Print

From Isidore Guérin to his daughter Marie - April 3, 1897.

From Isidore Guérin to his daughter Marie - April 3, 1897.

Lisieux 3rd April 1897

         Beloved little daughter,

           It is with a heart still wholly enchanted by your lovely letter that I’m picking up the pen to reply to your wishes. But I’m not like you in terms of God’s graces and favours. He wouldn’t be able to inspire a hardened old fisherman with such pure and impassioned words as yours. How clearly we can see and feel the transformation he has worked in you! Your language is no longer that of the earth, it is that of the Cherubim, and of God himself. Like him and with him you aspire to sacrifice and to the conversion [lv°]of souls, and, Isaiah’s coal having touched your lips, you exclaim with him: “Sitio!” – “I thirst”.

       I thank God for having given me enough faith to understand the beautiful devotions. But how few people understand them, even among religious people, who think the Carmelites’ Order is nonsense, madness. And yet, it is with them that Satan is the angriest. He said so in his palladian manifestations and a few minutes ago I was reading about a report from the Lodge calling on the government to close cloistered convents (before the end of April 1897, Léo Taxil would have unveiled the hoax that was still fooling Mr. Guérin).

       No, dear child, I’ve never wanted to put a “wisp” of an obstacle in your way. However difficult your determination was for us to bear, I asked God to strengthen it in you and give me the manifest honour of taking you to be his spouse.

       [2r°] The flesh protested very often, and the other day your little cheeks looked so good52! But it’s all over now, the sun shines after the storm, and lights up and warms our old hearts, which are overflowing with love and gratitude.

   Yes, you are rich, my darling, very rich indeed, since you can draw freely from the divine treasures. We, too, are not as poor as we were because we have you as our mediator. Old Mordecai and his dear wife now have their Esther at the King’s court and no longer fear Haman’s fury. When we received your candle, your mother and I were overjoyed and this is what we decided. The first to be called before the court of the sovereign judge will have your lit candle at their bedside. Do you think that Haman is the strongest? He really will be “annoyed” because he knows [2v°] that God will not be able to send him a soul who’s heart on earth was always lit up with an incandescent love for sinners – Jeanne or Léonie will do this kindness to the last one of us to die – Immediately, the candle was placed upright in your bedroom behind Our Lady of Lourdes on the dresser. It is securely fastened with string and nails.

       Thank you for your kind wishes my darling, and also for those from my other little daughters for whom I make no distinction in the love that fills my heart. Thank you to the worthy, good and excellent Mother Prioress who was kind enough to surprise me with a letter that I wasn’t expecting due to it being Lent… Thank you to all the Carmel, which I love and revere, and for which I pray morning and night. God bless you all, and to his Holy Blessing, I add mine for you and for my four dear children. May he preserve my little Thérèse, the precious pearl of my whole family. I am very sad knowing she is ill – Thousands and thousands of kisses!

Your father I. Guérin

Our health is much the same, not rich! – Your Uncle Maudelonde came down with diphtheria the day before yesterday. He is feeling better now. We hope to halt the illness – Pray for him. Paul M. has been sent home to his father.

Back to the list

Imprimer

De Mr. Guérin à sœur Marie de l'Eucharistie. 3 avril 1897.

De M. Guérin à sa fille. 3 avril 1897.

 

Lisieux Le 3 Avril 1897

         Ma bien aimée petite fille,

           C'est le cœur encore tout embaumé de ta jolie lettre que je prends la plume pour répondre à tes souhaits. Mais je ne suis pas comme toi dans les grâces et les faveurs du Bon Dieu. Il ne saurait inspirer à un vieux pécheur endurci des accents aussi purs et aussi enflammés que les tiens. Comme l'on voit, comme l'on sent bien la transformation qu'il a opérée en toi! Ton langage n'est plus celui de la terre, c'est celui du Chérubin, c'est celui de Dieu même. Comme lui et avec lui tu aspires au sacrifice, à la conver­sion [lv°] des âmes et après avoir promené sur tes lèvres le charbon d'Isaïe tu t'écries avec lui : « Sitio! » - « J'ai soif »,

       Je remercie Dieu de m'avoir donné assez de foi pour comprendre les beaux dévouements. Mais combien peu les comprennent même parmi les personnes religieuses pour lesquelles les Carmélites sont un non-sens, une folie. Et pourtant c'est à elles que Satan en veut le plus. Il l'a dit dans ses manifestations palladiques et je lisais il y a qques instants une délibération des loges qui veulent demander au gouvernement la fermeture des cou­vents cloîtrés (avant la fin de ce mois d'avril 1897, Léo Taxil aura dévoilé la mystification dont, pour le moment, M. Guérin est encore dupe).

       Non, ma chère enfant, je n'ai jamais voulu mettre un « fétu » en travers de ta voie. Quelque pénible que fut pour nous ta détermination, je demandais à Dieu de la fortifier en toi et de me faire l'insigne honneur de te prendre pour épouse.

       [2r°] Bien souvent la chair s'est révoltée, et l'autre jour encore tes petites joues me paraissaient si bonnes52! - Mais maintenant tout est fini, le soleil luit après la bourrasque, il illumine et réchauffe nos vieux cœurs qui débordent d'amour et de reconnaissance.

   Oui tu es riche, ma chérie et bien riche, puisque tu peux puiser à pleines mains dans les trésors divins. Nous aussi nous ne sommes plus si pauvres puisque nous te possédons comme médiatrice. Le vieux Mardochée et sa chère femme ont maintenant leur Esther à la cour du Roi et ils ne craignent plus la fureur d'Aman. Quand nous avons reçu ton cierge, ta mère et moi ne nous possédions pas de joie et voici ce que nous avons arrêté. Le premier de nous qui sera appelé au tribunal du souverain juge aura à son chevet ton cierge allumé. Penses-tu qu'Aman soit le plus fort? Il sera littéralement « embêté » car il sait [2v°] bien que Dieu ne pourra lui livrer une âme qui a allumé sur la terre un foyer d'amour toujours in­candescent pour les pécheurs - Au dernier qui mourra ce sera Jeanne ou Léonie qui lui rendront ce service - Séance tenante, le cierge a été placé debout dans ta chambre derrière N.D. de Lourdes sur la console. Le tout fixé solidement avec du cordon et des clous.

       Merci de tes bons souhaits ma chérie, et aussi de ceux de mes quatre autres petites filles que je ne sépare pas dans l'amour dont mon cœur est plein. Merci à la digne, bonne et excellente mère Prieure qui a bien voulu me causer la surprise d'une lettre que je n'attendais pas à cause du Ca­rême... Merci à tout mon petit Carmel que j'aime et que je vénère et pour lequel je prie soir et matin. Que Dieu vous bénisse toutes comme je le désire et à sa Ste bénédiction j'ajoute la mienne pour toi et mes quatre chères enfants. Qu'il me conserve ma petite Thérèse, la perle précieuse de toute ma famille. Je suis bien triste de la savoir malade - Mille et mille baisers !

Ton père I. Guérin

Nos santés sont toujours de même, pas riches! - Ton oncle Maudelonde est pris de la diphtérie depuis avant-hier. Il va mieux. On espère enrayer le mal. - Prie pour lui. Paul M. a été renvoyé à son père.

Retour à la liste des correspondants