Print

From Mme Martin to Mme Guérin CF 55 - May 1, 1870.


From Mme Martin to Mme Guérin

May 1, 1870

… I’m bringing little Céline home the 21st of this month. I went to see her the Tuesday of Easter week, and I noticed the wet nurse is hardly breastfeeding her any more. She’s giving her food that is too coarse. She’s boiling a big piece of bread in milk. The poor little one took two or three spoonfuls of this in front of me, and she couldn’t swallow it.

Well, there’s nothing better to do, I believe, than bring her home as quickly as possible. What misery to have to send one’s children to the country. So I don’t want to hear about it anymore. I’ve definitely decided to care for the baby who’s coming in August (Mélanie-Thérèse). What upsets me is that I’ve gone so long without seeing you, and this will keep me from being godmother. I’ve been looking forward to that so much.

Thank you a thousand times for the beautiful dress you sent me for little Céline. I’m going to make her a little matching hat. She’ll be as beautiful as a love.

I took my little girls back to Le Mans on Friday (Marie and Pauline) ; their aunt is doing very well. She wanted to know all about you and asked me to give you her kindest regards. Marie received the Cross of Excellence again this term. I’ve really been deprived of my two oldest girls. You can’t imagine what it costs me to send them away, but we have to learn to make sacrifices for their happiness.

 © Society of St. Paul / Alba House

Back to the list

Imprimer

De Mme Martin à Mme Guérin CF 55 - 1er mai 1870.

 

Lettre de Mme Martin à Mme Guérin CF 55

1er mai 1870.

...Je reprends la petite Céline le 21 de ce mois. J'ai été la voir le mardi de Pâques et j'ai remarqué que la nourrice ne l'allaite presque plus et qu'elle lui donne une nourriture trop grossière: elle lui fait bouillir du gros pain dans du lait. Cette pauvre petite en a pris devant moi deux ou trois cuillerées, elle ne peut avaler cela.

Enfin, je n'ai rien de mieux à faire, je crois, que de la ramener bien vite à la maison. Quelle misère d'être obligé de mettre ses enfants à la campagne. Aussi, je ne veux plus en entendre parler. Je suis toute décidée à garder celui qui viendra au mois d'août. Ce qui me contrarie, c'est que je serai bien longtemps sans aller vous voir et cela m'empê­chera d'être marraine; je m'en faisais pourtant une grande fête.

Je vous remercie mille fois de la belle robe que vous m'envoyez pour la petite Céline. Je vais lui faire faire une petite capote assortie. Elle sera jolie comme un amour.

J'ai reconduit mes petites filles [Marie et Pauline] vendredi au Mans; la tante se porte très bien. Elle s'est beaucoup informée de vous et me charge de vous faire ses amitiés. Marie a encore la croix d'Excellence ce trimestre‑ci. Je suis bien privée de mes deux aînées. Vous ne pouvez vous imaginer ce qu'il m'en coûte de les éloigner de moi, mais il faut savoir faire des sacrifices pour leur bonheur.

Retour à la liste des correspondants