Print

Saints en Process

By Claude Langlois, historian

 

Everything is obscure about the process of canonization. And foremost is the fact of judging the dead which is contrary to the usual principles of law. The aim, it’s true, is not to condemn but to glorify. To understand the proceedings, we must go back to the first centuries. The saint is first a martyr whose body is venerated, a confessor who preached Christianity, a bishop who founded the local church, a hermit or an ascetic who brought together disciples. The saint remains alive in the memory of the faithful by his relics that are coveted or moved around. Another thing that makes a saint is also a memory preserved by the liturgy, a tomb that is venerated, a story of his life (hagiography) such as the Life of Martin de Tours by Sulpicius Severus.

Beginning with the 12th century, the making of saints became an ecclesiological issue, the papacy reserved this power for itself by restricting it. The Catholic Reform had to justify the cult of saints, challenged by Luther. In 1634 Pope Urban VIII, in the constitution Coelestis Jerusalem, put procedures into place which have remained until recently introduced modifications of Pius XI to John Paul II.  o understand how the making of a saint took place during Thérèse’s time, we need to keep in mind three distinct components which continually interfered with each other; material of the judgment, the judicial procedure and the roles of the ecclesiastical institutions.

1-Let’s begin by what the object of the examination is. Holiness is judged in three conjunctive manners. The first comes from the comportment of the person, the heroic practice of virtues. The two others register the saint in his time by his reputation (fama sanctitatis) and by his capacity to perform miracles. But two other different elements are examined in a canonization process, the writings and the cult. The writings are looked at closely to avoid proposing as a model, persons who have held ideas that are unorthodox or even morally reprehensible. But the behavior of clerics and the faithful are observed as well to avoid preempting the canonization by creating a public worship of the future saint.

2-All the long verification is done in the framework of a codified procedure having all the characteristics of a judicial approach. Primarily the procedure takes place in front of a tribunal made up of judges who hear the witnesses. The cause is supported there by a defender (Roman postulator who delegates his functions to a vice-postulator and is assisted by attorneys); intervening from somewhere else is a sort of prosecutor who outlines the weaknesses of the case. He is called the devil’s advocate, so that he is, as promoter of the faith, the representative of the institution. The fixed judicial vocabulary quickly becomes an incomprehensible jargon and the obligation of secrecy renders the entire procedure opaque. In this framework, each of the materials examined is the object of a particular procedure. There exists, from the beginning, a process apart from the writings and another, called non-cultus. And in the main process, the three “cases”-virtues, reputation, miracles must be “documented” according to distinct inquiries. As a consequence, the process is long (sometimes centuries), costly and the outcome uncertain. To make it succeed, an institution is necessary, such as the large religious orders that have many saints, or new congregations.

3. The ecclesiological context. The Bishop where the potential saint died (called servant of God), opens the process and prepares it by having witnesses depose, from whence the importance of beginning early comes from. Rome then steps in through the Congregation of Rites and by the pope himself who sanctions each stage of the process. The pontifical administration takes its time, delays are the norm in order to avoid enthusiasm or pressure. The Congregation of Rites is involved in two ways. First, by verifying that the diocesan process (ordinary process) is solid, which permits Rome to take up the inquiry itself by opening a second process done under the same conditions as the first but in the name of the pope (apostolic process). Next, by making a definitive judgment on each of the elements of the case, writings, virtues, miracles etc. So many occasions of delay, obstructions, of abandonment. At the end, we find another duality in obtaining recognition because the procedure is split concerning miracles for the beatification and the canonization.

This procedure, strictly ecclesiastical, calls upon lay persons as witnesses, attorneys or experts (medical doctor for miracles). The proclamation of a new saint is a pedagogy, in actuality, of the holiness of the Church in its history, as is witnessed through the incorporation of the blessed into the sanctoral calendar (church calendar). But the canonization obeys as well political finalities whether they be internal (to satisfy a religious family) or external (honoring a nation).

Back to the Process home page

Imprimer

Les saints en procès

 

Par Claude Langlois, historien

 

           Tout est obscur dans les procès de canonisation. Et d’abord le fait même de juger les morts, qui va à l’encontre des principes habituels du droit. Le but est, il est vrai, non de condamner, mais de glorifier. Pour comprendre cette procédure, il faut revenir aux premiers siècles. Le saint est d’abord un martyr, dont la dépouille est vénérée, un confesseur qui a prêché le christianisme, un évêque qui a fondé l’église locale, un ermite ou un ascète qui a réuni des disciples. Le saint demeure vivant dans le souvenir des fidèles par ses reliques convoitées et déplacées. Ce qui fait le saint, c’est aussi une mémoire entretenue par la liturgie, un tombeau vénéré et un récit de vie (hagiographie), ainsi la Vie de Martin de Tours par Sulpice Sévère.

           A partir du XIIe siècle, la fabrication des saints devient un enjeu ecclésiologique, la papauté se réserve ce pouvoir en l’encadrant. La Réforme catholique doit justifier le culte des saints, mis en cause par Luther. En 1634, le pape Urbain VIII, dans la constitution Cælestis Jérusalem, met en place des procédures qui sont demeurées jusqu’aux modifications récemment introduites, de Pie XI à Jean-Paul II.

           Pour comprendre comment s’opère, au temps de Thérèse, la fabrication d’un saint, il faut avoir présent à l’esprit trois éléments distincts qui interfèrent sans cesse entre eux: la matière du jugement, la procédure judiciaire, les rôles des institutions ecclésiastiques.

          1 - Commençons par ce qui est l’objet de l’examen. La sainteté se juge de trois manières conjointes. La première relève du comportement de la personne, la pratique héroïque des vertus. Les deux autres inscrivent le saint dans son temps par sa réputation (fama sanctitatis) et par sa capacité à faire des miracles. Mais deux autres éléments différents sont examinés dans un procès de canonisation, les écrits et le culte. On regarde de près les écrits pour éviter de proposer, comme modèles, des personnes qui auraient tenu des propos peu orthodoxes voire moralement condamnables. Mais on surveille aussi le comportement des clercs et des fidèles pour les empêcher d’anticiper la canonisation en rendant un culte public au futur saint.

           2 - Toute cette longue vérification se fait dans le cadre d’une procédure codifiée qui a toutes les caractéristiques de la démarche juridique. D’abord la procédure se déroule devant un tribunal composé de juges qui entendent des témoins. La cause y est soutenue par un défenseur (postulateur romain qui délègue ses fonctions à un vice-postulateur et qui est aidé par des avocats) ; intervient d’autre part une sorte de procureur, qui souligne les faiblesses du dossier : il est appelé avocat du diable, alors qu’il est, comme promoteur de la foi, le représentant de l’institution. Le vocabulaire juridique figé devient vite un jargon incompréhensible et l’obligation du secret rend plus opaque toute la procédure. Dans ce cadre, chacune des « matières » examinées fait l’objet d’une procédure particulière. Il existe, dès le départ, un procès séparé des écrits et un autre, dit de non-culte. Et dans le procès principal, les trois « dossiers » - vertus, réputation, miracles - doivent être « documentés » à partir de questionnements distincts. En conséquence, le procès est long (parfois des siècles), coûteux et d’issue incertaine. Pour le faire aboutir, il faut disposer d’une institution, comme les grands ordres religieux – qui compte beaucoup de saints - ou les nouvelles congrégations.

           3- Le contexte ecclésiologique. L’évêque où est décédé le saint potentiel (on parlera de serviteur/servante de Dieu) ouvre le procès et l’instruit en faisant déposer des témoins. D’où la nécessité de le commencer tôt. Rome ensuite intervient par la congrégation des Rites et par le pape lui-même qui sanctionne chaque étape du procès. L’administration pontificale doit prendre son temps, des délais sont de règle pour éviter tout emballement ou toute pression. La congrégation des Rites intervient de deux façons : d’abord en vérifiant que le procès diocésain (procès ordinaire) est solide, ce qui permet à Rome de reprendre à son compte l’enquête en ouvrant un second procès fait dans les mêmes conditions que le premier mais au nom du pape (procès apostolique). Ensuite, en portant un jugement définitif sur chacun des éléments du dossier, écrits, vertus, miracles, etc. Autant d’occasions de retard, de blocage, d’abandon. Et au terme, on retrouve une autre dualité pour accéder à la reconnaissance, puisque la procédure est dédoublée, concernant les miracles, pour la béatification et la canonisation.

           Cette procédure, strictement ecclésiastique, fait appel à les laïcs comme témoins, avocats ou experts (médecin pour les miracles). La proclamation d’un nouveau saint est une pédagogie en acte de la sainteté de l’Église dans son histoire, comme en témoigne l’incorporation du bienheureux dans le sanctoral. Mais la canonisation obéit aussi à des finalités politiques, que ce soit en interne (satisfaire une famille religieuse) ou en externe (honorer une nation).