Print

From Mme Martin to Mme Guérin CF 57 - July 19, 1870.

 

From Mme Martin to Mme Guérin

July 19, 1870

I was in Le Mans on July 2 for Marie’s second Solemn Communion. How happy I was to see my dear oldest daughters! Both of them have changed quite a bit. Their teachers are very pleased with them. When the new school year starts, I’d like to send Léonie with them, but I had the misfortune of speaking of the little one’s character in a letter, and the Mother Superior doesn’t want her anymore. In a way, I’m not upset because I don’t think they would have kept her. It’s better to wait another year so she can develop more. She’s very sweet at heart, but in spite of this, we have difficulty making her obey.

Little Céline has been very uncomfortable for the last two weeks because of her teeth. Two have broken through, and the others are ready to come out. Except for that, she’s doing well and running around like a little rabbit. It’s funny to see her take all her little precautions in order not to fall. She’s very cute and very intelligent.

On the Feast of Corpus Christi, she wore, for the first time, the charming dress her godmother gave her. If you knew how good it looked on her! Everyone was admiring her, and I assure you, I was proud of my daughter. She wore a pretty white-feathered hat with it. In a word, everything was beautiful. We’ve taken to dressing her in white. She doesn’t go out anymore unless she’s wearing a white dress, very simple, but she’s so beautiful that way! I never dressed my other children so well.

I believe I’m going to find myself without a godfather. Mademoiselle X is preoccupied with this. The poor godfather is going to fight in the war. I’m truly afraid for him. The young lady has already chosen Monsieur T in the event that there’s an accident, but that needn’t concern her. She’s going to order a blue silk dress made especially for the baptism. As a gift, she’d like to give her godchild a white cashmere baptismal cape, but I anticipated it and quickly bought the cape, which I showed her, so she doesn’t have to give anything. I believe this settles it very well, as does mama X!

I’m sure that in Lisieux, as in Alençon, people are talking about the draftees leaving for the army (the Franco-Prussian War had just begun). Monsieur Pierre Romet (a brother of Vital and Pauline Romet ) has twelve employees who are going. I’m afraid you’ll be inconvenienced because of your young people. Do you have enough of them? Be kind enough to write me back right away because I’m eager to hear your news! I don’t have time to write to you. This morning I got up at four-thirty to write this letter. What concerns me most is knowing if you have a maid. I’m afraid you may have a problem.

Isidore shouldn’t worry about my father’s estate. He’ll be given the amount he wants in January or at the end of December, and there will be no further payment. This will be quite enough to generate an income when he has the money. I don’t like it as it is, that you pay me an income.

 © Society of St. Paul / Alba House

 

Back to the list

Imprimer

De Mme Martin à Mme Guérin CF 57 - 19 juillet 1870.

 

Lettre de Mme Martin à Mme Guérin CF 57

19 juillet 1870.

...J'étais au Mans, le 2 juillet, pour la seconde Communion solennelle de Marie. Que j'étais heureuse de voir mes chères aînées ! Elles ont bien changé toutes les deux. Leurs maîtresses en sont très contentes. J'aurais voulu, à la rentrée, envoyer Léonie avec elles, mais j'ai eu le malheur de parler, dans une lettre, du caractère de la petite, et la Mère Supé­rieure n’en veut plus. Je n'en suis pas fâchée, dans un sens, car je crois qu'on ne l'aurait pas gardée; il est préférable d'attendre encore une année, pour la former davantage. Elle est très douce au fond, et malgré cela, on arrive diffi­cilement à la faire obéir.

La petite Céline a été très souffrante depuis quinze jours à cause de ses dents; elle en a deux de percées et d'autres sont prêtes à venir. Sauf cela, elle va bien et court comme un petit lapin; c'est curieux de la voir prendre toutes ses petites précautions pour ne pas tomber; elle est bien mignonne et bien intelligente.

Je lui ai fait étrenner, le jour de la Fête‑Dieu, la charmante robe que sa marraine lui a donnée; si vous saviez comme elle lui allait bien ! tout le monde l'admirait, et je vous assure que j'étais fière de ma fille ! Elle avait, avec cela, un joli chapeau à plume blanche, enfin, tout était ravissant. On a pris goût à la mettre en blanc, elle ne sort plus qu'avec des robes blanches, toutes simples, mais elle est si belle ainsi ! Je n'ai jamais habillé si bien mes autres enfants.

Je crois que je vais me trouver sans parrain. Mlle X. en est comme un esprit (Expression locale signifiant que l'on est distrait). Le pauvre parrain va aller se battre ;j’ai vraiment peur pour lui. La demoiselle a déjà choisi M. T. en cas d'accident, mais cela ne fait pas aussi bien son affaire. Elle aura une toilette de soie bleue commandée tout exprès pour le baptême. Elle voulait faire cadeau à son filleul d’une pelisse en cachemire blanc, mais je l'ai devancée. J’ai vite acheté la pelisse que je lui ai montrée, de sorte qu'elle n a rien à donner, ce qui l'arrange fort bien, je crois, ainsi que la maman X. !

Je pense que c'est à Lisieux, comme à Alençon, au sujet des conscrits partant pour l'armée. M. Pierre Romet a douze employés qui s'en vont. J'ai peur que vous ne soyez gênés à cause de vos jeunes gens. En avez‑vous assez ? Ayez la bonté de me répondre de suite, car je suis si impatiente d'avoir de vos nouvelles ! Je n'avais pas le temps de vous écrire, je me suis levée ce matin à quatre heures et demie pour cela. Ce qui me préoccupe le plus, c'est de savoir si vous avez une bonne, je crains que vous ne soyez dans l'ennui.

Qu'Isidore ne se tourmente pas pour la succession de mon père; on lui donnera, au mois de janvier, ou à la fin de décembre, la somme qu'il désire et il n'aura rien à verser en plus; ce sera bien suffisant de payer les rentes quand il aura l'argent; cela me déplaît déjà assez que vous me fassiez des rentes.

Retour à la liste des correspondants