Print

From Mme Martin to Mme Guérin CF 56 - June 10, 1870.

 

 

From  Mme Martin to Mme Guérin

 

June 10, 1870

Little Céline seems very intelligent, but I have to spend three quarters of my day taking care of her. She’s in excellent health and walks very well on her own. It’s so funny to see this tiny little girl walking so easily that, on the street, people stop to look at her. She’s no bigger than a six-month old and hardly speaks. Her father loves her very much because she always wants to go to him, so he often takes her for a walk.

I’m frightened at the thought of caring at home for the little one I’m expecting. Sometimes I waver in my resolution. I could get sick over it because I already have more work than I can handle. If I find a good wet nurse, I think I’d decide to entrust the baby to her.

On this subject, I must tell you that I have a godfather and a godmother for the baby. The godfather is my husband’s cousin, Monsieur de Lacauve, a battalion commander, and the godmother is Mademoiselle X. She’s the one who arranged all this. She wanted to be godmother and told me this a long time ago, but I didn’t have a godfather distinguished enough to please her. I didn’t want to say anything. Finally, I thought of the handsome cousin who had previously refused to be a godfather, but this time he accepted wholeheartedly.

From what I told him of the young lady, he’s dreaming of marriage, despite his 43 years. It’s true he doesn’t look his age. Mademoiselle X asked me how old he was. She thought a moment and said, “That’s a little old.” I wouldn’t be surprised if it were to happen. He’s from the nobility, and decorated – a decoration he earned at the point of a sword. He also has, or should have, a nice fortune from his parents, unless he lost it. He inherited it nearly 30 years ago. If he’s put aside the income, it should have given him one hundred thousand francs, but I doubt it. I’m very happy to have Mademoiselle X as godmother. However, I would have preferred to do things more simply.

Goodbye, my dear sister, I don’t have time to write more. I began this letter two days ago. I have to look after my Céline. I’m the one who makes her eat, and she eats everything, but a little at a time. She truly has a special preference for her father. When he’s there, no one else can hold her. She shouts with all her might to go to him, and when we want to take her from him, we have to pull her away by force.

From what I see, little Jeanne will become quite a scholar. She already writes rather well. Kiss her for me and tell her that her aunt loves her with all her heart.

 © Society of St. Paul / Alba House 

 

Back to the list

Imprimer

De Mme Martin à Mme Guérin CF 56 - 10 juin 1870.

 

Lettre de Mme Martin à Mme Guérin CF 56

10 juin 1870.

La petite Céline paraît bien intelligente, mais je suis obligée de m'occuper d'elle les trois quarts de mes journées. Elle se porte à merveille et marche très bien seule. C'est si drôle de voir marcher si aisément cette toute petite fille, que, dans la rue, les passants s'arrêtent pour la regarder. Elle n'est pas plus grande qu'un enfant de six mois et ne parle presque pas. Son père l'aime beaucoup parce qu'elle veut toujours aller à lui, aussi il la promène souvent.

Je suis effrayée à la pensée d'élever à la maison le petit qui va venir; parfois, je chancelle dans ma résolution, je suis capable d'en tomber malade, car j'ai déjà plus d'ouvrage que je n'en puis faire. Si je trouvais une bonne nourrice, je crois que je me déciderais à le lui confier.

A ce propos, j'ai à vous apprendre que j'ai pour lui un parrain et une marraine. Le parrain est un cousin de mon mari, M. de Lacauve, chef de Bataillon, et la marraine, Mlle X. C'est elle qui a arrangé tout cela. Elle voulait être marraine, il y a longtemps qu'elle me le donnait à entendre, mais comme je n'avais pas de parrain assez distingué pour lui plaire, je ne voulais rien dire. Enfin, j'ai pensé au beau cousin qui avait déjà refusé de l'être, et cette fois, il a accepté de grand cœur.

D'après ce que je lui ai dit de la demoiselle, il rêve d'un mariage, malgré ses 43 ans; c'est vrai qu'il ne les porte pas. Mlle X. m'a demandé son âge. Elle a réfléchi un instant et m'a dit: « C'est un peu vieux. » Je ne serais pas étonnée que cela se fît ; il est noble, décoré,—décoration qu'il a gagnée à la pointe de l'épée,—il a aussi, ou doit avoir, une belle fortune de ses parents, à moins qu'il ne l'ait perdue. Voilà bientôt 30 ans qu'il est héritier. S'il a mis les rentes de côté, cela lui ferait cent mille francs, mais j'en doute. Je suis bien contente d'avoir Mlle X. pour marraine, cepen­dant, j'aurais mieux aimé faire les choses plus simplement.

Adieu, ma chère soeur, je n'ai pas le temps de vous en écrire davantage, voilà deux jours que cette lettre est com­mencée, il faut que je soigne ma Céline, c'est moi qui la fais manger, elle prend de tout, mais peu à la fois. Elle a vraiment une prédilection particulière pour son père; quand il est là, personne ne peut la tenir, elle crie de toutes ses forces pour aller à lui et quand on veut la reprendre, il faut l'arracher de force.

D'après ce que je vois, la petite Jeanne deviendra bien savante; elle écrit déjà passablement bien; embrassez‑la pour moi et dites‑lui que sa tante l'aime de tout son cœur.

Retour à la liste des correspondants