Print

From Marie Martin to her sister Pauline - May 22, 1873.

From Marie Martin to her sister Pauline - May 22, 1873.

Alençon Thursday 22nd May 1873

Dear little Pauline

I am happy to be able to write you a little letter today because I know you will be very glad. I can tell you I have recovered I’m not sorry I can assure you because I was very bored in bed. This morning I got up earlier than on the other days because I went to eight o’clock Mass. I would very much have liked to go to the Pavilion (the little property that Mr. Martin acquired as early as 1857, in Rue des Lavoirs, to the south of the town) but Mama thought it too far, so I didn’t go. I can’t wait till your holidays, if only you knew how much I’m looking forward to seeing you! We’ll have lots of fun too we'll go to Thérèse’s wet-nurse in the carriage, we’ll pick big daisies and cornflowers we’ll enjoy ourselves so much won’t we my petit paulin1! In ten days there’s going to be a big festival in Alençon (for an exhibition) that will last a whole week, we will see the torchlight procession, and on Sunday at the showground there will be a beautiful firework display and at that precise moment you will be here in Alençon and you will have lots of fun. There will also be a balloon in the square and we'll go to see it.

I went to bed for a while after dinner today, I had eaten some lettuce and Mama feared it would do me harm, but it hasn’t at all. The garden is very pretty apart from the circle where there are only a few geranium cuttings but in the middle there is a beautiful rosebush in flower it is magnificent. There are also 2 other small rosebushes in the side-beds, but they are still only in bud and will blossom soon I hope. Louise (Louise Marais, the maid, who showed clear favouritism to Céline) curls little Céline’s hair every Sunday, she is dressed all in white with pretty yellow leather boots that Mama recently bought her. If you saw her I am sure [1v°] you would think she looked good enough to eat.

Little Pauline please give my love to dear Aunt, tell her I love her with all my heart and that I haven’t forgotten her. If I’d have been able to I would have written to her today, but you see I’m already really tired from writing your letter, when you come to Alençon I will write to her as well as to my Sister M. Paula (born Albertine Cayez (8/2/1833 - 5/10/1911), a school mistress who became Head Mistress of the boarding school from 1865 to 1875). Please tell her that I thank her for the allowances she made me for my honorary ribbon I am very happy to have it and I will try to keep it safe. Thank all my dear teachers and my friends for the prayers they have said for me and for the interest they have shown, I am really grateful I assure you. Whatever you do don’t forget to tell Aunt to thank Our Mother for all the blessings she sent me. Tell Edith (Edith de la Porte de Ste Gemme, later Mrs. de Mesmay (1860‑1927) was Marie’s schoolmate. Pauline took her first Communion with Edith’s sister, Geneviève de la Porte) and Renée (?) that I send my love to them as well as to Berthe Chauvin (later Mrs. Fillion), thank Edith for me for the lovely emblem she sent me and tell her that it brought me great pleasure, as did her and Renée’s little letters. I will write to them as soon as I can in a fortnight at most.

 

Also tell M. Morel (Marie-Louise Morel-Bignon) that I received her letter and her picture which is very nice, I will write to her at the same time as Edith. You must know all those who have sent me tokens if I had to name them it would take too long please thank them for me.

Farewell petit Paulin whom I love so much, until the day we see each other again, I send you all my love! And you know how much that is!

Your little sister

M. Martin.

Thursday, May 22nd, 1873.

I am writing this at half past four I am sitting at my desk I'd like to go for a walk because today is Ascension Day but I know very well that I can't because it would tire me out.

 

1 Term of endearment

Back to the list

Imprimer

De Marie Martin à Pauline - 22 mai 1873.

De Marie Martin à Pauline. 22 mai 1873.

 

                                                                                          (Alençon) jeudi 22 Mai 1873

 

Ma chère petite Pauline

Je suis heureuse de pouvoir t'écrire aujourd'hui une petite lettre car je sais que tu vas être bien contente. Je te dirai que je suis guérie je n'en suis pas fâchée je t'assure car je m'ennuyais beaucoup au lit. Ce matin je me suis levée plus tôt que les autres jours car je suis allée à la messe de huit heures. J'aurais bien désiré aller au pavillon (petite propriété acquise par M. Martin dès 1857, rue des Lavoirs, au sud de la ville) mais maman a trouvé que c'était trop loin, et je n'y suis pas allée. J'attends avec grande impatience tes vacances, je me réjouis tant de te revoir si tu savais ! Nous aurons aussi beaucoup de plaisir nous irons en voiture chez la nourrice de Thérèse, nous cueillerons de grandes pâquerettes et des bleuets comme ce sera amusant n'est-ce pas mon petit paulin ! Il y aura dans dix jours de grandes fêtes à Alençon ( à l'occasion d'une Exposition) pendant toute une semaine, nous verrons la retraite aux flambeaux, et le dimanche aura lieu dans le champ de foire un beau feu d'artifice justement tu te trouveras dans ce moment-là à Alençon et tu auras beaucoup de plaisir. Il y aura aussi un ballon sur la place et nous irons le voir.

Je me suis couchée un peu aujourd'hui après le dîner, j’avais mangé de la salade et maman craignait qu'elle ne me fît mal mais elle ne m'en a pas fait du tout. Le jardin est très joli excepté le rond qui n'a encore que quelques boutures de géranium mais au milieu est un beau rosier qui est fleuri il est magnifique. Il y a aussi 2 autres petits rosiers mousses dans les côtés mais il n'y a encore que des boutons qui fleuriront bientôt je l’espère.

Louise (Louise Marais, la domestique, avait une préférence marquée pour Céline)frise la petite Céline tous les dimanches, elle est toute en blanc avec de jolies bottines en cuir jaune que maman lui a achetées dernièrement ; si tu la voyais je suis sûre [1v°] que tu la trouverais gentille à croquer.

Je te prie ma petite Pauline de bien embrasser ma bonne tante pour moi, dis lui que je l'aime de tout mon cœur et que je ne l'oublie pas. Si j'avais pu j'aurais bien désiré lui écrire aujourd'hui, mais vois-tu je suis déjà bien lasse de ta lettre, quand tu viendras à Alençon je lui

en écrirai une ainsi qu'à ma Sœur M. Paula  (née Albertine Cayez (8/2/1833‑5/10/1911), maîtresse de classe puis Directrice du pensionnat de 1865 à 1875). Tu lui diras s'il te plait que je la remercie bien de l’indulgence qu'elle a mise pour mon ruban d'honneur je suis bien heureuse de l'avoir et je tâcherai de le conserver. Remercie bien toutes mes bonnes maîtresses et mes compagnes des prières qu'elles ont faites pour moi et de l'intérêt qu'elles m'ont porté, j’en suis bien reconnaissante je t'assure. Surtout n'oublie pas de dire à ma un tante qu'elle veuille bien remercier Notre Mère de toutes les bontés qu‘elle a eues pour moi. Tu diras à Edith (Edith de la Porte de Ste Gemme, devenue Mme de Mesmay (1860‑1927) compagne de Marie. Pauline eut pour compagne de première communion la sœur d'Edith, Geneviève de la Porte) et à Renée (?) que je les embrasse bien ainsi que Berthe Chauvin  (devenue Mme Fillion), remercie bien pour moi Edith du bel emblème qu'elle m’a envoyé et dis lui qu'il m'a fait grand plaisir, ainsi que sa petite lettre et celle de Renée, moi je leur en écrirai une aussitôt que je le pourrai dans 15 jours tout au plus.

Dis aussi à M. Morel (Marie-Louise Morel-Bignon) que J'ai reçu sa lettre et son image qui est très gentille, je lui écrirai en même temps qu'Edith. Tu dois connaître celles qui m'ont envoyé des souvenirs s'il fallait que je les nomme ce serait trop long tu les remercieras s'il te plaît pour moi.

Adieu mon petit Paulin que j'aime tant, en attendant le jour tant désiré où nous nous reverrons je t'embrasse comme je t'aime ! Et tu sais comment !

Ta petite sœur

M. Martin.

Jeudi 22 Mai 1873.

Je t'écris cette lettre à quatre heures et demie je suis assise au bureau je voudrais bien aller me promener car c'est aujourd'hui l'Ascension mais je sais bien que je ne peux pas parce que cela me fatiguerait. 

Retour à la liste des correspondants