Print

From sr Agnès of Jesus to her father M. Martin - November 9, 1887.

From Pauline (Agnès of Jesus) to her father Mr. Martin

9th November 1887

Documentation pertaining to the trip to Rome is, we know, particularly abundant. “Forty four letters are conserved in the archives of the Carmel. The eight documents omitted [in CG 1] shed no light on Thérèse and redundantly duplicate the dossier retained for this edition as far as the general context is concerned.” (CG 1, p. 261, note 1). The letter that follows is one of the eight letters that was then omitted.

J. M. J. T.

9th November

Incomparable Father,

Céline wrote to us from Paris about all the kindness and touching attention that you have had for your two jewels.

My heart was so touched by it that it was only with difficulty that I held back my tears. Dear Father, God is blessing you, He will bless you more, and He will bless you always. [l v°] Don’t tire yourself out too much, for that is what I fear, I couldn’t bear seeing you come home ill! But no, Providence is watching over you, and knows that for a long time yet we need to see your grey hair and feel your heart close to ours.

I was delighted to hear that today all three of you are in the little House of the Blessed Virgin (At Loreto, on 12th-13th November)… One must no longer [2 r°] feel outside one’s Homeland there. It’s the Homeland in exile. When shall we be reunited in the other Homeland that we can never leave?

Farewell darling Father, only in Heaven shall you know how much affection and filial gratitude your little pearl has. We are still praying for Léonie (a postulant at the Visitation Convent in Caen since 16/7/1887; she would return home on 6 /1/1888). Let’s believe that what will happen [2 v‑] will be nothing but the fulfilment of God’s will, which is always good. May we always trust such infinite and all-powerful kindness. Farewell, farewell and see you soon!

Sr. Agnès of Jesus

u. c n.

Our beloved Mother and the whole Community are praying for the travelers.

[2v°tv] I send kisses to my beloved father with all my heart, I can’t write to him this time because the letter would weigh too much.

His eldest

Marie of the S. H.

Imprimer

de Pauline (Agnès de Jésus) à son père M. Martin - 9 novembre 1887

 

de Pauline (Agnès de Jésus) à son père M. Martin

            9 novembre 1887

La documentation relative au voyage à Rome, est on le sait, particulièrement fournie. « Les archives du Carmel conservent quarante quatre lettres. Les huit documents omis [en CG 1] n'apportent rien sur Thérèse et font double emploi, quant au contexte général, avec le dossier retenu pour cette édition. » (CG 1, p. 261, note 1). La lettre qui suit est l'une des huit omises alors.

 

J. M. J. T.

            9 Novembre

Père incomparable,

Céline nous écrivait de Paris toutes les bontés, les attentions touchantes que tu as pour tes deux bijoux.

J'en ai eu le cœur si touché que ce n'est qu'avec peine que j'ai retenu mes larmes. Cher petit Père, le bon Dieu te bénit, Il te bénira encore, Il te bénira toujours. [l v°] Ne te fatigue pas trop, c'est de cela que j'ai peur, s'il fallait te voir malade en rentrant ! Mais non, la Providence veille sur toi, Elle sait bien que nous avons besoin longtemps encore de voir tes cheveux blancs et de sentir ton cœur près du nôtre.

Je me réjouis de vous savoir tous les trois aujourd'hui dans la petite Maison de la Sainte Vierge (A Lorette, les 12‑13 novembre). . . Là on ne doit [2 r°] plus se sentir hors de sa Patrie. C'est la Patrie dans l'exil. Quand serons-nous donc réunis dans cette autre Patrie d'où l'on ne peut jamais sortir ?

Adieu mon Père chéri, tu ne sauras qu'au Ciel l'affection de ta petite perle et sa reconnaissance filiale. Nous prions toujours pour Léonie (postulante à la Visitation de Caen depuis le 16/7/1887; elle rentrera à la maison le 6 /1/1888). Croyons que ce qui arrivera [2 v‑] ne sera que l'accomplissement de la Volonté toujours bonne de Dieu. Ayons confiance en cette bonté infinie et toute puissante Adieu, adieu et à bientôt !

Sr Agnès de Jésus

r. c ind.

Notre Mère bien-aimée et toute la communauté prient pour les voyageurs.

[2v°tv] J'embrasse de tout mon cœur mon petit père bien-aimé, ­je ne puis lui écrire cette fois parce que la lettre pèserait trop.

Son aînée

Marie du S. C.