Print

Testaments of St. Marie-Madeleine de Pazzi

 

Feast on May 25th

Incomplete Series – no. 15 is cited by Therese.

 

No. 1
My Sister, I leave you the simplicity with which I allowed myself to be led by my Superiors. Oh! amiable virtue that frees the soul that is in the depth of trouble and worry. The simple soul does not look for a way out in what she says to her Superiors. She maintains familiarity with God like a child with its brother telling him its sorrows and joys. Be faithful to this virtue if you want to enjoy interior peace.

No. 2
My Sister, I leave you my humility that makes me search for the most lowly and humbling employments within the Community. Be persuaded that, without humility, your perfection will be nothing but an illusion. Humility is the bases and the foundation of all virtues, and truly you cannot call yourself a spouse of J.C. if you are not attached to the practice of a virtue that He-Himself recommended by saying, “Learn from me for I am gentle and humble of heart.”

No. 3
My Sister, I leave you the love that I have for obedience that makes me fly at the least sign from my Superiors; be persuaded that you will never make any progress in virtue so long as your will is not entirely subject to the will of God and that you will never be ready to fulfill your own will rather than that of others. An act of renouncement in following his will is more agreeable to God than an hour of prayer.

No. 5
My Sister, I leave you my spirit of faith that directs all my actions; a soul with faith is capable of withstanding the greatest trials. Whether they come from God or from creatures, she knows that the pains and the afflictions of this life are always for us the means of sanctification, if we know how to put them to good use.

No. 6
My Sister, I leave you my tender devotion for the Holy Eucharist that makes me sigh without ceasing after the day I would receive it. Oh! what graces are received from a well-made Communion. Take good care to prepare well on the eve and the day that you receive Communion. Be particularly on guard of your senses so that you will be united with your Beloved.

No.7
My Sister, I leave you to imitate the purity of intention that inspired me in all my actions, do not look to creatures in doing what you do, but solely and only to the unique glory of God. It is not the multiplicity of actions that God asks, but the purity of intention with which one does them.

No. 9
My Sister, I leave you the strength and the courage with which I withstood the great temptations during so many years, do not ever become discouraged by the number of temptations that assail you, they will not make you culpable before God, if we resist them with generosity. To the contrary, they will serve us much in making us humbler. Be but faithful and avoid those occasions that could lead to temptation.

No. 10
My sister, I leave you my fidelity in maintaining silence. It is in silence that the religious soul learns to converse with God, it is a mute language that instructs us in all our duties; silence is the father of holy tears; the nourishment of prayer; the guardian of charity. Be faithful in never uttering useless words, but recall that exterior silence is nothing unless it is accompanied by interior silence.

No. 11
My sister, I leave you my love for the purity that has made me flee with horror all that can tarnish the luster. Consider often the beauty of this virtue that allows us on earth to resemble the angels. Watch that you do not allow to enter your heart any excessive attachment for a creature; be modest in all exterior things; restrain any projections of your imagination, this is what makes up this virtue in a religious.

No. 14
My sister, I leave you my love for poverty that makes me throw down at the feet the riches that the world would offer for having embraced a poor and crucified life. Apply this virtue to yourself in order to conform to your spouse who, as He said Himself, did not have a place to lay down his head.

No. 15
My sister, I leave you my love for suffering. It is love of suffering that makes me repeat without ceasing: “to suffer always and never to die”. It is in suffering and not in joy that real love is proved; a day without the cross is [a day] lost for heaven.

Back to the Little Words

Imprimer

Testaments de ste Marie-Madeleine de Pazzi

 

Fêtée le 25 mai


Série incomplète - le n° 15 est cité par Thérèse.


n° 1
Ma Soeur, je vous laisse la simplicité avec laquelle je me laissais conduire par mes Supérieures. Oh ! aimable vertu qui affranchit l'âme qui l'a profonde de trouble et d'inquiétude. L'âme simple ne cherche point de détour dans ce qu'elle dit à ses Supérieures. Elle s'entretient familièrement avec Dieu comme un enfant avec son frère lui disant ses peines et ses joies. Soyez fidèle à cette vertu si vous voulez jouir de la paix intérieure.
n° 2
Ma Soeur, je vous laisse mon humilité qui me faisait rechercher les emplois les plus bas et les plus humiliants de la Communauté. Soyez persuadée que sans l'humilité votre perfection ne sera qu'une illusion. L'humilité est la base et le fondement de toutes les vertus, et vous ne pouvez véritablement vous dire l'épouse de J.C. si vous ne vous attachez à la pratique d'une vertu que Lui-même recommande en disant : "Apprenez de moi que je suis doux et humble de coeur".
n° 3
Ma Soeur, je vous laisse l'amour que j'avais pour l'obéissance qui me faisait voler au moindre signe de mes Supérieures ; soyez persuadée que vous ne ferez jamais aucun progrès véritable dans la vertu tant que votre volonté ne sera pas entièrement soumise à celle de Dieu et que vous ne serez pas toujours prête à faire plutôt la volonté des autres que la vôtre. Un acte de renoncement est plus agréable à Dieu qu'une heure d'oraison en suivant sa volonté.
n° 5
Ma Soeur, je vous laisse mon esprit de foi qui dirigeait toutes mes actions ; une âme de foi est capable de supporter les plus grandes épreuves, soit de la part de Dieu ou des créatures ; elle sait que les peines et les afflictions de cette vie sont toujours pour nous des moyens de sanctification, si nous savons en faire bon usage.
n° 6    
Ma Soeur, je vous laisse ma tendre dévotion pour la Ste Eucharistie, qui me faisait soupirer sans cesse après le jour où je devais la recevoir. Oh ! que de grâces sont renfermées dans une communion bien faite. Ayez soin de vous y préparer la veille et le jour que vous l'aurez faite.
Veuillez plus particulièrement à la garde de vos sens afin de vous tenir unie à votre bien-aimé.
n° 7
Ma Soeur, je vous laisse à imiter la pureté d'intention qui me faisait agir dans toutes mes actions, ne regardez jamais les créatures dans ce que vous faites, mais la seule et unique gloire de Dieu. Ce n'est pas tant la multiplicité des actions que Dieu demande, que la pureté d'intention avec laquelle ont les fait.
n° 9
Ma Soeur, je vous laisse la force et le courage avec lesquels j'ai supporté les grandes tentations durant tant d'années, ne vous attristez jamais la vue des tentations que vous éprouvez, elles ne vous rendent pas coupable devant Dieu si nous y résistons avec générosité au contraire elle servent beaucoup à nous humilier. Soyez seulement fidèle à éviter ce qui pourrait y donner occasion.
n° 10
Ma Soeur, je vous laisse ma fidélité à garder le silence. C est dans le silence que l'âme religieuse apprend à converser avec son Dieu, c'est un langage muet qui nous instruit de tous nos devoirs ; le silence est le père des saintes larmes, le nourricier de l'oraison, le gardien de la charité. Soyez fidèle à ne jamais dire de paroles inutiles ; mais souvenez-vous que le silence extérieur n'est rien s'il n'est accompagné du silence intérieur.
n° 11
Ma Soeur, je vous laisse mon amour pour la pureté qui me faisait fuir avec horreur tout ce qui aurait pu en ternir l'éclat. Considérez souvent la beauté de cette vertu qui nous rend sur la terre semblable aux anges. Veillez a ne laisser entrer dans votre coeur aucune attache trop sensible pour la créature ; soyez modeste en tout votre extérieur, réprimez les saillies de votre imagination, c'est en cela que consiste la pratique de cette vertu pour une religieuse.
n° 14
Ma Soeur, je vous laisse mon amour pour la pauvreté c'est elle qui m'a fait fouler aux pieds les richesses que le monde m'offrait pour embrasser une vie pauvre et crucifiée. Appliquez-vous donc à cette vertu afin de devenir conforme à votre époux qui comme il le dit lui-même n'a pas eu où reposer sa tête.
n° 15
Ma Soeur, je vous laisse mon amour pour la souffrance. Il était si grand qu'il me faisait répéter sans cesse : "toujours souffrir et ne jamais mourir" c'est dans la souffrance et non dans la jouissance que se prouve le véritable amour, une journée sans croix est perdue pour le ciel.

 

Retour aux Petits mots