Print

From Pauline Martin to Mme Guérin - September 10, 1877.

From Pauline Martin to Mrs. Guérin. 10th September 1877.

Dear Aunt,

We were very pleased to receive your letter and those of our little cousins. It is a consolation for us to think that in a few months we shall be with you.

I was touched by the sacrifices that Papa has made to carry out this plan. Of course, our good Father will be repaid with the affection and tender care with which we lovingly surround him in his old age. And God will undoubtedly atone for our powerlessness by showering him with blessings and giving him the happiness that he is sacrificing for us.

I see with pleasure that Jeanne and Marie are delighted about our arrival, tell them that we love them as we would two little sisters.

Our black dresses are made. Thérèse will have a crepe veil, the dressmaker thinks she is big enough to wear one. Yesterday, we went to pray at Mama’s tomb. I could not describe the pangs that came over me in the presence of this beloved tomb. Ah, without the hope of a better life, an eternal reunion, how difficult it would be to bravely bear the separations we have to face here on earth! This was the only walk we took yesterday, we now live like real hermits.

Dear Aunt, please ask my uncle on Papa’s behalf to come to Alençon on Monday 17th September (he would come on 16th). If he cannot, the meeting with the Board of Guardians will be postponed until next month because the justice of the peace will be away in the last week of September and Papa doesn’t liking dealing with his deputy.

Goodbye, dear Aunt, please accept, with my uncle, the sentiments of respect and the deepest affection from your grateful niece

Pauline

P. S. Léonie is endeavouring to be very nice, nevertheless her sky is sometimes covered with dark clouds, and we must bear the resulting downpour. But with kindness and a bit of patience, I hope she will become a good little girl.

 

Back to the list

Imprimer

De Pauline Martin à Mme Guérin - 10 septembre 1877.

 

De Pauline Martin à Mme Guérin. 10 septembre 1877.

 

Ma chère Tante,

Votre lettre et celles de nos chères petites cousines nous ont fait bien plaisir. C'est une consolation pour nous de penser que dans quelques mois nous serons avec vous.

Je suis touchée des sacrifices que fait Papa pour l'accomplissement de ce dessein. Bien sûr, ce bon Père en sera récompensé par l'affection et les tendres soins dont nous aimerons à entourer sa vieillesse. Et Dieu, sans doute, couronnera notre impuissance en le comblant de bénédictions et lui donnant le bonheur qu'il sacrifie pour nous.

Je vois avec plaisir que Jeanne et Marie se réjouissent de notre arrivée, dites-leur que nous les aimons comme deux petites sœurs.

Nos toilettes noires sont faites. Thérèse aura un voile de crêpe, la modiste trouve qu'elle est assez grande pour en porter. Hier, nous sommes allées prier sur la tombe de Maman. Je ne saurais rendre le serrement de cœur qui s'est emparé de moi en présence de cette tombe bien-aimée. Ah ! sans l'espérance d'une vie meilleure, d'une réunion éternelle, qu’il serait difficile de supporter avec courage les séparations d'ici-bas ! C'est la seule promenade que nous avons faite hier, nous vivons maintenant comme de véritables ermites.

Ma chère Tante, je vous prie de dire à mon oncle, de la part de Papa, qu'il vienne à Alençon le lundi 17 Septembre (il viendra le 16). S'il ne le pouvait pas, la réunion du Conseil de famille serait remise au mois prochain parce que le juge de paix sera en voyage la dernière semaine de Septembre et que Papa n'aime pas avoir affaire à son suppléant.

Au revoir, ma chère Tante, veuillez recevoir, avec mon oncle, les sentiments de respect et de la plus vive tendresse de votre nièce reconnaissante

Pauline

P. S. Léonie s'étudie à être bien gentille, néanmoins son ciel est quelquefois couvert de sombres nuages dont il nous faut supporter l'averse. Mais avec de la bonté et un peu de patience, j'espère qu'elle deviendra une bonne petite fille.

Retour à la liste des correspondants