Print

Novena of Grace to St Francis Xavier

 

March 4th to 12th - reputed as infaillible 


Therese made this old novena herself several times: we have clues for 1888 (LT-43) and for 1897, where she asked to obtain the grace to spend her heaven in doing good on earth (LT-221).


This Novena is called “of Grace” because, as said in a proverb, one obtains infallibly the grace that one seeks. “One does not know—wrote a pious author in 1701—in detail how many graces have been obtained by all who have practiced it…Experience makes us recognize that there is no necessity, spiritual or temporal, that is beyond help or for which one should not expect prompt assistance after recourse to this great Saint, particularly when making this novena in his honor.”
This Novena can be made at any time of the year, but preferably from the 4th to the 12th of March (days of anniversary of the Canonization of the Apostle to the Indies) or from 25th November to 3rd December, to prepare for the feast of the Saint.

Prayer for the feast of Saint Francis Xavier


Oh God, who, through the preaching and miracles of the Blessed Francis, has desired to unite to your Church the nations of the “lodes”, be favorable upon us, and accord us the ability to imitate the examples of virtue practiced by him whose glorious merits we venerate. Through Jesus Christ Our Lord. May it be so.

Prayer to be recited each day of the Novena


Oh, most kind saint, full of charity, Saint Francis Xavier, I respectfully adore with you the divine Majesty, and, because I rejoice without hesitation for the singular divine gifts that have been accorded to you in this life and the glory after death, I render to you many great acts of thanks, and I pray to you with all my heart that you will wish to accord me, through you efficacious intercession, the principal favor of leading a holy life and a saintly death.
Also, I ask that you obtain for me…(here one expresses the favor, whether spiritual or temporal, that one solicits).
If what I ask for with this supplication is not for the glory of God and for the greater good of my soul, instead obtain for me, I pray, that which would be most useful to one and to the other. May it be so. Our Father, Hail Mary, Glory Be.

 

Back to the Little Words

Imprimer

Neuvaine de la grâce


Thérèse l'a faite elle-même.


Cette Neuvaine est appelée « de Grâce », parce qu'il était comme passé en proverbe que l'on obtenait infailliblement la grâce que l'on demandait. « On ne saurait— écrivait un pieux auteur en 1701 — raconter en détail toutes les grâces qui ont été obtenues durant cette neuvaine partout où elle a été pratiquée... L'expérience a fait connaître qu'il n'y a nécessité, spirituelle ou temporelle, dans laquelle l'on ne puisse et l'on ne doive même espérer une prompte assistance lorsqu'on recourt à ce grand Saint, surtout en faisant la neuvaine en son honneur. »
Cette Neuvaine peut se faire à toute époque de l'année, mais de préférence du 4 au 12 mars (jour anniversaire de la Canonisation de l'Apôtre des Indes), ou du 25 novembre au 3 décembre, pour se préparer à la fête du Saint.


Oraison de la fête de saint François Xavier


O Dieu, qui, par la prédication et les miracles du bienheureux François, avez voulu réunir à votre Eglise les nations des Iodes, soyez-nous propice, et accordez-nous d'imiter les exemples des vertus pratiquées par celui dont nous vénérons les glorieux mérites. Par Jésus Christ Notre Seigneur... Ainsi soit-il.


Prière à réciter chaque jour de la Neuvaine


O Saint très aimable et plein de charité, saint François Xavier, j'adore respectueusement avec vous la Majesté divine, et parce que je me réjouis souverainement des dons singuliers de la grâce qu'elle vous a accordés en cette vie et de ceux de la gloire après la mort, je lui rends de très grandes actions de grâces, et je vous prie de tout mon cœur de vouloir m'accorder, par votre efficace intercession, la grâce principale de mener une vie sainte et de saintement mourir.
De plus, je vous demande de m'obtenir... (ici on exprime la grâce, soit spirituelle, soit temporelle, que l'on sollicite).
Mais si ce que je vous demande avec supplication n'est pas pour la gloire de Dieu et au plus grand bien de mon âme, obtenez-moi, je vous prie, ce qu'il y a de plus utile à l'un et à l'autre. Ainsi soit-il.  Pater, Ave, Gloria.


 

Retour aux Petits mots