Print

From Mme Martin to Mme Guérin CF 47 - July 11, 1869.

 

From Mme Martin to Mme Guérin 

July 11, 1869

I’m very happy that Marie has made her First Communion, despite her young age (she was nine and a half years old). If you knew how well-prepared she was. She looked like a little saint. The chaplain told me he was very satisfied with her. He awarded her the first prize for Catechism.

The two days I spent in Le Mans were the most beautiful days of my life. I’ve rarely felt such happiness. My sister was feeling better. Marie told me that she prayed so much for her aunt that she was sure God would answer her prayers.

I noticed that our poor sister didn’t realize her condition at all. Mother Superior came to speak to me and sent me several times to reassure her and lead her to believe that she’s not dangerously ill. I asked the Sisters what they thought about it. From what I noticed and what the chaplain told me, there are grave fears. She has a very diseased lung. However, the doctor doesn’t despair completely. He thinks that with a lot of care she might get better.

I’m longing to see you again, as well as little Jeanne. I’ll do my best to find ways for you to relax. We’re going to the country. Count on staying with us for at least two weeks. But I’d very much like my dear Isidore to come also. If he doesn’t, that will hurt me very much.

Little Céline is doing wonderfully. She’s beginning to babble, she’s already very advanced. I haven’t seen her for two weeks because she’s with the wet nurse. I’m about to go see her. However, it’s very hot, but I’ve never gone so long without seeing her.

 © Society of St. Paul / Alba House

 

 

Back to the list

Imprimer

De Mme Martin à Mme Guérin CF 47 - 11 juillet 1869.

 

Lettre de Mme Martin à Mme Guérin CF 47

11 juillet 1869.

Je suis très contente que Marie, malgré son jeune âge (dont la première Communion fut avancée pour des raisons de santé), ait fait sa première Communion, si vous saviez comme elle était bien disposée; elle avait l'air d'une petite sainte. M. l'Aumônier m'a dit qu'il était fort satisfait d'elle, il lui a décerné le premier prix de catéchisme.

J'ai passé au Mans les deux plus belles journées de ma vie, j’ai rarement ressenti autant de bonheur. Ma soeur se trouvait mieux, Marie me disait qu'elle avait tant prié pour sa tante qu'elle était sûre que le bon Dieu l'exaucerait...

J'ai remarqué que notre pauvre soeur ne voyait pas du tout son état. La Mère Supérieure est venue me parler, et m'a envoyé dire à plusieurs reprises qu'il fallait la rassurer et lui laisser croire qu'elle n'était pas dangereusement malade. J'ai demandé aux Sœurs ce qu'elles en pensaient. D'après ce que j'ai constaté et ce que M. l'Aumônier m'a dit, il y a des craintes sérieuses; elle a un poumon bien malade, mais cependant, le médecin ne désespère pas tout à fait; il pense qu'avec de grands soins cela pourrait peut‑être se cicatriser.

Il me tarde de vous revoir, ainsi que la petite Jeanne. Je ferai tout mon possible pour vous procurer des délas­sements. Nous irons à la campagne. Comptez que vous resterez au moins quinze jours avec nous. Mais je voudrais bien que mon cher Isidore vienne aussi, sinon, cela me fera beaucoup de peine.

La petite Céline se porte à merveille. Elle commence à gazouiller, elle est déjà bien avancée. Voilà quinze jours que je ne l'ai vue, car elle est en nourrice; je me dispose à y aller; il fait cependant bien chaud, mais je n'avais jamais été si longtemps sans la voir.

Retour à la liste des correspondants