Print

From sr Marie of the Sacred Heart to her father M. Martin – August 23, 1888.

From Marie of the Sacred Heart to her father Mr. Martin – 23rd August 1888

J. M. J. T.

Thursday 23rd August.

Jesus!

Darling Father,

So your lovely feast day has come round again. In heaven and on earth it is looked forward to with joy. Yes I think that in heaven our dear Mother and the four little angels must be smiling down on you and asking God to rain blessings upon you. He certainly doesn’t remain deaf to their requests because is there a father more blessed than you. Three daughters in the Carmel and the two others also for Jesus one day! What more could you desire? This is the supreme wealth that death cannot take away from us.

So poor Mr. David has left for everlasting life (Mr. Auguste David, Mrs. Guérin’s cousin, died in La Musse on 22/8/1888). What’s the use of possessing something here below where all things are vanity? Do you remember what Mother often used to say: “Oh! Tell me about the mysteries of this world that my desires can sense, and into which my soul, tired of earthly shadows, aspires to plunge itself. Tell me about He who made my soul and fills it with Himself. He alone can fill the immense emptiness He has created in me!...” Ah! even here below he fills this emptiness, even here below earth’s shadows disappear letting us glimpse the sweet brightness of Jesus’ Heart. We warm ourselves by this divine hearth, and the coldness of life soon disappears: the springtime of heaven begins. Yes, in Carmel this is how [2 r°] the diamond, the fine pearl and the Queen live, filled with the Lord’s gifts and also the favours of their dear father.

Are you pleased, dear Father, with the beautiful medallion of hair that our Mother has sent you? (Marie’s hair, which was cut after she took the Habit. At the time, the custom was to work head and beard hair into decorative motifs with glue. At the Carmel, Sister Saint John the Baptist was an expert in this art form). I am delighted with it. The hair of your poppet and eldest daughter forms the ivy and the cross is made entirely of your beard. Our Mother chose this subject especially for us two. Could it better suit she who loves you so much and says together with her emblem: “I attach myself or else I die”. We shall place the blond hair of your queen with your white beard, and so your youth and your old-age will be united to the beginning and the end of this chain of love which is called your children.

Before finishing my little feast day note I must thank you for the lovely big cassoulets that we are feasting on this week and also for the pears that I don’t want you to deprive yourself of for us.

May Jesus repay you for everything and may He keep you with us for many long years yet, O darling father. Your ivy has attached itself to you more and more since you gave it to God. Each day it grows new branches and new roots.

Each day the diamond grows brighter so that it might shine on your forehead in glory. There, united forever, we will eternally sing of the mercies of the Lord (Ps. 88:1). It’s such a joyful song which in advance causes us to forget the fatigues of the road.

Your eldest and firstborn now a Carmelite!

M. of the S. H.

[2v° tv] Our Mother joins us in wishing you a happy feast day.

 

Back to the list

Imprimer

De Marie du Sacré-Cœur à son père M. Martin - 23 août 1888

 

de Marie (Marie du Sacré-Cœur) à son père M. Martin 23 août 1888.

 

J. M. J. T.

Jeudi 23 Août.

Jésus!

Mon petit Père chéri,

Voilà donc de retour le beau jour de ta fête. Au ciel et sur la terre on la voit chaque année revenir avec joie. Oui je pense qu’au ciel notre bonne Mère et les quatre petits anges doivent te sourire et demander au bon Dieu de faire pleuvoir sur toi ses bénédictions. Certes Il ne demeure pas sourd à leurs demandes car quel Père est plus comblé que toi. Trois filles au Carmel et les deux autres pour Jésus aussi un jour ! que désirer encore ? Voilà la suprême richesse que la mort ne peut nous ravir.

Ce pauvre M. David est donc parti dans son éternité (M. Auguste David, cousin de Mme Guérin, mort à La Musse le 22/8/1888). A quoi bon posséder quelque chose ici-bas où tout est vanité. Te rappelles-tu de ce que notre petite Mère répétait souvent : « Oh ! parlez-moi des mystères de ce monde que mes désirs pressentent, au sein desquels mon âme fatiguée des ombres de la terre aspire à se plonger. Parlez-moi de Celui qui l’a fait et le remplit de Lui-même. Lui seul peut aussi remplir le vide immense qu’Il a creusé en moi !. . . » Ah ! dès ici-bas Il le remplit ce vide, dès ici-bas les ombres de la terre s’effacent et nous laissent entrevoir la douce clarté du Cœur de Jésus. On se réchauffe à ce foyer divin, le froid de la vie disparaît bientôt ; c’est le printemps du Ciel qui commence. Oui, au Carmel c’est ainsi que vivent [2 r°] le diamant, la perle fine et la Reine, comblés des dons du Seigneur et des bienfaits aussi de leur père chéri.

Es-tu content mon cher petit Père du beau médaillon de cheveux que notre Mère t’envoie (cheveux de Marie coupés après sa prise d’habit. A l’époque, on retravaillait avec de la colle cheveux et barbe en motifs décoratifs. Au Carmel, sœur Saint-Jean-Baptiste était experte en cet art). Moi j’en suis ravie. Ce sont les cheveux de ta grande de ta première qui forment le lierre, et la croix est tout entière de ta barbe. Notre Mère a choisi ce sujet exprès pour nous deux. Pouvait-il mieux convenir à celle qui t’aime tant et qui dit avec son emblème : « je meurs où je m’attache ». Avec ta barbe blanche on mettra les cheveux blonds de ta reine et ainsi ta jeunesse et ta vieillesse iront s’unir au commencement et à la fin de cette chaîne d’amour qui se nomme tes enfants.

Avant de terminer mon petit mot de fête il faut que je te remercie des beaux gros cassolets qui font notre régal cette semaine et aussi des poires dont je ne voudrais pas que tu te prives pour nous.

Que Jésus te rende tout et qu’Il te garde avec nous de longues années encore, ô notre Père chéri. Ton lierre de plus en plus s’est attaché à toi depuis que tu l’as donné à Dieu. Chaque jour il pousse de nouvelles branches et de nouvelles racines.

Chaque jour le diamant s’éclaircit pour briller à ton front dans la gloire. Là où réunis pour jamais nous chanterons éternellement les miséricordes du Seigneur (Ps 88, 1). Quel chant d’allégresse qui fait oublier par avance les fatigues du chemin.

Ton aînée, ta première devenue Carmélite !

M. du S. C.

[2v° tv] Notre Mère chérie se joint à nous pour te fêter.

Retour à la liste des correspondants