Print

LT 198 - To l'abbé Belliére

LT 198                 From Thérèse to l'abbé Belliére.

October 21, 1896

J.M.J.T.

Lisieux Carmel, October 21, '96

Jesus

Monsieur l'abbé,

Our Reverend Mother, being ill, has asked me to answer your let­ter. I am sorry you are deprived of the holy words this good Mother would have addressed to you, but I am happy to speak for her and to tell you her joy at learning the work Our Lord has just done in your soul. She will continue to pray that He will complete His divine work in you.

It is, I think, useless to tell you, Monsieur l'abbé, the great share I am taking in Our Mother's joy. Your letter of July disturbed me very much; attributing to my lack of fervor the combats you had to suffer, I did not cease imploring for you the maternal help of the sweet Queen of Apostles. ' So my consolation was very great when I received as a feast day bouquet the assurance that my poor prayers had been answered....

Now that the storm has passed, I thank God for having made you pass through it, for we read in our holy books these beautiful words: "Blessed is the man who has suffered temptation," and again: "What does he know who has not been tempted?" In fact, when Jesus calls a soul to direct and to save multitudes of other souls, it is necessary that He have him experience the temptations and trials of life. Since He has granted you the grace to come out victorious from the fight, I trust, Monsieur l'Abbé, that our gentle Jesus will realize your great desires. I am asking Him that you may be not on­ly a good missionary but a saint all on fire with the love of God and souls; I beg you to obtain also for me this love so that I may help you in your apostolic work. You know that a Carmelite who would not be an apostle would separate herself from the goal of her vocation and would cease to be a daughter of the Seraphic Saint Teresa, who desired to give a thousand lives to save a single soul. I have no doubt, Monsieur l'Abbé, that you gladly join your prayers to mine so that Our Lord may cure Our venerated Mother.

In the Sacred Hearts of Jesus and Mary, 1 shall always be happy to call myself,

Your unworthy little sister, Thérèse of the Child Jesus of the Holy Face rel. carm. ind.

 

© Washington Province of Discalced Carmelite Friars, Inc

Imprimer

LT 198 - A l'abbé Maurice Bellière.

J.M.J.T.
Jésus
Carmel de Lisieux. 21 octobre 96

 
                Monsieur l'Abbé,
 
                Notre Révérende Mère étant malade, m'a confié la mission de répondre à votre lettre, je regrette que vous soyez privé des saintes paroles que cette bonne Mère vous aurait adressées, mais je suis heureuse d'être son interprète et de vous redire sa joie en apprenant le travail que Notre Seigneur vient d'opérer dans votre âme, elle continuera de prier afin qu'Il achève en vous son oeuvre divine.
                Il est, je pense, inutile de vous dire, Monsieur l'Abbé, la grande part que je prends au bonheur de Notre Mère. Votre lettre de Juillet m'avait fort affligée ; attribuant à mon peu de ferveur les combats qui vous étaient livrés, je ne cessais d'implorer pour vous l'assistance maternelle de la douce Reine des Apôtres, aussi ma consolation a-t-elle été bien grande en recevant pour bouquet de fête l'assurance que mes pauvres prières avaient été exaucées...
                Maintenant que l'orage est passé, je remercie le Bon Dieu de vous l'avoir fait traverser, car nous lisons dans nos saints livres ces belles paroles : «Bienheureux l'homme qui a souffert la tentation», et encore : «Celui qui n'a pas été tenté, que sait-il?...» En effet lorsque Jésus appelle une âme à diriger, à sauver des multitudes d'autres âmes, il est bien nécessaire qu'il lui fasse expérimenter les tentations et les épreuves de la vie. Puisqu'Il vous a accordé la grâce de sortir victorieux de la lutte, j'espère, Monsieur l'Abbé, que Notre doux Jésus réalisera vos grands désirs. je lui demande que vous soyez, non pas seulement un bon missionnaire mais un saint tout embrasé de l'amour de Dieu et des âmes ; je vous supplie de m'obtenir aussi cet amour afin que je puisse vous aider dans votre oeuvre apostolique. Vous le savez, une carmélite qui ne serait pas apôtre s'éloignerait du but de sa vocation et cesserait d'être fille de la Séraphique Sainte Thérèse qui désirait donner mille vies pour sauver une seule âme.
                Je ne doute pas, Monsieur l'Abbé, que vous voudrez bien aussi joindre vos prières aux miennes afin que Notre Seigneur guérisse Notre Vénérée Mère.
                Dans les Coeurs Sacrés de Jésus et de Marie je serai toujours heureuse de me dire :
 
Votre indigne petite soeur
Thérèse de l'Enfant Jésus, de la Ste Face
rel.carm.ind.