information received from the entire world during the 20th century.

Yet, the greatest impetus for this general archiving came from the actions of Bishop Brincart and Bishop de Germiny, both graduates of the prestigious Ecole nationale des Chartres de la Sorbonne , who solicited for us during the 1990s the collaboration of one of the four inspectors from the Archives de France. They generously assisted in making our work professional, which had been only the work of a team of Carmelites with good will.

This said, the leading impetus for us has always come from the researchers themselves and their requests, systematically leading us to one or another expensive, but profitable, system of sorting or classification.


The sorting and classification of documents and objects

Begun early in the 1960s, this enormous classification project consisted of sorting documents, placing them in archival boxes and creating file cards for each one on the typewriter. Twenty years later we began to transfer these files onto computer with ISIS software on DOS. The crowning achievement of this undertaking was able to happen thanks to a migration to FileMakerPro, a more flexible and powerful software, facilitating the sharing of millions of different data and the conversion into any format for the exchange. FMPro also permits the use of images, which allows us in the case of objects to include their picture in the descriptive file. This migration was done under the direction of the benevolent volunteer work of Mr. Jean-Pierre Mitsch, emeritus director of information technology at the University of Louvain.

The result was around 100,000 files, each corresponding to a book, a magazine article, unpublished texts, correspondence, loose documents. The magazine articles, unpublished texts and various documents are kept in plastic sleeves with an L shaped opening. Everything was then placed into Kraft envelopes then put in archival boxes. In a second level of classification, each document was numbered. For objects, the cataloging was done by digital photo classified by the type of objects such as paintings, ex-votos, objects from the time period of Thérèse.


Preservation of documents and objects

Conservation, from the largest to the smallest item, required about 80 metallic closed cabinets, 1 meter and 20 centimeter tall (approx. 4 ft.) and very deep, holding 8 shelves. In these cabinets, we are able to use stackable plastic containers in the case of loose documents.

Precious documents or fragile material are kept in mylar sleeves with an L opening. These sleeves, made of an inert material, halt the deterioration of the material. In a size larger than the document to preserve, they permit the document to be handled without damaging it. Thérèse and her female colleagues generally used for their texts and artworks the lowest qualities of paper which self-destructed. These precious or fragile documents were then placed in Phibox boxes with covers whose physical chemistry is adapted to the conservation of documents. Lastly, the charcoal drawings and other fragile drawings were placed in acid-free alkaline portfolio boxes, which are lignin free and without optical bleach. For all of these specialized products we are clients of Stouls.

Lastly, even though they are kept in fire-proof safes able to withstand temperatures for 2 hours up to 2000° C or 3632° F, digitizing the texts of Thérèse or those close to her was essential. This was undertaken with different software and scanners over time.


Dissemination of documents and objects

Lastly, the dissemination of all this information is done at two levels, amateur and professional. The amateur level requires a quick and specific answer to numerous requests from Thérèse’s admirers, preachers needing a precise detail or from specialized magazines. Some examples:

-Where and when did Tom die?

-Who is Edouard Quesnel ?

-Do you have a photo of the Russian icon representing Thérèse, sent by Bishop Neveu?

The software FileMaker permits much more easily than during the 1950s the retrieval of such and such information out of thousands of documents. Digitized texts also permit the rapid searching for a needle in a haystack. FileMaker expedites answers; after a search, it is possible to take the result and convert it into a format which can be sent via the internet.

On a professional level is assistance at the research level: academics editing scholarly publications about Thérèse and doctoral students working on dissertations. This is work that often involves on our part hours of research and very skillful evaluations of the life or doctrine of Saint Thérèse, about her contemporaries and about the development of the influence of her Carmel.

These two levels from now on come together through the use of this internet site, open to all who love Thérèse. 

 

Back to the home page.

Imprimer

Les archives

 

Un univers à part, avec ses règles propres

coulisse5

Comme en tout lieu d’archives, le travail des Archives du Carmel de Lisieux couvre essentiellement trois grandes opérations :

- le tri et classement des documents et objets

- leur conservation

- leur diffusion

Tout le travail, initié par soeur Marie de la Trinité, fut d'abord une collecte d'éléments, d'objets, d'informations, notamment auprès de Céline et des contemporaines de Thérèse. Il a continué avec des opérations de tri et de classement de données nouvelles reçues du monde entier au cours du XXe siècle.

Cependant, l’impulsion la plus importante pour cet archivage général est venue des interventions de Mgr Brincart et Mgr de Germiny, tous deux chartistes, ayant sollicité pour nous au milieu des années 1990  la collaboration d'une des quatre inspecteurs des Archives de France. Ils ont largement contribué à professionnaliser notre travail, qui n'était que le travail d'une équipe de carmélites de bonne volonté.

Ceci dit, l’élan de fond nous est toujours venu de la part des chercheurs eux-mêmes et de leurs demandes, nous orientant systématiquement vers telle ou telle coûteuse (mais rentable) opération de tri ou classement.


le tri et classement des documents et objets

Commencé au début des année 1960, ce gigantesque classement a consisté à trier les documents, les ranger dans des boîtes d'archives, et à créer des fiches correspondantes pour chacun - à la machine à écrire. Trente ans plus tard, nous avons commencé à transférer ces fiches sur ordinateur avec le logiciel ISIS sous DOS. Le couronnement de cette entreprise a pu se faire grâce à une migration sous FileMakerPro, logiciel beaucoup plus puissant et plus souple, facilitant le croisement de millions de données différentes et la conversion en n’importe quel format pour l’échange. FMPro autorise aussi l’utilisation d’images, ce qui nous permet dans le cas des objets d’inclure leur représentation dans la fiche descriptive. Cette migration s’est faite sous la direction bienveillante – et bénévole – de M. Jean-Pierre Mitsch, directeur émérite des services informatiques de l’Université de Louvain.

Le résultat est environ 100,000 fiches, chacune correspondant à un livre, un article de revue, des textes inédits, de la correspondance, à des documents en vrac. Les articles de revues, les textes inédits et les documents divers sont sous pochette plastifiée à ouverture en L.  Tous passent ensuite sous enveloppe kraft, puis sous boîte d’archive. Dans une seconde vague de classement, chaque document sera numéroté. Pour les objets, le catalogage se fait par photo numérique classée par type d’objets : tableaux, ex-votos, objets de l’époque de Thérèse, etc.

 

la conservation des documents et objets

La conservation, en partant du plus grand au plus petit, a nécessité environ 80 armoires métalliques fermées de 1 m 20 de largeur et très profondes, autorisant 8 tablettes. Dans ces armoires nous pouvons utiliser, en cas de vrac, des caisses de plastique empilables.

Les documents précieux ou sur supports fragiles sont conservés dans des pochettes en mylar à ouverture en L. Ces pochettes constituées de matière morte stoppent la dégradation du support. D’une taille plus large que le document à conserver, elles autorisent la manipulation sans endommager le document. Thérèse et ses consœurs ont utilisé en général pour leurs textes et leurs œuvres d’art des papiers bas de gamme qui s’auto-détruisent.

Ces documents précieux ou fragiles sont ensuite déposés dans des boîtes phibox à rabat, aux caractéristique physico-chimiques adaptées à la conservation de documents. Enfin, les fusains et autres dessins fragiles sont placés sous portefeuilles de carton à réserve alcaline mais sans acide, sans azurant optique ni lignine. Pour tous ces produits très spécifiques, nous sommes clientes de Stouls.

Enfin, bien qu'ils soient sous coffre-forts anti-feu pouvant résister 2 heures à 2000 C°, la numérisation de textes de Thérèse et de ses proches restait essentielle. Elle a été menée avec des logiciels et scanners divers au fil des ans.

 

la diffusion des documents et objets

Enfin, la diffusion de toutes ces informations se fait à deux échelles : à un niveau amateur et professionnel. Le niveau amateur exige une réponse rapide et précise à de nombreuses petites demandes émanant d’admirateurs de Thérèse, de prédicateurs voulant une précision, ou de revues spécialisées. Exemples:

- où et quand Tom est-il mort ?

- qui est Lucie Gosset ?

- avez-vous une photo de l’icône russe représentant Thérèse envoyée par Mgr Neveu ?  

Le logiciel FileMaker permet de retrouver, bien plus facilement que dans les années 1950,  parmi nos milliers de documents, telle ou telle information. Les textes numérisés autorisent aussi la recherche rapide d’une aiguille dans un botte de foin. FileMaker facilite les réponses : il est possible, après une recherche, d’isoler et de convertir le résultat en format exportable sous internet.

Le niveau professionnel est l’accompagnement au niveau de la recherche : universitaires en rédaction de publications savantes sur Thérèse et doctorants en rédaction de thèse. C’est un travail impliquant souvent de notre part bien des heures de recherche et d’évaluations très fines sur la vie ou la doctrine de sainte Thérèse, sur ses contemporains et sur le développement du rayonnement de son Carmel.

Ces deux niveaux se rejoignent désormais dans l'utilisation de ce site internet - ouvert à toute personne aimant Thérèse. 

Retour à la page d'accueil.