Print

From sr Marie of the Sacred Heart to her father M. Martin - April 12, 1887.

From Marie (Marie of the Sacred Heart) to her father Mr. Martin 12th April 1887.

(The Gospel that Marie of the Sacred Heart mentions was then read on Easter Wednesday.)

Dear father,

I find you are so kind that I don’t know how to thank you. When I saw the lozenges (barley sugar sweets) arrive this very evening, I was so touched that I couldn’t help coming to tell you. You are kind, so very kind to your fine pearl and diamond. And they want to shine and better themselves in order to bring joy to your life and be your sunbeam.

This evening it was I who did the reading in the refectory, as I was reading tomorrow’s Gospel where Our Lord appears to his disciples and eats roast fish with them (Jn. 21:1-14. The Carmel had maintained the custom of serving grilled fish on Easter Wednesday, in memory of that which the risen Lord had prepared for his disciples on a smouldering fire on the shore of Lake Tiberias)… [1 v°] Our Mother stopped me in the middle of my reading to tell everyone that tomorrow the roast fish was provided by you. So tomorrow, my darling Father, you will do for us what Jesus once did for his dear disciples. He was very kind to them!... As you are to us!... He loved St. Peter the fisherman very much! One day He had him make such an abundant catch that his net risked breaking… But St. Peter is not the only privileged one, I know another old fisherman whom He loves as much as St. [2 r°] Peter with his ever-renewed catches of fish. And his charity for us, how blessed it is by Him! Fortunate catches!! Yes his net is also on the brink of breaking. Jesus can’t hold back any longer so great is his love. Jesus loves his old fisherman so much that in return He has asked him for all the treasure in his boat; his children for Himself!...

Ah! He could do him no greater honour. He can’t tell him in a better way how much he cherishes him, and how well the old fisherman understands his Master’s language! How well he resembles St. Peter [2v°] as he runs along the shore! See how he cries out with St. John: “It’s the Lord!”

And how the Lord blesses him and up above will shower him with glory.

The old fisherman’s diamond

M. of the S. Heart

Back to the list

Imprimer

de Marie (Marie du Sacré-Cœur) à son père M. Martin - 12 avril 1887.

 

de Marie (Marie du Sacré-Cœur) à son père M. Martin 12 avril 1887.

 

(L’évangile dont parle sœur Marie du Sacré-Cœur se lisait alors le mercredi de Pâques).

Mon cher petit Père,

Je te trouve si bon que je ne sais comment te remercier. Quand j’ai vu arriver les chiques (bonbons de sucre d’orge) dès ce soir, cela m’a tant touchée que je ne puis m’empêcher de venir te le dire. Tu es bon, mille fois bon pour ta perle fine et ton diamant. Et de pis en pis elles veulent briller et se perfectionner pour réjouir ta vie, être ton rayon de soleil.

Ce soir c’était moi qui faisais la lecture au réfectoire, comme je lisais l’Evangile de demain où N. S. apparaît à ses apôtres mangeant avec eux un poisson rôti (Jn 21, 1‑14. Le Carmel avait gardé la coutume de servir, le mercredi de Pâques, du poisson grillé, en souvenir de celui que le Seigneur ressuscité avait préparé pour ses apôtres, sur un feu de braise, au bord du lac de Tibériade). . . . [1 v°] Notre Mère m’a arrêtée au milieu de ma lecture pour dire à toutes que demain le poisson rôti était fourni par toi. Ainsi demain mon petit Père chéri tu feras pour nous ce que Jésus a fait autrefois pour ses chers apôtres. Il était bien bon pour eux !. . . Et toi aussi pour nous !… Il aimait bien St Pierre le pêcheur ! Un jour Il lui a fait prendre une pêche si abondante que son filet menaçait de se rompre. . . Mais St Pierre n’est pas tout seul privilégié, je connais, moi un autre vieux pêcheur qu’Il aime autant que St [2 ro] Pierre, et ses pêches toujours renouvelées, sa charité pour nous ! comme elle est bénie par Lui. Heureuses pêches ! ! Oui le filet aussi est tout prêt de se rompre. Jésus n’y tient plus d’amour. Jésus aime tant son vieux pêcheur à Lui, qu’Il lui demande en retour tout le trésor de sa barque, ses enfants pour Lui !. . .

Ah ! il ne peut lui faire un plus grand honneur. Il ne peut mieux lui dire combien Il le chérit, aussi comme le vieux pêcheur comprend ce langage de son Maître ! Comme il ressemble bien à St Pierre [2v°] comme il court au rivage ! Comme il s’écrie avec St Jean : « C’est le Seigneur ! »

Et comme le Seigneur le bénit et là-haut le comblera de gloire.

Le diamant du vieux pêcheur

M. du S. Cœur

 

Retour à la liste des correspondants