Print

From sr Marie of the Sacred Heart to her father M. Martin - May 5, 1887.

From Marie (Marie of the Sacred Heart) to her father Mr. Martin. 5th May 1887 (?)

(Mr. Martin had just been ill, but the tone of the letter doesn’t convey excessive worry. This letter could therefore be following the paralytic attack he had on Sunday 1st May 1887.)

Thursday morning

Darling Father

So it seems one doesn’t go to Heaven without trampling upon roses?... Since I’ve been in the Carmel I’ve felt nothing but joy; and knowing you’re ill is a big thorn amid our flowers. It’s true; but as it is God who made it grow and because He loves us more than we could understand, I believe to surrender ourselves [l v°] to his love is to glorify and touch his Heart. Don’t we, your children, trust you, aren’t we very sure that you’ll only ever be good to us? Ah! God is the father of fathers, I say this and it’s like a balm for my heart. I say to myself: my God you love us so much, what reason do we have to fear you? Everything you do is good and today’s trial may disappear tomorrow if you want it to! Are you not the All-Powerful and infinitely good? These crosses, worries, and trials in life are oar strokes [2 r°] for me that push my little boat far out to sea and reveal us to be closer to the blessed shore and the unalloyed joy that awaits us over there. So all my energy goes in that direction and I’m hungry and thirsty to be a saint and to take advantage of everything on the way! Each to their own: some kill themselves for the goods of this world and their hair turns grey as they strive to win millions, like poor Mr. Romet (one of Mr. Martin’s friends in Alençon). As for us, are we not free to amass millions for the other life.

O my darling Father, when I think of the treasure you have amassed, I’m almost [2v°] afraid. Ah! May God not even dare think of giving it to you straight away. At times you’d think that He can’t wait to crown his Saints… It’s true that for Him, they must be feast days. But wait my God! You have eternity!...

Poor father, you have such ungrateful children! It’s a question of who can retain you on this earth of sorrows the longest. And if need be the whole Carmel will get involved. That would take God by storm! As All-Powerful as He may be, He would have trouble getting rid of us.

See you soon dear Father, what a pleasure it will be to see you when you can come to the visiting room.

When our incomparable Mother heard that you were ailing, tears sprung to her eyes, I didn’t know how to tell her. What a good Mother she is! She loves you as though you were her father. Ah! What an oasis this Carmel is in the desert of this world.

Your diamond

M. of the S. Heart

Back to the list

Imprimer

de Marie (Marie du Sacré-Cœur) à son père M. Martin - 5 mai 1887 (?)

 

de Marie (Marie du Sacré-Cœur) à son père M. Martin 5 mai 1887 (?)

( M. Martin vient d’être malade, mais le ton de la lettre n’exprime pas une inquiétude excessive. Il pourrait donc s’agir de l’attaque de paralysie du dimanche 1er mai 1887).

 

Jeudi matin

Mon Petit Père chéri

Il parait donc qu’on ne va pas au Ciel qu’en foulant des roses?. . . Depuis que je suis au Carmel je n’avais eu que des joies; et te savoir malade est une grosse épine au milieu de nos fleurs. C’est vrai ; mais comme c’est le bon Dieu qui l’a fait pousser et qu’Il nous aime plus que nous ne pouvons le comprendre, je crois que c’est le glorifier et toucher son Cœur de s’abandonner [l v°] à son amour. Nous, tes enfants, ne sommes-nous pas confiantes en toi, ne sommes-nous pas très sûres que tu ne nous feras jamais que du bien. Ah ! le bon Dieu, c’est le père des pères, je me dis cela et c’est un baume pour mon cœur, je me dis : mon Dieu vous nous aimez tant, que pouvons-nous craindre de vous ? Tout ce que vous faites est bien fait et l’épreuve d’aujourd’hui peut disparaître demain si vous le voulez ! N’êtes--vous pas le Tout-puissant et l’infiniment bon. Ces croix, ces inquiétudes, ces épreuves de la vie sont pour moi un [2 r°] coup de rame qui pousse ma petite barque bien avant dans la mer et lui montre de plus près le rivage béni et les joies sans mélange qui nous attendent là-bas Alors toute mon énergie s’en va de ce côté-là et j’ai faim et soif d’être sainte et de faire mon profit de tout ce qui passe ! Chacun son goût : les uns se tuent pour les biens présents et leurs cheveux blanchissent à gagner des millions, comme ce pauvre M. Romet (un des amis d’Alençon de M. Martin), pour nous, ne sommes-nous pas libres d’amasser des millions pour l’autre vie.

O mon petit Père chéri quand je pense au trésor amassé par toi, j’ai presque [2v°] peur. Ah ! que le bon Dieu ne s’avise pas de te le donner tout de suite. On dirait par moments qu’Il n’y peut tenir à couronner ses Saints. . . C’est vrai que pour Lui, ce doit être un jour de fête. Mais attendez mon Dieu ! vous avez l’éternité !. . .

Pauvre père, que tu as d’ingrats enfants ! C’est à qui te retiendra le plus longtemps sur cette terre de misères. Et au besoin tout le Carmel s’en mêlerait. Quel assaut pour le bon Dieu ! Tout-puissant qu’Il est, Il serait bien embarrassé pour se débarrasser de nous.

A bientôt mon cher petit Père, quel bonheur quand tu pourras venir au parloir.

Quand notre Mère incomparable a su que tu étais souffrant les larmes sont arrivées, je ne savais comment le lui dire. Quelle Mère ! Elle t’aime comme si tu étais son père. Ah ! Ce Carmel quel oasis dans le désert de ce monde.

Ton diamant

M. du S. Cœur

Retour à la liste des correspondants