Print

From Mme Martin to Mme Guérin CF 21 - January 13, 1867.

From Mme Martin to Mme Guérin

January 13, 1867

My dear sister,

I was so touched by your kind letter. What you confided to me, was it not that you already hope to become a mother? Now the little worries will come, but in the midst of all that, there will also be many joys. I learned from my father that you’ve been sick. I also was sick with my first little girl. I believed that all was lost and I cried, I who so wanted a baby! But that didn’t prevent the little one from being born at the proper time, and she was very strong.

Thank you for the lovely presents you sent my little girls. I can’t tell you how happy you made them. Upon opening the suitcase, there were such cries of joy that my poor father was stunned. After the cries of joy came the tears, and all four of them cried, which was the most amazing thing. The little ones wanted what the big ones had. We had a very hard time making peace. Grandpa had to get angry and threaten to take away all these beautiful toys, but they told him that he was not the one who gave them, that it was their aunt who gave them the toys, and he couldn’t take them away.

I enjoyed myself like a child playing a game of Patience, and I paid for my childishness. I had to make a very urgent order of lace, and, to make up for lost time, I stayed up until one o’clock in the morning.

The white wide-brimmed hat fits little Joseph perfectly. But I’m truly annoyed, my dear sister, that you spent so much money on my children. If I had just one or two, I wouldn’t say anything, but five, it’s too much. If it were necessary to give New Year’s presents to each one, it would never end. The older ones now have enough toys to last their entire childhood. They take good care of their belongings because I don’t give them to them to misuse. So please, let it end there.

I had the happiness of seeing my little Joseph the first of the year. For his New Year’s gift, I dressed him like a prince. If you only knew how beautiful he was, how heartily he laughed! My husband said, “You carry him around like a wooden statue of a saint.” I showed him off, in fact, like a novelty. But ... oh, the vanity of the joys of this world! The next day, at three o’clock in the morning, we heard a loud knock at the door. We got up and went to open the door. Someone said, “Come quickly, your little boy is very sick, and we’re afraid he’s going to die.”

As you can imagine, I didn’t take long to dress and found myself on the road to the country (to Semallé) on the coldest night, in spite of snow and slippery ice. I didn’t ask my husband to come with me, I wasn’t afraid, I would have crossed a forest alone, but he didn’t want to let me leave without him.

The poor little boy had a bad case of erysipelas and his face was in a pitiful state. The doctor told me that he was in very grave danger (Marie-Joseph-Louis died a month later, on February 14, 1867. He was five months old); in other words, I saw him already dead! ... But God didn’t make me wait so long for a little boy to take him from me so soon. He wants to leave him with me, and he’s now thriving. But, would you believe that they blamed me for what happened because I made him come to Alençon in weather that was too cold. As you see, I paid very dearly for my pleasure on New Year’s Day, but I won’t do it again.

 

© Society of St. Paul / Alba House

Back to the list

Imprimer

De Mme Martin à Mme Guérin CF 21 - 13 janvier 1867.

 

Lettre de Mme Martin à Mme Guérin CF 21

13 janvier 1867.

Ma chère Sœur,

Votre aimable lettre m'a fait le plus sensible plaisir. Ce que vous me confiez, ne serait‑il pas déjà un espoir de devenir maman ? Voilà les petits soucis qui vont venir, mais au milieu de tout cela, il y a aussi bien des joies. J'ai appris par mon père que vous aviez été malade; j'ai été comme vous à ma première petite fille, je croyais que tout était perdu, et j'ai pleuré, moi qui désirais tant un enfant ! Mais cela n'a pas empêché que la petite soit bien venue à son terme, et elle était très forte.

Je vous remercie beaucoup des jolis cadeaux que vous avez envoyés à mes petites filles. Vous dire le plaisir qu'ils ont causé n'est pas chose facile. A l'ouverture de la malle, c'étaient de tels cris de joie que mon pauvre père en était étourdi. Après les cris de joie sont venues les larmes, elles pleuraient toutes les quatre à laquelle le plus fort. Les petites voulaient ce que les grandes avaient. On a eu bien du mal à faire la paix. I1 a fallu que bon papa se fâche et menace de reprendre tous ces beaux jouets, mais elles lui ont dit que ce n'était pas lui qui les donnait, que c'était leur tante et qu'il ne pouvait les ôter.

Je me suis amusée comme un enfant aux jeux de patience, j'ai payé mon enfantillage: j'avais à faire un envoi de dentelles très pressé, il a fallu rattraper le temps perdu et veiller jusqu'à une heure du matin.

La capeline blanche va parfaitement au petit Joseph, mais je suis vraiment fâchée, ma chère sœur, que vous fassiez ainsi des frais pour mes enfants. Si je n'en avais qu'un ou deux, je ne dirais rien, mais cinq, c'est trop, et s'il fallait envoyer des étrennes à chacun, cela n'en finirait pas. Les grandes ont maintenant assez de jouets pour toute leur jeunesse. Elles conservent bien leurs affaires, car je ne les leur donne pas à gaspiller. Il faudra donc s'en tenir là, je vous en prie.

J'ai eu le bonheur de voir mon petit Joseph le premier de l'an. Pour ses étrennes, je l'ai habillé comme un prince; si vous saviez comme il était beau, comme il riait de bon cœur ! Mon mari me disait que « je le promenais comme un saint de bois. » ' Je le faisais voir, en effet, comme une curiosité. Mais... ô vanité des joies de ce monde ! Le lende­main, dès trois heures du matin, on entend frapper bien fort à la porte; on se lève, on va ouvrir et on nous dit: « Venez vite, votre petit garçon est bien mal, on craint qu'il ne meure. » 

Vous pensez que je n'ai pas été longtemps à m'habiller et me voilà en route pour la campagne, par la nuit la plus froide, malgré la neige et le verglas. Je n'ai pas demandé à mon mari de venir avec moi, je n'avais pas peur, j'aurais traversé seule une forêt, mais il n'a pas voulu me laisser partir sans lui.

Le pauvre petit avait un fort érésypèle, et la figure dans un état pitoyable. Le médecin me dit qu'il était en très grand danger, enfin, je le voyais déjà mort !... Mais le bon Dieu ne m'avait pas tant fait attendre un garçon pour me l'ôter si tôt, il veut me le laisser, il est maintenant en pleine santé. Mais, croiriez‑vous qu'on m'a accusée de ce qui était arrivé, parce que je l'avais fait venir à Alençon par un temps trop froid. Comme vous le voyez, j'ai payé bien cher mon plaisir du Jour de l'An, mais on ne m'y reprendra plus  (Ce petit Joseph mourut peu après, le 14 février.)

Retour à la liste des correspondants