Print

Witnesses 34 to 45

 

After Mgr. Giannattasio, the Court heard eleven other witnesses (one of whom, Doctor La Néele, was heard twice) who testified to two healings that were attributed to Sister Thérèse of the Child Jesus.

The first healing was that of the seminarian Charles Anne in 1906. It constituted the first miracle to be proposed in support of the beatification (1923). Witnesses 34-39 testified on this subject. They were:  

1. Charles Anne, then a priest exercising a ministry (pp. 1337v-1342r).

2. Sister Marie of Saint Ignatius François, of the Congregation of the Immaculate Conception of Nogent-le-Rotrou, who was a well-loved and very appreciated nurse throughout Lisieux, where she lived from 1877 onwards (pp. 1342r-1345v).

3. Joséphine-Reine Hare, mother to Charles Anne (pp. 1346r-1348v).

4. Prosper-Alexandre Anne, father to Charles (pp. 1352v-1354v).

5. Paul Loisnel, Doctor (pp. 1355v-1356v).

6. Francis La Néele, Doctor (pp. 1357v-1362v).

Doctors Damasus-Alexandre de Cornière and Victor Viel were also heard by the Court for their expert opinion on the patient’s condition at the moment of the Trial (pp. 1368r-1370v).

Witnesses 40-45 testified on the subject of the second healing, that of Ferdinand Aubry, who was in his 60s and from the Home of the Little Sisters of the Poor in Lisieux. He had suffered from tongue cancer, and was healed in 1910 through the intercession of Sister Thérèse of the Child Jesus. Four Little Sisters of the Poor and two doctors testified, namely:

1. Sister Saint Charles Borromée Cario, Superior of the Home (pp. 1379r-1383r).

2. Sister Laurentine-Thérèse Pinçon (pp. 1383v-1387v).

3. Sister Saint Martin Laffargue (pp. 1387v-1391r).

4. Sister Domitille de Saint Laurent Belpeer (pp. 1391r-1392v).

5. Victor Viel, Doctor (pp. 1398r-1400v).

6. Francis La Néele, Doctor (pp. 1401r-1403r).

The testimonies essentially provide technical understanding of the medical aspects of the affair, which is why they are omitted. Although Doctor Damasus-Alexandre de Cornière (1841-1922) and Doctor Francis La Néele (1855-1916), the husband of Jeanne Guérin and cousin to the Saint, became quite close to Sister Thérèse during her last illness, they too only speak here of medical aspects (evolution and disappearance of the illness).

We have kept only the following report. Sister Marie of Saint Ignatius François, who was exquisitely charitable with regard to the patients she often visited and whom she was able to console with a few words or a smile, gives the following account of her meeting with Father Louis-Auguste Youf (1842-1897), whom she went to see on 1st October 1897 and who was seriously ill:

“Without entering into the details of the life of Sister Thérèse of the Child Jesus, which a great many witnesses know, I will report one particularity that shows the esteem Father Youf, the Carmel chaplain, had for her holiness at the moment he died. Father Youf was considered by everyone as a remarkably prudent priest. In the morning following Sister Thérèse’s death, I went to see Father Youf, who was ill himself. He was not yet aware that Sister Thérèse had died the previous evening. Hearing the Carmel bell ring, he said: ‘She is dead… It won’t be long before she comes for me: she promised she would… What a loss for the Carmel!... She’s a saint.’ Father Youf died a week later” (Session 88, 23rd August 1911, p. 1345r).

Imprimer

Témoins 34 à 45

Après Mgr Giannattasio, le Tribunal entendit encore onze témoins (dont l'un, deux fois, le docteur La Néele), qui déposèrent sur deux guérisons attribuées à soeur Thérèse de l’Enfant-Jésus.

La première est celle du séminariste Charles Anne en 1906. Elle constitua le premier miracle pour la béatification (1923). Déposèrent à son sujet les témoins 34-39, à savoir:

1. Charles Anne, prêtre alors, exerçant le ministère (f. 1337v-1342r).

2. Soeur Marie de Saint-Ignace François, de la Congrégation de l'Immaculée-Conception de Nogent-le-Rotrou, infirmière très aimée et très appréciée de tout Lisieux, où elle se trouvait depuis 1877 (f. 1342r-1345v).

3. Joséphine-Reine Hare mère de Charles Anne (f. 1346r-1348v).

4. Prosper-Alexandre Anne, père de Charles (f. 1352v-1354v).

5. Paul Loisnel, médecin. (f. 1355v1356v).

6. Francis La Néele, médecin (f. 1357v1362v).

 

Furent encore entendus les docteurs Damasus-Alexandre de Cornière et Victor Viel, comme experts requis par le Tribunal pour avis sur l'état du malade au moment du Procès (f. 1368r-1370v).

 

Les témoins 40-45 déposèrent au sujet de la seconde guérison, celle du sexagénaire Ferdinand Aubry, de la maison des Petites Soeurs des Pauvres de Lisieux, qui souffrait d'un cancer de la langue, dont il fut délivré en 1910 par l'intercession de soeur Thérèse de l'Enfant-Jésus. Ont déposé là quatre Petites Soeurs des Pauvres et deux médecins, à savoir:

1. Soeur Saint-Charles-Borromée Cario, supérieure de la maison (f. 1379r-1383r).

2. Soeur Laurentine-Thérèse Pinçon (f. 1383v-1387v).

3. Soeur Saint-Martin Laffargue (f. 1387v-1391r),

4. Soeur Domitille de Saint-Laurent Belpeer (f. 1391r-1392v).

5. Victor Viel, médecin (f. 1398r-1400v).

6. Francis La Néele, médecin (f. 1401r-1403r).

 

Les témoignages sont essentiellement d'ordre technique au plan médical, aussi bien les omettons-nous. Le docteur Damasus-Alexandre de Cornière (1841-1922) et le docteur Francis La Néele (1855-1916), mari de Jeanne Guérin cousine de la Sainte, qui s'approchèrent pourtant de soeur Thérèse au cours de sa dernière maladie, ne parlent là, eux aussi, qu'au plan médical (évolution et disparition de la maladie).

Retenons ceci seulement. D'une exquise charité à l'égard des malades que, souvent, elle visitait et qu'elle savait consoler d'une parole et d'un sourire, soeur Marie de Saint-Ignace François alla voir le 1er octobre 1897 l'abbé Louis-Auguste Youf (1842-1897), alors très gravement atteint et nous donne cet écho de leur rencontre: « Sans entrer, sur la vie de soeur Thérèse de l'Enfant-Jésus, dans le récit de détails communs qui sont connus d'un grand nombre de témoins, je rapporterai une particularité qui montre quelle estime faisait de sa sainteté, au moment de sa mort, monsieur l'abbé Youf, aumônier du Carmel. Monsieur Youf était un prêtre d'une prudence remarquable et reconnue de tous. Le lendemain de la mort de soeur Thérèse, dans la matinée, je vins voir monsieur Youf, lui-même malade. On ne lui avait pas encore annoncé la mort de soeur Thérèse, survenue la veille au soir. Entendant sonner la cloche du Carmel, il me dit: 'Elle est morte... Elle ne tardera pas à venir me chercher: elle me l'a promis... Quelle perte pour le Carmel!... C'est une sainte'. Monsieur l'abbé Youf mourait lui-même huit jours après » (session 88 du 23 août 1911, f. 1345r).