Print

From Mme Martin to Mme Guérin CF 54 - March 27, 1870.

 

From Mme Martin to Mme Guérin

March 27, 1870

I was happy to receive your news. We waited so long for it. I grumbled about my brother, and I think that if he’d known how much time I’d lost watching for the postman over the last two weeks, and the disappointment I felt, he would have hurried a little more than he did!

I was worried about you. I’d like to know you’ve completely recovered. If you want to make me very happy, write me immediately that you’re no longer in bed because I don’t like you there. I believe you dislike it there just as much….

As for me, I’m not confined to my bed, but I’m not doing well at all. I often have a fever, or, more accurately, I have a fever every day. I’m not suffering very much, but I have a constant headache and a general weakness. I have no more energy. I have no stamina for work, and I don’t have the heart for it. Sometimes I imagine that I’ll go away as gently as my little Hélène. I assure you that I barely care for my own life. Ever since I lost this child, I feel a burning desire to see her again. However, those that remain need me, and, because of them, I ask God to leave me on this earth a few more years.

I deeply regretted the loss of my two little boys, but I grieve even more for the loss of her. I was beginning to enjoy her. She was so pretty, so affectionate, so advanced for her age! There isn’t one minute of the day when I don’t think of her. The Sister who taught her class told me (and it was well said) that children like her don’t live long. Well, she’s in Heaven, much happier than here below. But for me, I feel that all my happiness has flown away.

We’ve had an event in our lives that’s created a little diversion. My husband’s nephew (Adolphe Leriche) has inherited a sum of money, and he’s decided to buy our watchmaker business.

The deal should be closed in three or four days, and, if all goes as arranged, he’ll take possession of the shop this week.

We still don’t know where we’re going to live. If we don’t find anything, we’ll stay here until the house on the rue Saint-Blaise is available. However, I wouldn’t want to settle there. The garden is too small. Even if it means we retire from business, I would prefer a house with a big garden. I don’t miss the jewelry shop, we have more than enough to live on and raise our children. Besides, I’ll continue with the Alençon lace.

They brought little Céline to me two weeks ago. She’s coming along very well and is very good, but you never know. I won’t take her back before the month of July. She’ll be too difficult to take care of, and I believe she won’t walk on her own for three or four months. She always has to be in someone’s arms. I’m not strong enough and neither is my maid because I have the luck of being burdened with an invalid, she’s always sick. I’m sorry about that.

Something else, to amuse you a little: there will be a big festival in Alençon on Easter Monday, a formal procession. There was a fundraiser that brought in 10,600 francs. Madame Y is making all kinds of preparations for the grand ball that will be held at City Hall for this occasion. I know many young women who have their heads on backwards over this. There are those (would you believe it?) who are bringing in workers from Le Mans to make their dresses for fear that the workers in Alençon will reveal their secret before the celebrated day of the event. Isn’t all this laughable?

I received a letter this morning from my sister and the little girls. All is well, and they’re very much looking forward to coming home at Easter.

 

 © Society of St. Paul / Alba House

 

Back to the list

Imprimer

De Mme Martin à Mme Guérin CF 54 - 27 mars 1870.

 

Lettre de Mme Martin à Mme Guérin CF 54

27 mars 1870.

J'ai été heureuse d'avoir de vos nouvelles, elles se sont fait attendre. J'ai murmuré contre mon frère, je crois que s'il avait su combien de temps j'ai perdu à guetter le facteur, pendant quinze jours, et le désappointement que j'éprou­vais, il se serait pressé un peu plus qu'il ne l'a fait !

J'étais inquiète de vous. Je voudrais vous savoir entiè­rement rétablie; si vous voulez me faire un grand plaisir, écrivez‑moi aussitôt que vous ne serez plus au lit, car vous me déplaisez là. Je crois que vous vous y déplaisez autant vous‑même...

Moi, je ne suis pas alitée, mais je ne me porte pas bien du tout, j'ai souvent la fièvre, pour mieux dire, tous les jours. Je ne souffre pas beaucoup, mais j'ai un mal de tête constant et une faiblesse générale; je n'ai plus d'énergie, je ne puis travailler avec activité, je n'en ai pas le courage. Parfois, je me figure que je m'en vais tout doucement comme ma petite Hélène. Je vous assure que je ne tiens guère à la vie. Depuis que j'ai perdu cette enfant, j'éprouve un ardent désir de la revoir; cependant, ceux qui restent ont besoin de moi et, à cause d'eux, je prie le bon Dieu de me laisser encore quelques années sur la terre.

J'ai bien regretté mes deux petits garçons, mais j'ai plus de chagrin encore de la perte de celle‑là; je commençais à en jouir, elle était si mignonne, si caressante, si avancée pour son âge ! Il n'est pas une minute du jour où je ne pense à elle. La Sœur qui lui faisait la classe me disait bien que les enfants comme elle ne vivaient pas. Enfin, elle est au Ciel, bien plus heureuse qu'ici‑bas, mais pour moi, il me semble que tout mon bonheur s'est envolé.

I1 est arrivé dans notre vie un événement qui a fait un peu diversion: le neveu de mon mari (M. Adolphe Leriche) a hérité d'une certaine somme et il s'est décidé à acheter notre fonds d'horlogerie.

C’est dans trois ou quatre jours que doit se conclure le marché et, si les choses s'arrangent, il entrera en jouissance cette semaine.

Nous ne savons pas encore où nous irons demeurer; si nous ne trouvons pas, nous resterons ici jusqu'à ce que la maison de la rue Saint‑Blaise soit vacante Je voudrais cependant ne pas m'y fixer, le jardin est trop petit. Quitte à nous retirer des affaires, j'aurais préféré une maison avec un grand jardin. Je ne regrette pas la bijouterie, nous avons plus qu'il ne nous faut pour vivre et bien élever nos enfants; d'ailleurs, je continuerai le Point d'Alençon.

On m'a amené la petite Céline, il y a quinze jours; elle vient très bien et est très gentille, mais c'est un sable mouvant. Je ne la reprendrai pas avant le mois de juillet, on aurait trop de mal autour d'elle et je crois qu'elle ne marchera pas seule avant trois ou quatre mois. II faudrait toujours l'avoir sur les bras, je n'en ai pas la force, et ma bonne ne l'a pas non plus, car j'ai la chance de m'être embarrassée d'un emplâtre, elle est toujours malade; j'en suis désolée.

Autre chose, pour vous amuser un peu: il y aura grande fête à Alençon le lundi de Pâques, une cavalcade en règle. On a fait une quête qui a rapporté 10.600 fr. Mme Y. fait des préparatifs de toutes sortes pour le grand bal qui sera donné à la Mairie à cette occasion. Je connais beaucoup de jeunes dames qui en ont la tête à l'envers. Il y en a, le croiriez‑vous ? qui font venir des ouvrières du Mans pour confectionner leurs toilettes, dans la crainte que les ouvrières d'Alençon ne révèlent leur secret avant le jour célèbre des manifestations. N'est‑ce pas risible tout cela ?

J'ai reçu ce matin une lettre de ma sœur et des petites filles; tout va bien; elles se font une grande fête de venir à Pâques.

Retour à la liste des correspondants