Print

Testaments of Our Mother St Teresa

 

Last will of our mother St. Teresa

 

Feast Day on October 15

 

First:
Lord, I do not understand how to find the narrow road that leads to you. Those who you truly love, Oh my Sovereign, walk confidently down a broad and royal road, far from all precipices. Should the soul falter, you would immediately come and extend your hand; those who walk in the valley of humility may fall once or many times, but they will not be lost. Autobiography, chap. 35.

Second:
The soul that disengages from all exterior matters and finds itself only in God, the Seat of Love, is admirably predisposed towards being set on fire and to burn. Way, chap. 30.

Third:
In your exchanges with your Sisters, always follow their will and not your own; if your rights are overlooked, forget your own interests and concern yourself only with theirs, overcoming natural aversions. In sum, when the occasion presents itself, take on work and undergo fatigue in order to comfort your neighbor. 5e Castles, chap. 3.

Fourth:
Let those souls who desire to reach perfection not become discouraged if they cannot climb so high; let them maintain unlimited confidence in God’s goodness. One day, He will turn their aspirations into reality. Autobiography, chap. 31.

Fifth:
If you seek to strengthen the foundation of your spiritual life, strive always to become the smallest among your sisters and to be their servant. Search incessantly ways to please and to serve them. Castle, chap. 4.

Sixth:
The Lord’s yoke is light; and it is intensely important that the soul not be anguished and discouraged but instead, for the sake of its advancement, for the soul to be gentle. Autobiography, chap. 11.

Seventh:
The most sublime perfection to which one can aspire consists of subjugating one’s will to the will of God. 2nd Castles

Eighth:
Prayer is but a friendly exchange wherein the soul converses one to One with God and does not cease to express love for God, confident of God’s love. Autobiography, chap. 8.

Ninth:
My Beloved is for me, and I am for my Beloved! Who would undertake a separation or to blow out the flame that issues from this great conflagration? Certainly, such an effort would be in vain since the two hearts burn as one. Exclamation.

Tenth:
Let your desire be to see God; your fear, to lose Him; your sorrow, His absence; your joy, what draws you to Him—and your life shall be one of great peace. Advice, number 69.

Eleventh:
For the soul that loves, true prayer during sickness and misfortune consists of offering to God in order to remember him and to conform to His holy will. Autobiography, chap. 7

Twelfth:
Being weak, we greatly need to fill our souls with abundant confidence. We must never stop striving and we must be empowered by the thought that through constant efforts we will be victorious. Autobiography , chap. 31.

Thirteenth:
Sometimes, Our Lord may tarry in visiting a soul, but, when He finally arrives, He will dispense to that soul, all at once, in one visit, what he gives to other souls over many years. The Divine Master will treat such a soul as a valiant one, adding the happiness reserved for the next life to the consolations that it could not enjoy here. Way, chap. 19.

Fourteenth:
How awful this life is! You cannot even count on worthless pleasures; everything is subject to change. Ah, if we carefully considered earthly concerns, each of us would acknowledge how little attention we should pay to our desires for pleasure. Autobiography, chap. 36.

Fifteenth:
One day, Our Lord, wishing to console me in my sorrows, said most affectionately: “Do not be so distressed, my daughter, souls on earth cannot always remain in the same state; sometimes you will be fervent and sometimes without fervor; sometimes you will find peace and sometimes you will be troubled and tempted. Simply, hope in me and fear not”. Autobiography, chap. 40.

Sixteenth:
What will console you at the hour of death is to know that you will be judged by Him whom we have loved above all others! With what confidence we can present ourselves before Him, assured that we will hear from His lips a favorable outcome. Chap. 42, Testament 16.

Seventeenth:
If you fall at times, take care not to lose hope. Rather with fortitude, proceed to go forward, and be assured that God will turn your falls into something good for your soul. 2e Castles.

Eighteenth:
One can compare Divine Love to a fire that incessantly consumes new wood. The soul embracing this Love will pay any price by continuously feeding this fire in order to prevent it from going out. For me, even when I have nothing but straws to throw, I am content. Too often, alas, I have nothing else. Autobiography, chap. 30.

Nineteenth:
Many things that are faults in our eyes are not so in God’s. He understands better than we can the misery and limits of our nature. He sees in us the desire to think always of Him and to love always. Such a disposition is what pleases God. Autobiography, chap. 11.

Twentieth:
Oh, My Divine Spouse! Your signal favor of deigning to belong to us can never be overvalued. We should never cease blessing, exalting such a great King, a Sovereign so powerful that He prepares for us a Kingdom without end, simply in recompense for our small sufferings, which will soon end, mitigated by a thousand joys. Foundations, chap. 31.

Twenty-first:
When you increase in love of neighbor, you can rest assured that you will increase in love of God. This good God love us so much that he will, in payment for the love we bear our neighbors, happily increase in a thousand ways the love we have for Him. 5e Castles, chap. 3.

Twenty-second:
Given that the soul works incrementally to acquire perfection, according to its abilities, she will not have henceforth to withstand great struggles: the Lord Himself will extend His hand to forbid assaults from the demon and from the world itself. Ch. chap. 9.

Twenty-third:
One day of humiliation and self-knowledge, necessary to obtain the prize of trials and suffering, amounts to a greater favor from God than multiple days of prayer and sweet consolations. Foundations, chap. 5.

Twenty-fourth:
The Divine Master has always given me the grace to throw myself body and soul rendering what I saw as the greatest service to Him, despite all the difficulties I would find. Clearly and truly, I have seen that, even when my course is insignificant, I knew that God asks no more than a generous disposition in order to do everything for Him.

Twenty-fifth:
True humility, however great, does not burden the soul with worry, bother or upheaval. On the contrary, humility brings peace, enjoyment and rest. The soul, expanding in a holy manner, is capable of even more work for God. Way, chap. 41.

Twenty-sixth:
It is through humility that the Lord allows himself to be conquered and then He grants all our desires. 4e Castles, chap. 2.

Twenty-seventh:
Prayer time is not the time to argue. Instead, it is a time to see ourselves anew and to present ourselves before God. Before his infinite Wisdom, to which scholars aspire, a sole act of humility is worth more than all the science in the world. Life, chap.11.

 

Back to the Little Words

Imprimer

Testaments de Notre Mère Ste Thérèse

 

Fêtée le 15 octobre


Testament 1
Seigneur, je ne comprends pas comment on peut trouver étroit le chemin qui conduit à vous. Celui qui vous aime véritablement, ô mon souverain Bien, marche avec assurance par un chemin large et royal, loin de tout précipice. Vient-il à chanceler, aussitôt, Seigneur, vous lui tendez la main ; une chute, ni même plusieurs ne sauraient le perdre, car il chemine dans la vallée de l’humilité.  - Vie 35
Testament 2
L’âme étant dégagée de toutes les choses extérieures et se trouvant seule avec Dieu, foyer de l’amour, est admirablement disposée à prendre feu et à brûler. -  Chemin, ch. 30
Testament 3
Dans les rapports avec vos Sœurs, faites en tout leur volonté et non la vôtre, fallût-il perdre de votre droit, oubliez vos intérêts pour ne vous occuper que des leurs, malgré les cris et les répugnances de la nature ; enfin, quand l’occasion s’en présente, prenez pour vous le travail et la fatigue, afin de soulager votre prochain. -  5e Demeures, ch. 3
Testament 4
Que les âmes qui désirent atteindre le sommet de la perfection ne s’affligent point si elles ne peuvent tout à coup s’élever si haut, qu’elles se confient sans réserve en la bonté de Dieu, un jour il changera leurs désirs en effets.  - Vie ch. 31
Testament 5
Si vous voulez rendre solide le fondement de votre édifice spirituel, efforcez-vous d’être la plus petite de toutes vos sœurs et leur esclave, cherchant sans cesse comment et en quoi leur faire plaisir ou leur rendre service. -  7e Demeure, ch. 4
Testament 6
Le joug du Seigneur est doux, et il est souverainement important de ne pas tenir l’âme abattue et découragée, mais de la conduire avec douceur, pour son plus grand avancement. -  Vie, ch. 11
Testament 7
La plus sublime perfection à laquelle on puisse s’élever consiste dans la parfaite conformité de votre volonté  avec la volonté de Dieu. -  2e Demeures
Testament 8
L’oraison n’est pas autre chose qu’un commerce d’amitié où l’âme s’entretient seule à seul avec Dieu et ne se lasse pas d’exprimer son amour à Celui dont elle sait qu’elle est aimée. -  Vie , ch. 8
Testament 9
Mon Bien-Aimé est à moi, et moi je suis à mon Bien-Aimé ! Qui sera celui qui entreprendra de séparer ou d’éteindre deux feux qui jettent de si grandes flammes ? Certes, il travaillerait en vain, puisque les deux cœurs qui brûlent n’en font plus qu’un. -  Exclamation
Testament 10
Que votre désir soit de voir Dieu, votre crainte de le perdre, votre douleur de ne pas le posséder encore, et votre joie de ce qui peut vous attirer à lui, et vous vivrez dans un grand repos. -  Avis, n° 69
Testament 11
Pour l’âme qui aime, la véritable oraison durant la maladie et au milieu des obstacles consiste à offrir à Dieu ce qu’elle souffre, à se souvenir de lui et à se conformer à sa volonté sainte. -  Vie ch. 7
Testament 12
Etant si faibles, nous avons un extrême besoin d’ouvrir notre âme à une grande confiance. Ne nous laissons jamais abattre, et animons-nous sans cesse par la pensée que de constants efforts nous assurent la victoire. - Vie, ch. 31
Testament 13
Notre Seigneur tarde quelquefois beaucoup à visiter une âme, mais il lui donnera d’un seul coup, et en une visite, ce qu’il a donné aux autres en plusieurs années. Le divin Maître, la traitant comme une âme forte, joindra aux félicités qu’il lui réserve en l’autre vie, toutes les consolations dont elle n’a pu jouir en celle-ci. – Chemin, ch. 19
Testament 14
Quelle est grande la misère de cette vie ! Nul plaisir  n’y est assuré, et tout y est sujet au changement. Ah ! si nous considérions attentivement les choses d’ici-bas, chacun de nous verrait par expérience combien il doit faire peu de cas du plaisir qu’il y éprouve. – Vie, ch. 36
Testament 15
Un jour, Notre-Seigneur, voulant me consoler de mes peines, me dit avec l’accent de la plus tendre affection ! « Ne t’afflige point, ma fille, les âmes en cette vie ne peuvent être toujours dans le même état ; tantôt tu seras fervente et tantôt sans ferveur ; tantôt dans la paix et tantôt dans le trouble et les tentations ; mais espère en moi et ne crains rien. » – Vie ch. 40
Testament 16
Qu’il sera doux pour nous, à l’heure de la mort, de voir que nous allons être jugés par Celui que nous aurons aimé par-dessus toutes choses ! Avec quelle confiance nous pourrons nous présenter devant lui, sûres d’entendre de sa bouche un arrêt favorable ! – Ch. 42
Testament 17
S’il vous arrive de tomber quelquefois, gardez-vous de perdre cœur ; armez-vous plutôt d’un nouveau courage pour continuer d’avancer, et croyez que Dieu saura faire tourner votre chute même à l’avantage de votre âme. – 2e Demeures.
Testament 18
On peut comparer l’amour divin à un grand feu dont l’activité dévorante réclame sans cesse une matière nouvelle. L’âme embrasée de cet amour voudrait, à quelque prix que ce fût, mettre continuellement du bois dans ce feu pour l’empêcher de s’éteindre. Pour moi, quand je n’aurais que de petites pailles à y jeter, je serais contente ; très souvent, hélas ! je n’ai point autre chose. – Vie ch. 30
Testament 19
Bien des choses qui sont fautes à nos yeux ne le sont pas aux yeux de Dieu. Il connaît mieux que nous notre misère et la bassesse de notre nature. Il voit en nous le désir de penser toujours à lui et de l’aimer toujours ; cette disposition est celle qui plaît au Seigneur. – Vie, ch. 11
Testament 20
O mon divin Epoux ! l’insigne faveur de vous appartenir peut-elle être jamais assez estimée !.. Ne nous lassons jamais de bénir, d’exalter un si grand Roi, un Souverain si puissant qui nous prépare un royaume qui n’aura point de fin, pour prix de quelques petites souffrances adoucies par mille joies et qui finiront demain. – Fondations, ch. 31
Testament 21
Plus vous avancerez dans l’amour du prochain, plus vous devrez vous tenir assurée que vous avancez dans l’amour de Dieu. Ce Dieu de bonté nous aime tant qu’en paiement de l’amour que nous portons au prochain, il se plaît à augmenter de mille manières l’amour que nous avons pour lui. – 5e Demeure, ch. 3
Testament 22
Pourvu que l’âme travaille peu à peu, selon son pouvoir, à acquérir la perfection, elle n’aura plus désormais de grands combats à soutenir : le Seigneur lui-même étendra sa main pour la défendre et contre les démons, et contre le monde entier. – Ch., ch. 9  
Testament 23
Un seul jour d’humiliation et de connaissance de soi-même, fallût-il l’acheter au prix d’afflictions et de souffrances amères, est une plus grande faveur de Dieu que plusieurs journées d’oraison et de consolations sensibles. – Fondations, ch. 5
Testament 24
Le divin Maître m’a toujours fait la grâce de me précipiter à corps perdu au devant de ce que je croyais être  de son plus grand service, malgré toutes les difficultés que je pouvais rencontrer. Je voyais clairement, il est vrai, que mon concours était  bien peu de chose, mais je savais aussi que Dieu ne demande de nous que cette généreuse disposition, pour faire ensuite tout par lui-même.
Testament 25
La vraie humilité, quelque grande qu’elle soit, ne porte dans l’âme ni inquiétude, ni trouble, ni bouleversement ; elle est, au contraire, accompagnée de paix, de plaisir, de repos, elle dilate saintement l’âme et la rend plus capable de travailler au service de Dieu. – Chemin, ch. 41
Testament 26
C’est par l’humilité que le Seigneur se laisse vaincre et cède à tous nos désirs. – 4e Demeure, ch. 2
Testament 27
Le moment de l’oraison n’est pas le temps d’argumenter, mais de voir franchement ce que nous sommes et de nous présenter devant Dieu. Devant cette Sagesse infinie, que les savants m’en veuillent croire, un peu d’étude de l’humilité, un seul acte de cette vertu valent mieux que toute la science du monde. – Vie, ch. 11


Retour aux Petits mots