Print

The retouched photos of Saint Therese of Lisieux

                       

The retouching task of Céline

Many old Catholic books are now being republished by contemporary publishers, and these retouched photos are still showing up in new books.  These retouched photos promulgated a largely false image of Therese – sentimental, roses, one-liners. Click on each of these 22 retouched photos to understand who the real Therese is.

Céline took all the photos except the first six, and retouched all these photos with a particular purpose. She knows that "the soul cannot be described ... that whatever gives, with life, as much as possible the true likeness of the soul on a face is what I always and only wanted to capture and reveal to others." (1950). Hence numerous retouchings with watercolor, pencil or charcoal, sometimes with photo montages.

In a general way, the Carmelite Father François de Ste-Marie comments that the impression of determination and power that emerges from the original photos of Therese is destroyed by retouching. Thérèse appears less in control; she becomes a little girl who wants to please, who wants to be kind. Her features no longer show the flash of intelligence that illuminates the original photos. The extraordinary clarity of her gaze disappears.

 
TH01
photo 1
TH02 
photo 2
TH03 
photo 3
TH04 
photo 4
TH05
photo 5

 
 
TH06
photo 6
TH09
photo 9
TH10
photo 10
TH11
photo 11
TH13
photo 13

 
 
 
TH14
photo 14
 
TH16
photo 16
TH18
photo 18
TH20
photo 20
TH26
photo 26
 
 
 
TH30
photo 30
TH37
photo 37
TH39
photo 39
TH43
photo 43
TH45
photo 45
 
      TH46
photo 46
   
 
 

Warning! these photos are under strict copyright.

For any use please contact the Office Central of Lisieux This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Back to the home page of Distribution of images of Therese

Imprimer

Les photos retouchées de sainte Thérèse de Lisieux

                       

Le travail de retouche fait par Céline

Dans beaucoup de livres sur Thérèse, on trouve de ses photos retouchées par sa soeur Céline. Ces photos retouchées contribuent à répandre une fausse image de Thérèse : une jeune femme sentimentale à l’eau de rose. Cliquer sur chacune de ces 22 photos retouchées permet de comprendre qui était la véritable Thérèse.

Céline a pris toutes ces photos, sauf les 6 premières, et a retouché l’ensemble dans un but particulier. Elle sait que « l’âme ne se décrit pas… ce je ne sais quoi qui donne, autant que possible, avec la vie, la vraie ressemblance de l’âme sur une physionomie, c’est cela que j’ai toujours et uniquement voulu saisir et révéler aux autres. » (1950). D’où de très nombreuses retouches, à la gouache, au crayon ou au fusain, parfois avec des montages.

D’un façon générale, commente le père carme François de Ste-Marie, l’impression de volonté et de puissance qui se dégage des photos originales est détruite par les retouches. Thérèse apparaît moins en possession de ses moyens : elle devient une petite fille qui veut faire plaisir, qui veut être bien gentille. Les traits ne portent plus ce reflet d’intelligence qui éclaire les photos originales. L’extraordinaire lucidité de son regard disparaît.

TH01
photo 1
TH02 
photo 2
TH03 
photo 3
TH04 
photo 4
TH05
photo 5

 
TH06
photo 6
TH09
photo 9
TH10
photo 10
TH11
photo 11
TH13
photo 13

 
TH14
photo 14
 
TH16
photo 16
TH18
photo 18
TH20
photo 20
TH26
photo 26
TH30
photo 30
TH37
photo 37
TH39
photo 39
TH43
photo 43
TH45
photo 45
TH46
photo 46

 Attention ! ces photos ne sont pas libres de droits.

Pour toute utilisation contacter l'Office Central de Lisieux soit par email Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser. soit au 02-3148-5520.

 

Retour à la page d'accueil des Représentations de Thérèse